First mobile phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Daegerty wrote: »
    Great yokes altogether. How long before it drained the battery of the car?

088 number?

The base of it was the battery, weighted a ton, but fully portable.
    Yeah 088 number, think the first eircel mobiles were 088 as well.

Does anyone remember the mobiles (actual mobile, not big brutes like i posted above) that took a whole card, not just the cut out sim card. You had to slide the credit card sized sim in through the base of the phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭cusackd

3210 Back in the day where you could change the outgoing message centre number and youd get free texts, none of that messing now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

First phone I had was a Motorola d160 could always stick four double A batteries in it if it went flat.

Made a good few quid replacing 3210/3310 screens used to be able go get them for a tenner a pop and charge 30 for them fitted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

Senna wrote: »
    The base of it was the battery, weighted a ton, but fully portable.
    Yeah 088 number, think the first eircel mobiles were 088 as well.

Does anyone remember the mobiles (actual mobile, not big brutes like i posted above) that took a whole card, not just the cut out sim card. You had to slide the credit card sized sim in through the base of the phone.

Indeed I do. My uncle had one in 95. This one I think, the charger I still have for it looks very familiar. http://www.vintagemobilephones.com/MyImages/Bosch%20Cartel%20SL%202G2%20%286%29.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,960 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My first mobile phone was a Nokia 3210 in 1999. I thought it was the bees knees back then!:D

The world's first mobile telephone was invented in 1973 - even older than me - wow!.:pac: This is what it looked like:

http://blog.modernmechanix.com/mags/qf/c/PopularScience/7-1973/lrg_cover.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Dr Kildare

i got my first mobile in 1999 when i was 14....it was the current in phone at time

have to to say, i love having the phones with instant email...its very handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Daegerty wrote: »
    The only thing indestructible on this planet is a Volkswagen TDI engine.

Lets not get ahead of ourselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

JupiterKid wrote: »
    My first mobile phone was a Nokia 3210 in 1999. It thought it was the bees knees back then!:D

The world's first mobile telephone was invented in 1973 - even older than me - wow!.:pac: This is what it looked like:

http://blog.modernmechanix.com/mags/qf/c/PopularScience/7-1973/lrg_cover.jpg

Lol.......take-along phones. I think I'm going to start using that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

cusackd wrote: »
    3210 Back in the day where you could change the outgoing message centre number and youd get free texts, none of that messing now.

That was great, until they found out and started taking all my credit everytime I topped up :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I cant remember the year exactly but it was Eircell 088 and a Motorola brick >.<

I'll hazard a guess at 1998/99.

callaway92 wrote: »
    Nokia 3210, and I'm sure that's the same for many people here!

Had one of them.

I don't have a flash phone now, I call from it, but only text from it if Im away from my lappy. Spending a heap on a phone wouldnt make sense for my needs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Abi wrote: »
    I cant remember the year exactly but it was Eircell 088 and a Motorola brick >.<

Oh **** I forgot I had one of the before my 5110.
    With a flimsy retractable aerial ?
    The 5110 was so modern cause it had a stubby aerial :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

A savvy or something you got free with an AIB bank account in 99. Been getting statements of 0 in it ever since. I really should close that account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Nokia 3310 was my first. To hell with you oldies and your "3210s". Mine was best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Father had a Philips fizz I think it was called. The sim card was a full call card. Can picture my first phone but can't think of the name of it. Was about 1000 - 12 years ago and was top of the range. Back when you could change the message centre number and get free texts for about a day lol. The phone took some slaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

Someone please think about the children! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

1999, the Nokia 5110 was the big model at the time

But I couldn't afford that and got some Motorola.
    When you received a text it just showed the number and you couldn't get it to show the name.
    So you needed to recognize your friends phone numbers.

Calls cost 80p a minute peak :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Some blue Motorola brick jobbie, on Eircell RTG. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭QuinnC88

Ah, the Motorola StarTAC, taught i was the business with a flip-phone! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

1994, Old NEC Brick, Used it as a Paperweight for a while too
    By any chance was it the P100?

My first phone also and cost me over £300 with a years contract with Eircell at £27 a month and thats without even making a call.:eek:

http://www.mobiles.co.uk/necp100.htm
    1999, the Nokia 5110 was the big model at the time
    I went through about four of these over a space of three years and still keep one as a back up although they are a pig to use for text messages. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I was so proud the day I cleared snake on me old Nokia. Didn't want anyone to ring me incase it took it off the screen whilst i ran around showing everyone the full screen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

I had a 5110 then a 3310 savage phones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭scheister

my 1st phone i was a present for xmas 00 i think. It was some motorola thing that came with x tokens from the evening hearld. think it still cost like £50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Back in the days when Irish mobiles only had 5 digits and Eircell was the only network, my first phone was a NEC 9A, then followed by a Motorola (can't remember the model no.), next was a Siemens, then the Sony "Mars Bar" which cost a absolute fortune back in 1993.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

some monsterolla thing.
    it was huge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mr Magners

This!!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nokia_1610

Credit card size sim and a battery that would last half a day if you were lucky. Everyone used to have spare batteries for their phones at the time.

Makes me feel old when you see people mentioning phones with colour screens as their first ever phones:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Had one of these first. Shite, but you could change the colour of the ring on the aerial.
    callaway92 wrote: »
    Nokia 3210, and I'm sure that's the same for many people here!
    nuxxx wrote: »
    :) Everyone had them! They were tough out too, practically indestructible
    Opinicus wrote: »
    Must have dropped mine about a thousand times and the only reason I stopped using it was because I dropped it that thousandth time and half the screen went blank. Still took calls but you had to guess what half of most text messages said.
    I have a mate that still uses one of these. Great phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

I think it was this one around 98

http://www.byemobile.com/mobile/Panasonic/GD30

though it looks a little roundier then I remember, I may have had one a bit more bricklike before it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,775 ✭✭✭Fittle

Never mind my first phone.

I got one of those touch-screen phones a month ago. I thought it would be cool, coz everyone on the Dart just uses their fingers to scroll up and down their screen in the mornings...:mad:

boy was I wrong:mad:

It is driving me insane - I constantly delete every text I write before I send it, by touching the feckin backspace button for a second too much. I constantly cut myself off calls when my cheek hits off the screen. I have wasted so much credit sending half written texts:mad::mad:
    I am going back to a phone with buttons.
    WHAT'S WRONG WITH BUTTON!!!!

And yes. I'm old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Startac 70 circa 1998.

It wouldn't look up numbers properly when you sent a text. But that's okay because for some reason i couldn't send texts to Esat anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Ericsson GA 318 ... around 1997/98

Interchangeable front panel too!!!!!