Nitelink to be stopped after february

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭mp3kid

Oisinjm wrote: »
    Its subsidised by the government.

By what percentage ? Can you provide a link ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭Bradidup

The only compromise that CIE done ahead of this is the introduction of bicycles on off peak dart services. You can all take your bikes into town on a Saturday night and cycle home later. :p

I would rather cycle to Dalkey from the City Ctr than pay a Taxi e35. :)

I could also see an opening for Aircoach to make a pick up at Collage Green and drop off at their terminus's at both Dalkey and Sandyford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Patton should open a new service between Collage green and Dalkey after midnight on weekends. LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Ah for f**k sake! It this goes ahead then it's a total joke of a decision, Dublin will be the most backward capital city in Europe. If places like Minsk (capital of Belarus, population 1.8m) can have a 24 hour tram/bus service and an underground rail system and we can't then there is something seriously wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I would think this is all down to the cost of wages in this country.

You can't compare the cost of servicing the buses and the wages of the people involved to that of other countries, I doubt they compare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Once again Dublin Bus put money before customers. After all, this is the same company that puts its fares UP when passenger numbers are DOWN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 466 ✭✭fizzynicenice

But now where will I openly flaut the smoking ban and start fights with strangers who just want to be left alone?
    This shíts wack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,589 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

kenmc wrote: »
    And certainly not Dublin either :( Stupid bloody public transport closing down just cos it gets a bit dark. Barcelona, for example, not even a capital city, has 24 hour metros every saturday night, and around public holidays e.g. new years eve etc. you know, like when people might like to go out a bit later than usual.

Amsterdam has night busses every day of the week

Our fcukin trams don't even meet in the middle :(
    One of the benifits of living under a fascist dictatorship for 36 years.
    Raekwon wrote: »
    Ah for f**k sake! It this goes ahead then it's a total joke of a decision, Dublin will be the most backward capital city in Europe. If places like Minsk (capital of Belarus, population 1.8m) can have a 24 hour tram/bus service and an underground rail system and we can't then there is something seriously wrong.

Let's get our dictatorship on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭whiteonion

If they would stop this service at the end of this month, surely there would be some information about in on their website? I have checked www.dublinbus.ie and there was no information about them stopping the nitelink service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

Just spoke to a friend who works in Dublin Bus management and he confirms that the Nitelink service is being discontinued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

this is really stupid

pros :
    • dublin bus save a bit of money
    • hotels get more money as if a taxi is 50 (harcourt st to maynooth) euro id rather a hotel for the night

cons :
    • some pubs , particularly those aimed at students / 18-20 year olds having fewer customers / some possibly closing doors
    • drink driving incidents go up
    • some late night shift workers have no way home but taxi
    • living in dublin becomes more expensive as living in north kildare / outside the m50 isnt as attractive to people
    • coupled with the 9 year rule taxis will be impossible to get + fares will probably go up
    • no more making friends while drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

[*]coupled with the 9 year rule taxis will be impossible to get + fares will probably go up

It won't come to that.
    Fares won't go up as the regulator already put them up in 2008.
    And there will be plenty of taxis even with the rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

mate dont know what nightlink your getting , Im living in leixlip but would often stay in celbridge / maynooth or lucan after a night out , every single time ive been on the 67n somebody gets a dig to the face or somebody gets sick or urinates on the bus , the 66n isnt much better (ive had a handful of incident free journeys on it) but in all fairness I wouldnt even consider those routes particularly bad in the scheme of things , if thats whats happening on under-utilised routes to quiet north kildare then I can only imagine whats happening on nitelinks to some of the worse off areas of dublin

What times would they be at? I've gotten the 66N for 5 years (67N midweek when it existed...) and never anything worth mentioning...people getting off to get sick and then back on, people crying, few verbal fights, general eh rowdiness...never seen anything serious, or any violence. Though I usually get the one at 4 or the old one at half 4 and people tend to be more asleep than awake and fighting at that stage. I've only ever had a handful of journeys with incidents! Don't think it would justify pulling them no matter how bad they are, once they're far enough away they should be run. I can't afford a taxi to Leixlip full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

this is really stupid

pros :
    • dublin bus save a bit of money
    • hotels get more money as if a taxi is 50 (harcourt st to maynooth) euro id rather a hotel for the night

cons :
    • some pubs , particularly those aimed at students / 18-20 year olds having fewer customers / some possibly closing doors
    • drink driving incidents go up
    • some late night shift workers have no way home but taxi
    • living in dublin becomes more expensive as living in north kildare / outside the m50 isnt as attractive to people
    • coupled with the 9 year rule taxis will be impossible to get + fares will probably go up
    • no more making friends while drunk

I agree with the majority of what you said.
    * But dublin bus saving money isnt a pro. for them sure. Not for us. They've restructured a few routes/buses last year to save money. whch is fair enough but abolishing the night link service is just too greedy. It'll have a big knock-on effect.

* And hotels getting more business? they will but not massively. The service stopping would sooner stop people going into town for nights out more so than hotels getting an significant spike in business. But im sure hotels would be happy with even a small increase.

I dont know if Dublin Bus will actually cease all night links. But it wouldnt suprise me. 2 years ago they stopped the 6-night a week service down to friday and saturday. But the massive blowback they would get from various industries would be mental ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

rich1874 wrote: »
    As for worrying about dealing with drunken people that just strikes me as sheer unwillingness to provide a service to genuine people on the basis of a few bad experiences.
    Get the "fun bus" (last nightlink of the night", and 9 out of 10 times, there will be violence on the top deck. And who will sort it out? The Gardai? Nay. The bus driver.
    orourkeda wrote: »
    Taxi Drivers. Get your cars ready. You may actually have some work to do.
    F**ing taxi's love to "add on" a few quid, as I live 1KM outside of Dublin.
    If this goes ahead I'll be raging. I live in Leixlip and my taxi costs €30, 6 times the Nitelink fare.
    Ah, but that only works on the naive taxi men (get a price before we get into the taxi: has worked a few times), or if you're a girl. Have gotten quotes of €50 upwards to Leixlip.
    maybe they're talking about this kind of trouble

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dRQr9DFDqU
    Erm, no. This would be a "quite" fun bus: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AiAFny3P7VU TBH, once you don't get the fun bus, you'll be grand. Have often gotten a non-fun-bus 66n, without any trouble.
    Fares won't go up as the regulator already put them up in 2008.
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but the bastards can charge what they like if you're going outside of Dublin. Lucan: €30, Leixlip €60. Maynooth... hahahaha.

the_syco wrote: »
    Get the "fun bus" (last nightlink of the night", and 9 out of 10 times, there will be violence on the top deck. And who will sort it out? The Gardai? Nay. The bus driver.

I'm a girl, and that was the price the two times I got a taxi...always always get the Nitelink or stay over. €50?! That's my friend's taxi fare to Skerries. Crazy they can add so much on.

Just realised I've only sat upstairs on Nitelinks a few times, usually I'm alone and sit downstairs.That might explain the relatively quiet experience downstairs offers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm a girl, and that was the price the two times I got a taxi...always always get the Nitelink or stay over. €50?! That's my friend's taxi fare to Skerries. Crazy they can add so much on.
    Seems as Leixlip is outside of their area, they can legally charge whatever they want.
    Just realised I've only sat upstairs on Nitelinks a few times, usually I'm alone and sit downstairs.That might explain the relatively quiet experience downstairs offers..
    HEH, Aye. Downstairs is rarely not quite. Upstairs can range from "great craic", to violent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭CabanasBoy

gurramok wrote: »
    So this a boom to the taxi drivers. Feck sake it still costs a fortune to have a night out in Dublin. :mad:

I doubt very much it'll lead to a "boom" for taxi drivers (that's if the cancellation of NiteLink even happens!). As someone has pointed out already, people will just stay out of Dublin city and life will trundle along as usual.

Nothing added on, that sounds about right for a metered fare to Skerries.

the_syco wrote: »
    Seems as Leixlip is outside of their area, they can legally charge whatever they want.

Eh?? no. The entire country is now classed as "metered". Dublin City to Leixlip is now €30-€35 on the meter, before the whole country was covered by the meter this run could have cost anywhere between €50 and €75. The travelling public have never had it so good;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

CabanasBoy wrote: »
    Eh?? no. The entire country is now classed as "metered". Dublin City to Leixlip is now €30-€35 on the meter, before the whole country was covered by the meter this run could have cost anywhere between €50 and €75. The travelling public have never had it so good;)

Better than it was at one stage maybe, but still ridiculous! If you live in Dublin and want to go out in the city centre, you shouldnt have to pay around €50 to get home (Rush/Skerries). I still pay almost €30 to Swords some nights in a cab and its only about 10-12k from the centre.

Nitelinks are the only reason I go out in town unless theres a group of us, when we walk towards Santry just to get a cheaper taxi. The cost of going out in the city is bad enough, my local will be chuffed cuz im not gonna be going out in town very often if the buses are stopped!

Really sucks for people who work in the city, I wonder if jobs will subsidise taxis for staff.. doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I have found it just as handy to get a cheap hotel in the city center.

Taxi costs 60 euro to naas. costs the same to sleep in town after a few beers and drive home the next day.

Night link is a bollocks of a service anyways. Sure if ya have to piss you are in big trouble

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 200 ✭✭RoisinDove

This is absolutely pathetic. The Nitelink service was poor anyway and now we're being left with nothing at all after the last bus at 11.30? What a joke. I can't think of a single other European capital with such pathetic night public transport. Even Luxembourg City which is a fraction of the size of Dublin has free or cheap night buses until almost 4am. The Brussels metro runs until 1am on most lines and then there are night buses for the price of a normal ticket. I can't believe what I'm reading here, people who live just outside the city thinking it's normal to get a hotel room after a bogstandard night out. I can only hope a private company starts running night buses, or the Luas runs a limited night service.

CabanasBoy wrote: »
    Nothing added on, that sounds about right for a metered fare to Skerries.

Yeah it is, was referring to the same fare applying to Leixlip, when Skerries is nearly twice as far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

RoisinDove wrote: »
    This is absolutely pathetic. The Nitelink service was poor anyway and now we're being left with nothing at all after the last bus at 11.30? What a joke. I can't think of a single other European capital with such pathetic night public transport. Even Luxembourg City which is a fraction of the size of Dublin has free or cheap night buses until almost 4am. The Brussels metro runs until 1am on most lines and then there are night buses for the price of a normal ticket. I can't believe what I'm reading here, people who live just outside the city thinking it's normal to get a hotel room after a bogstandard night out. I can only hope a private company starts running night buses, or the Luas runs a limited night service.

the wierd thing is , it only cost 22euro to go to Luxembourg and a taxi from dublin to naas cost 60. Click below

flite.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

RoisinDove wrote: »
    I can only hope a private company starts running night buses, or the Luas runs a limited night service.

Granted a Luas / rail night service woud be better than nothing, but thats still well below what we should expect as a capital city! Sure Luas/rail only serves a very limited amount of the cities suburbs anyway. I really hope a private company starts something-they're usually far better run anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Grrr, Dublin Bus have today put up their already over expensive fares! Public transport in this city is pathetic. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,311 ✭✭✭✭alastair

dublin metropoltan area 1.6million people

barcelona metropolitan area 5 million people

The Barca metro only serves a population area of 3.5 million, and has 164 stations. I'm pretty sure Dublin could support a metro with a mere, say, 50 stations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

Can't find any official reports about this, other than a story from last year which stated that Nitelink service for Mon-Thur would be permanantly cancelled due to lack to demand.
    Im sure there is a good chance that your friend in Dublin bus might be right, but maybe we should wait for an official statement before worrying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 danielgray

Called Dublin Bus for an official comment, which is that they currently have no plans to suspend the Nitelink service. Which is no surprise, since this thread started on an entirely conjectural basis.