Its absolutely obscene how David Drumm paid just 10k tax on earnings of 10 million

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

Fair enough. I was wondering how a PAYE job could possibly have allowed that low levels of tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

bluewolf wrote: »
    My 32k sal = 5k tax including USC and 2k pension
    someone is ripping you off

I bet it's his wife who's stolen his tax credits while he recovered from a heavy night of Sunday boozin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

He paid 6.3 mill actually. All the easily outraged can froth about something else now.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/0225/breaking55.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Mena wrote: »
    He paid 6.3 mill actually. All the easily outraged can froth about something else now.

Thread...Case closed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Well in fairness if the original report had been accurate then any outrage would have been completely legitimate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,778 ✭✭✭goz83

I bet his bonuses were not taxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

goz83 wrote: »
    I bet his bonuses were not taxed

Yeah, because when the truth does'nt match with our expectations, we'll just make **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

El Siglo wrote: »
    Cunt. They'll chase us down over a fucking tenner and this fuck pays nearly nothing in tax... while running the bank that fucked us all up.

The fucker :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

oh no who are ah gonna sulk and blame the countries problems on now???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,212 ✭✭✭Patser

Jaysus, this is a serious mess up by the Times and I reckon there could be a lot a crap to follow over this. Think about this way, Drumm, who's one of the most hated men in (out?) Ireland, is accused on the front page of the Times of paying shag all tax. Now we'll have to all watch as Drumm, still hated, gets to claim quie a lot of cash off the Times in damages and makes a good bit more cash.

Also, The Times choose to break this story on the day of an election. Front page news and everything. As early posters in this thread put it
    Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Welcome to Fine Fail's Ireland. The Party of the rich voted in by the stupid.

and so on. The Times didn't correct this til around 8pm, long after the bulk of today's voting is over. At worst Fianna Fail have a case to say it influenced the result and sue, at best Michael Martin has a scapegoat.

Serious mess up by The Times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Yeah, because when the truth does'nt match with our expectations, we'll just make **** up.
    Just like Anglo and their accounting practices you mean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

oh no who are ah gonna sulk and blame the countries problems on now???

David Drumm, Michael Fingleton, Seanie Fitz etc.

In what way does the fact that he's not guilty of tax evasion make him any less culpable for the country's problems?

Although I'm sure you still admire these money-grubbing traitors. That forelock of yours must be killing you at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭CokaColumbo

Only €6.3 million?!

Everybody seems to forget that the top 4% of tax payers pay 50% of all taxes. People think that society is based on the rich enjoying their wealth at the expense of those less well off. That's not the case. Those at the bottom get homes for next to nothing, don't have to work, don't have to pay for services like health care etc. And why? Because those at the top are forced to subsidise their sedentary lifestyles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

I pay more tax than that a year on my 35k salary. Its fcuking disgusting how that bastard is allowed to just walk away from the destruction he caused in Ireland.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2011/0225/1224290841877.html

Did anyone catch the guy interviewed by RTE Radio yesterday after his Court hearing. The guy has 200 !! previous convictions and each and every time he has had free legal aid. He joked about how many millionaire solicitors he has helped create. :(

Still he wasn't happy, he was complaining that there were too many foreigners working in Irl at the mo and with not enough work for Irish, the foreigners should be sent home! When it was put to him what if all the Irish (illegal etc) in USA were sent home, would that be fair? "No way, the Irish have every right to be there, afterall, they built America."

I wonder what is the point of wasting money continuously on such people, perhaps the State needs to take a closer look?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

bonerm wrote: »
    I'm sure the man is probably thinking if he'd got a better accountant that he could have got it down to 5k.

Thank dog Fianna Gael are in power now and all this tomfoolery is going to change....

Oh yes looking forward to who else is stumm about €30k annual pension for 4 years service plus €100k nest egg. Why are you confident the spots on these dogs are any different?

Same strokes = worse IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Rich get richer, poor get....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭draylander

can someone tell me if this guy get a golden handshake and a pension from anglo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

In fairness if he got away with paying 10 grand tax LEGALLY its not his fault at all, you would have to blame tax laws which let him. Google paid **** all too last year y'know.

thebaz wrote: »
    if one cent of our money is paid to this **** for stress, i will gladly do a stint in jail

Of course you would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

ColHol wrote: »

Of course you would.

ok, David Drumm is really just a misunderstood nice guy - i will go back to my 9 to 5 job, shut up , and spend the weekend worrying how to make ends meet for me and my kids-
    in the knowledge that enda will sort it out :mad:

pop amother valium, no -- sorry , at this stage, a month in the slammer would be worth it, to let some of the ****s who ****ed this country get a fealing how angry i am ... cause sure as hell the courts won't get any justice

b

Im not saying David Drumm is a great lad, however if your that angry there are a lot more available people which you could attack or could have attacked by now.

Im simply saying your a bull****ter and you will never ever come close to seeing the inside of a jail cell. Why? Because if you have a brain you will know that will not achieve anything and cause more problems than it solves.

Unless of course you actually are a looper, in that case my apologies and happy slapping :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 lusaka

bonerm wrote: »
    Thank dog Fianna Gael are in power now and all this tomfoolery is going to change....

LOL WTF are you talking about. You must be the most gullible person on earth. Do you believe what all politicians say or is it just FG??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 lusaka

ok, David Drumm is really just a misunderstood nice guy - i will go back to my 9 to 5 job, shut up , and spend the weekend worrying how to make ends meet for me and my kids-
    in the knowledge that enda will sort it out :mad:

b

Maybe you should just learn to legally evade paying tax instead? Go to a good tax accountant and he might be able to set you up. I did an internship with an A/C firm and they will advise all eligible clients to do the same. Unfortunately Enda isnt going to sort anything out for you and me in the mean time.

ColHol wrote: »
    Im not saying David Drumm is a great lad, however if your that angry there are a lot more available people which you could attack or could have attacked by now.

Im simply saying your a bull****ter and you will never ever come close to seeing the inside of a jail cell. Why? Because if you have a brain you will know that will not achieve anything and cause more problems than it solves.

Unless of course you actually are a looper, in that case my apologies and happy slapping :)

i don't agree with venting my rage at some punter at the desk of Anglo or Nationwide or the aib for that matter - i believe in getting to the top - the bastards that caused this mess that has caused such hardship - i have so many friends who have lost their jobs and business - i have attended the funeral of a young man who had had enough directly as a result of this recession - i have visited towns where only apathy and to let signs, reign - i worry about the future of Ireland for my kids - so the greed and arrogance of the likes of drumm and fingleton , the old financial regulator and Central bank chief , incenses me - perhaps I deem the meek that sit back and idly tut tut the wrong doing of the untouchables, as loopy - so maybe I am a bit loopy - if i saw mr drumm or fingleton on the street i'd let them have it - to what extent i do not know , but certainly in your face verbals - and finally , i have such little faith in our legal system , i believe i would be jailed , whilst fitzpatrick or fingleton can rob the countrys jewels , sell our sovereignty , and never worry about Mountjoy or the loss of pensions etc - so maybe i am a ****ing loopy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Hi BAZ

Seriously though I dont understand how you can go berserk about someone paying all the tax they need to, or your man there going bananas about Pat's salary. Obviously Drumm is no angel for whatever else, but I mean.. if any of us were offered Pat's salary, or to pay a 1% tax rate, would you not take it? I know I would.

the myth of Irish revolutionary's is a thing of the past - you'd see more anger in suburban Ireland , due to a bad dope deal , than if the country got invaded ... feck it , its the weeknd i'll worry about something else , than the stupid economy , and kick lumps out of some poor innocent on the football field ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

nm wrote: »
    Obviously Drumm is no angel for whatever else, but I mean.. if any of us were offered Pat's salary, or to pay a 1% tax rate, would you not take it? I know I would.

You're asking the wrong questions though. What you should be asking is why we have a system where people like Pat Kenny and David Drumm get these salaries in the first place.

Are they deserving of such salaries in terms of productivity/wealth creation?
    Are their salaries comparable to their counterparts in similiar countries to Ireland?
    Are such high salaries needed in order to attract the level of talent/ability that Kenny/Drumm possess?

The answer is of course a resounding NO to all of these questions. So, instead of sitting back and letting things carry on as they are, we are expressing our unhappiness with the situation and putting pressure on the new government to change things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

What you should be asking is why we have a system where people like Pat Kenny and David Drumm get these salaries in the first place.

That's exactly my point
    So, instead of sitting back and letting things carry on as they are, we are expressing our unhappiness with the situation and putting pressure on the new government to change things.

And most of you are mis-directing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

nm wrote: »
    And most of you are mis-directing it.

In terms of Drumm, the anger towards him is not misdirected. The fcuker should at the very least be living in a bedsit in Dublin, co-operating with Gardai enquiries. A fairer scenario is that he should be in Mountjoy prison right now awaiting trial. A large part of the mess we are in is a direct result of the decisions he made and his general conduct while he worked at Anglo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

"The Irish Times reported incorrectly that he had paid almost no income tax during the period. The report was based on a misinterpretation of a Revenue document filed in a Boston court."

Is this a p1ss take? I had to look at the URL to see if it was a scam site:D

What a dipsh!t journo...:rolleyes:

Adds good credence to the argument that the b@stard journalists have a lot to answer in this whole world of sh!t we are in...

blah blah blah

I will bet my house that you will never EVER do anything remotely radical as attack somebody, you'll just sit and fester in your own anger.