Co Workers from hell (In the Canteen)

• 16-02-2011 11:44AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Some of the people I work with have no etiquette when it comes to having lunch in our lunchroom.
    1. One lad has cornflakes at breakfast every morning and fills his bowl with milk to nearly overflowing then just eats the cornflakes and leaves the milk in the bowl and puts into sink with the stopper in. (We all pay for the milk)
    2. I once was having coffee and when lifting the coffee jar by the lid the jar fell as the lid was not secured properly and the coffee spilt all over the wet work surface. It took me 5 minutes to clean, then when I lifted the milk from the fridge the exact same thing happened. Every day someone just puts the lid on things without screwing them and other people spill it.
    3. One lad comes over any day I bring dinner with his fork and samples my dinner, grunts and has another forkfull before commenting on the taste of it, sometimes he gives it the thumbs up but other times he will show his disgust.
    Do these people act like this at home I wonder?
    Are all Irish people ignorant when it comes to feeding time?
    Do you have issues in your canteen at work and what action have you taken?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

You hate the general public too?

Let's form a club.

But never, ever meet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Jimmy the Wheel

3. One lad comes over everyday with his fork and samples my dinner, grunts and has another forkfull before commenting on the taste of it, sometimes he gives it the thumbs up but other times he will show his disgust.

Why would you let him do that?

Tell him to fuck off and leave your food alone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Those things are pretty bad alright Lando, esp yerman sampling your dinner! I'd tell him to fcuk off as soon as his gaze turned towards it! Thats the height of ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I think he works in the azoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

hang on a sec? are you in Cork???

well then,sounds perfectly normal to me so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Buy your own food.

Problem solved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I solved problems like these by avoiding the canteen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Who the fúck lifts things by the lid?

Weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I once was having coffee and when lifting the coffee jar by the lid the jar fell as the lid was not secured properly and the coffee spilt all over the wet work surface. It took me 5 minutes to clean, then when I lifted the milk from the fridge the exact same thing happened. in

You'd think you would learn your lesson after the first one :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Why lift by the lid?

Why allow someone to repeatedly taste your dinner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

To

1) Meh

2) Learn from your first experience and do not lift bottles and cartons by the lid

3) Fork stuck in hand of anyone trying to steal my lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

There was a guy who was the scabbiest fcuker on the planet working with me for a while ,he wouldn't buy his own chips in the canteen because we were getting some.I told him to fcuk off on more than one occasion and he replied "well yous are gonna leave a few on all your plates so I don't need to buy them" I remember going up to get a cup of coffee and when I got back he was tucking into my chicken ,no shame like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

3. One lad comes over any day I bring dinner with his fork and samples my dinner, grunts and has another forkfull before commenting on the taste of it, sometimes he gives it the thumbs up but other times he will show his disgust.

Douse it with something that would really disgust him.

JaxxYChicK wrote: »

Not the Heinz v Chef debate again please.

Chef ftw!

Though I was thinking more along the lines of something with Hellman's consistency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Think thread title is a little over the top :rolleyes:

From hell - no
    Very annoying - yes

The day the guy from exhibit C arrives in with shit stained fingers and starts prodding your spag bol with them we can review and call it co-workers from hell!

Though I was thinking more along the lines of something with Hellman's consistency.

Spunk???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

In my old job there were set menus, so this huge auld one would order mile high portions and have separate plates of the free extras such as chips etc. She would always be in front of me too, so I would have to wait for them to cook more.:mad:

My neighbour experienced a fella like that. This lad would rob one of his sandwiches every day and eat it like he had every right in the world to. So one day, the neighbour took a slice of bread to his arse, deposited a generous sh1te onto said bread, placed another slice on top and cut it in half. He brought it to work the next day and yerman fell for the trap, stole a sh1t sandwich, and took a huge bite! Needless to say that sorted the problem out!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I once made Chicken Pasta bake and added some grated ginger to it, he found it disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

You hate the general public too?

Let's form a club.

But never, ever meet.

"People who hate people, come together!.....NO!" - Bill Hicks

I once made Chicken Pasta bake and added some grated ginger to it, he found it disgusting.

That sounds tasty. You come to work in my place Lando, I'd appreciate your culinary offerings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭torres9kop

There is guys in my job that eat sambos off the tables with no plates or napkins. Horrible really when u think there was some other lads sitting there just b4 them and hadnt washed their hands after been in the loo and wiping hands on tables. Peoole are just rotten

torres9kop wrote: »
    There is guys in my job that eat sambos off the tables with no plates or napkins. Horrible really when u think there was some other lads sitting there just b4 them and hadnt washed their hands after been in the loo and wiping hands on tables. Peoole are just rotten

Bet you wished you picked another username!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

newmug wrote: »
    My neighbour experienced a fella like that. This lad would rob one of his sandwiches every day and eat it like he had every right in the world to. So one day, the neighbour took a slice of bread to his arse, deposited a generous sh1te onto said bread, placed another slice on top and cut it in half. He brought it to work the next day and yerman fell for the trap, stole a sh1t sandwich, and took a huge bite! Needless to say that sorted the problem out!!!!
    But really, thats just not true is it?
    Sometimes stories sound better in your head.

3. One lad comes over any day I bring dinner with his fork and samples my dinner, grunts and has another forkfull before commenting on the taste of it,

Vader, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭torres9kop

I actually know a guy that wont eat his lunch in the canteen but actually eats it in..... Wait for this......... The feckin cubicle in the toilet. The mind boggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Some of the people I work with have no etiquette when it comes to having lunch in our lunchroom.
    1. One lad has cornflakes at breakfast every morning and fills his bowl with milk to nearly overflowing then just eats the cornflakes and leaves the milk in the bowl and puts into sink with the stopper in. (We all pay for the milk)
    2. I once was having coffee and when lifting the coffee jar by the lid the jar fell as the lid was not secured properly and the coffee spilt all over the wet work surface. It took me 5 minutes to clean, then when I lifted the milk from the fridge the exact same thing happened. Every day someone just puts the lid on things without screwing them and other people spill it.
    Do these people act like this at home I wonder?
    Are all Irish people ignorant when it comes to feeding time?
    Do you have issues in your canteen at work and what action have you taken?

1: Have a word with the lad.
    2: Pick up stuff properly.
    3: Seriously......

So in conclusion..... Actually I don't have a conclusion but your complaints are daft and could easily be resolved in two seconds.

But really, thats just not true is it?
    Sometimes stories sound better in your head.

Eh, yes. It is true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

newmug wrote: »
    Eh, yes. It is true.

I'd be willing to gamble that it's not.