Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best Rugby Boots???

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

Canterbury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 hugh2006

Alright readers!

My lovely Puma Esito XL H8 exploded last Saturday morning. Not too annoyed as had them ~18 months & (lazily) never cleaned them or kept any care of them (thrown in the hot press after every training session & game!!!).

Always wore Puma Kings or Esitos & never had a problem but in the mood to extend my rugby boot knowledge. Looking at 3 possibilities at the moment;
    1. Puma Powercat 3.10
      - Comfortable but not usually a fan of boots that are in anyway colourful.
      - Look like their designed for kicking, like Predators? I'm a hooker who is specifically banned from kicking.
    2. Asics Lethal Scrum
      - Very comfortable
      - Bought them today & wearing them around the gaf to get a feel for them. Could return them if I don't play in them.
    3. Concave - PT+ Classic SG
      - Never heard of them until spotted them today.
      - Have a protection pad thingy over the laces to protect from getting trod on.
      - Good deal in Elvery's St. Green.
      - Needs a shoe horn to get on. Not joking, a shoe horn is included when you buy them! Very snug.
      - Worn mostly by footballers but trying to break into the rugby world.

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

Currently I have 3 pairs of boots in my kit.
    Asics Lethal Warno
    Asics Lethal Scrum
    Adidas Flanker.

The Warno are without a shadow of a doubt the best. Available exclusively or so they say on Lovell rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭maherball

Are the lethal scrum ones good? I'm looking to get a comfy pair as my current ones are a little hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

i have a pair of old mizuno timarus and a pair of canterburys, i play hooker/prop and i always found the timarus top notch, only gripe is i had is that i found them very prone to losing studs
    the canterburys i got off a friend who quit rugby and i find them alot lighter than the mizunos, whether it is in my head or not but i feel quicker wearing them, but the studs they come with are sh!te imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Seanbass

hey all,
    sorry if this is just a stupid question but I was wondering if wearing these boots (other than standing out like a sore thumb) would be alright for rugby.

http://www.soccer.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Merchant_Id=1&Ne=21&N=4294959028+4294960567&Product_Id=755719

I only ask because I currently use them for playing astro football and I'm looking to start rugby this coming season and being out of work and all I'm not sure I can afford a new pair!
    sound in advance for the slagging and advice :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

there is no law banning blades but they are seriously frowned upon by most clubs/referees

then alot of people say they cause an increased risk of knee injuries,.....i dont know why this is but its been said a couple of time

as for the colour, ive seen alot worse on a rugby field.alot alot worse

Blades cause serious cuts that need to be stitched up. They should be banned. In fact I think the only blades that are legal are the addidas predator rugby blades.
    Any player that wears blades out playing contact Rugby Union is irresponsible. I think some soccer clubs have even banned blades as they cause too many injuries.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/top-stories/2005/09/10/man-u-blade-ban-115875-15952294/

Its old but gets my point across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭JonnyF

i think the real problem with blades is that they can stick in the ground easier than studs as their a longer shape. your foot plants and gets stuck in one position and then you can twist your knee and do your ACL. We had this happen in a preseason game when a guy was in blades and the physio said it was the blades.
    the long shape lets them catch in the ground more, the studs would turn in the ground but the blades don't.

that's what i've learned anyway, willing to be contradicted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,270 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

JonnyF wrote: »
    i think the real problem with blades is that they can stick in the ground easier than studs as their a longer shape. your foot plants and gets stuck in one position and then you can twist your knee and do your ACL. We had this happen in a preseason game when a guy was in blades and the physio said it was the blades.
    the long shape lets them catch in the ground more, the studs would turn in the ground but the blades don't.

My physio has said he's definitely noticed a trend in people getting similar injuries from wearing blades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭Seanbass

hmmm they are good points, I never thought about them not turning or the damage I could cause.
    looks like ill have to start saving for a new pair!

Right lads since this is up and running again. My canterbury Pheonix's just popped a stud so I am going to get an new pair of boots. I am looking for something more comfortable than them, have been looking at Asics Scrums anyone used these?

Any recommendations? Any sites other than Kitbagm Prodirect or lovell where I might find them cheap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭ormondprop

i got a new pair of flankers two weeks ago up north for £65 when i was up there playing a match, nice and comfortable, dont find em 2 heavy but then i', a prop thats been wearing kooga and mizunos the last few seasons so i wouldnt know a light boot if it kicked me in the face
    http://www.prodirectrugby.com/prodinfo.asp?PID=PDR-002-001-110&DEPT=2&BRAND=1&SS=1&PROFILE=Heritage

i find em nice but comparing them to the flanker IV's i reckon there cheaper to make the old ones had some padding on the heel of the foot for protection and had an extra leather panel on the front and can be got cheap at the moment so would be a good buy
    http://www.prodirectrugby.com/prodinfo.asp?PID=PDR-002-001-115&DEPT=2&BRAND=1&SS=1&PROFILE=Heritage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭theKramer

ormondprop wrote: »
    i got a new pair of flankers two weeks ago up north for £65 when i was up there playing a match, nice and comfortable, dont find em 2 heavy but then i', a prop thats been wearing kooga and mizunos the last few seasons so i wouldnt know a light boot if it kicked me in the face
    http://www.prodirectrugby.com/prodinfo.asp?PID=PDR-002-001-110&DEPT=2&BRAND=1&SS=1&PROFILE=Heritage
    You can get those boots for £43 exc delivery from here.
    I buy a lot of stuff off Newitts. They usually have really good prices for baselayer and general rugby training gear like shorts/tops/jersies/etc.

I dont have shares in them, by the way, but I probably should :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭eoferrall

Blades cause serious cuts that need to be stitched up. They should be banned. In fact I think the only blades that are legal are the addidas predator rugby blades.
    Any player that wears blades out playing contact Rugby Union is irresponsible. I think some soccer clubs have even banned blades as they cause too many injuries.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/top-stories/2005/09/10/man-u-blade-ban-115875-15952294/

Its old but gets my point across.

you need to specify the blade material to be fair. I have blades and they are hard rubber not the plastic or metal ones. the blades don't cause the cuts etc initially, its the wear on concrete etc that wears the blades and gives them sharper edges.

No ref has ever had an issue with mine, once you ensure they are not worn in the other forms of blades they should be ok too imo. they cause no worse damage if in contact than normal studs.

a blanket comment like that is a bit of a generalisation. ANY player who does not care for his/her equipment is irresponsible.

Bought the Asics Scrum, not as comfortable as the Ascis Lethal White ones. Most comfortable boots ever.

If the studs popped you can replace the thread if thats the problem.
    Lift up the insole, Use a screw driver to pop the threads out of the boot, replace the threads with ones that are ok. (Get them out of old boots, or in a sports shop - my local sports shop stocks the little thread thingys).

Only takes 5 minutes, I do it regularly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭remwhite

There's a guy I follow on Twitter has just opened a new rugby shop in the Merrion Shopping centre. Try support a new start up Irish business rather than buying online. With stg and delivery costs you won't save a lot by going online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,270 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Also check out active wear in the Blackrock Shopping Centre - they normally have boots for around €45 or so. And ask what they have in stock as well - they sometimes only have the expensive ones on display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

I recommend these.

Bought the Asics Scrum, not as comfortable as the Ascis Lethal White ones. Most comfortable boots ever.

If the studs popped you can replace the thread if thats the problem.
    Lift up the insole, Use a screw driver to pop the threads out of the boot, replace the threads with ones that are ok. (Get them out of old boots, or in a sports shop - my local sports shop stocks the little thread thingys).

Only takes 5 minutes, I do it regularly.

Ah well not really popped like that, they are on an "island" on the sole which has started to rip/split from the shoe, they are grand for the next couple of training sessions but will need new ones soon.