Have you ever caused a public scene?

• 18-02-2011 04:05PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering if you've ever made a scene in public?

It happens all the time say in a shop and somebody starts screaming at the shop assistant about faulty goods, or in a restaurant and somebody starts screaming at the waiter over faulty food, or couple arguing on the street over their faulty relationship.

So my question is was that person screaming in public ever you and why did you do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

No....next!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

No.
    But I do enjoy watching other people having a public meltdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

People that cause scenes are scum of the earth !!
    Why cant we all just get along in perfect harmony

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Just wondering if you've ever made a scene in public?

I filmed a porno in public once...

Thats what you meant, right??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Khyra24

I'd never cause a scene in public. I have manners and I'm very aware of my surroundings and care too much about what people think. I wish I didn't have these qualities. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

KeithM89 wrote: »

Ah so it was you in "The Stalk of Dundalk"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭TheFullDuck

I kicked a stool in a class room and started raving about toothpicks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Do I act the cunt in public, you mean?

No, not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

this is what we wanted to hear! why did you do it and what you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I was in Spain a few years back and two of my friends were getting pulled out to sea by a really strong current. In the panic of it all I ran up to the lifeguard and proceeded to assault her ears with gibberish and point in random directions. The entire beach was staring at me for a good 20 seconds before someone got the jist of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I farted once on the set of blue lagoon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I walked into school in a tux once for a no uniform day on a bet.

Won the bet but every time I used to walk to a class or at lunch people stopped and laughed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I've caused pubic scenes, if that's what you mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

I have.

Years ago, I must have been about 5, I was in town shopping with my granny and my mother. My mother went off to pay for something leaving me with my granny. We went to leave the shop when we encountered an escalator. Back then I had a pathological fear of them due to stories of people getting laces and stuff tangled in them and I thought I'd lose my foot or something if I went on one.

I resisted going down but my gran kind of coerced me to the top of it and then she got on. As she still had a hold of my hand, I was dragged forward on to it. I freaked out and lost the plot however and then pushed my gran down the escalator.

Yep.

She only fell down a few (about 7 or 8) steps and landed sitting down. I started roaring and then someone at the bottom had to hit the emergency stop and the manager was called over and everything. All I remember after that is everyone trying to get me to release my grip from the pole at the top of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Oranage2 wrote: »
    So my question is was that person screaming in public ever you and why did you do it?

I've confronted a few pups for acting the scumbag and made a 'scene' I suppose alright, but as for yelling at a shop assistant/waiter/bouncer etc...never.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Does vomiting, crying, shouting, fighting and lying on the pavement count?

It's 'the craic' apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

I wish people would call me sir...without adding "you're making a scene".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Yes, actually. I was in HMV with my girlfriend and someone hit her in the eye with their bag, just walked directly at her, fast and nearly took her eye out. It was one of those pointy cornered ones. She was lso holding it at a ridiculous height. No attempt made to apologise, she knew she'd done it as well, so I told her off. Most of the people in the shop thought I was nuts of course, but screw it, she deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I was in Thailand last summer, and on Phi Phi island I (allegedly) caused the most ridiculous scene ever.
    I've always been an extreme lightweight when it comes to beer. A full six pack of Corona Extra in one night will have me on the floor, literally. (Now before you make fun of me, BWAHAHA I spend about 1/3rd of what you spend on booze and I get ten times more pissed, SO SCREW YOU :P )

In Thailand, probably because we were exercising more, more dehydrated, and eating less, that limit decreased to three 330ml bottles of heiniken at 5%.

So we're in Phi Phi one night, and the 7/11 is out of Heiniken. The next cheapest beer they have is Chang. So I buy three of these and head back to the resort for the predrinks sesh. I should, on reflection, have taken a closer look at what I was buying: Chang bottles are a little under 500ml, not 220ml, and it was 7 or 8%. But I, being the genius that I am, bought "three bottles of beer" and failed to remember that all bottles of beer are far from equal.

So I drink the three bottles. I stumble with the lads (who have all been drinking whiskey buckets and even then aren't even almost as locked as I am) down to the beach, wander 'round for half an hour before I realize how f*cked I am, I'm dizzy, confused, no idea how to get home, and basically, properly screwed. I look around for the right road, fail to notice it, sit down on the beach in despair, and KO.

***Everything from here on is my friends' recounting of the story. Next thing I remember is waking up in bed the following morning. There is, however, camera footage to back this up***

I wake up still on the beach and see two of my friends. I immediately start on them and demand to know how to get home. After a gigantic shouting match I storm off through the town, punching and kicking road signs as I go in rage. The lads look on, outraged. After half an hour of freaking out and accosting random Thai people asking for directions, I somehow find my way home.

Another important note here: We had three apartments at the resort, next to eachother. I was meant to be staying in the middle one.

So I walk into the first room, thinking it's MY room, and I see one of my friends asleep on "my" bed. Enraged, I wake him up, have another shouting match, and then lock him out of the room. I get into bed myself and KO again.

I get woken up half an hour later by the dude I locked out hammering on the door. The other guy in the room gets up and stumbles across to him, and as he's opening the door, the guy outside is yelling "HURRY UP AND LET ME IN, I'M IN THE NUDE!!!" I have no idea whatsoever how he went from being fully clothed to being in the nude. His clothes have never been found. No one knows where he was or what he did during the time between me locking him out in his clothes and his coming in, in the nude. It is always alleged that I yelled at him to take his clothes off, saying "we're not having this argument unless you're naked", but there is no camera footage to back this up and even for a weirdo like me, this seems extremely unlikely. I suspect I am being wound up.

Draw your own conclusions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

Not on purpose...

But I knocked a big tray of profiteroles into a cheesecake at a buffet :\ And I slipped on a banana skin in tesco....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

After a gigantic shouting match I storm off through the town, punching and kicking road signs as I go in rage. The lads look on, outraged. After half an hour of freaking out and accosting random Thai people asking for directions, I somehow find my way home.

I laughed so much at this....hilarious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

I did once, sorta. I was in Irish college years ago, must have been about 13 or 14 and by all accounts an extremely awkward, shy person (...and still am). Anyway, the entire college was down the beach, in pretty average Irish weather and somehow i got the nerve to be one of the few brave enough to go into the water, got straight back out and got jocked by two guys who i didnt know and it was in no way a joke. The problem was it was right in front of a hundred people at least and the water was very cold. So me being a social retard could only think, in my blind rage, to lob a massive rock at the lad which would have been dangerous if i was aiming for him rather then near him. Needless to say everyone saw that too so in addition to my immeasurable embarrassment i now looked like a psycho too!

**** the teenage years :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

KeithM89 wrote: »

Keith, pics or - ya know yerself..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

FoxT wrote: »
    Keith, pics or - ya know yerself..

I would but the images are too large... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,450 ✭✭✭Morag

Started howling at the moon on the middle of O'Connell bridge at 1 am just for the craic.
    Had about 3 people join in and it turned into about 12 people at it.
    A garda came up and demanded we stop and wanted to know who started it.
    I grinned at him and howled again and he ran off and came back with two more garda
    who said if we didnt' stop and move on they'd arrest us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

I've never yelled at someone in public, sober at least. Even when I'm drunk I wouldnt start a scene, but I most definately wouldn't walk away from one if some hack started on me.

However, sober, I have a little more decorum. I'm to the point, blunt, sharp tongued, but I'm not loud. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

i jacked off outside the george gay bar:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

LOL great thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I brought a terminal of Charles De Gaulle airport to a halt with a bomb threat.
    My mother asked me to mind the camera bag as we queued.
    I left it down and we moved elsewhere in the airport. I realised about ten minutes later that it was missing and rushed back to the scene to find it now cordoned off with a large crowd and police with machine guns and dogs.

I was much relieved as I spotted the camera bag in the middle of the large empty space and asked one of the guys if I could possibly get it.
    Only realised as we trudged towards it that it was the reason for the commotion.

France and I have never seen eye to eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

***Everything from here on is my friends' recounting of the story. Next thing I remember is waking up in bed the following morning. There is, however, camera footage to back this up***

I wake up still on the beach and see two of my friends. I immediately start on them and demand to know how to get home. After a gigantic shouting match I storm off through the town, punching and kicking road signs as I go in rage. The lads look on, outraged. After half an hour of freaking out and accosting random Thai people asking for directions, I somehow find my way home.

Another important note here: We had three apartments at the resort, next to eachother. I was meant to be staying in the middle one.

So I walk into the first room, thinking it's MY room, and I see one of my friends asleep on "my" bed. Enraged, I wake him up, have another shouting match, and then lock him out of the room. I get into bed myself and KO again.

I get woken up half an hour later by the dude I locked out hammering on the door. The other guy in the room gets up and stumbles across to him, and as he's opening the door, the guy outside is yelling "HURRY UP AND LET ME IN, I'M IN THE NUDE!!!" I have no idea whatsoever how he went from being fully clothed to being in the nude. His clothes have never been found. No one knows where he was or what he did during the time between me locking him out in his clothes and his coming in, in the nude. It is always alleged that I yelled at him to take his clothes off, saying "we're not having this argument unless you're naked", but there is no camera footage to back this up and even for a weirdo like me, this seems extremely unlikely. I suspect I am being wound up.

Draw your own conclusions.
    You sound like an absolutely horrible agressive, abusive drunk. No need trying to excuse it with percentages and mililitres.
    You shamed yourself, and unfortunately shamed Irish abroad with your "antics". Shameful stuff.