Here's One For All You Multi-Cultural Heads; Greatest City You've Ever Visited/Lived?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

SV wrote: »
    What pricks voted Dublin?

If you didn't vote for trolling purposes then I've some bad news for you, you're a ****ing retard.
    nothing great about Dublin.

Eh sorry no. While I didn't vote for it, I can understand Dublin being seen as a fantastic city to live. I live in London and I'm constantly getting people telling me that they were in Dublin recently and despite the price, found it to be an amazing city that they want to go again. And they're completely right. I've been to a lot of places around the world, but the Irish people are the friendliest (Scottish a close second) people I've ever met. Always willing to have a chat with you, always willing for you to join in the banter. And then outside that, it's still a city filled with vast culture and history. Don't dismiss it just because it's local, it still stands out as one of the most beautiful and interesting cities in the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

ztoical wrote: »
    There is a difference between having visited a place and having lived there. If I was just to pick any where I'd been regardless of length of time it would Kyoto Japan - spent a month there on a comic book residency and it was one of the nicest cities I've ever been to. Spent a couple of days in Toyko as contrast and hated it. Not getting the London love, I currently live there and am not overly impressed with the place. It's a standard big city with a really ****ty public transport system....better then anything you'd find in Dublin for sure but compared to other larger cities it's pretty poor and over priced.

I have a love hate relationship with London. If you can get past the indifference and attitude from the superficial types, it can be good. Kyoto is awesome, we were there for the first time in ages and I really got it the second time round. Have you been to Tadgh's bar? Awesome and not the usual pseudo-Orish bar you find... lots of microbrews and a nice view of the river. Other great thing about Kyoto (apart from the temples and shrines) is that it's so close to Osaka.

Tokyo is very much an aquired taste. I get exhausted pretty fast there - after a couple of hours. Still, plenty to do and see and the Tower Records in Shibuya is the best.

Whereabouts in London town do you dwell, then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's a toss up between New York and Prague.

New York just for being so big, it's like being on a different planet compared to anything in Europe.

Prague for being just as incredible but from a different era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

I would have to say New York. Just an absolutly epic place, loads to see/do, eat, drink sleep if your not worried on missing something.

Vegas is a great place to but everything about it is false... Still love it tho.

I went to london when I was 18 and it was so big it scared the sh1te outta me. I want to go back there again to give it a decent go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Montreal in Canada.
    You just can't beat a multi-lingual city for sheer vibrancy and life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Brisbane was pretty damn cool. But my all-time favourite, best city on earth is New York. Even though I don't live there, it really does feel like a second home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Nice, Souther France. There is a beautiful city quarter, an old French quarter, an exclusive fantastically rich built quarter and there is the absolute stunning views and massive choices of bars and restaurants of every kind too ...and thats just to begin with.

The idea is that some day I will retire there.

P.S. It also helps too that the women there are absolutely stunning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Went to NYC for 3 months on my own last summer. Best thing ever. Could do my own thing, walked for miles and miles everyday.

A close second is Dubai. I went there years ago before the real construction and tourism took off. Amazing.
    One thing though, we went out to a shanty town outside the city, towards Oman (near Hatta for anyone that knows the place) and they all had BMW, Porsche, Mercedes and Volvo jeeps! They didn't seem to mind that all they had over their heads was corrugated steel!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Dusseldorf!!! love the buzz of the city, real friendly atmosphere and some of the most attractive women ive seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

I have lived in Dublin, New York and London.

Dublin: Nice and small with really good quality of life. Downside is the weather, economy and sadly blighted by skangers.

New York : Exciting and vibrant but a bit of a rat race. More than some of the locals are a bit gruff. You have to bite your lip sometimes. Not at all as friendly as most other Americans.

London : Culturally fantastic but too big and congested.

I really don't think there's a straight answer to your question.
    To each his own.
    PS
    (Berlin, Florence and Venice are nice places to visit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

berlin, san francisco, barcelona and miami are great cities

new york, paris and london slightly over-rated, have to say new york is growing on me more each time i visit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

New York...if it wasnt for all the Jets and Yankee fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭SadieSue

I've lived here in Montreal for a few years now and its definitely not my favourite city. Ottawa is much nicer and the public transport there is better designed and not as expensive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

Are we talking about our favourite destinations or mutli-cultural places?

If its multicultural then to be honest I love London too. Its such a fantastic city with such a good buzz about it.

If it's the best craic ever then its hard to look past Prague or Amsterdam, two awesome trips.

If it's most multicultural but maybe not the nicest... try the North Shore on Maui, the Hawaiian Ghetto :) Gangs of Hawaiians, Tongans, Fijians, and all the other islands who basically go around kicking the crap out of each other, stopping long enough only to beat the crap out of any Americans they can find... quick tip... if a giant Samoan guy picks a fight with you, its cos your white and he thinks your American, let him know you're Irish, he'll prob buy you a pint... they love us :)

If it's a multicultural Paradise then it's Kihei, Maui. The most unbelievable summer of my life to live there. You meet people from every part of the world imaginable and it's just paradise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Pattaya city Thailand,best city in the world end of :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Lived - Chi-town

Visited - Port Vila (Vanuatu)

Honourable mention - Perth / Las Vegas

Poll needs an 'Other' or 'Oceanic' option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭ValJester

1.Berlin. By a mile, there isn't a cooler place going.
    2.Copenhagen. Expensive beyond belief, but has more charm than anywhere else I've ever been
    3.Rome. More so for the manic energy than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I'm surprised nobody's mentioned Vancouver. Its consistently voted as one of the top cities to live in.

No that I'd pick it.

I'd probably go for London or New York. Or Dublin.

Depends on how you define "greatest" really...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭veXual

I lived in San Francisco for a while great place!

A guy who I knew there described the place fairly well "Everyone should live in San Francisco at some stage in their life and then bring that experience with them where ever they move onto"

I just thought the whole place had a really positive vibe about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Probably Berlin or Amsterdam.

London is always worth a mention. There's just something about London I can't quite put my finger on. Never lived there. I'd imagine it would be overwhelming as its so vast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

Biggins wrote: »
    Nice, Souther France. There is a beautiful city quarter, an old French quarter, an exclusive fantastically rich built quarter and there is the absolute stunning views and massive choices of bars and restaurants of every kind too ...and thats just to begin with.

The idea is that some day I will retire there.

P.S. It also helps too that the women there are absolutely stunning!

I can't disagree with you there.

I stayed in Nice for a few weeks - a bus to Monaco is less than €1! I visited Cannes for less than €2. You can't even get to Phibsboro from Parnell Street for that price.

The French Riviera is definitely one of the most beautiful places in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

Venice - It literally blew my mind. It is the strangest and most amazing place I have ever been.

I have been there twice now, both times at Christmas, in the snow. The architecture is breathtaking and to go so long without seeing or hearing a car is amazing. The only downside is that I now hate walking alongside traffic now as I have become so hyper-aware of them after having been in Venice.

Copper23 wrote: »
    If it's most multicultural but maybe not the nicest... try the North Shore on Maui, the Hawaiian Ghetto :) Gangs of Hawaiians, Tongans, Fijians, and all the other islands who basically go around kicking the crap out of each other, stopping long enough only to beat the crap out of any Americans they can find... quick tip... if a giant Samoan guy picks a fight with you, its cos your white and he thinks your American, let him know you're Irish, he'll prob buy you a pint... they love us :)

If it's a multicultural Paradise then it's Kihei, Maui. The most unbelievable summer of my life to live there. You meet people from every part of the world imaginable and it's just paradise.

Didn't get to Maui but I'll head for Kihei next time. On your recommendation, ok? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,264 ✭✭✭rednik

Baghdad. Beer,heat,great hotels/restaurants and Irish nurses.;)

Seems to be quite a few people mentioning Barcelona...I thought the cities image was blackend by the amount of prostitutes and thieves roaming la rambla. I felt very uncomfortable walking through it at night!!!

on a positive note its great for the nightlife!!!!

major bill wrote: »
    Seems to be quite a few people mentioning Barcelona...I thought the cities image was blackend by the amount of prostitutes and thieves roaming la rambla. I felt very uncomfortable walking through it at night!!!

on a positive note its great for the nightlife!!!!

Tbf, most cities have this. Just keep your wits about you & try not to look like a mark and you'll be grand. 99% of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Big City - New York, Berlin
    Medium City - Edinburgh
    Small City - Cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Waterford City undoubtedly.

The Waterford people are an amazing race. They'd steal the hat off your head and swap it for a turnip as soon as you're in the door of the house. But they'll make you a savage cup of tea and let you fiddle their sister to make up for it.

The traditional dance of Waterford City has to be seen to be believed. The Whirling Dervishes in Istanbul have nothing on the clumsy yet majestic Catherine Wheel of the Waterford man as he spins across the dancefloor at Revolution and ends up careering into a table full of drinks sending them upwards to shower him impressively with Barcadi Breezer, Blue WKD and Cider. And then the coup de grâce, a vain attempt to stand up which results in cuts to both hands and knees from the broken glass followed by projectile vomiting all over the onlookers. It's a privilege to be puked on by a Waterford Man performing the traditional dance. But luckily most tourists will get this honour if they stay for over 2 days in the mighty city.

Yay verily, Waterford City is the king of cities. Amen.

Brilliant post :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

bluto63 wrote: »
    Eh sorry no. While I didn't vote for it, I can understand Dublin being seen as a fantastic city to live. I live in London and I'm constantly getting people telling me that they were in Dublin recently and despite the price, found it to be an amazing city that they want to go again. And they're completely right. I've been to a lot of places around the world, but the Irish people are the friendliest (Scottish a close second) people I've ever met. Always willing to have a chat with you, always willing for you to join in the banter. And then outside that, it's still a city filled with vast culture and history. Don't dismiss it just because it's local, it still stands out as one of the most beautiful and interesting cities in the world.

Dublin is a kip. 'Beautiful' it is not. 'Interesting'? Yes, interesting if you find stopping at junctions and having beggars constantly come up to your window, or having little scumbags ask you to buy them cigarettes or give them money interesting. Went to college there and lived there for two years, so its not like I'm speaking as a culchie who has only been there once. Inefficient, smelly, ugly, unfriendly, and full of scumbags, to a greater extent than most towns in Ireland. I have some good friends from Dublin who are some of the soundest people I know, but I found them quite the exception, rather than the rule.

Went to Dublin yesterday for the first time in two months or so. Hopped on the Luas, first stop, three of the dodgiest women I've ever seen got on, started roaring the place down about the amount of 'brown sugar' they had this morning in their coffee, and heckling the Asian lad beside them about 'how are ya supposed to read that stupid chinesey writing?'

'Dublin has everything?' Like what? A McDonalds that stays open a bit later? Woop di doo!

ottostreet wrote: »
    Dublin is a kip. 'Beautiful' it is not. 'Interesting'? Yes, interesting if you find stopping at junctions and having beggars constantly come up to your window, or having little scumbags ask you to buy them cigarettes or give them money interesting. Went to college there and lived there for two years, so its not like I'm speaking as a culchie who has only been there once. Inefficient, smelly, ugly, unfriendly, and full of scumbags, to a greater extent than most towns in Ireland. I have some good friends from Dublin who are some of the soundest people I know, but I found them quite the exception, rather than the rule.

Went to Dublin yesterday for the first time in two months or so. Hopped on the Luas, first stop, three of the dodgiest women I've ever seen got on, started roaring the place down about the amount of 'brown sugar' they had this morning in their coffee, and heckling the Asian lad beside them about 'how are ya supposed to read that stupid chinesey writing?'

'Dublin has everything?' Like what? A McDonalds that stays open a bit later? Woop di doo!

Chip on shoulder:rolleyes: