respectable time to go drinking

• 17-03-2011 11:39AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

what you guys think would be a respectable time to go drinking without looking like an p##s-head..im thinking 1pm.what times are most people gonna head out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I started at 9 ;)

what you guys think would be a respectable time to go drinking without looking like an p##s-head..im thinking 1pm.what times are most people gonna head out

im not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

KTRIC wrote: »
    I started at 9 ;)
    like your style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

Im already drunk, but then again its almost 10pm here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Whenever the parade is over I'll head down the pub.

sweet i plan to be pretty mashed by 10pm..bring it on

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I fúcking hate this day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,370 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

If your ever worried about looking like a piss head then its time to stop drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

I'm on a ferry that left at 9, have a pint here beside me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

robbie7730 wrote: »
    If your ever worried about looking like a piss head then its time to stop drinking

Or start drinking some more. Youngins and their obession with image

robbie7730 wrote: »
    i haven't started yet;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

As soon as the pubs open. It's Paddy's day, the one day you can get away with being drunk before lunchtime.

If you're heading out however only bring the bare essentials, ie enough cash to last you the day. Better off leaving wallets and phones at home, and remember most cities and towns are CCTV'd so don't act the bollocks.

Daegerty wrote: »
    Or start drinking some more.

An even better idea there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Eradicate

LOL @ thread!!!!!!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

Melion wrote: »
    I fúcking hate this day

National Amateur Drinking Championships. Cant wait to see the state of town tonite, its one of the few nights were the gimps who dont get out much, are allowed out.
    Its mad what short skirts and few pints of overpriced beer does to some people.

Oh I haven't started yet either, have two hours of study and a 5 mile run to get through before I can even think of having a beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

It depends on what you call "drinking". If you're 18 and plan on getting pissed outta your head with a sly naggin every five minutes in a club: 11pm or later.

If you're just having a few pints or a few cans or whatnot: whenever the pub opens. Or, if you're at home, I'd say around now. Personally, I'm waiting till sixish at the earliest since I'm a non-conformist and won't drink with the rest of you. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

considering tesco aren't selling drink till 4! about 5 :(
    -broke student

kona wrote: »
    National Amateur Drinking Championships. Cant wait to see the state of town tonite, its one of the few nights were the gimps who dont get out much, are allowed out.
    Its mad what short skirts and few pints of overpriced beer does to some people.

It's probably the worst day of the year to go out. It wouldn't be that bad if people just stayed in the pubs, but no, they tend to drink all day (which if you're not drinking too much is fine) but then they decide to go on a mad one and go out to a club, after spending about six hours drinking ten cans.

I hate that mentality. But if you're just sitting at home or drinking in the pub it's fine. Town on the otherhand... I do not plan on going out this year like I did not go out last year; rather I'd avoid getting hoped on.

gypsy_rose wrote: »
    considering tesco aren't selling drink till 4! about 5 :(
    -broke student

So steal it and if you get caught "I'm a feckin; Irish citizen, it is my right, no, no, my DUTY to get pissed outta my head from midnight March 17th to 3am on March 18th". Trust me, any judge worth his money will let you off for being a patriot. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

So steal it and if you get caught "I'm a feckin; Irish citizen, it is my right, no, no, my DUTY to get pissed outta my head from midnight March 17th to 3am on March 18th". Trust me, any judge worth his money will let you off for being a patriot. :D

Really? Why is anyones duty to make a show of themselves today?

It's probably the worst day of the year to go out. It wouldn't be that bad if people just stayed in the pubs, but no, they tend to drink all day (which if you're not drinking too much is fine) but then they decide to go on a mad one and go out to a club, after spending about six hours drinking ten cans.

I hate that mentality. But if you're just sitting at home or drinking in the pub it's fine. Town on the otherhand... I do not plan on going out this year like I did not go out last year; rather I'd avoid getting hoped on.

Depends on where you go to be fair, any Temple Bar clubs or the likes of 21s , ALT and Octopussy will be full of gimps off their bin acting like gob****es. Im heading out but I am not getting plastered, have to have some sort of control for the inevitable drunken aggro from some pissed 18 year old muppeh acting hard infront of some sluh he just pulled.

Missed the fact I was being sarcastic then, did you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I have a friend coming to stay this afternoon, should be here around 4.30pm. Will have an early dinner and a bit of wine with that and probably head out around 8 or so. Looking forward to it.

Eradicate wrote: »
    LOL @ thread!!!!!!!:D:D:D

Yea, maybe there will be a thread for tomorrows drinking, and sat, and sundays, and next weekends.

kona wrote: »
    Depends on where you go to be fair, any Temple Bar clubs or the likes of 21s , ALT and Octopussy will be full of gimps off their bin acting like gob****es. Im heading out but I am not getting plastered, have to have some sort of control for the inevitable drunken aggro from some pissed 18 year old muppeh acting hard infront of some sluh he just pulled.

I know but the problem is being in your early 20s and all your friends are too; so we end up going out ot the worst places possible on nights like this. It's why I'd rather just stay in.
    I get your point, there are some pubs around the area where I live that are actually well run. But like I said, none of my friend go to them and I really, really don't want to look like a complete idiot on my own in one. :D

At least with staying in I can stick on a few Segal films if I wanna see some muppet think he's hard. :D

Anytime. Just simply set your clock to a different time zone. Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Luxie

I ain't going anywhere today. At work now, go home later, end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,104 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

Went out last night instead, always go out the night before.

Had a great laugh in the Porter House with the tourists, no aggro and am gonna enjoy the couch for the day now !

I know but the problem is being in your early 20s and all your friends are too; so we end up going out ot the worst places possible on nights like this. It's why I'd rather just stay in.
    I get your point, there are some pubs around the area where I live that are actually well run. But like I said, none of my friend go to them and I really, really don't want to look like a complete idiot on my own in one. :D

At least with staying in I can stick on a few Segal films if I wanna see some muppet think he's hard. :D

Well its grand if you can handle the gimps, because there does be some nice eye candy in those places and come 1am you can take your pick :)

Unfortunatley one of my mates cannot take **** from anybody, so more often then not Im involved in the periphery of some fight.

Black Swan wrote: »
    Anytime. Just simply set your clock to a different time zone. Problem solved.
    haha your name is the same as my local if thats not a sign i dont know what is im off..have good one people