Would you be nervous going to a pub/club alone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i have no problem going into a pub on my own, its great sometimes when its just myself and the racing paper
    i hate clubs so i wouls feel slightly uneasy going in on my sweeny todd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ForceOfNature

when i am in new york i love going into bars on my own - most of the people over there love chatting to irish people in the irish bars.. and you can meet some genuinely nice people..

would go to a nightclub over there no bother (although i havent)

going to a nightclub all by your lonesome in ireland....... no way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Actually, the opposite is often true. Even a man often can't just pop into some Dublin pubs for a quiet solo pint without somebody striking up a conversation with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Wouldn't be my cup of tea at all. In fact i'd rather have a cup of tea than go to a pub by myself! I hate been in a pub alone even for a half an hour waiting on someone to turn up. I get all self conscious and think everyone is looking at me!
    Could be some sort of latent mental problem, or maybe the f'uckers do just look at me.
    Either way, i don't like it:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I like enjoying a pint or 2 to myself in a pub, I'd have to have a crossword or magazine or something with me though. As for a club, I wouldnt even go into one WITH people let alone by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Pub wouldn't bother me at all and I've often done it. Was working in Dublin city a few weeks ago and was meeting a friend that night, rather than go all the way home and back in I just got a few pints and some dinner in a pub and read my book. Went travelling on my own around Europe when I was 20 so obviously ended up in many pubs and restaurants on my own. Would meet a lot of people in the pubs or hostels too and would head out with them some nights too but they weren't necessarily better nights, just a bit more crazy. I enjoyed the solice.

Club I definitely wouldn't. It's somewhere I go with friends because pubs close earlier and I can dance the night away. Saying that, I was away on the weekend with the lads and spent about an hour just dancing on my own, then again I was hammered and hyper on redbull and jager and needed an outlet for the energy :D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

Pub-yes
    Club no :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

Wouldn't be my cup of tea at all. In fact i'd rather have a cup of tea than go to a pub by myself! I hate been in a pub alone even for a half an hour waiting on someone to turn up. I get all self conscious and think everyone is looking at me!
    Could be some sort of latent mental problem, or maybe the f'uckers do just look at me.
    Either way, i don't like it:mad:

when i go to the pub by myself everyone there thinks i'm paranoid,
    atleast i think thats what they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Surely going to a pub on your own is just a needless expense, if I'm looking to kill time I'll go eat or get coffee alone, can stay places for ages if I have a laptop or something to read. I still get ID'd way too much that I would feel odd in a bar on my own.

A club on my own, I don't think so but having said that it is good sometimes when there's less of you and you have a laugh with randomers. But when you meet a guy in a club who says they're on their own, how can you not think absolutely desperate as opposed to fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

I've no problem going to the pub on my own, a few years ago I would have been. I'm now quite fond of relaxing with a book and a pint.

However, only sex criminals go to clubs alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I wouldn't dance on my own or anything but that's just because I don't dance in the first place.

I have no problems at all going into a bar or club on my own and did it many, many times while I was in Ireland to meet new people. Unfortunately, people are really judgmental about it and think anyone who's on their own has to be weird instead of the possibility that they're just a foreigner who doesn't know anyone yet :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

liah wrote: »
    I wouldn't dance on my own or anything but that's just because I don't dance in the first place.

I have no problems at all going into a bar or club on my own and did it many, many times while I was in Ireland to meet new people. Unfortunately, people are really judgmental about it and think anyone who's on their own has to be weird instead of the possibility that they're just a foreigner who doesn't know anyone yet :(

Still pretending your'e a girl ;):D

Kasabian wrote: »
    Still pretending your'e a girl ;):D

Drat, my cover has finally been blown! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭macquarie

If there's a really good DJ or band playing and no-one else is going then feck it, sure why not!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They don't let guys into them by themselves.

eh.... a friend told me.

They do in Amsterdam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Actually could you go into copper's on your own and not look like a knob?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Actually could you go into copper's on your own and not look like a knob?

Alone or in a group, nobody can go into Copper's without looking like a knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭Seanachai

It's a tricky one , depends on if you mean being nervous about attention from people wondering who you are or if you've got bad intentions or if you're worried about getting abused physically or verbally. Generally going to your local on your own wouldn't draw too much attention unless you got steaming drunk and started making an a**e of yourself.

You tend to see fellas even in city centre pubs on their own just reading the paper and having a few pints on the way home from work. There's also those weird fellas who you see sometimes on their own at the bar just staring at groups of people. I don't think you'd want to be mistaken for one of those. There's certain pubs where I wouldn't feel comfortable going to alone but you'd generally be able to tell that from the vibe you get from the place.

Clubs are a different kettle of fish imo. You sometimes see the protagonist in films hanging around the club on his own and picking up a woman but I don't know how often this happens in reality. I don't really go to clubs myself so maybe I'm wrong on that one. I think people in Ireland would tend to see a lone male hanging out in a club as either a drug dealer or a Rohypnol creep. Maybe that's a sad indication of society though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

I have no problem going into the local for a few pints on my own, because I know i won't be on my own. There's always a few of the regulars there who I can have a chat and a pint with, while watching the matches on a sunday afternoon.

But clubs, no. You'd look like a right ejit in a club on your own i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I do it literally all the time at the moment, it's amazing craic if you get into it. My friends have turned into the most appalling bottlers recently so it's either that or don't go out at all! :D

It's much, MUCH easier to score if you're by yourself, this I will say. You have no choice but to talk to randomers - and also girls will talk more to you for some reason, I think possibly because it's less intimidating than pulling someone out of a group?

I don't think I've ever actually scored when I've been out with a gang. Maybe once but that time was questionable since I scored during a moment when I was away from everyone else - and when they saw it happening they all started dancing around us in a circle jeering. Real mature, I know :rolleyes:

I'd recommend it to anyone with the confidence. I built up the confidence for this in Thailand over the summer when I literally just talked to everyone I met at the tubing bars and later on the beach parties. It's an incredible buzz if you do it right.

One issue is that Dublin in particular has this serious clan mentality whereby people tend to stick to themselves and it can be harder to meet people when everyone's stuck in their own corner with their own crowd but it does happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

no way, i wouldn't go to a club on my own :eek: i go to throw some shapes with my friends, not stand at the bar alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I love my local, and its one of a dying breed.

Bearing in mind its in Dublin, its still got a snug.. Still sells groceries.. Sells Tayto 'Pub' crisps.. All the staff speak english.. No doorstaff and makes fresh sambo's to order and they provide the Evening Herald at the bar...

Love the place.

Oh yea, doesn't bother me in the slightest heading up alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Metallitroll

i tried that propping myself up on a barstool shít, drinking alone, but the big busom'd polish bimbo kept interacting with the barman n looking at me, i got paranoid n bolted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I'll never go out alone, I'll only go out if I have at least one person with me. I'd just feel really uncomfortable, and unsafe too. But I guess maybe being a girl'd add to me not feeling safe.

EDIT: I can't believe a forgoit about my local back home. I'd go alone there no problem. Know practically everyone in the place :p. But a club'd be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭George83

I love my local, and its one of a dying breed.

Bearing in mind its in Dublin, its still got a snug.. Still sells groceries.. Sells Tayto 'Pub' crisps.. All the staff speak english.. No doorstaff and makes fresh sambo's to order and they provide the Evening Herald at the bar...

Love the place.

Oh yea, doesn't bother me in the slightest heading up alone.

Sounds like the ideal local to me:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

I wouldn't go on my own. It's not because I'd feel unsafe particularly, it's just that "socializing on your own" seems a contradiction in terms. What would be the point of it?

To meet new people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭George83

"socializing on your own" seems a contradiction in terms. What would be the point of it?

Ah well it's about either having a bit of 'peaceful time' to yourself or having a bit of banter with the others there - it's amazing how easily you can get talking to folks & great conversations can be had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

liah wrote: »
    To meet new people?

Yeah, but you're not going to strike up a friendship with complete strangers who are most likely already in a group themselves. That's when I would get worried about safety. I'd prefer to meet new people in safer surroundings or through people I already know. I agree you can have a good laugh with people you've never met before, but anytime I've done that they've been either known to the friends I was with or I've been in a big enough group to not to feel threatened. Realistically, they could be anyone.

I have on many occasions :confused: 'Realistically,' the chances of you meeting a weirdo over a normal person are actually pretty damn slim.