Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Adrian009

the people who joined and fought for the ira done so in the knowledge that they would most lightly spend time in jail, quiet possibly die and at best constantly be open to assault and torture by the british and irish( i use the word lightly) security forces. i think its called bravery. on the other side you had young scumbags grrowing up in england who joined the army to stay out of jail and get paid for basically doing what they loved best that was to be bully boys and the beauty of it was you could carry this out even commit murder and not expect as much as a slap on the wrists. its all well and good for people in the south who created the problem and then turned there backs on their fellow irish men and women to winge and cry about sinn fein . the irish and british goverment spent years and billions fighting a propaganda war against republicans. i for one can say iam proud of the men and women who fought for my country

But the IRA did not fight for Ireland. We've already got Defense Forces. To the best of my knowledge, they never committed mass murder or hid guys who sodomised children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭wee truck big driver

Adrian009 wrote: »
    But the IRA did not fight for Ireland. We've already got Defense Forces. To the best of my knowledge, they never committed mass murder or hid guys who sodomised children.
    god help us if we ever have to depend on the defense forces to save us and what did the gardai and irish goverment do about church leaders who where commiting child abuse .........oh wait i remember now i think its called cover up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Adrian009

god help us if we ever have to depend on the defense forces to save us and what did the gardai and irish goverment do about church leaders who where commiting child abuse .........oh wait i remember now i think its called cover up

Now you are just been fasicious. Anyway, the defense forces did actually win the one war we fought as a state. And the IRA were the losers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭FUNKY LOVER

i wonder do all these gerry adams haters,see nelson mandela the freedom fighter in the same light hmmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Adrian009 wrote: »
    Now you are just been fasicious. Anyway, the defense forces did actually win the one war we fought as a state. And the IRA were the losers.

yes , but those guys did not have the hearing problems of our current crop !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Gypsies

i wonder do all these gerry adams haters,see nelson mandela the freedom fighter in the same light hmmmm.

That's a bit like comparing chalk with cheese, or should I say "good" with "bad". That's a major insult to the integrity and decency of Nelson Mandela, if ever I saw one..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Timulus Package

Sergeant wrote: »
    They don't propose default as the basis of their economic policy. So we borrow at the agreed EU/IMF rate. Sinn Fein want us to return to the markets following default. So at what rate to they think we will be able to borrow at? Ballpark figure....

They can't propose as it's at the will of the market. I think they estimate at just over 4%.

The default they propose is a seperate banking default and would have no bearing on the State bond market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

Like that guy in Dundalk said "Gerry youre no Michael Collins" and he's certainly no Nelson Mandela.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭cornerboy

let me see now ireland was a 32 county island with a catholic majority under british rule. there was an ongoing struggle, in a war the one accepted ideology is divide and conquer thats what the irish let the british do when they agreed to partition. to make it even worse they agreed to a divide which would see the irish people who had the legitimate claim to the six counties be a minority in there own country and then ignored the years of injustice they suffered at the hands of the unionists. as i stated iam proud of the actions taken by the brave men and women of the ira actions which would result in the british goverment agreeing to withdraw from the north of ireland. if they where planting bombs incivilan areas and the british security forces chose to ignore or in some cases send people where the bomb was to try and turn the irish people against the ira well its up to each indivdual who they want to believe. a bit like when tony blair stated that iraqis had weapons of mass destruction and went in killing innocent men women and children sure they would nt lie would they

I cant rob banks in order to pay my morgage, so pardon me if I have more important things to be concerned with. I dont give a damn about your precious 6 counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

They can't propose as it's at the will of the market. I think they estimate at just over 4%.

The default they propose is a seperate banking default and would have no bearing on the State bond market.

That's grand in theory except Iceland already defaulted on bank debt, separating it from sovereign debt and could not get money on the bond markets and needed the IMF to bail them out. Clearly the theory does not work in practice therefore Sinn Feins plan cannot work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

meglome wrote: »
    It says there are a lot of new registrations on boards.ie that are 100% behind Sinn Fein. I'm sure it's 100% random though.

I have made this same obsevation several times in the last couple of weeks, at one point there were all manner of Sinn Fein threads opening up every other day, which for such small player seems a bit odd, glad somebody else is making notes too. If an outsider looked in on the Politics/GE forums, they might be forgiven for think that Sinn fein were the largest party in Ireland, with about ten times as many Sinn Fein threads being started up, to every one or two Labour/FG/FF threads!

Makes you wonder :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭maccored

roll on friday. theres some very, very bitter anti shinners on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

maccored wrote: »
    theres some very, very bitter anti shinners on this forum.

I'm not bitter, Sinn Féin never harmed me.

Hopefully they'll never get the opportunity.

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    That's grand in theory except Iceland already defaulted on bank debt, separating it from sovereign debt and could not get money on the bond markets and needed the IMF to bail them out. Clearly the theory does not work in practice therefore Sinn Feins plan cannot work.

The IMF bailout was small as it was to help rebuild the state.

Iceland is an example that supports those who want to seperate private and public debt.

the IMF bailout here isn't really and IMF bailout, it's and IMF/EU bailout and rather than being bailed out to run the Country it's being forced on us to Bail Out the banks.
    The difference is that Iceland is not in the Eurzone and they knew (as we know) that they would be unable to pay the debt. Rather than us accept that we are not able to pay the private debt of Seanie Fitz we are being told we have to. Square block round hole comes to mind.

Link from the Wall Street Journal below gives a little insight.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/business/news/iceland-in-better-shape-than-ireland/story-e6frg90o-1225967438036

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Gypsies wrote: »
    That's a bit like comparing chalk with cheese, or should I say "good" with "bad". That's a major insult to the integrity and decency of Nelson Mandela, if ever I saw one..

he doesn't seem to mind!

483809994_1c4616f712.jpg

Many labelled Mandela just like they've labelled Gerry Adams as a terrorist.

Also, his vice president of the ANC party spoke last year at Sinn Féin's Ard Fheis. They are plenty of similarities between the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

LordSutch wrote: »
    I have made this same obsevation several times in the last couple of weeks, at one point there were all manner of Sinn Fein threads opening up every other day, which for such small player seems a bit odd, glad somebody else is making notes too. If an outsider looked in on the Politics/GE forums, they might be forgiven for think that Sinn fein were the largest party in Ireland, with about ten times as many Sinn Fein threads being started up, to every one or two Labour/FG/FF threads!

Makes you wonder :cool:

There seems to be no shortage of low post count anti-sf posters as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

The President of Sinn Fein carries the coffin of an IRA bomber . . . .
    2llfzb8.jpg

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

roll on friday. theres some very, very bitter anti shinners on this forum.

Indeed. Watch how the most hated party at the moment (FF) still gain more seats than SF. Says quite a lot really. Thankfully SF will always be a fringe party in the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭maccored

PauloMN wrote: »
    Indeed. Watch how the most hated party at the moment (FF) still gain more seats than SF. Says quite a lot really. Thankfully SF will always be a fringe party in the Republic.

yeah indeed. it says quite a lot about the intelligence of voters in the republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭insight_man

i agree with you that all party's dont have answers,im not voting for a party or person because im angry,im voting for party or person even do slim pickings between all that good for country,me and my family and future,wont be sf based on there policys and unanswered questions,i dont buy into party hipe ,

Fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭insight_man

Scotty # wrote: »
    Most people on Boards are under 35... most voters are over 35. Boards 'vote' is nowwhere close to what the actual election will be. He didn't. You have to first have €50 Billion to throw it away. We don't. We have a deficit of €19.5 Billion over the next 4 years. We have to get that money from somewhere. Sinn Fein's policies are ludicrous and will absolutely unrealistic and what's more they know they are. They are hoping there's enough eejits out there to swallow the waffle and give them their vote.

yeah like FG LAB and FF

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

yeah indeed. it says quite a lot about the intelligence of voters in the republic.

It sure does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Sure does. I asked a guy in work who he'd vote for.

"Fianna Fail" he said. I asked "why?" he replied "sure why not? Sure anyone else in power during the boom times would have done the same thing".

So yeah, there is no end of fcuking idiocy in Irish Citizens of voting age.

Morons voting for morons. No wonder this country is in such a fcuking state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

PomBear wrote: »
    he doesn't seem to mind!

483809994_1c4616f712.jpg

Also, his vice president of the ANC party spoke last year at Sinn Féin's Ard Fheis. They are plenty of similarities between the two.

Some differences between Nelson Mandela and Gerry Adams.

Mandela led the armed wing of the ANC for one year during which time they were engaged in sabotage.

Fellow ANC member Wolfie Kadesh explains the bombing campaign led by Mandela: "When we knew that we [sic] going to start on 16 December 1961, to blast the symbolic places of apartheid, like pass offices, native magistrates courts, and things like that ... post offices and ... the government offices. But we were to do it in such a way that nobody would be hurt, nobody would get killed."

Nelson Mandela also came clean about his past and supported the peace and reconciliation commission.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

SafeSurfer wrote: »

Mandela led the armed wing of the ANC for one year during which time they were engaged in sabotage.

Fellow ANC member Wolfie Kadesh explains the bombing campaign led by Mandela: "When we knew that we [sic] going to start on 16 December 1961, to blast the symbolic places of apartheid, like pass offices, native magistrates courts, and things like that ... post offices and ... the government offices. But we were to do it in such a way that nobody would be hurt, nobody would get killed."

Nelson Mandela also came clean about his past and supported the peace and reconciliation commission.
    Adams has called lots of times for such a commission. Mandelas people did terrible things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,734 ✭✭✭✭Villain

146 pages, my god Sinn Fein are as popular as ever here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Whenever I watch Pearse Doherty talk about burning the boldholders and getting rid of the IMF, I just wait for him to burst out laughing. For some reason I get the impression that he doesn't actually believe that it's anyway realisitc but has to go along with it because of the party line.

I believe I get this impression from having watched his passionate senate perfomances and then compare those to his latter discussions. The passion has waned a bit I think because to have passion you have to have self-belief.

To go and simply tell the IMF to Fk off as opposed to taking a very hardline negotiating stance is simply unfathomable. I reckon PD's real stance is that and SF's stance is ringing up Bonn to tell the ECB they have 5 minutes to get out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

PomBear wrote: »

Ah yes, the inevitable and spurious comparison with Mandela. Yes there are similarlities between the two. But there are similaritie between PIRA and loyalist paramilitary types like Johnny Adair as well. Could the same argument be used to justify what he got up to?

For the 768 time, PIRA presumed to represent all Irish people even though the vast majority did not agree with the means that they used to bring about the end that they aspired to. If you want to make a legitimate compraison with Mandela, then you must make the case that the ANC were acting against the wishes of the majority of black South Africans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,356 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

SafeSurfer wrote: »

The biggest difference of course was Mandelas fight was about the people whereas Adams is about the land.

Whenever I watch Pearse Doherty talk about burning the boldholders and getting rid of the IMF, I just wait for him to burst out laughing. For some reason I get the impression that he doesn't actually believe that it's anyway realisitc but has to go along with it because of the party line.

I believe I get this impression from having watched his passionate senate perfomances and then compare those to his latter discussions. The passion has waned a bit I think because to have passion you have to have self-belief.

To go and simply tell the IMF to Fk off as opposed to taking a very hardline negotiating stance is simply unfathomable. I reckon PD's real stance is that and SF's stance is ringing up Bonn to tell the ECB they have 5 minutes to get out.

that's a mis representation. SF do not intend to tell the IMF to Fk off.
    They intend to tell them, we will not be borrowing EU money at 5.8% to pay German Private banks.

I'd say the fact that the likes of David McWilliams and Constantine Gru???? agree with him gives him a certain ammount of encouragement. If you want to go further you will find top economists across the world who think that noonan, Lenihan and Bruton are wrong on this.