Have you ever been in prison?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭gdmaestro

Seriously I was once though. Voluntarily mind you. I was langerated and asked to sleep in a cell for the night.

brilliant

Figured it was a bit obvious when I said I was out painting in town... Was hardly talking about doing some interior design.

It was actually my mates fault. Useless turd. I was on to keep sketch while he painted first and then he'd keep look for me. Just before he started I needed to take a leak and told him to hang on a sec but no, he went ahead anyways. The smell of fresh paint at the Abbey Street bus stop on Good Friday was a bit of an alarm for the 2 Garda walking by.

Must have been living outside Ireland too long. Nobody gets arrested for graffiti here! Especially if it's artistic stuff and not scrawling offensive slogans. Fairly typical, though. I've seen people kick the sh1t out of someone in front of a guard and had nothing happen and you get arrested for putting a bit of paint on a wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭yrwhu8jxtni06a

According to inside man+the governor book,prisoners are unlocked from cells around 8 in the morn,if in joy they empty their shít and piss from buckets and wash them,then get their breakfast,go back up to cell,locked up,staff go out to their breakfast at about half 9,around eleven let prisoners out again to go to yard/snooker/classes/sit in cells.

In for lunch,back to cell,then locked up,staff go on their break.come back,prisoners out again,tv,yard,scrub floors,in then for afternoon tae,then locked up at 8 o clock at night.

Prisons are overcrowding so you could be stuck in cell with a psychos/gangsters/addicts,be locked up for 17 hours a day so imagine doing life with that routine everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Topper Harley01

Prisons are overcrowding so you could be stuck in cell with a psychos/gangsters/addicts,be locked up for 17 hours a day so imagine doing life with that routine everyday.

I would imagine some of the people here can relate, having entered into marriage... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Must have been living outside Ireland too long. Nobody gets arrested for graffiti here! Especially if it's artistic stuff and not scrawling offensive slogans. Fairly typical, though. I've seen people kick the sh1t out of someone in front of a guard and had nothing happen and you get arrested for putting a bit of paint on a wall.

Yup, it was. Dublin city centre. Not the first time my mate got arrested for graffiti either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

I think it was Paul willims that I heard saying that even the toughest criminals crumble in prison. At night youd hear even the toughest scum crying. Good enough for them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭bradlente

I just want to know on a scale of one to ten were one is the furthest,Just how similar is it to Oz the tv show?That show was pure class!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭Topper Harley01

I think it was Paul williams that I heard saying that even the toughest criminals crumble in prison. At night youd hear even the toughest scum crying. Good enough for them...

Yeah there's your problem right there. He's been known to tell a fib or two....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

They all like to give that impression... Not true (un)fortunately ;)

In there every working day BTW...

Err no, don't think he was giving any impression really, guard took us to private room and was told to wait outside - I was left there with him and a couple of heavies. Can't say it was the most relaxing experience ever, but they didn't seem to be short of anything they wanted. Luckily, cos i'm big and ugly, none of them found me attractive and I did not have to clench up my butt cheeks and rip off their dicks. Seemed pretty much business as usual for them, just not as much travel involved, obviously. This was a good few years back, to be fair(early '90's).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭spitfireIRL

bradlente wrote: »
    I just want to know on a scale of one to ten were one is the furthest,Just how similar is it to Oz the tv show?That show was pure class!

watching it again, some brilliant show. somehow tho, I reckon most people from mountjoy would get torn apart up in Oz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Jonniealan

Yeah did 25 mins in the Bolivian state prison san pedro la paz. Did me time and kept me trap shut and avoided any unsavoury shower incidents ( in other words I didnt shower )

I was travelling in Bolivia and you could actually pay the gards to let you in for a tour with bodygaurds and inmate tour guide. It wa sureal to say the least but to be honest I regretted going in.
    Anyone finds themselves in La paz dont bother you'll feel like your really taking advantage of people who are already bottom of the food chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Lawros Tache

Solnskaya wrote: »
    Err no, don't think he was giving any impression really, guard took us to private room and was told to wait outside

This wasn't in Ireland obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I was in prison before, let me tell you, it is not the nicest place in the world. Wrongly accused too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Was in and out of juvenile detention centers for a while in the US just after when my parents died. I went through a rough patch and got in the wrong crowd. Then i got adopted by relatives and came back to Ireland. Even though it was more like a camp in the way it was run it was still dangerous and housed some people who i'm sure are now in prison for serious crimes. Even though i wasn't in for anything serious i do feel my time spent in them set me straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

This wasn't in Ireland obviously.

Gosh no, cough cough, perish the thought, Ireland is incorruptible at all levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Grew up in the states in a very gangland city (I'm not going to say which one) and you either joined a gang to survive or you didn't survive at all. Being white, and living a very black neighbourhood I hung around with a lot of bad people. Mostly white supremacists ect.

Anyway, my car was broken into one day and I ended up losing the plot and I was charged with a pretty serious offense. Let me tell you that prison in the states is not a nice place. The Rapes, the beatings. Oh my God.

The worst part was, when I got out my little brother was shot in a bathroom after writing an essay called 'American History X' for his black principal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Iv been inside a few times, mostly only unpaid fines, But I spend ten months on the D Wing in Limerick Prison but this was ten years ago where bullying gang culture and heroin where not at the levels of today, I got on grand with both staff and prisoners, Most prisoners are just normal everyday people, I used to be amazed at how normal some of the murderers were but genuine scum like Gary Campion can be spotted almost immediately as dangerous, It never surprised me to see what he became. And yes, one night I did hear a guy screaming and crying for his mother, he was on remand for murdering her !! Most prisoners just wanted to get on with their time and get out, but some are so used to jail and all their friends are there, its a way of live to them, One guy who was my cell mate for a while was actually in and out of the jail three times in the length of time I was there, I was glad to be there as I know all my trouble would be behind me when I was free, I made use of my time to educate my self in Irish and History and I worked as a cleaner in the Fabric Unit and Iv never been in serious trouble again.:)

I was in St Pats twice but only for a few days each time, I had no problems there, staff are decent people, and before I went to LP, I spent two weeks on remand in Mountjoy, as I had fled jurisdiction and came back and handed myself in, Its a dodgy place, Iv a lot of respect for prison staff who work in those conditions, Its a breeding ground for trouble, This was in 2000 and the overcrowding was crazy, Id never seen a cockroach in Ireland till I was there on the B Base, We were sleeping alternate nights between a holding cell and the showers, then I got into a cell with cleaners and slept on a mattress on the floor..Incidents break out in the blink of an eye there..

Cork Prison is a kip, been there for unpaid fines (only spent 1 night there), Basin as toilet, Very sound staff, lots junkies, my advice is dont ever commit a serious crime anywhere in Cork as that is a scary jail, I went into the Recreation Room and it was like something out of an American film, Couldnt wait to go home..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Yet they left you with a €2 coin which you could have swallowed.

Yeah, but they reckoned by the time he swallowed it, it would only be worth one euro which wouldn't be fatal, although awfully uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭MardiB

I think it was Paul willims that I heard saying that even the toughest criminals crumble in prison. At night youd hear even the toughest scum crying. Good enough for them...

Paul Williams is a tool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

bonerm wrote: »
    When I was younger I hung out with the wrong crowd, made the wrong move and ended up in jail for a time. :( Fortunately on my next turn I got a useful card that pardoned me completely. I'm now a successful hotelier.

Hotelier eh? You might need another Get out of Jail Free card soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

I spent a few hours in a cell for a crime I didn't commit - asshole pigs arrested the wrong man. Seriously. But enough of that.

I also visited a friend of a friend in Wheatfield prison. It didn't seem too bad but the uniforms they were made wear were awful (brown cardigans and grey trousers I think.) Crimes against fashion, I'll tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Muckie

Know of some one who spend 3 months on remand in the UK.
    He said its not much fun at all. Met people from all walks of life.
    Nosiy and over crowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Lawros Tache

Solnskaya wrote: »
    Gosh no, cough cough, perish the thought, Ireland is incorruptible at all levels.

Oh you're right there, I'd say some of the stuff you couldn't believe at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

watch banged up abroad.now THEY are prisons.and its a great tv show for keeping you a good little boy.it frightens the f*** out of me anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

Never did anything more than a few hours in a cop shop. I fell in with the wrong crowd when i was younger and could have ended up inside if i had of been caught for certain things. Most of the crowd i hung around with got locked up and some had bad experiences but it never stopped them going back in but they where scumbags. I ditched them at just the right time another 6 months and I fear I could have been stuck in that rut for life. I've not wore a tracksuit in 10 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Oranage2 wrote: »
    In the drunk tank a few times and its not pleasant!

It was Christmas eve .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I spent an afternoon in the joy on a school trip for a crime I didn't commit. The place is an absolute sh1thole and it smells like mouldy bread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    I spent an afternoon in the joy on a school trip for a crime I didn't commit.

Did you then retreat to the Detroit underground where you live as a soldier of fortune?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

charlemont wrote: »
    Iv been inside a few times, mostly only unpaid fines, But I spend ten months on the D Wing in Limerick Prison but this was ten years ago where bullying gang culture and heroin where not at the levels of today, I got on grand with both staff and prisoners, Most prisoners are just normal everyday people, I used to be amazed at how normal some of the murderers were but genuine scum like Gary Campion can be spotted almost immediately as dangerous, It never surprised me to see what he became. And yes, one night I did hear a guy screaming and crying for his mother, he was on remand for murdering her !! Most prisoners just wanted to get on with their time and get out, but some are so used to jail and all their friends are there, its a way of live to them, One guy who was my cell mate for a while was actually in and out of the jail three times in the length of time I was there, I was glad to be there as I know all my trouble would be behind me when I was free, I made use of my time to educate my self in Irish and History and I worked as a cleaner in the Fabric Unit and Iv never been in serious trouble again.:)

I was in St Pats twice but only for a few days each time, I had no problems there, staff are decent people, and before I went to LP, I spent two weeks on remand in Mountjoy, as I had fled jurisdiction and came back and handed myself in, Its a dodgy place, Iv a lot of respect for prison staff who work in those conditions, Its a breeding ground for trouble, This was in 2000 and the overcrowding was crazy, Id never seen a cockroach in Ireland till I was there on the B Base, We were sleeping alternate nights between a holding cell and the showers, then I got into a cell with cleaners and slept on a mattress on the floor..Incidents break out in the blink of an eye there..

Cork Prison is a kip, been there for unpaid fines (only spent 1 night there), Basin as toilet, Very sound staff, lots junkies, my advice is dont ever commit a serious crime anywhere in Cork as that is a scary jail, I went into the Recreation Room and it was like something out of an American film, Couldnt wait to go home..

This lad has done time in a few prisons and knows what he's talking about.

I along with some other lads on here are Officers and know what we are talking about.

Lads here claim they have visited friends in prison and been ushered into quiet rooms with crime godfathers and left alone, not saying never, but I smell dung and after years of working in the Joy I have smelt a lot of sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Never been in prison, but have been locked up against my will on three occasions due to a mental illness. Spent six weeks locked up in a beautiful mental hospital run by a religious order in 2002. They put me into a padded cell for demanding my right to see a doctor independent of the American multinational that I had lodged two official complaints against. I folded after twenty seven hours; (an embarrasment to my hero James Connolly :o).
    Unlike somebody who has been accused of a crime, I was not allowed access to the Guards or a solicitor. I cannot explain to you the fear of being locked in a room without any rights or access to the outside world, or any idea of when or if, you will be let out. I fought for five years to bring this horrible injustice to light, only to be told in 2008, that the 2001 mental health act had finally been enacted, thus rendering my work superfluous.:(

The food was good though, and the people were nice.:)