Coincidences - running into people from your past...

• 23-02-2011 02:29PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭

Had a very strange morning today. had to go to Dunnes to get a few things but was weighing up if i should leave it till tomorrow.

I decided as i was up and in town I'd just go. So there I am at the checkout when I hear someone behind me call my name. My name is very unusual so I immediately turn around and behind me is an Irish girl i lived with for a while in London before I moved to Ireland at the end of 2000.

She said OMG, I never imagined you'd be still in Ireland after all these years (am from Australia). God, it was so surreal.

I dont live in a major city and the reason she was in the place I live is because she married a guy from here in 2007 (she met him in London).

So we've swapped numbers and are catching up next week. :D

Anyone else met anyone totally out of the blue from their past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Myself when I see my reflection in water......

....think about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

It's not really 'meeting' in the conventional sense, or particularly as dramatic, but yesterday I finally got 'round to deleting an ex from my contacts after months of no contact.. the second I go to right-click > remove from contacts, he instant messaged me. :eek:

Coincidences tend to follow me around anyway, though, I've lost track at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭bungler

chin_grin wrote: »
    Myself when I see my reflection in water......

....think about it.

That's weird every year around the end of December i keep seeing this oul hairy lad at the end of my bed and the pervert keeps dressing up in this red suit that is way to small for his big gut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Everytime I run to the shop for milk in my ugly tracksuit with my hair all messy I end up meeting someone I used to know.

bungler wrote: »
    That's weird every year around the end of December i keep seeing this oul hairy lad at the end of my bed and the pervert keeps dressing up in this red suit that is way to small for his big gut

Not really sure why you quoted my post, but I can assure you I only do it for 'research'. And when you're finally asleep I give you a wet willy. With my actual willy.

(may not be true).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

phasers wrote: »
    Everytime I run to the shop for milk in my ugly tracksuit with my hair all messy I end up meeting someone I used to know.

On a daily basis then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

1995 in Amsterdam train station with my boyfriend. We were heading back to Ireland after a couple of months working over there. We were so broke,hungry and quite scruffy. He said 'if only I bumped into C,haven't seen him in years but he would sort us out.' I asked what C looked like,he described him and I then asked 'Is he like that guy over there?' And yep,you've guessed it -it was C himself and he did help us out. It had been about 4 years since they had met up, in England not even Holland. in a club in Amsterdam a few years later with a friend. I said to her 'this is the type of club you'd expect to see J in.' No joke-next thing he walks down the stairs in the club. amsterdam is just that type of place I guess.

Loopy wrote: »
    On a daily basis then?
    Who goes to the shop every day?

1995 in Amsterdam train station with my boyfriend. We were heading back to Ireland after a couple of months working over there. We were so broke,hungry and quite scruffy. He said 'if only I bumped into C,haven't seen him in years but he would sort us out.' I asked what C looked like,he described him and I then asked 'Is he like that guy over there?' And yep,you've guessed it -it was C himself and he did help us out. It had been about 4 years since they had met up, in England not even Holland. in a club in Amsterdam a few years later with a friend. I said to her 'this is the type of club you'd expect to see J in.' No joke-next thing he walks down the stairs in the club. amsterdam is just that type of place I guess.

You were on Sesame Street?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Did you ever lick a polish lapdancers arsecheek and see her in the street a couple of days later? Rather embarrassing

I was insinuating you dressed like a knack bag every day doll..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Haha. Thank god I was looking OK :) Have been known to do the Dunnes run not looking my best as it is only a few minutes from where I live. Been caught out a few times, but it's that livin' on the edge feeling you get taking the chance...;)

orourkeda wrote: »
    Did you ever lick a polish lapdancers arse and see her in the street a couple of day later? Rather embarassing

I read that as "kick". I'm getting my threads mixed up again!

I was insinuating you dressed like a knack bag every day doll..
    Thanks for clearing that up. How hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

The milkman. Gotta have fresh milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭CluelessGirl

When I was 16 I went to Barbados on holidays. There was a guy at the hotel who did security and who used to give my parents deck chairs for the beach.

About 7 years later I was at an RnB night in Temple Bar Music Centre and I met the guy there! It was so bizarre. There was this hand shake that they all do in Barbados and he greeted me with that!

He had since married an Irish girl and was over here.

Small world..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I always see my old primary school teachers walking about the place. They look the exact same as they did when I was in school. Kinda of freaky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

sitting outside a pub in koh samui in thailand when about 6 people i know from my hometown came walking down the street. we were amazed at the time...but looking back, there's nothing amazing about it at all. a hooker cant squeez out a ping pong ball over there without hitting an irish lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Was walking down Grafton St a few years back and was telling the OH a story about an incident that happened about 5 years before that. About 2 minutes later, bumped right into the fella from the story. Hadn't seen him since the night of the story.

Another guy I knew in the U.S. from about 2005, was in Dicey's one night with some friends, went to the bar, ordered a pint, taking a sip, look up at the lad next to me and there he was. Here on holidays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Used to live in a little village in east galway and ,oved when I was 12, didnt really see any of the lads again. 13 years later I'm walking through Yonkers NY at 3 o'clock at night and get rugby tackled by one of my old school chums whom I hadnt seen since I left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

chin_grin wrote: »
    You were on Sesame Street?
    lmao :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Once at this thing years back I met a person.

Then years later, at another thing, I met them again.

Mad.

Thanks for clearing that up. How hilarious.

Jaysus, who pissed in your cornflakes?

Probably the milkman he owes a bit of bob to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

I was on the dart yesterday and seen a scumbag that used to be from my locality. He said hello to me as he got off despite the last time i seen him was a night where him and his mate kicked the head off me for my cans when we were young. I remember that night i was sitting on a wall just after, talking to my mates saying that i will win out long-term because the chap will be riddled on gear when he gets older. Anyway he looked and sounded like a junky yesterday. Win :D

Nobody, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Not a person from my past, but when I was in Orlando in December, I saw a guy from my class. I saw him three times in total in pretty different places; I know theres a lot of things to see/do there but all on the same day as me? :P It was pretty crazy, I didnt know he was going to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Had a very strange morning today. had to go to Dunnes to get a few things but was weighing up if i should leave it till tomorrow.

I decided as i was up and in town I'd just go. So there I am at the checkout when I hear someone behind me call my name. My name is very unusual so I immediately turn around and behind me is an Irish girl i lived with for a while in London before I moved to Ireland at the end of 2000.

She said OMG, I never imagined you'd be still in Ireland after all these years (am from Australia). God, it was so surreal.

I dont live in a major city and the reason she was in the place I live is because she married a guy from here in 2007 (she met him in London).

So we've swapped numbers and are catching up next week. :D

What's your name ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Seen the ex a while back, well I didn't see him himself but I saw his car, so I parked right next to it and I wrote on the dirt on his car P R I S O N E R

This didnt actually happen i'd love to do it tho :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    This didnt actually happen i'd love to do it tho :(

Why? :confused: