Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭el diablo

Raekwon speaks some sense here. A lot of Irish women have a really high opinions of themselves that they really have no right to have.

But I'm sure caseyann and rebel10 are lovely girls. :P

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

el diablo wrote: »
    Raekwon speaks some sense here. A lot of Irish women have a really high opinions of themselves that they really have no right to have.

But I'm sure caseyann and rebel10 are lovely girls. :P
    As do the men;)

Yes we are lovely girls
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRskkRxn6fKy6lMIMoIqu1AhtVZxil20awcGfxkdj3cTKEeWCl7
    Found that pic of us! Haven't we lovely bottoms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,782 ✭✭✭el diablo

rebel10 wrote: »
    As do the men;)

Yes we are lovely girls
    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRskkRxn6fKy6lMIMoIqu1AhtVZxil20awcGfxkdj3cTKEeWCl7
    Found that pic of us! Haven't we lovely bottoms!

Yes, very shapely bottoms indeed. ;)

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

rebel10 comes across as a genuinely nice girl with well balanced views, btw good call sending caseryann a PM and telling her to zip it, she wasn't exactly proving any of my arguments wrong ;)

Back on subject though, does anyone actually watch this show anymore? Compared to the first series this place seems like a grave yard and the only traffic this thread gets are my anti-Irish female rants :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Post a pic. caseyann too. :)

You first lmao :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Ruby-J

caseyann wrote: »
    Shucks you think about me that much :P
    Ah she isnt hahaha she is Irish with a Russian name :p Where have you been that was agreed on weeks ago.She has more of Dublin accent than i do lmao :D

Irina is Russian and has lived here for just over ten years, i did my audition with her. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Olywn still on the show?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Yep Olwyn is deadly :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Oh now you forget my name :mad:

no i didn't!!
    Shucks you think about me that much :P
    Ah she isnt hahaha she is Irish with a Russian name :p Where have you been that was agreed on weeks ago.She has more of Dublin accent than i do lmao :D
    Ruby-J wrote: »
    Irina is Russian and has lived here for just over ten years, i did my audition with her. :)

so, how will i get my grovelling apology while i run around shouting 'in your face! in your face!'
    I am Irish and hot :P

i vaguely remember a photo that was posted in one of the photo threads ages ago from caseyanne, and there were two hot girls in it, so i'm pretty sure she is. couldn't find it now though.

no i didn't!!

so, how will i get my grovelling apology while i run around shouting 'in your face! in your face!'

i vaguely remember a photo that was posted in one of the photo threads ages ago from caseyanne, and there were two hot girls in it, so i'm pretty sure she is. couldn't find it now though.

awww you did remember me :p
    I am sorry,i knew the name wasnt Irish just amazed how thick her dublin accent was,but when i heard her speak more,i could hear the slight rough of Russian in the mix also.
    You were right she is Russian born sorry :)

January wrote: »
    Yep Olwyn is deadly :D

She's mental!! She be a laugh to be with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

awww you did remember me :p
    I am sorry,i knew the name wasnt Irish just amazed how thick her dublin accent was,but when i heard her speak more,i could hear the slight rough of Russian in the mix also.
    You were right she is Russian born sorry :)

not HALF grovelling enough!!:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

STIG83 wrote: »
    She's mental!! She be a laugh to be with
    love to see her get a date, and see how they get on!

she is great

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

A lot of us *don't* have high opinions of ourselves, and going by this thread, are going to die alone because we're so hideous. The dating scene in Ireland is just as hard for women as for men, and being derided as ugly isn't going to help. And believe me, Irish men can be pretty full of themselves too.
    Raekwon wrote: »
    Compared to the first series this place seems like a grave yard and the only traffic this thread gets are my anti-Irish female rants

Yes, you do seem to have a bit of a fixation on the subject of Irish women and your foreign GF.

Ah here, you took the smiley off the end of that post..........it was suppose to be tongue in cheek :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Raekwon, I get the argument you're trying to make here. I disagree because, at the end of the day, it's just a TV show and a laugh. The girls are just playing their part. But I get where you're coming from and, at the end of the day, that's what makes the concept work because it's supposed to drum up discussion like this (That's also why I hate to see contestants on it flaming people. We all knew what we were putting ourselves up for and were all familiar with the UK show beforehand).

In fairness though, the thread has gone on for over 2500 posts now, and everytime I've clicked on it since the start I've seen you making the exact same point. After 5-6 months, not only do we get it, but it does start to look like you have serious issues on this subject. And you're using this show to project them. Let it go dude.

Point taking leggo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,630 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Claire Byrne asked Ray Foley why they don't have an episode with roles reversed (with 1 girl vying for 30 guys attention).

Long story short - he said Endemol (creators / production company) have a "bible" of the format which they require the show to abide by.

But they did film one episode with the roles reversed (in Australia) I think.. and what they found out was that men were less picky (or as Ray eloquently put it "horn dogs"), and wouldn't switch off their lights.

So the format just didn't work!

Only one more episode left, i found an article on Olwyn, didnt realise she is a Tipp chick.
    http://www.nationalist.ie/news/local/olwyn_plays_the_dating_game_on_tv3_s_take_me_out_1_2363153

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,630 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Only one more episode left, i found an article on Olwyn, didnt realise she is a Tipp chick.
    http://www.nationalist.ie/news/local/olwyn_plays_the_dating_game_on_tv3_s_take_me_out_1_2363153
    Olwyn's only 29?! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

Published on Wed Jan 05 11:36:14 GMT 2011

A Clonmel woman will be seen this week on a television dating show that's designed to put the powers of female intuition to the ultimate test.

Olwyn Boyle from the Mountain Road appears on Take Me Out, which will be screened at 9pm on TV3 next Friday night, January 7th.

Each week eligible bachelors are presented on stage. The female contestants stand behind a podium with the lights on. If a girl doesn't like what she sees she presses a buzzer and rejects the man.

The programme, hosted by Ray Foley, was recorded some weeks ago in The Helix in Dublin, but obviously Olwyn can't give too much away before it's shown on Friday night.

"I knew two of the lads on the show –it's a very small country! Unfortunately I had to give one of them a blackout straight away. Overall it was great craic and I really enjoyed it", she says.

She has two sisters, Clodagh O'Donnell and Nessa Boyle, and Clodagh and her friend Trish McGrath travelled to The Helix to offer her moral support, as did Olwyn's friend Jane Wardrop from Dublin.

She qualified for the show from auditions held some months ago.

The daughter of Carmel and Matty Boyle, 29 year-old Olwyn moved to Dublin 10 years ago to pursue a career in acting. So far she has appearances in Fair City and Desperate Houses, and on comedian Katherine Lynch's show to her credit.

Olwyn returned to college last September to study counselling and youth work at the Liberties College in Dublin. For the last number of years she has also worked occasionally as a clown doctor at the Crumlin Children's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I didn't realise she was a chick !! :pac:

Basq wrote: »

I had the same reaction, i thought she was much older

Claire Byrne asked Ray Foley why they don't have an episode with roles reversed (with 1 girl vying for 30 guys attention).

Long story short - he said Endemol (creators / production company) have a "bible" of the format which they require the show to abide by.

But they did film one episode with the roles reversed (in Australia) I think.. and what they found out was that men were less picky (or as Ray eloquently put it "horn dogs"), and wouldn't switch off their lights.

So the format just didn't work!

They did a roles reverse episode in the Dutch version too and it didn't really work as only around 3 of the lads put there lights out after all 3 rounds. They also did a bisexual version in The Netherlands too which was bizarre (see below), doubt they'd even try that on the more entertaining and relaxed UK version.

Typo? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

A lot of us *don't* have high opinions of ourselves, and going by this thread, are going to die alone because we're so hideous. The dating scene in Ireland is just as hard for women as for men, and being derided as ugly isn't going to help. And believe me, Irish men can be pretty full of themselves too.

The sentence that I highlighted is total rubbish IMO. This show should be living testament of how difficult it is for single men in Ireland. If some women find dating in Ireland difficult then maybe they should lower their ridiculously high standards and actually start approaching men for a change.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

Phat Cat wrote: »
    The sentence that I highlighted is total rubbish IMO. This show should be living testament of how difficult it is for single men in Ireland. If some women find dating in Ireland difficult then maybe they should lower their ridiculously high standards and actually start approaching men for a change.

The approaching men thing is a problem, I admit.

The high standards thing - TBH I think men are as a bad, if you've read the threads bad-mouthing Irish women's appearances is anything to go by. I ask you, what wrong with any of us, male AND female, having some standards?

I personally have been with all sorts of fellas, by the way.

EDIT: And I find the women on this show hideous, by the way. I hate their sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

I personally have been with all sorts of fellas, by the way.

*joey voice*, "how YOU doin'?" :D:o

ah no, honestly, this thing of telling women to drop their standards, seriously? i dont agree with this at all, why should they? if a woman doesnt fancy you, she doesnt, guys shouldnt take it so personally!

On a side-note, i'd love to take Olwyn out any night of the week, she makes me laugh any time she's on camera, pure entertainment on an otherwise dull and scripted show, great craic! :D

And would somebody please, tell Ray Foley to stop calling grown men, "boys", makes me cringe every time and it sounds ridiculous! :rolleyes:

xsiborg wrote: »
    *joey voice*, "how YOU doin'?" :D:o

ah no, honestly, this thing of telling women to drop their standards, seriously? i dont agree with this at all, why should they? if a woman doesnt fancy you, she doesnt, guys shouldnt take it so personally!

On a side-note, i'd love to take Olwyn out any night of the week, she makes me laugh any time she's on camera, pure entertainment on an otherwise dull and scripted show, great craic! :D

And would somebody please, tell Ray Foley to stop calling grown men, "boys", makes me cringe every time and it sounds ridiculous! :rolleyes:

Finally a man who tells it like it is,men dont drop their standards and the getting a leg over any woman isnt dropping standards,its plain and simple they will sleep with anything.Thats not not being fussy.

Women however look for potential partner and must in most cases fancy the man to take it further.

She is on facebook ask her out :p

I know i keep thinking what is with these shows,he said it on the English show aswell.Bring on the boy.lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

She is on facebook ask her out :p

i would and all, if i wasnt already married myself, lol, but certainly i'd take her out for a few drinks and a laugh! SarahB floats my boat too, and the petite brunette from dublin that got a date last week (cant remember her name, first one on the left... :o).

i should probably stop now! :o lol :D

blonde girl with the glasses on the last series... :o

ok i'll hush now! :D