Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reccomended hurley makers & Mycro hurling helmets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

lads what shop in and around galway city would sell good quality hurls? thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

meant to say i looked at the irish guild of ash hurley makers site and all the ones in galway are out country direction which is hard for me to get out to. Are the ones you get in elverys/lifestyle generally considered inferior yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 bund

I use Brian Walsh hurls in enniscorthy wexford very good sticks he will make different styles and copy any hurl you like so i would certainly reccommened him. He also does cooper helmets he will post the hurls to ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Sliotars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 B.Kavanagh

Peter Bergin is the 2nd left turn outside Rathdowney town as you head to Errill village from Rathdowney. He's 300 yards up that road on left. He's 30 years at it, very good.

Joe Fitzpatrick in Rathdowney town is also very good, having hurled at all levels, he knows how to make a good hurl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 fatherland

caesar wrote: »
    Im looking for a couple of new hurleys and I am looking for a few hurleys other than John Torpeys as I always get his hurleys from my club, so any reccomendations on good hurley makers are welcome and info on price, delivery and phone number etc.
    Also does anyone know if i can get a helmet from Mycro(factory) instead of getting it in the shop, i heard of someone doing this and only having to pay 50 euro (instead of 70-80 euro) and i think it was Mycro they got it from, a phone for them would also be helpful. Thanks in advance :D
    fitzerald hurley's, araglen, co.cork. provides alot of clubs in west waterford, north cork and south tipp with hurleys. also a number of inter county players use this hurley. 087 4166566 or 058 50519 are contact numbers for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 fatherland

Hello, tfitzgerald. Do you know who can be interested in ash for producing hurleys? Ash is from Estonia. Maybe you know also does estonian ash have quality enough to produce it at all.
    try fitzerald hurley's araglen, co.cork. 087 4166566 or 058 50519

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Submara

If you want to get hurls in Galway, the three best makers would be

* Paddy O'Dea in Ardrahan
    * Tom Joe Larkin in Killimor
    * Philip Larkin in Loughrea

Paddy O'Dea would be the nearest to Galway City and his workshop is only about 1/2 mile from the centre of Ardrahan. Both Paddy O'Dea and Tom Joe Larkin produce a classical Galway hurl with a small rounded bas and a narrow shaft. Philip Larkin hurls have a squarer bas with a more pronounced/protruding heel. I have used all three hurls and they are all top quality. I have used other hurls from other counties out of curiosity but they were all horrible in the hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Tony Keady makes nice hurls too, he's not far from Galway city. I had a few of his and I found them very nice.

The wood was a bit fresh though so you might want to get them without bands and let them weather a bit yourself. I brought a few over to the US with me and they dried out in the heat.

Pic attached of Top Quality Galway Hurls and the best in the country

Top Hurl: Philip Larkin, Loughrea

Bottom Hurl: Paddy O'Dea, Ardrahan

Just to let people know who contributed to this thread that Paddy O'Dea in Ardrahan is still making hurls and he never stopped. I got a few from him last week and he now charges €25 per hurl. As far as I am concerned, his hurls are still the best in Galway and probably the country as well. He doesn't put any hooping/tin on the hurls now which is a good thing. He has also made the bas slighty wider as well and this has increased the size of the sweet spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cash rage

hey. personally the only hurleymaker i could recommend is fergus browne de brun hurleymakers co.cork 0872115727. his ash is top class,well shaped big boss and has always made hurls the exact way i wanted them and he's sound as well.oh he posts also which is a handy too.. sorry don't know about the helmets..cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

cash rage wrote: »
    hey. personally the only hurleymaker i could recommend is fergus browne de brun hurleymakers co.cork 0872115727. his ash is top class,well shaped big boss and has always made hurls the exact way i wanted them and he's sound as well.oh he posts also which is a handy too.. sorry don't know about the helmets..cheers

Where abouts in Cork??

kanturk in north cork..

meant to say i looked at the irish guild of ash hurley makers site and all the ones in galway are out country direction which is hard for me to get out to. Are the ones you get in elverys/lifestyle generally considered inferior yeah?

in my opinion the hurl's in all sport shops are inferior. the quality just isn't there. i've said this already in post but it's worth mentioning again that de brun hurleymakers in kanturk north coth make a great hurl he has postage available as well..hope this was of some help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

cash rage wrote: »
    kanturk in north cork..

cheers thanks, I'm about 20 minutes away from him so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 naosrua

he makes them himself usung his brothers materials, seamus makes the best hurls i have ever used from irish ash in mullagh county galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

This is the site that Sarah Newman invested in on Dragons Den

http://www.handcrafthurleys.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭bassy

Star Hurleys In Kilkenny Are Very Good!!Or Tj Reid..Dont Have Any Number...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Marcus94

Burke & Quinn hurls are new in Galway.They are making them for very cheap and theyll make them anyway you want them to.Not far from Galway city either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 jordanpower80

yeah peter flan (flash hurleys) are the best i hve been gettin since i started playin he is a good freind of me he has a showroom that u can walk and pick wat u lke www.peterflanangen.com and i would also recomend burncourt hurls they are unreal in tipp burncourt hurleys.com i am only five min walk from peter tj reid are good as well

aliocroc wrote: »
    Frank Murphy all the way-sweet hurls, hard to get down to them though!
    yh i find they are to light and they brake easy but the are good other then that im ten mins away from him

phase-3 wrote: »
    anyone know of any waterford hurley makers? especially the one who makes eoin kelly and dan shanahans hurls?:)
    eoin kelly himself is makin hurls now they are unreal laken buisnnes park waterford 0863255118 allstarhurleys@hotmail.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭bassy

Heres sum numbers
    eoin larkin(work number)=085 158 6795
    heres a lads number u can get cooper helmets=086 165 8990(dont no his name)
    cultec(plastic hurls)=087 784 1411
    torpey hurleys=061 367 228
    ill get the star number 2morrow!!:D
    :cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 cuchulainnKK

Brian Dowling(Star) Hurleys Kilkenny: 056 7722777

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 dazman 00

michael carr hurls clarenbridge galway number 087 2259904

What shape are Michael Carr Hurls? Are they like O'Dea's or Dunne's or Philip Larkin's?

they are like o'deas with a band and a dunne without a band

does anyone have o'dea hurls number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 pat daly

Mick Fitzgerald, Araglen, makes a decent stick. Fitzgeralds would be the most popular Hurl in West Waterford - East Cork - South Tipperary.

Would you have any contact number for Fitzgerald Hurleys Araglen so i can try them out.