Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Antrim_Man

If this was 1916 the same eejits would be on here posting giving out about the rising and how dare the rebels do this in the name of Ireland. Read the extract below, the same type of people are doing the same hissing only this time on keyboards. :rolleyes:

Reaction of the Dublin public

At first, many members of the Dublin public were simply bewildered by the outbreak of the Rising.[85] James Stephens, who was in Dublin during the week, thought, "None of these people were prepared for Insurrection. The thing had been sprung on them so suddenly they were unable to take sides".[86]
    There was considerable hostility towards the Volunteers in some parts of the city. When occupying positions in the South Dublin Union and Jacobs factory, the rebels got involved in physical confrontations with civilians trying to prevent them from taking over the buildings. The Volunteers' shooting and clubbing of civilians made them extremely unpopular in these localities.[87] There was outright hostility to the Volunteers from the "separation women", (so-called because they were paid "Separation Money" by the British government) who had husbands and son fighting in the British Army in World War I, and among unionists.[88] Supporters of the Irish Parliamentary Party also felt the rebellion was a betrayal of their party.[89]
    Finally, the fact that the Rising had caused a great deal of death and destruction also contributed towards antagonism towards the rebels. After the surrender, the Volunteers were hissed at, pelted with refuse, and denounced as 'murderers' and 'starvers of the people'.[90] Volunteer Robert Holland for example remembered being abused by people he knew as he was being marched into captivity and said the British troops saved them from being manhandled by the crowds.[91]
    However, there was not universal hostility towards the defeated insurgents. Some onlookers were cowed rather than hostile and it appeared to the Volunteers that some of those watching in silence were sympathetic.[92] Canadian journalist and writer Frederick Arthur McKenzie wrote that in poorer areas, "there was a vast amount of sympathy with the rebels, particularly after the rebels were defeated."[93] Thomas Johnson, the Labour leader thought there was, "no sign of sympathy for the rebels, but general admiration for their courage and strategy" [94]
    The aftermath of the Rising, and in particular the British reaction to it, helped to sway a large section of Irish nationalist opinion away from hostility or ambivalence and towards support for the rebels of Easter 1916. Dublin businessman and Quaker James Douglas, for example, hitherto a Home Ruler, wrote that his political outlook changed radically during the course of the Rising due to the British military occupation of the city and that he became convinced that parliamentary methods would not be sufficient to remove the British presence.[95]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Go on Nodin, be a smarty, go and vote for the nasty party.
    New to the internet? Think comparisons to the Nazis makes you look clever?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭The Brigadier

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    New to the internet? Think comparisons to the Nazis makes you look clever?:rolleyes:

I've been 'on the internet' since the early 90s. (and FidoNet back in the day as well)

I am well aware of Godwin's Law. (I even name checked it a few pages back)

Sinn Fein are the nasty party and there are valid comparisons with their approach and that of the BNP in the UK and, yes, the Nazis in Germany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

I've been 'on the internet' since the early 90s. (and FidoNet back in the day as well)

I am well aware of Godwin's Law. (I even name checked it a few pages back)

Sinn Fein are the nasty party and there are valid comparisons with their approach and that of the BNP in the UK and, yes, the Nazis in Germany.

do tell us , perhaps your getting your bnp and your pup or dup mixed up general ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Antrim_Man wrote: »
    I Dublin businessman and Quaker James Douglas, for example, hitherto a Home Ruler, wrote that his political outlook changed radically during the course of the Rising due to the British military occupation of the city and that he became convinced that parliamentary methods would not be sufficient to remove the British presence.[95]

Ironic then that Sinn Fein have seen fit in the north to determine that the only way forward is by parlimentary methods.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

I have expanded several times on the thread already.

Don't for one second think I am some sort of pro-unionist. I wouldn't support those scumbags either.

Such a common line with Shinners. If you are not for them, then you are some sort of west Brit, unionist/loyalist, blueshirt etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Dannygirl

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

No :D

No, but only because they dropped there candidate because of boundry changes.

Any one who uses the word shinner, looses all credibility. Like any one who calls communist with no basis.

danbohan wrote: »
    do tell us , perhaps your getting your bnp and your pup or dup mixed up general ,

(Sorry original post used prohibited language so reposting a cleaned up response below.)

I have expanded several times on the thread already.

Don't for one second think I am some sort of pro-unionist. I wouldn't support those reprobates either.

PauloMN wrote: »
    Such a common line with Shinners. If you are not for them, then you are some sort of west Brit, unionist/loyalist, blueshirt etc..

shinners ? , bit of a squaddie yourself are you ?

I would give any royal monarch (I hate them all) a footrub and become there servant and subject than have another FF government.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

shinners ? , bit of a squaddie yourself are you ?

:D Yeah, that's right, I'm a squaddie. :rolleyes:

Seriously, is "Shinner" offensive to Sinn Féin supporters? I'm happy to refrain from using it if so. I assumed it to be more of a colloquialism than anything else tbh.

Not offensive.

But it shows some old time discrimination against them - which imo discredits the person who says it.

Like if you dont vote them - fine, but calling them shinners has a connotation that you dont vote them just because they are "shinners" and other bad reasons.

Like "blueshirts", or socialist/communist or whatever for labour.

Seriously, is "Shinner" offensive to Sinn Féin supporters? I'm happy to refrain from using it if so. I assumed it to be more of a colloquialism than anything else tbh.

I grew up in North Dublin and my wife in Westmeath and then South Dublin. We both have grown up hearing plenty of people calling Sinn Fein supporters Shinners.

It is hardly insulting.

Not offensive.

But it shows some old time discrimination against them - which imo discredits the person who says it.

Like if you dont vote them - fine, but calling them shinners has a connotation that you dont vote them just because they are "shinners" and other bad reasons.

I don't vote for them because of a variety of reasons - their laughable economic policies, their hardcore left roots and their refusal to move on from their IRA past. The "Shinner" thing has no bearing on my vote.

I think that sums up my viewpoint as well.

Ok.

(not trying to sway your vote - but what connection has ML McDonald, Pearse Doherty or Ó Snodaigh to the IRA? I chose them because they are 3 of the top 6 or so leading members of the party)

But it usually is very telling if someone calls them shinners.

Ok.

(not trying to sway your vote - but what connection has ML McDonald, Pearse Doherty or Ó Snodaigh to the IRA? I chose them because they are 3 of the top 6 or so leading members of the party)

Well there is this for a start.
    In October 2002, five men in Snodaigh's constituency[3] were arrested after discovery of a van in County Wicklow containing a sledgehammer, a black balaclava, a pickaxe handle, two-way radios, and a fluorescent jacket with the word "Garda" on it, along with election posters reading 'Sinn Féin No 1 Aengus Ó Snodaigh'. In a nearby Nissan Almera (with false numberplates) they found a blue flashing beacon, a stun gun, a canister of CS gas and a roll of masking tape.[4][5][6]

In Ó Snodaigh's constituency.

This is equivalent to the killers of columbine having listened to X's music therefore X is dangerous.
    It is bad logic.

Ok.

(not trying to sway your vote - but what connection has ML McDonald, Pearse Doherty or Ó Snodaigh to the IRA?)

They are members of Sinn Féin, they have signed up to the party beliefs and policies. SF imo are still intrinsically connected to the IRA, this can be seen in tangible terms by the fact that they sell IRA wares on their website for example, and by their refusal to comment on murders like that of Garda McCabe. Those three candidates might not have been members of the IRA, but they are fully fledged members of a party that still has links with a terrorist organisation imo.

I'm happy to see new blood in the party as hopefully over time SF will eventually and completely ditch the IRA links, and become a more normal left-wing party. But at this time they are not for me.

BTW if you think "Shinners" is bad, you should hear what I call FF. ;)

Im sorry,

You clearly don't know anything about them - two of them have no, none even if you make stuff up, connections to the IRA and the other is older yes but if you know about him, his background and his family he is/was not in the IRA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,626 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

They got a number 8 from me... only so I could put Sean Haughey last on the ballot sheet though ;)

In Ó Snodaigh's constituency.

This is equivalent to the killers of columbine having listened to X's music therefore X is dangerous.
    It is bad logic.

In O'Snotty's constituency electioneering for him.

It isn't the same thing at all.

I think we all have plenty of apocryphal stories as well.

well it depends on whether you are happy using a term originally used by the black and tans or not , now i know many of the posters here are in the black and tan fan club so they are revering their heroes by using that term

In O'Snotty's constituency electioneering for him.

It isn't the same thing at all.

I think we all have plenty of apocryphal stories as well.

1 - o'snotty? That is childish.

2 - you seem to have misunderstood me.

1 - o'snotty? That is childish.

2 - you seem to have misunderstood me.

1. No it is derisive. (But it is funny)
    2. I think I understood you.

No it is childish.

Ok, again your logic is similar to:

killer X listened/was a fan of musician X therefore musician X is to blame and/or a bad person.

well it depends on whether you are happy using a term originally used by the black and tans or not , now i know many of the posters here are in the black and tan fan club so they are revering their heroes by using that term

How can you complain about the term "Shinners" and then come out with that? :confused: Seriously.

Look it's polling day, I think it's been argued to death at this stage and is pointless. You have your views and I have mine. You can't understand how someone wouldn't vote SF and I can't understand how someone could.

The results tomorrow will tell what the majority of the people in the Republic think of SF ultimately.

Just to clarify I dont mind anyone not voting for SF.

But using the word shinner and o'snotty that is childish and that nonsense I have a problem with.

Just to clarify I dont mind anyone not voting for SF.

But using the word shinner and o'snotty that is childish and that nonsense I have a problem with.

But you're ok with the Black and Tans and Blueshirts stuff, yeah?