Are some charities a scam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

I hate the "but it's only €2 a month thing"...umm why should I give to you and not to all the other charities? If I was to give to every charity it would be more like €100 a month! :mad:

I prefer to volunteer my time than to give cash. At least I know then that what I am doing actually helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Duke Leonal Felmet

I'm skeptical.. When the Madoff scandel broke and 65 billion got wiped out, billions of it was charity money being invested.
    Why that money wasn't out helping the world, I don't understand.

Because funds may have been set up by private individuals to ensure that a cause receives funding over many years. Such as the Bill Gates Trust, etc.

My girlfriend is very sceptical of the PAWS collectors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

I don't like giving to the people on the streets, they are always so pushy. I also had a girl from Bernardos swear at me because I walked past her and wouldn't hear her speel.

My brother used to work abroad and in Dublin with a charity with one of these places and the stories he would tell were in someways deadly (fancy hotels etc) but awful in other ways (if they are paying for nice hotels in these places where is the money really going?)

All the big wigs lived like millionares, children in boarding schools making massive money out of these places. Now with the advertising they do and this speaks for all the charaties wouldn't they have ended world hunger etc by now?

As far as I know, Concern are audited and can claim that 11% of money collected goes on advertising, future collecting, and 1% goes on admin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭silverspoon

I don't know whether some charities are a scam. I could see the attraction for disreputable people to (ab)use the charity structure to do scammy things, like...well, not be an actual charity and be, in fact, a scam.

I'm not crazy about most organised charities, in that I don't really believe there are that many bleeding hearts setting up charities for no reason other than to benefit chosen cause. I don't think there would be so many charities if it wasn't in some way a moneymaking business.

I'm not saying all people who get involved in all charities are ultimately self-interested, but neither do I think that all charities work ultimately in the interest of their cause. These charities are, when it comes down to it, a business. And I'm beginning to know enough of people to have the idea where money is, there are people who will follow.

I'm sure there are lots of charities that do alot of good work, and I'm sure most charities are set up with good intentions. I think the real question would be, does charity work? Has it worked in Africa? Is the charity structure intrinsically flawed, or is it down to the fact that charities can be mismanaged and inefficiently run?

Like someone said, I'd prefer to give a homeless person money than donate to charity, because the opacity of where the money goes re: charities makes me somewhat uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

For all the people bashing charities, go to the RTE website and see if you can find any of their interviews with Goal's John O'Shea. I defy you to have such a terrible view of all charities then. The guy fights tooth and nail for the absolutely worst off in the world, and expects nothing for himself in the return. If he was to run for office in this country, I'd vote for him without a second's doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

All charities are businesses first and foremost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Buceph wrote: »
    For all the people bashing charities, go to the RTE website and see if you can find any of their interviews with Goal's John O'Shea. I defy you to have such a terrible view of all charities then. The guy fights tooth and nail for the absolutely worst off in the world, and expects nothing for himself in the return. If he was to run for office in this country, I'd vote for him without a second's doubt.

So giving money to the poor makes him a good candidate to run the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,078 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Some charities do fantastic work, and are actual charities. People giving their time for very little, and sometimes nothing. SVDP, Simon, etc.

Then there are the BIG boys, the businesses as I call them, trekking all over the globe saving the people....Many of these people have done next to nothing in their own communities, yet they are looking for their own people to donate money to a "causes" thousands of miles away...:rolleyes:

Every few weeks you have some Paddy seting up a NEW charity based in Africa.

And, the heads of these businesses are earning a pretty packet. Charity? My backside. Lot of people making a lot of money from destitution and poverty, always painting the bleakest picture to try and fool the people into parting with their cash

Trocaire out on the streets last week looking for peoples bank details...
    I mean, this has been going for for decades. Nothing has changed.
    We had it for years with the "penny for the black baby." Taking money from Irish children in schools to give to the "poor black baby." Then it was the communion money and confirmation money they were looking for. Organisations that for years were battering and raping
    Irish children, and I am meant to believe that these people give a damn about some black baby in Africa? You
    couldn't make it up.

These businesses must have dozens of people simply paid to come up with wild ideas and scams to get people to part with their money. How many people fell for the "buy a cow, buy a goat, buy a hive of bees?" This is farcical...But, people fall for it

Then there was the celebs (employed by charities) and the whole, sponsor a child in Africa, El Salvador etc." Wacky and absurd scams to get money...

Eh, who says he's giving HIS money? All I ever hear from him and GOAL, is "give us your ****ing money."

Fighting tooth and nail? My arse...Ego tripper.

No, that he is someone with convictions and passion who is running one of the most efficient charities, working with the poorest and worst off of people. while maintaining a high profile and not compromising on ethics makes him a good candidate to run the country.

And the amount of bitter people in this thread is ****ing disgusting. You'd swear a charity pissed in your cornflakes. Just because you can't comprehend doing something altruistic with your mangy little lives doesn't mean there aren't thousands of people doing good, ranging from Irish issues like homelessness (Simon) and poverty (SvdP), to looking after people on the sea (RNLI) to international issues like Amnesty International, Oxfam and Goal.

This thread actually makes me sick. What started out as something questioning the morality of scammers turned into the biggest swarm of pettiness I've seen on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

walshb wrote: »
    Eh, who says he's giving HIS money? All I ever hear from him and GOAL, is "give us your ****ing money."

Fighting tooth and nail? My arse...Ego tripper.

Goal is a profitable family business.

Indeed, has been for years.

I remember hearing John on the Late Late I think it was. He was talking about how he started. Dealing with homeless and drug addicted people in Dublin. He didn't ave the time or patience for them is what he said. That to me isn't someone that I would think as a charity worker. He got fed up, so went and set up his own charity for the poor people thousands of miles away. And got massive grants for this too....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Niall Mellon Township Trust

Sending people abroad to build houses. It's something different to many others

We've had these collections in the office and I'm skeptical what the slim lady in the office can actually do on a site. Not hauling bricks anyway.

A quick look at the website confirms donations will be partially used to pay for flights. I'm not sure about accommodation

Paying to send Irish people there when the money should be used to employ local workers. Give employment to the local tradesmen and not send someone in a GAA jersey off to swan around a site.

Niall Mellon may be a decent man with a great generosity. But for now maybe he should concentrate on his issues with NAMA which taxpayers are paying for before asking for money for his charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

No, that he is someone with convictions and passion who is running one of the most efficient charities, working with the poorest and worst off of people. while maintaining a high profile and not compromising on ethics makes him a good candidate to run the country.

And the amount of bitter people in this thread is ****ing disgusting. You'd swear a charity pissed in your cornflakes. Just because you can't comprehend doing something altruistic with your mangy little lives doesn't mean there aren't thousands of people doing good, ranging from Irish issues like homelessness (Simon) and poverty (SvdP), to looking after people on the sea (RNLI) to international issues like Amnesty International, Oxfam and Goal.

This thread actually makes me sick. What started out as something questioning the morality of scammers turned into the biggest swarm of pettiness I've seen on boards.

We clearly don't all have the same definition of being ethical. I don't find the emotional blackmail, and preying on the weak willled and old as ethical business practice.

This is highly evidenced in you response to those who don't trust charities - you immediately try to belittle the people and attack their integrity. Luckily the people on boards are not as easily pushed over as you usual prey as these tactics are so clearly at play in every enterprise you worm your way into.

I suggest that you rethink your attitude before trying to be a spokesperson for your so beloved "charity" as you are doing more harm than good for them (but managing to prove my point quite nicely).

Niall Mellon Township Trust

Sending people abroad to build houses. It's something different to many others

We've had these collections in the office and I'm skeptical what the slim lady in the office can actually do on a site. Not hauling bricks anyway.

A quick look at the website confirms donations will be partially used to pay for flights. I'm not sure about accommodation

Paying to send Irish people there when the money should be used to employ local workers. Give employment to the local tradesmen and not send someone in a GAA jersey off to swan around a site.

Niall Mellon may be a decent man with a great generosity. But for now maybe he should concentrate on his issues with NAMA which taxpayers are paying for before asking for money for his charity.

Another sham. Houses being built for the "poor people," and then those houses are being rented out by the "poor people."
    These people were doing perfectly ok for years before he stuck his beak in. Was it the people who
    begged Niall to go there and HELP them? No, it was not. They never even asked for Paddy's help...

Volunteers going abroad, begging for money from their neighbours. How much of the money is coming from their pockets? Holiday trips is all they are.
    I mean, is SA so bad that it hasn't got people capable of laying bricks?
    It's relying on some Paddy for this? You try and get some plumber, carpenter, lecky here to
    fit a washer on a tap, hang a door or fit a socket, and see how ****ing charitable
    and decent they are? I tell you, you will pay for it....But, stick them in Africa, and they're like god damn
    Santa Claus?

Niall Mellon? How many houses has Niall built here and gave to Irish people for nothing? Isn't he in trouble with NAMA over cash? So, maybe he should sorth that out before sticking his beak into SA affairs. Also, he and his crew are causing a lot of hostility over there with a lot of people.

Who's the other guy saving Haiti, yet he owes millions here to the banks? Some phone entrepreneur dude?

All these do gooders, great at throwing other peoples money around....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Please continue :)

enda1 wrote: »
    We clearly don't all have the same definition of being ethical. I don't find the emotional blackmail, and preying on the weak willled and old as ethical business practice.

This is highly evidenced in you response to those who don't trust charities - you immediately try to belittle the people and attack their integrity. Luckily the people on boards are not as easily pushed over as you usual prey as these tactics are so clearly at play in every enterprise you worm your way into.

I suggest that you rethink your attitude before trying to be a spokesperson for your so beloved "charity" as you are doing more harm than good for them (but managing to prove my point quite nicely).

You are literally making things up at this point. I'm attacking ignorance. That people say "Ah sure it all goes into the employees pockets" is ignorance. When all the respectable charities get audited by well respected business consultancies and publish annual reports detailing their expenditures. It's sheer, blatant, willful ignorance.

Thanks for completely ignoring everything I said. Maybe you would make a good politician instead of the Goal guy after all!

You seemed to make two points, both completely based on pure ignorance. One, that attacking people's idiotic views is something I should feel bad about. And two, that the respectable charities prey on the weak willed and elderly, where you'll find that any of the respectable charities have strict guidelines on what is and isn't allowed in fundraising.

So yeah. I didn't directly address your points, but that's because they were ridiculous.

But hey! I have now. They're still ridiculous.

You seemed to make two points, both completely based on pure ignorance. One, that attacking people's idiotic views is something I should feel bad about. And two, that the respectable charities prey on the weak willed and elderly, where you'll find that any of the respectable charities have strict guidelines on what is and isn't allowed in fundraising.

So yeah. I didn't directly address your points, but that's because they were ridiculous.

But hey! I have now. They're still ridiculous.

Just cause you don't hold them, doesn't make them idiotic. Your method of attacking their views was by personally insulting the people, not their views. Your method is not very charitable.

The charities do prey on the weak willed and elderly. Whether they admit it or not. I see that goal do not do door-to-door fund-raising, not much more info on their ethics however. If they wanted to just accept donations without pressure on people, anonymous acceptance on their website would be enough for most, plus some dedicated drop off points. Perhaps the pensioners could pick-up a direct debit of the charity of their choice at the post-office and donate via that?

Why do they need to recruit volunteer fund-raisers to shake down their friends and family?

Unless you can remove your caustic attitude from your posts, how do you expect anyone to debate with you? Your lucky I bother... but I'm nice like that.

Just cause you don't hold them, doesn't make them idiotic. Your method of attacking their views was by personally insulting the people, not their views. Your method is not very charitable.

The charities do prey on the weak willed and elderly. Whether they admit it or not. I see that goal do not do door-to-door fund-raising, not much more info on their ethics however. If they wanted to just accept donations without pressure on people, anonymous acceptance on their website would be enough for most, plus some dedicated drop off points. Perhaps the pensioners could pick-up a direct debit of the charity of their choice at the post-office and donate via that?

Why do they need to recruit volunteer fund-raisers to shake down their friends and family?

Unless you can remove your caustic attitude from your posts, how do you expect anyone to debate with you? Your lucky I bother... but I'm nice like that.

I'll remove my caustic attitude by not engaging anymore.

Have a pleasant day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

The charities do prey on the weak willed and elderly. Whether they admit it or not. I see that goal do not do door-to-door fund-raising, not much more info on their ethics however. If they wanted to just accept donations without pressure on people, anonymous acceptance on their website would be enough for most, plus some dedicated drop off points.

You really have that little regard for the elderly that you believe they just open their wallets when a charity representative comes to the door? And who exactly are these weak willed people? All one has to do is say no. I've had plently of people call to my door in the name of charitable causes. A polite "no thanks" sufficed for them to leave. No aggressive pushing of their product, no emotional blackmail. To suggest that charities shouldn't approach people because some people in society lack the most basic of social skills, is ridiculous.

There are many charities out there, and no doubt there are many poorly run ones. However, to come along and dismiss all charities like you and others are doing is totally unfair, and unwarranted. All one has to do is inform oneself before giving some money. It's not that hard, and takes a lot less effort than logging onto internet fora to moan about fraudulent charities. If people are stupid enough to give blindly, that's there fault- not the fault of the charitable sector. I presume you don;t blame all mechanics for the actions of the few dodgy ones- why do the same for charities?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭awesom_o

I go mad when those people from concern or whatever approach me on the street. Mainly, because I know well what they are doing. My friend collects money for concern and they are paid by commission.

I was talking to one of the collectors on college green and no joke, they are money hungry! After saying 'oh I already give money to charity' he went into a big spiel about how a life saving injection only costs 9c. I said 'well grand, I can give you 9c.. I can even give you 18c, that's how generous I am.. but no. He was literally guilt tripping me into giving €25 a month. F*ck that. How much of the €25 goes to life saving injections, and how many pays his commission? Not happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

there are people who will abuse the word 'charity' - they have little if anything to do with the cause - they slap a sticker on a bucket and shake it. and there are people who work for charities who are legit but they may not have the best management of resources. and there are the really good ones that really help people and theyre managed well.

we need a bit of cop on when we donate i think... i used to just throw a bit of money in whatever bucket was going around or being shook in my face - or buy those 'euro' charity things like keyrings - without really looking to see who i was donating to and if id even heard of them. now i wont put money in a random box unless i know what its for and what they do - at least. mainly i give to a charity i know about and support - by direct debit (a chugger didnt get me - chuggers... agh) - it comes down to thinking before you act.
    i dont want to sound 'up me own hole' about it but its something that ive thought about....

on a side note itd be in an ideal world if every person who works for a charity knows what they do and - like volunteers - care about what they do.

i rally didnt like that tv show Do The Right Thing - just because the amount of money being thrown at it must have been huge. they got a few volunteers into the 'competition' but they could have even paid hundreds of them to do the work 12 contestants did on a televised thing.

you have to be wary but i hope people can keep a charitable streak too - just cos some will abuse it shouldnt ruin it for the many who do good decent needed work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

It's unsettling to think that if you donate a tenner of your money, you'd be lucky if 1 euro ends up getting to the cause. If there was a way to directly funnel cash to people with only a few cent per euro lost in overheads, people might be more inclined to give to charity.

Also, what do people think of the fact that a lot of the reason some foreign countries are so poor is because our countries are so rich?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Also, what do people think of the fact that a lot of the reason some foreign countries are so poor is because our countries are so rich?

Dare I speak my brutally honest opinion ... some places are just kips.
    Usually a reason for that in history tho. Take africa, most of its countries have had serious wars. Some are still in wars.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,797 ✭✭✭karma_

walshb wrote: »
    Another sham. Houses being built for the "poor people," and then those houses are being rented out by the "poor people."
    These people were doing perfectly ok for years before he stuck his beak in. Was it the people who
    begged Niall to go there and HELP them? No, it was not. They never even asked for Paddy's help...

Volunteers going abroad, begging for money from their neighbours. How much of the money is coming from their pockets? Holiday trips is all they are.
    I mean, is SA so bad that it hasn't got people capable of laying bricks?
    It's relying on some Paddy for this? You try and get some plumber, carpenter, lecky here to
    fit a washer on a tap, hang a door or fit a socket, and see how ****ing charitable
    and decent they are? I tell you, you will pay for it....But, stick them in Africa, and they're like god damn
    Santa Claus?

Niall Mellon? How many houses has Niall built here and gave to Irish people for nothing? Isn't he in trouble with NAMA over cash? So, maybe he should sorth that out before sticking his beak into SA affairs. Also, he and his crew are causing a lot of hostility over there with a lot of people.

Who's the other guy saving Haiti, yet he owes millions here to the banks? Some phone entrepreneur dude?

All these do gooders, great at throwing other peoples money around....

Fúck you are some begrudger what!

I know tradesmen who go to Africa to build houses, they pay their own flights and sleep rough. They do help train locals when they get the chance but it's more or less non-stop work when they are there and there is no drinking, partying or sight-seeing.

If you don;t want to give to charity then that's fine but stop spending your time trying to convince others it's all a big scam and just fúck off.

karma_ wrote: »
    Fúck you are some begrudger what!

I know tradesmen who go to Africa to build houses, they pay their own flights and sleep rough. They do help train locals when they get the chance but it's more or less non-stop work when they are there and there is no drinking, partying or sight-seeing.

If you don;t want to give to charity then that's fine but stop spending your time trying to convince others it's all a big scam and just fúck off.

Sleep rough? Where? In the houses that are already in the townships? The houses that those people have been living in for so many years and doing just grand....

So, if all this is coming out of their own pockets, why all the hype and collections? Don't ****ing kid yourself....The same tradesmen who charge 80 ****ing euro to fit a washer on a tap....And we are meant to believe that they are going all this way because they so care about some African?:rolleyes:

Again, when was it that the SA people asked for this help? They never did, so why is Paddy over there interfering, because that is what is happening.