Childhood Memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I hope she remembers the experience as fondly as you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Monkey Magic
    Does anyone remember this? I can't believehttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5iUMWy4hqAg i loved this ****!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

Mimojo wrote: »
    So what you do remember???!

I remember Kinder-eggs being a challenge! There was actually something you had to build with instructions and loads of bits... Now when i buy them for my son the toys are always pre-made and sh*tty. They must think kids these days are stupid. I also remember that chocolate bars and sweet bars used to fill their wrappers and bags of crisps had more than ten in a packet! Oh, how things have changed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

The-Rigger wrote: »
    I hope she remembers the experience as fondly as you do.

The joke was that I was abour yer man's cousin but I fecked up on my post and now declared that it was my own cousin. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Buying like a million penny sweets ,going to the beach ,running everywhere and laughing so much you peed your pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Ev84 wrote: »
    I remember Kinder-eggs being a challenge! There was actually something you had to build with instructions and loads of bits... Now when i buy them for my son the toys are always pre-made and sh*tty
    I bought one the other day, all happy bout getting to make the toy...and I was met with a little pre-made thing that did nothing but sit there and look at you :(

Aoifey! wrote: »
    I bought one the other day, all happy bout getting to make the toy...and I was met with a little pre-made thing that did nothing but sit there and look at you :(

Eh... I remember you used to collect little turtles (about 30ish in all). But I think there were different sets, like once a year for a month you'd collect a set or something.

But yeah, I remember at one time it was far too complicated for a child and I would rush to an adult for help. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

The joke was that I was abour yer man's cousin but I fecked up on my post and now declared that it was my own cousin. :rolleyes:

Then I mean him.
    You are lumped in together in my mind now. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 825 ✭✭✭macroboy

tan11ie wrote: »
    Watching the price is right and Manimal every Saturday night.
    Eating clipso bars and drinking American cream soda...mmmm can you still buy that anywhere?

what a bollix that dusty bin was eh...fooking pratt if ever there was one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

10 penny bags , edible paper and chomps
    I miss being a kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Sitting outside with the other kids under a spectacular full moon, telling ghost stories, then being too terrified to walk the few yards to the house.

Throwing a stick or stone at a mango tree and being rewarded with more fruit than you could possibly eat.

Monthly "film shows" at the village school. Loading the film reels on to my Dad's Bell & Howell projector with the generator humming gently in the background.

Going to "town" meant a flight on the seaplane. Those were really exciting!

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Then I mean him.
    You are lumped into together in my mind now. :rolleyes:

Haha, I have the lovely talent of making disturbing situations much worse. An asset at any get-together. :D

macroboy wrote: »
    what a bollix that dusty bin was eh...fooking pratt if ever there was one

Ah but did you ever master that 3 - 2 - 1 :D

Reading, reading, reading
    Running around outside all day at weekends and in the summer
    Loads of music lessons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

bryaner wrote: »
    Playing doctors and nurses with me cousin..:D

this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Gyalist wrote: »
    Sitting outside with the other kids under a spectacular full moon, telling ghost stories, then being too terrified to walk the few yards to the house.

Throwing a stick or stone at a mango tree and being rewarded with more fruit than you could possibly eat.

Monthly "film shows" at the village school. Loading the film reels on to my Dad's Bell & Howell projector with the generator humming gently in the background.

Going to "town" meant a flight on the seaplane. Those were really exciting!
    those were the days all-right!

Pinching holes in the milk bottles first thing in the morn...or nicking them! oh or just drinking them and leaving the empties :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

kick the can and spin the bottle. also at Halloween you'd break the sticks off rockets and throw then at each other. climbing trees and walking up the hell fire club with loads of sweets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,204 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Kneeling up on a chair on a Saturday watching my grand mother baking - sponge was her speciality - and hoping I'd be allowed to lick the bowl afterwards.

Being out on my bike all day only coming home for food.

Being sent to the local shop for half a block of ice cream and a packet of wafers for our Afters.

Watching one of my cousins fall in the slurry pit instead of me.

Spending ALL day Sunday at Luck Strand near Ringaskiddy. Swimming, diving, eating slightly sandy Taytos and very sandy sambos and washing the lot down with warmish Tanora.

Building the best damn Steerina in Ballinlough AND Douglas.

Taking my sister's dolls pram apart to build the best damn Steerina in Ballinlough AND Douglas.:D

Being the fastest draw for miles around. Boys used to come and knock on the door to challenge me cos there was no way a girl was going to be faster then them. I retired undefeated (and just in time before I grew boobs which really get in the fecking way!)

Lino - break dancing lol

Eh... I remember you used to collect little turtles (about 30ish in all).

Oh yeah... Tiny terrapins or something. Man i used to hate getting them... I felt cheated :(

I feel so old now! Damn you to the darkest pits of someplace!.

32 I think and yes, that was their name.

Big yellow tea pot - oh the hours of fun:)
    http://www.inthe80s.com/toys/images/user-image-1228257583.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

when I was about 11 or 12, my parents bought me a portable (B&W) for my bedroom and on Sunday nights, myself and my 2 brothers used to watch Dempsey & Makepeace in my room and just before it started, the Mammy would bring us tea / milk with toast - happy days!!

playing tip the can, rounders and then when I got dead sophisticated, sitting on a wall with the ghetto blaster playing songs I'd taped off the radio..........god help us!

I feel so old now! Damn you to the darkest pits of someplace!.

32 I think and yes, that was their name.

Ha Ha... sorry. Me too! I also remember that whoever had the most reflectors and them coloured ball things that slid up and down the spokes of their bike wheels was the coolest in the gang (they came in kellog's cereal boxes i think) :pac: And we used to jam plastic bottles in the back wheel to make it sound like a (sh*tty) motorbike...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

remember when cereal boxes had toys in them!!!

And we used to jam plastic bottles in the back wheel to make it sound like a (sh*tty) motorbike...

lol just seen some kids doing that the other day!

Ha Ha... sorry. Me too! I also remember that whoever had the most reflectors and them coloured ball things that slid up and down the spokes of their bike wheels was the coolest in the gang (they came in kellog's cereal boxes i think) :pac: And we used to jam plastic bottles in the back wheel to make it sound like a (sh*tty) motorbike...

I used to like you till you reminded me of how old I really am. You can go away now. :P

I remember rollerblades, I was never a bike kid. I had too many bad times with them, like ramming full speed into a wall just to test a theory. :P

tan11ie wrote: »
    lol just seen some kids doing that the other day!

Brilliant!!! Ha Ha, so i didn't have a deprived childhood afterall :pac: Most of the kids these days round here have them mini-moto's the lucky little bastards. What i would have given for one of them in my single digit years...

was just thinking if something was invented yet (that's my dragons den idea outed now) poor kids round here are still deprived so:D