If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Pamela Izevbekhai is still in Ireland! Why?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Nodin wrote: »
    Why do we have such a high refusal rate in comparison to the rest of Europe then...?

Because we're an economically tiny and now bankrupt,country.

There's enough home-grown spongers living off handouts without encouraging them in from overseas.

There should be no more provision,of any sort for asylum seekers untill we sort ourselves out..stop the council houses,the cars and the chalets in mosney and let them seek asylum in thier first country of landing like they're supposed to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I would assume its because asylum seekers are supposed to seek asylum in the first country they land in.

If that was the case, their claim wouldn't be entertained in the first place as the application would be invalid. However that isn't quite the case as explained here
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59465073&postcount=3

Degsy wrote:
    There should be no more provision,of any sort for asylum seekers untill we sort ourselves out..stop the council houses,the cars

There are no free cars, there are no free houses. There is 19 Euro a week, which I don't really begrudge them. See above for the "1st country" thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

too many asylum seekers here not being returned to their country of first origin (Ireland is not the first country they could have possibly landed in given we are an island off europe)

these asylum seekers (not including their crime rate) stoke racial hatred and soon we will seek coloured doctors and their families attacked on the basis of them being 'asylum spongers'

My own thought would be free flights home with 6 months of their €19 a week, with invites to those travellers here in Ireland to head off with them as per their culture of travelling....

adios asylum seekers and hey take some spongers with you - WHOO HOO :D

sligopark wrote: »
    too many asylum seekers here not being returned to their country of first origin (Ireland is not the first country they could have possibly landed in given we are an island off europe)

Irrelevant.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59465073&postcount=3

Thanks Nodin - more do gooder regulation ....

Looking forward to the fall out of such stupid ill thought out do gooder initiated bullsh.t regulation ....

More common sense less do gooders stroking their egos within a group ananlysis setting ...

Back to country of first origin with asylum seekers and better border regulation instead of asking folk on the furtherest reaches of Europe to deal with it.

Some cop on please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

these asylum seekers (not including their crime rate) stoke racial hatred and soon we will seek coloured doctors and their families attacked on the basis of them being 'asylum spongers'

adios asylum seekers and hey take some spongers with you - WHOO HOO :D

hmmm I wonder where the racial hatred will come from

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Certainly supprising she's still here. Isn't there a point where the asylum process ends? Surely taxpayers money is being used to contribute to a process? Or is it that the people regulating or supervising that process have no regard for it or the tax payer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭De Dannan

Degsy wrote: »
    Because we're an economically tiny and now bankrupt,country.

There's enough home-grown spongers living off handouts without encouraging them in from overseas.

There should be no more provision,of any sort for asylum seekers untill we sort ourselves out..stop the council houses,the cars and the chalets in mosney and let them seek asylum in thier first country of landing like they're supposed to.

The first thing we need to sort out is the spongers in the public sector who are costing milliions in waste every year :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Thanks Nodin - more do gooder regulation ....

Looking forward to the fall out of such stupid ill thought out do gooder initiated bullsh.t regulation ....

More common sense less do gooders stroking their egos within a group ananlysis setting ...

Back to country of first origin with asylum seekers and better border regulation instead of asking folk on the furtherest reaches of Europe to deal with it.

Some cop on please.

Without getting into the specifics of this case or of asylum legislation in general, the use of the phrase 'do-gooders' often puzzles me.
    You, surely, argue your point on issues like this because you feel that your approach would best serve the running of the country; would be good for the country, in other words.
    So are you not then, in effect, also a would-be 'do-gooder'?

CoalBucket wrote: »
    hmmm I wonder where the racial hatred will come from

by folk realising that asylum seekers couldn't be here as there first point of origin but by some do gooder regulation

a right extremist movement is just begging to start off here in Ireland big time - the first part here to shout ni&&ers out will get an immediate start here in deprived areas of Dublin Cork and Limerick - and because of do gooders with no forward thinking...

its a time bbomb - especially here in Ireland where there are no politics past left, centre left, centre and centre centre centre right.

Even the Netherlands - the home of liberals is about to blow off with the whole failure of mulitculturalism never mind whats beginning right now in the UK ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

by folk realising that asylum seekers couldn't be here as there first point of origin but by some do gooder regulation
    By that logic they couldn't be here at all if it werent' for a piece of do gooder legislation called the Geneva Convention, so sure lets remove our signature from that. :rolleyes:

a right extremist movement is just begging to start off here in Ireland big time - the first part here to shout ni&&ers out will get an immediate start here in deprived areas of Dublin Cork and Limerick - and because of do gooders with no forward thinking...

its a time bbomb - especially here in Ireland where there are no politics past left, centre left, centre and centre centre centre right.

Even the Netherlands - the home of liberals is about to blow off with the whole failure of mulitculturalism never mind whats beginning right now in the UK ...

The 'problem' of asylum seekers in Ireland is of no relevance now. Firstly, there are, relatively, very few here. Secondly, they're here because, as part of particapating in the world, Ireland has agreed to take a certain number in. Thirdly, they aren't competing with Irish people for jobs; first of all, there are very few jobs and second of all, asylum seekers are not allowed to apply for jobs.
    You seem to be suggesting that it would be a good idea for people, frustrated by the way the country is, to take their frustration out on a few easy targets.

ascanbe wrote: »
    You seem to be suggesting that it would be a good idea for people, frustrated by the way the country is, to take their frustration out on a few easy targets.

Thats exactly my point - it wil become a point that extremtists will use 'asylium seekers are stealing from us' - forgetting that those coloured folk driving mercs are in fact doctors doing the jobs that no one else would do - yet using the coloured card to stoke up racial hatred ...

First point of origin is bullsh.t - there are too many do gooder regulations around it that negate it and so the whole issue can and will be used by right wing extremists

Why Ireland has asylum seekers is beyond me (yes the do gooder stuff is allowing it) but I bet you many folk less tolerant than me will soon be using it as Irish society breaks down with enforced poverty from our political elite here in Ireland and imposed from the IMF...

Why, might I ask, should we have state back-seat driven by the knuckle draggers of the extreme right? I'd imagine they want the Jews out as well, and would doubtless give them a hard time. Do we therefore chuck out the Jewish population to pander to some shower of eejits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I dont know why anyone in their right mind is in Ireland now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Why, might I ask, should we have state back-seat driven by the knuckle draggers of the extreme right? I'd imagine they want the Jews out as well, and would doubtless give them a hard time. Do we therefore chuck out the Jewish population to pander to some shower of eejits?

Just oppose what the do gooders want. That seems to be the general rule.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I dont know why anyone in their right mind is in Ireland now.

Perhaps our free buggies and cheese legislations have something to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Perhaps our free buggies and cheese legislations have something to do with it.[/QUOTE

Do you know something you could be right.:D

Why, might I ask, should we have state back-seat driven by the knuckle draggers of the extreme right?

why, might I ask, should we have state back seat driven by the bankster gombeen elitists interspersed by a false green liberal agenda, forcing the taxpayer, including those on the mininum wage, pay for elitist gambling debts and then force us to harbour asylum seekers (that shouldn't be here under the original morally and socially agreed first country of origin rule since bastardised) to compound matters and drive those most deprived into right wing extremism and then crack down on such rebellion and call it racist, and so force us into a political crack down under the 'PR' of democracy when it is an EU socialist liberal take over for elitist gain?

Why the cover of naviety Nodin?

If you want to describe righteous and intentional unrest as knuckle dragging you are as taken in as our thos eby attraction toward an extreme right.

In fact those in the know are waiting to manipulate do gooders like you to compromise our sovereignty.

Gombeen without the personal profit.

The poor and the stupid have an excuse - have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,626 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

ascanbe wrote: »
    The 'problem' of asylum seekers in Ireland is of no relevance now. Firstly, there are, relatively, very few here. Secondly, they're here because, as part of particapating in the world, Ireland has agreed to take a certain number in. Thirdly, they aren't competing with Irish people for jobs; first of all, there are very few jobs and second of all, asylum seekers are not allowed to apply for jobs.

Excuse my ignorance, but if someone(an asylum seeker) is granted leave to stay are they still banned from working in the country?

or do they have to stay on direct provision?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭bernyh

why, might I ask, should we have state back seat driven by the bankster gombeen elitists interspersed by a false green liberal agenda, forcing the taxpayer, including those on the mininum wage, pay for elitist gambling debts and then force us to harbour asylum seekers (that shouldn't be here under the original morally and socially agreed first country of origin rule since bastardised) to compound matters and drive those most deprived into right wing extremism and then crack down on such rebellion and call it racist, and so force us into a political crack down under the 'PR' of democracy when it is an EU socialist liberal take over for elitist gain?

Why the cover of naviety Nodin?

If you want to describe righteous and intentional unrest as knuckle dragging you are as taken in as our thos eby attraction toward an extreme right.

In fact those in the know are waiting to manipulate do gooders like you to compromise our sovereignty.

Gombeen without the personal profit.

The poor and the stupid have an excuse - have you?

I have absolutely no idea what side you are on... actually I have no idea what you just said, please in plain understandable language explain yourself??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭CiaranMT

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    Excuse my ignorance, but if someone(an asylum seeker) is granted leave to stay are they still banned from working in the country?

That's right, they're prevented from working. It's an Irish take, afaik. Haven't looked at other EU practices.

It's a pity really. Those seeking asylum are restricted to less than 20 a week and have food and board paid for, when they could be out contributing to the society they wish to join by working.

wmpdd3 wrote: »

If their case is accepted then, of course, they are free to look for work; they are no longer asylum seekers.
    While they are applying for asylum: no.
    In this climate, of course, those in that position will be at the bottom of the pecking order in terms of actually getting a job.
    My problem with some of those commenting on this thread, is that they seem to be suggesting that the asylum system and the position of those whose asylum claims have been accepted is a huge problem and drain on our finances and that it needs to be urgently sorted out
    In reality, it doesn't even begin to come near representing a drop in the ocean, mis-represents why they are here in the first place and dehumanises people who, as with many Irish people before and now, are, at worst, just trying to better their lives.
    We should concentrate our efforts on addressing our real problems, instead of trying to stoke up hate against a few easy targets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Wow, this man does a mean non-sequitur!!

why, might I ask, should we have state back seat driven by the bankster gombeen elitists interspersed by a false green liberal agenda, forcing the taxpayer, including those on the mininum wage, pay for elitist gambling debts and then force us to harbour asylum seekers (that shouldn't be here under the original morally and socially agreed first country of origin rule since bastardised) to compound matters and drive those most deprived into right wing extremism and then crack down on such rebellion and call it racist, and so force us into a political crack down under the 'PR' of democracy when it is an EU socialist liberal take over for elitist gain??

I'd imagine thats what parts of Ulysses would have read like, if a younger Joyce had flown threw the windshield of his horse drawn carriage, noggin first.....

Theres too much disjointed lunacy in that to address specifically, but by way of an answer - We are signed up to international treatys which oblige us to take in asylum seekers. And of course its the right thing to do, regardless of the odd chancer, which is something that seems to be ignored.

Yep. Fluffy, do-goody me.

De Dannan wrote: »
    The first thing we need to sort out is the spongers in the public sector who are costing milliions in waste every year :rolleyes:

At least they're working for a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

beagle001 wrote: »
    Genericguy,
    I agree 100% we will end up with thousands more like her if we don't take a stance on her fraud and lies.
    It is a fact the HSE pay them thousands for vehicles,could you imagine an Irish person going in and asking fir the same.
    The reason they get so much is they are skilled in their benefit sniffing and will shout and push for everything to levels of abuse and harassment.
    I was in the Guards immigration office when the mississippi got her visa sorted and an African guy in the booth beside us got busted with a fake passport by the eagle eyed Guard.
    I asked the Guard was this common and he said unf it's regular and their hands are tied by the courts and do gooders as that's where they know they can run for sanctuary as they know nothing severe will happen to them.
    Could you imagine if this happened in America,they would do serious time for such fraud.

i have heard that the HSE have bought cars for migrants / asylum seekers but has anyone every seen/heard/been shown proof ???
    your telling me that right wing news papers ( we all know the one) would not send reporters to find this info ?
    go ask the HSE under a FOI request - easy peesy ,
    but none has shown up , why?
    i would imagine its because it does not happen , can anyone even give me a good reason why the HSE would feel compelled to buy a car for 14000 , sure they could by one for a 1000 !!!:D
    this urban myth is just that . a myth :)
    i challenge ANYONE to get FOI documents from the department of finance or the HSE to prove this free car myth

as for pamela i would start packing your bags , bye bye and dont come back

dj jarvis wrote: »
    i have heard that the HSE have bought cars for migrants / asylum seekers but has anyone every seen/heard/been shown proof ???
    your telling me that right wing news papers ( we all know the one) would not send reporters to find this info ?
    go ask the HSE under a FOI request - easy peesy ,
    but none has shown up , why?
    i would imagine its because it does not happen , can anyone even give me a good reason why the HSE would feel compelled to buy a car for 14000 , sure they could by one for a 1000 !!!:D
    this urban myth is just that . a myth :)
    i challenge ANYONE to get FOI documents from the department of finance or the HSE to prove this free car myth

as for pamela i would start packing your bags , bye bye and dont come back

From what i've been hearing its the Community Welfare Officer who can make a one-off payment for a car to an asylum seeker.

The usual amount given is 5000 euros,not 14000.

Any used car dealer will back it up and so will many Asylum seekers themselves.
    I was told by a guy from Ghana that he had been called a "fcucing black bastard" by some scrote on a bus and he was told by friends to take his story to the CWO and be sure to say he feared for his safety and that of his children on public transport..the office said they allowed for a one-off payment for transport and wrote him a cheque.

This is not limited to asylum seekers..there are several discretionary,Once Off payments available to the unemployed as well,the Community Welfare Officer,or equivilent having descretion in the matter and you WONT find it on any of teh Govt websites.

Degsy wrote: »
    From what i've been hearing its the Community Welfare Officer who can make a one-off payment for a car to an asylum seeker.

The usual amount given is 5000 euros,not 14000.

Any used car dealer will back it up and so will many Asylum seekers themselves.
    I was told by a guy from Ghana that he had been called a "fcucing black bastard" by some scrote on a bus and he was told by friends to take his story to the CWO and be sure to say he feared for his safety and that of his children on public transport..the office said they allowed for a one-off payment for transport and wrote him a cheque.

This is not limited to asylum seekers..there are several discretionary,Once Off payments available to the unemployed as well,the Community Welfare Officer,or equivilent having descretion in the matter and you WONT find it on any of teh Govt websites.

WHAAHOW - THANKS - into the local scrounge unit Monday - some c_nt called me a homo bastard the other day on the Luas - I fancy an Almera ;) Can I scrounge petrol payments too?

Too many folk unlike me working the system .... non travelling travellers, non travelling asylum seekers - pity the actual travellers emigrating to work a better life for themselves rather than scrounging off the state....