Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reccomended hurley makers & Mycro hurling helmets

• 29-08-2005 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭

Im looking for a couple of new hurleys and I am looking for a few hurleys other than John Torpeys as I always get his hurleys from my club, so any reccomendations on good hurley makers are welcome and info on price, delivery and phone number etc.
    Also does anyone know if i can get a helmet from Mycro(factory) instead of getting it in the shop, i heard of someone doing this and only having to pay 50 euro (instead of 70-80 euro) and i think it was Mycro they got it from, a phone for them would also be helpful. Thanks in advance :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

O'Connor Hurls, Newtownshandrum, Cork: 063-70249

Don't have a clue about the helmets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

^
    Yeah I know about them and I know people in my club who get them delivered and they look like they have been put through a machine to be made(well not that bad), but they are also very weak along the shaft part of the hurl and break easily enough in blocking. However people in my club still continue to get them and are happy with them, I think they are good apart from what I have mentioned above but I think there are better, so does anyone have any other suggestions?
    Oh yeah forgot to mention that my club isn't in Cork so maybe they don't take as much care in making them for people in other counties, you know Cork :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

Excuse me but Bernie and Ben make hurleys to the same level of standard no matter who they are being given to... Do you honestly think they would be doing so well if that was the case...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

Excuse me but Bernie and Ben make hurleys to the same level of standard no matter who they are being given to... Do you honestly think they would be doing so well if that was the case...?

Sorry about the comment I made before, I ment it as a joke which was uncalled for and not funny so I take back what I said. I now think that I will get a hurley or two from them, because I saw one yesterday at training and I thought it was a good quality hurley. I think my first impression of their hurls was wrong and that probably was because of the unusual design of their hurls compared to others, again I am sorry about the comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭River Allow

Well worth the buy Ceaser, well worth it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭phase-3

anyone know of any waterford hurley makers? especially the one who makes eoin kelly and dan shanahans hurls?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

frank murphy or Flangan hurleys in waterford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭prancer

Does anyone know about a guy that makes hurls in Errill? Are they good? Cost? Where abouts is he there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Paddy Geoghegan

phase-3 wrote: »
    anyone know of any waterford hurley makers? especially the one who makes eoin kelly and dan shanahans hurls?:)

Mick Fitzgerald, Araglen, makes a decent stick. Fitzgeralds would be the most popular Hurl in West Waterford - East Cork - South Tipperary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭portumna

Go on to www.mycrosport.com for helmets. They're priced from €75 for a standard helmet to €100 for a customised helmet with club/county names and colours. Never heard of anyone getting them for cheap by going to ballincollig.

Portumna manager Johnny Kelly is making hurls. He makes them for most of the squad now. Dont have a number for him but will look it up for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

the best place ro buy a hurley is off daly hurleys in limerick all their hurleys are hand made by a bloke called dave they supply a lot of senior players as well they also do a great job repairing hurleys and they dont cost the earth you can contact them on 061393231

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 estonian ash

the best place ro buy a hurley is off daly hurleys in limerick all their hurleys are hand made by a bloke called dave they supply a lot of senior players as well they also do a great job repairing hurleys and they dont cost the earth you can contact them on 061393231

Hello, tfitzgerald. Do you know who can be interested in ash for producing hurleys? Ash is from Estonia. Maybe you know also does estonian ash have quality enough to produce it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Hello, tfitzgerald. Do you know who can be interested in ash for producing hurleys? Ash is from Estonia. Maybe you know also does estonian ash have quality enough to produce it at all.
    Contact a hurley maker, ask him how he likes his ash and how much you would need to produce them at, and send him some free samples.

IIMII wrote: »
    Contact a hurley maker, ask him how he likes his ash and how much you would need to produce them at, and send him some free samples.

Thanks for the advice. Actually most difficult is to get some comments back from hurley makers. I would cladly discuss about needs and quality by e-mail. If you could recommend somebody then please do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

frank murphy in waterford. nice light hurleys. good timber in most of them. never had a problem with him quality wise or deliver etc

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    frank murphy in waterford. nice light hurleys. good timber in most of them. never had a problem with him quality wise or deliver etc
    Hello, thanks, I can find out somehow mr murphy contact number. Is there more good web sites in Ireland where i can put up an advertisement or from where I can get contacts who could be interested in ash? Who could be intrested in mine e- mail then ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭allimac

Hello, thanks, I can find out somehow mr murphy contact number. Is there more good web sites in Ireland where i can put up an advertisement or from where I can get contacts who could be interested in ash? Who could be intrested in mine e- mail then ask.
    There is a website of Irish hurley makers with a big list of hurley makers from all around the country.It's www.igahm.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 paperweight

go directly to mycro if you are buying in bulk - we do for the club work out about 35 for junior and 45-50 senior helmets - alot of clubs do this but some add on a charge to make some cash for the club - always amazes me when i see the price of helmets in shops that clubs don't promote this service more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,860 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Eoin Kelly uses those KK Dowling hurleys I'm fairly sure, they're nice hurleys alright. I think actually some of the hurleys he and Dan Shanahan used to (or maybe even still do) use were made by Justin McCarthy when he was Waterford boss, he only made them for the team as far as I know tho. They look nice all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 sylvie

portumna wrote: »
    Go on to www.mycrosport.com for helmets. They're priced from €75 for a standard helmet to €100 for a customised helmet with club/county names and colours. Never heard of anyone getting them for cheap by going to ballincollig.

Portumna manager Johnny Kelly is making hurls. He makes them for most of the squad now. Dont have a number for him but will look it up for you.

Well there goes more business for Tom Joe Larkin. Didnt know Johnny Kelly made hurls. Is he town or out in Boula?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭phase-3

Anyone know the maker of Joe Canning's hurley's? Is it Philip Larkin Loughrea?

With what price the hurley stick producers are buing slab in the market (generally)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 KK4life

TJ Reid of Ballyhale (Kilkenny hurler) is making hurls now. have only heard good reports. i'm interested in buying couple off him myself.

would like to hear few more reviews on them though

Seamus Canning (oldest brother of Joe & Ollie) is now making hurls. Not a bad stick. Johnny Kelly's hurls are falling apart because he's drying out the ash too fast and making them weak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

are o deas still making hurls in ardrahan they were nice hurls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭allimac

:)I think this thread proves that there are a lot more hurley makers in the country than anyone ever thought.There must be an awful lot of lads doing it as a tommer/second income.Seems you couldn't swing a hurley around this country without hitting a hurley maker.(not that thats a bad thing)

are o deas still making hurls in ardrahan they were nice hurls

AFAIK O Dea stopped making them a few years ago. They were a nice hurl and most of the county players used them in the 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

portumna wrote: »
    AFAIK O Dea stopped making them a few years ago. They were a nice hurl and most of the county players used them in the 90s.

ye nicest hurls i ever played with pity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Paddy Geoghegan

Mick Fitzgerald, Araglen, makes a decent stick. Fitzgeralds would be the most popular Hurl in West Waterford - East Cork - South Tipperary.

New web site address for Fitzgeralds: http://www.liosmor.com/fitzgeralds
    Phone: 058 50519 Mick is sound tell him Paddy sent you - won't help on price though Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭aliocroc

frank murphy or Flangan hurleys in waterford

Frank Murphy all the way-sweet hurls, hard to get down to them though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

lads what shop in and around galway city would sell good quality hurls? thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

meant to say i looked at the irish guild of ash hurley makers site and all the ones in galway are out country direction which is hard for me to get out to. Are the ones you get in elverys/lifestyle generally considered inferior yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 bund

I use Brian Walsh hurls in enniscorthy wexford very good sticks he will make different styles and copy any hurl you like so i would certainly reccommened him. He also does cooper helmets he will post the hurls to ye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Sliotars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 B.Kavanagh

Peter Bergin is the 2nd left turn outside Rathdowney town as you head to Errill village from Rathdowney. He's 300 yards up that road on left. He's 30 years at it, very good.

Joe Fitzpatrick in Rathdowney town is also very good, having hurled at all levels, he knows how to make a good hurl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 fatherland

caesar wrote: »
    Im looking for a couple of new hurleys and I am looking for a few hurleys other than John Torpeys as I always get his hurleys from my club, so any reccomendations on good hurley makers are welcome and info on price, delivery and phone number etc.
    Also does anyone know if i can get a helmet from Mycro(factory) instead of getting it in the shop, i heard of someone doing this and only having to pay 50 euro (instead of 70-80 euro) and i think it was Mycro they got it from, a phone for them would also be helpful. Thanks in advance :D
    fitzerald hurley's, araglen, co.cork. provides alot of clubs in west waterford, north cork and south tipp with hurleys. also a number of inter county players use this hurley. 087 4166566 or 058 50519 are contact numbers for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 fatherland

try fitzerald hurley's araglen, co.cork. 087 4166566 or 058 50519

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Submara

If you want to get hurls in Galway, the three best makers would be

* Paddy O'Dea in Ardrahan
    * Tom Joe Larkin in Killimor
    * Philip Larkin in Loughrea

Paddy O'Dea would be the nearest to Galway City and his workshop is only about 1/2 mile from the centre of Ardrahan. Both Paddy O'Dea and Tom Joe Larkin produce a classical Galway hurl with a small rounded bas and a narrow shaft. Philip Larkin hurls have a squarer bas with a more pronounced/protruding heel. I have used all three hurls and they are all top quality. I have used other hurls from other counties out of curiosity but they were all horrible in the hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭spideog7

Tony Keady makes nice hurls too, he's not far from Galway city. I had a few of his and I found them very nice.

The wood was a bit fresh though so you might want to get them without bands and let them weather a bit yourself. I brought a few over to the US with me and they dried out in the heat.

Pic attached of Top Quality Galway Hurls and the best in the country

Top Hurl: Philip Larkin, Loughrea

Bottom Hurl: Paddy O'Dea, Ardrahan

Just to let people know who contributed to this thread that Paddy O'Dea in Ardrahan is still making hurls and he never stopped. I got a few from him last week and he now charges €25 per hurl. As far as I am concerned, his hurls are still the best in Galway and probably the country as well. He doesn't put any hooping/tin on the hurls now which is a good thing. He has also made the bas slighty wider as well and this has increased the size of the sweet spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cash rage

hey. personally the only hurleymaker i could recommend is fergus browne de brun hurleymakers co.cork 0872115727. his ash is top class,well shaped big boss and has always made hurls the exact way i wanted them and he's sound as well.oh he posts also which is a handy too.. sorry don't know about the helmets..cheers

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

cash rage wrote: »
    hey. personally the only hurleymaker i could recommend is fergus browne de brun hurleymakers co.cork 0872115727. his ash is top class,well shaped big boss and has always made hurls the exact way i wanted them and he's sound as well.oh he posts also which is a handy too.. sorry don't know about the helmets..cheers

Where abouts in Cork??

kanturk in north cork..

meant to say i looked at the irish guild of ash hurley makers site and all the ones in galway are out country direction which is hard for me to get out to. Are the ones you get in elverys/lifestyle generally considered inferior yeah?

in my opinion the hurl's in all sport shops are inferior. the quality just isn't there. i've said this already in post but it's worth mentioning again that de brun hurleymakers in kanturk north coth make a great hurl he has postage available as well..hope this was of some help.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

cash rage wrote: »
    kanturk in north cork..

cheers thanks, I'm about 20 minutes away from him so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 naosrua

he makes them himself usung his brothers materials, seamus makes the best hurls i have ever used from irish ash in mullagh county galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

This is the site that Sarah Newman invested in on Dragons Den

http://www.handcrafthurleys.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭bassy

Star Hurleys In Kilkenny Are Very Good!!Or Tj Reid..Dont Have Any Number...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Marcus94

Burke & Quinn hurls are new in Galway.They are making them for very cheap and theyll make them anyway you want them to.Not far from Galway city either.