have you ever got mugged ?

• 04-03-2011 02:12AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭newportlad

I got mugged in dublin a couple of hours ago, two lads, bout 5,6 height, skinny and 17/18 age. one of them said he had a knife, I couldn't see it but he was holding something in his jacket pocket, tried ignoring them etc but I was carrying food from shipper so hands full and eventually took my wallet and they ran off. It was on north strand road past 5 lamps where the flats are. Does anyone have Any advice/things they would have done differently.. Pretty shook up by it, have notified the cops anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Sorry to hear it, absolute scumbags. I've been fortunate so far touch wood. North Strand isn't on my top 5 list of places to be in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

its a once off, hope yer faring alright just be glad they're not persistent bully muggers, in your area. tip: don't go there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭pvt6zh395dqbrj

Man that sucks. Sorry to hear that man.

My philosophy is "Give them what they want.....unless its your consent for sex."

t....but yeah - its not worth getting your head kicked in for the sake of a wallet. Did you have a picture of a good looking lady in this wallet?

Also, what did you get in the chipper?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭sherdydan

Shít luck man!

hopefully they got hit by a car as they were running off from ya!

Once had a knacker try to rob my phone when I was a kid, he asked me to take out my phone to tell him the time, I looked at him and asked him why he couldnt check his watch :p

as soon as he moved toward me i booted it the fúck outta there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

sorry to hear that op, the place is covered by cctv so hopefully the garda can catch this responsible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Sorry to hear that,junkie had his hand in my pocket outside M&S in town two weeks ago,thankfully he didn't get anything of value, they had a knife so it was best to let them take what they wanted,money isn't everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

newportlad wrote: »
    I got mugged in dublin a couple of hours ago, two lads, bout 5,6 height, skinny and 17/18 age. one of them said he had a knife, I couldn't see it but he was holding something in his jacket pocket, tried ignoring them etc but I was carrying food from shipper so hands full and eventually took my wallet and they ran off. It was on north strand road past 5 lamps where the flats are. Does anyone have Any advice/things they would have done differently.. Pretty shook up by it, have notified the cops anyway
    Not much you could have done. I teach martial arts and my advice is always run if you can, if you can't then just give them what they want. You could have ended up with a screwdriver in your head like that polish lad two years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Sorry Op, at least you weren't hurt and only lost some cash though. It could've turned out much worse though.

Better to be a poster here tonight, than an obligatory article in the paper tomorrow.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It was on north strand road past 5 lamps where the flats are.

Sorry to hear.
    I used to walk that every day and cut through the alleyways of Ballybough by Croke Park Villas every day & night walking back and from work at all hours. Shortcut to Drumcondra

Never had an issue but reading your post shows I was just lucky, pitch black in some of those areas. Or you unlucky I suppose.

Any advice/things they would have done differently.. Pretty shook up by it, have notified the cops anyway

And don't torture yourself with thinking "what I could have done differently?"

Unless you're an exceptionally well-trained or lucky(rare) person, how you behaved, I'm assuming you didn't antagonize these vermin, was spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Sorry to hear that, there's not much you could have done really. Better just give up the wallet instead of having the chance they might harm you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

stevejr wrote: »
    And don't torture yourself with thinking "what I could have done differently?"

Unless you're an exceptionally lucky(rare) person, how you behaved, I'm assuming you didn't antagonize these vermin, was spot on.

You meant what I edited. Being well trained has nothing to do with it.

Yes, OP, I was mugged about 14 and they nicked my phone. Long story short, no matter what they take, you'll live to tell the tale. So don't worry about it.

You didn't get hurt so you did well

Anyone with an ounce of cop on that was mugged will say that. I understand it's a horrible thing but you're able to talk about it; better than saying "no, sod off" and telling your story to a doctor in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Sorry to hear that,junkie had his hand in my pocket outside M&S in town two weeks ago,thankfully he didn't get anything of value, they had a knife so it was best to let them take what they wanted,money isn't everything.

Junkie tried that one on a friend of mine, former paramilitary who saw the light and got educated, who was down visiting from the North. Long story short, one minute I'm supping tay and chewing some bacon, the next minute my mate had pulled yer man's hand onto the table and buried a fork in it.
    Caused uproar in Bewleys, let me tell you.
    But these scummers tend to be armed with knives, the Roma gypsies especially. You win some, you lose some. If it happens, it's generally best to try to get a good look at them, give them what they want, and then have a perfect description to tell the cops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

I've never been mugged personally but my aunt was a few years ago. She was walking from busarus at night when a pair of junkies came up to her and threatened her with a syringe for her handbag. She handed it over with no fight. No point risking getting stabbed for a handbag obviously. Even after years gone by she's still frightened walking through town at night on her own. Hopefully the two b*stards that did it are in prison or overdosed by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

karlog wrote: »
    I've never been mugged personally but my aunt was a few years ago. She was walking from busarus at night when a pair of junkies came up to her and threatened her with a syringe for her handbag. She handed it over with no fight. No point risking getting stabbed for a handbag obviously. Even after years gone by she's still frightened walking through town at night on her own. Hopefully the two b*stards that did it are in prison or overdosed by now.

A syringe is a major differnece, mainly with junkies. A knife might get in the wrong spot and you'll be fine but a dirt syrgine and you're ending up with something, once it breaks skin.

Or they're hopefully barely surviving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Always handy to have a dummy wallet with those springy snakes in it.

Ah don't beat yourself up about it, horrible thing to happen but had you done anything Different you may be In A & E now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Junkie tried that one on a friend of mine, former paramilitary who saw the light and got educated, who was down visiting from the North. Long story short, one minute I'm supping tay and chewing some bacon, the next minute my mate had pulled yer man's hand onto the table and buried a fork in it.
    Caused uproar in Bewleys, let me tell you.
    But these scummers tend to be armed with knives, the Roma gypsies especially. You win some, you lose some. If it happens, it's generally best to try to get a good look at them, give them what they want, and then have a perfect description to tell the cops.

Wow, maybe he should see some more light and get educated in not getting HIV junkie blood all over his 'tay' and bacon.

You meant what I edited. Being well trained has nothing to do with it.

Yes, OP, I was mugged about 14 and they nicked my phone. Long story short, no matter what they take, you'll live to tell the tale. So don't worry about it.

You didn't get hurt so you did well

Anyone with an ounce of cop on that was mugged will say that. I understand it's a horrible thing but you're able to talk about it; better than saying "no, sod off" and telling your story to a doctor in the morning.

Hi Chaotic,just to clarify, by my saying "well trained" my intention was not to imply that the OP couldn't handle himself, nor to imply that any mugging victims are weak.

What my point was intended to emphasise was that people who can extricate themselves from such situations through force or dialogue are virtually unheard of.

The Have-a-go-hero example that the media emphasises in rarely successful examples is dangerous IMO, in that it gives people unrealistic ideas about how the reality of these unfortunate situations can play out and encourages foolishness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

That sucks op, make sure you're ok in the next few days. You might feel fine and think "that was a ****ty evening" but stuff like that can effect you. I was robbed before while working in a shop and it wasn't until 2 days later when I was giving a statement to the gardai that the whole thing came back to me. I had told the story to mates down the pub that night no problem, but when going into detail with the gardai I realised how serious it was and I was pretty shook up. Dont mean to worry you or anything, just make sure you don't find yourself anxious at the thought of going out at night or walking alone in the same area

Hope the ****ers didn't get your chipper and you enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Wow, maybe he should see some more light and get educated in not getting HIV junkie blood all over his 'tay' and bacon.

Wasn't any eating done after that incident. Put me right off my fry. Cops were called. Loads of hassle.
    Like I said, I wouldn't recommend responding to thieves. They're desperate and could be armed. It's better off to try to memorise what they look like and give a full description to police after getting out of the situation in one piece.
    But it sort of cheers me to know that these scummers don't always have it their way. I heard another tale up in Antrim years ago about a bunch of dicks breaking into a house who ran into a traveller bareknuckle fighter. Didn't hear all the details, but I understand he made a point of breaking all their fingers so they couldn't thieve for a while.
    And my old next door neighbour told me that the lad living in our old house, a PSNI officer, had a break-in about a year ago. They must have **** themselves when they found him with his pistol in their face and a full-on riot squad arriving at the door after he hit his panic button.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Got mugged at the square tallaght while on my way home from work in 2002.

The anger I felt following the incident was probably more damaging than the incident itself. No joke I'd of put a bullet in the two little scangers if I got my hands on them back then, all they got was a tenner and a 10 box of fags.

I'm happy enough that the two of them are probably sitting in a crack house right now killing themselves if not dead already.

my liberal heart bleeds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Sorry to hear it OP. I lived just off North Strand Road last year, used to tell myself it wasn't that bad but at the same time I would always have gotten the bus past those flats if I could help it. I always found it an odd place, I could never put my finger on whether it was unsafe (well, more unsafe than most places).

Never actually been mugged in the sense of being robbed, but when I was very young and living in Tallaght there were a couple of instances where I would just be jumped and have the sh*t icked out of me for no reason other than a bunch of scumbags having nothing better to do. Because it happened when I was very young it really influenced me and I've always been *very* careful to avoid bad areas and bad people ever since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

Someone once belted me with a cup of tea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Ah. AH.

Shoulda told them to hang their bollix off the Five Lamps is what you could have done. They'd then nod in agreement and leave you well alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Haruki

Got held up at knife point once, no damage done, but a horrible experience, managed to get a hold of the knife and throw it over a wall into a bush, he panicked i panicked, then i legged it. Strange thing was i knew his face and the area he lived. Found out a week later he hung himself, which really scared the bejesus out of me, if he had no respect for his life, safe to say he was gonna have feck all for mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭face1990

As much as we'd all like to think we'd beat the ****e out of any muggers, there's no sense in putting up a fight when faced with a weapon.

Being a hero will put you in the grave or a hospital ward. Giving them what they want will bruise your pride but not much else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭whiteboy

face1990 wrote: »
    As much as we'd all like to think we'd beat the ****e out of any muggers, there's no sense in putting up a fight when faced with a weapon.

Being a hero will put you in the grave or a hospital ward. Giving them what they want will bruise your pride but not much else.

maybe everyone should take to mugging then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Unpossible wrote: »
    Not much you could have done. I teach martial arts and my advice is always run if you can, if you can't then just give them what they want. You could have ended up with a screwdriver in your head like that polish lad two years ago.

+1.

I've the same background as Unpossible, and this is the very advice I'd give too.

Its easy, and the right thing to say "don't beat yourself up over it, sh*t happens" - but you will go over it again, and again - its a very natural reaction.

But in time you'll get over it.

And you know, the little fvckers will most likely die a very die and painful death (fingers crossed).

If you wanna go over it with anyone, feel free to PM me for a chat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Yep, mugged a couple of times over the years. Worst was in Rotterdam when two black lads jumped my mate and I on the way back from the swimming pools. They had goddamn machetes! Long story short, got away. Retrieved wallet and mobile (stupidly in retrospect but adrenalin does mad things to you). Knives pulled on me in Dublin before too... Best bet is always run. If they do get something, give a description to the Guards as soon as possible, before you forget any details like description, time, place etc. With all the CCTV around they should get an image of the scumbags. Hope they catch them OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

Its a sickening experience, thats for sure. Has happened myself three times in Limerick city. All random incidents, no premeditation behind it, and all done by different groups of lads. Was happy enough to discover that one of the chaps ended up rotting in jail a few weeks later. Unfortunately, it was for something a lot more serious.

Best thing to do is to always have your wits about you when walking through dodgy areas. Always keep one hand free, just in case you ever need to react.

You did well though, mate. Good to hear you're not hurt anyway.