Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone here going to vote sinn féin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Quackles wrote: »
    Absolutely I will vote Sinn Féin. While I'm not naive enough to think that they will be in government, I think a term in strong opposition will make them a formidable force in the future of politics on this island, and I look forward to being properly represented for a change.
    Well at least that is a sensible reason to vote for them. They certainly will be a different type of opposition to FF.
    But for those who will vote SF because they approve of their policies, that will never be implemented because they won't be in power ...... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,147 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Quackles wrote: »
    Absolutely I will vote Sinn Féin. While I'm not naive enough to think that they will be in government, I think a term in strong opposition will make them a formidable force in the future of politics on this island, and I look forward to being properly represented for a change.

I think your absolutely right. By ruling out coalition with Sinn Fein the other political parties ensure that they will remain in opposition, opposing all the unpopular decisions that will have to be made in the coming years.

I think their promise of no one need suffer if we just burn the bondholders and introduce a wealth tax will look very appealing to many after a few FG/LAB government austerity budgets.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

YES SINN FEIN ALL THE WAY!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

SINN FEIN I WOULD NEVER VOTE FOR:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 macbrada

I respect my right to vote too much to waste it on sinn fein....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Xclusiv Barber

Okay heres one for yiz, just to discuss. Period no 1: Ireland will always be a FF state except in such times where they 4uck up so monumentally that.. Period no 2: FG (and whoever) will get in for a bit, make a tit of it, then... Period no 3... See Period 1. There ye go, hav at it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    OK, lets talk economics then. Sf's plan is to use the National Pension Reserve Fund to cover our budget deficit this year. The deficit for 2011 is projected to be €17.7bn with the €6bn austerity package, Sinn Fein want to reverse many of the measures so under them the deficit would be higher. The NPRF is not enough to cover this years deficit with the cuts so under SFs plan we definitely would not be able to cover our deficit for this year (ie. not be able to pay nurses, social welfare, pensioners, etc.). Of course SF also want to use the NPRF to provide a stimulus package, they seem to have forgotten they need the money to cover the deficit.

Basically, under SFs plan the country will be in a worse economic state, and we would have no one to turn to to borrow from as they will have told the IMF to piss off, the bond markets wouldnt touch us 12 months after we refused to repay the last loan and we would have no funds of our own (NPRF) left. Even if we do cover the deficit for this year, we will still have the same deficit next year. We would have one year to balance the books and would have to take €17.7bn out of our economy in one year which would do enormous damage. We took out €6bn in the last budget and look at how it is effecting people, now imagine three times that.

Explain to me how SF's plan can work?

Sinn Féin from what I undertsand want to reduce the deficit but over a longer period of 7 or 8 years, so arguably the economy wouldn't shrink as much as it would under Fianna Fáil's 4 year plan, which is supported by Fine Gael. Their stimulus plan is based over a number of years, so its completely misleading to say they want to use the NPRF 2 times over. Most of the NPRF would be used to fund the budget deficit for year 1, and upon 'burning the bondholders' by separating sovereign debt from private debt, Sinn Féin would then return to the markets again. This money, combined with whats left over in the NPRF, can be used as a stimulus to the economy which will help to create jobs, which in turn will provide people with more disposable income, which in turn will increase retail sales etc etc, and this in turn will increase tax intake.

Remember, we weren't bailed out because we couldn't manage our sovereign debt. Thats completely managable, its the banking or private debt that forced us into the situation we're now in.

And the suggestion that we wouldn't be able to return to the markets because we burnt the bondholers is complete nonsense. All the markets care about is your ability to pay, not who you didn't bail out. And assuming we've separated private debt from sovereign debt, we wouldn't be faced with the banking crisis we are now (which hasn't gone away btw), and which is the reason yields on Irish bonds are so high, because of the never-ending cost of recapitalising the banks.

We should do what most european states do and hav some leading enterpreneurs economists etc in the dail, like michael o leary or david mc williams or a million better examples. Its commonplace in european parliaments. Tho hang on, george lee ran, got in by a country mile, then quickly realised "this lot are barking mad and they're all w@nk€ rs and he scarpered. So that wont work. Tho how in the name of god SF running us further into the ground helps i dont no. Gerry adams doesn't even no the rate of vat for gods sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

Gerry adams doesn't even no the rate of vat for gods sake

Wow, he doesnt know the vat rate...and Brian Cowen didnt know how to govern the country!

I don't think that is the be all and end all tbh

Yes he should know it but to pick that out and make a big deal of it is pityful

lugha wrote: »
    I'm afraid you will be disappointed. There is almost no chance of SF being in power in which case they will barely be in a position to make any change, much less any fundamental kind.

Yes, you may be right. But I will be using my democratic right to vote for the party which appeals to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Sinn Féin are the only established political party providing an opposition position.

There is only a cigarette paper difference between FG/FFraudsters/Labour.

I am in favour of Sinn Fein's position on many issues so Sinn Féin will be getting my vote.

crebel81 wrote: »
    Wow, he doesnt know the vat rate...and Brian Cowen didnt know how to govern the country!

I don't think that is the be all and end all tbh

Yes he should know it but to pick that out and make a big deal of it is pityful

ok, to clarify, i think u misunderstood me perhaps i made my point badly. Apologies. What i mean is there are a million things that gerry adams doesn't know about ireland, that being the most basic one. But gerry knows it doesnt matter a jot as he can go from uk parliament to irish parliament without any irish info whatsoever because he'll take the retiring arthur morgan SF seat very comfortably so why bother. I wonder is THAT SEAT the easiest bet in this election. I guess u didn't hear his press conference which was basically a string of i dont knows . Sorry if u picked me up wrong there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Jim236 wrote: »
    Sinn Féin from what I undertsand want to reduce the deficit but over a longer period of 7 or 8 years, so arguably the economy wouldn't shrink as much as it would under Fianna Fáil's 4 year plan, which is supported by Fine Gael. Their stimulus plan is based over a number of years, so its completely misleading to say they want to use the NPRF 2 times over. Most of the NPRF would be used to fund the budget deficit for year 1, and upon 'burning the bondholders' by separating sovereign debt from private debt, Sinn Féin would then return to the markets again. This money, combined with whats left over in the NPRF, can be used as a stimulus to the economy which will help to create jobs, which in turn will provide people with more disposable income, which in turn will increase retail sales etc etc, and this in turn will increase tax intake.

Remember, we weren't bailed out because we couldn't manage our sovereign debt. Thats completely managable, its the banking or private debt that forced us into the situation we're now in.

And the suggestion that we wouldn't be able to return to the markets because we burnt the bondholers is complete nonsense. All the markets care about is your ability to pay, not who you didn't bail out. And assuming we've separated private debt from sovereign debt, we wouldn't be faced with the banking crisis we are now (which hasn't gone away btw), and which is the reason yields on Irish bonds are so high, because of the never-ending cost of recapitalising the banks.

Our ability to pay with SF will be very slim. The markets will look at our ability to make a profit in the coming year's so we can pay back the loan and when they have a gander at SF economic policies no one will be willing to loan us money as the chances of paying it back unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

lugha wrote: »
    Well at least that is a sensible reason to vote for them. They certainly will be a different type of opposition to FF.
    But for those who will vote SF because they approve of their policies, that will never be implemented because they won't be in power ...... :rolleyes:

Hey hey, I'm not saying they'll NEVER be in government, just not this time out. This time out, I see them making a strong presence in the opposition and holding the incoming crowd to account so that they don't screw things up even more than FF did.. If, indeed, that is possible. Doing this should put them in an even better position for the next election, because you just know we're not out of the woods with a FG/Labour government. Personally, I think the SF policies are a refreshing alternative to the 'rob the poor to feed the rich' attitude of the other parties.

YES SINN FEIN ALL THE WAY!!

so whats the basis for 'yes sinn fein all the way'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

horgan_p wrote: »
    Because they're neither FF nor FG

I think that sums up why Sinn Féin will get very many votes. Only the most naive or disingenuous would contend that Fine Gael will be different to Fianna Fáil in any substantive way when they get into government. They won't; they quite simply will not. They will listen to the same discredited senior civil servants, and act upon their advice. In their heart of hearts Fine Gael know that Fianna Fáil's actions and policies are based on precisely the same information and advice which will be available to Fine Gael when they get into government. In that sense Fine Gael's promises are knowingly dishonest. Like the election campaign of Bertie Ahern's Fianna Fáil in 2007, Fine Gael is promising us everything, particularly lower taxes. It's quite perturbing that some people fail to see the inherent Bertiesque of Fine Gael's election promises in 2011.

Unfortunately, the way the figures most likely will stack up Labour will be avoided by a large number of people because a vote for Labour is in effect a vote for Fianna Fáil's equally conservative socio-economic soulmate, Fine Gael.

Having said all of that, I'm not in the slightest convinced by Sinn Féin's policies, many of which appear to be populist entirely because Sinn Féin has little chance of being the principal governing party. As I said before, I'm deeply disappointed that Gerry Adams has not brushed up on his knowledge of the economy since the 2007 election. It's unforgivable particularly since so many people would sincerely like an intelligent, articulate and thoughtful alternative to the mainstream parties. Gerry Adams clearly has these qualities in abundance. That he instead offers us soundbites rather than a rigorous discussion of the economy demeans him, benefits his political opponents and disheartens those of us who yearn for that alternative voice. I think Labour, also, is being dishonest about the reality and, like Fine Gael, is attempting to buy our votes with all sorts of entirely inappropriate promises given our impecuniousness.

I'm willing to pay more taxes for better services, as I always have been. I want a fiscally reliable government, as much as I want an innovative government. I don't need to be bribed by any party, and I'm repelled by the actions of all parties in this regard. I'd rather not think about what these political bribes tell us about the integrity of the Irish electorate, but the popular emphasis on personalities over policies in this election doesn't bode well for that integrity.

Most of all, I want radical reform of the Irish political system - changing the electoral system to put an end to clientalism and electing national legislators to the Dáil rather than politicians concerned with local issues; abolishing Seanad Éireann, which remains a travesty of democracy and ethics with each passing day; the development of a more outward European and global political elite which has higher aspirations for Ireland than merely keeping Irish legislation up with British legislation. These systems, institutions and practices, among others, demean the idea of a sovereign Ireland that's worth fighting for.

There's an extraordinary lack of pride and patriotism - in the truest, most noble, civic meaning of those values - in Irish political culture today. For me, Fintan O'Toole is one of the few people who has articulated those values and inspired belief again in the potential of Ireland.

Apologies for the pessimism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 disgruntled voter

Yes SF here.
    Sick of the 3 main Parties trying to outdo each other on promises.
    Good oppoition needed in next dail.
    Just my take on it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

That is complete bullsh*t. First of all, there is not enough money in the NPRF to cover the deficit for this year, never mind next or the year after. There certainly will be nothing left for any stimulus. The plan is to spend the NPRF twice (on the deficit and then on the stimulus) which is impossible. Its like someone using all their savings to pay off a car loan and then thinking they can still use their savings to start a new business despite the fact that its all none. Once we spend the NPRF on the deficit, thats it, its gone and can not be spent again. Its not that hard to understand.

Do you honestly think the bond market will believe we have any ability to pay less than 12 months have we defaulted on our last debt. Without the banking debt the government still spends ~€18bn more than it takes in. SFs plan to reverse all cuts and get rid of the USC will only increase that deficit further. So Sinn Fein are going to go to the bond markets looking to borrow around €20bn and they think they are going to get it at a decent interest rate despite the fact that they told the very same people that we are keeping the €18bn they loaned us last year and that they are not going to get a cent of that back. It will not work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Jim236

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    Do you honestly think the bond market will believe we have any ability to pay less than 12 months have we defaulted on our last debt. Without the banking debt the government still spends ~€18bn more than it takes in. SFs plan to reverse all cuts and get rid of the USC will only increase that deficit further. So Sinn Fein are going to go to the bond markets looking to borrow around €20bn and they think they are going to get it at a decent interest rate despite the fact that they told the very same people that we are keeping the €18bn they loaned us last year and that they are not going to get a cent of that back. It will not work.

Well if we separate the sovereign debt from the private debt, we wouldn't be defaulting because the sovereign debt is managable. But if we don't do this, we will default, with or without the bailout.

RAPID FIRE STRAW POLL... How many seats do u think sinn fein will win. Just type the number of seats they'll win. lets see what we think. So i'll start..... 14

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

I was & remain sickened by Martin Ferris turning up to collect convicted garda killers from jail on their release.

Jerry McCabe was a guard, married with children, who was murdered by the IRA in the course of a robbery.

For a TD to turn up & collect the killers of a garda from jail, was a political act. Essentially the statement he was making was - Sinn Fein does not care about the rule of law. Sinn Fein does not care about the Gardai, and Sinn Fein does not care about victims of violent crimes when those crimes are perpetrated in the interests of Sinn Fein fundraising.

I will never,ever, vote for Sinn Fein, because they cannot be trusted with even the basic 'dont kill people' stuff.

-FoxT

FoxT wrote: »
    I was & remain sickened by Martin Ferris turning up to collect convicted garda killers from jail on their release.

Jerry McCabe was a guard, married with children, who was murdered by the IRA in the course of a robbery.

For a TD to turn up & collect the killers of a garda from jail, was a political act. Essentially the statement he was making was - Sinn Fein does not care about the rule of law. Sinn Fein does not care about the Gardai, and Sinn Fein does not care about victims of violent crimes when those crimes are perpetrated in the interests of Sinn Fein fundraising.

I will never,ever, vote for Sinn Fein, because they cannot be trusted with even the basic 'dont kill people' stuff.

-FoxT

Never never as Mr Paisley used to say.

I agree with your point above. But I doubt that is your only reason for never ever voting Sinn Fein.

Actually, no. I think that Sinn fein don't understand economics, but all other things being equal, I would have been prepared to vote for them in the hope they would make junior coalition partner status. I think they were right in the past ( ie late 60's & early 70's) when they fought against apartheid in the North, but they have failed to adjust. Also, in common with protestant extremists in the North, they have failed to move away from the extremist tendencies in their midst. In this way, oddly, they have the same problem as the greens, who will be remembered forever as the stag-hunting & mink-farming party....
    -FoxT

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

How do you mean? How can you talk about Sinn Fein without mentioning terrorism/Gerry McCabe/Northern Bank etc?

Whether some people like it or not, that IS a political issue if these guys are looking for our votes. In 30 years time guys like Adams who were IRA leaders will be gone from the party, and it will be less of an issue for people like me who remember the atrocities they committed. But right now, it's a really big issue.
    30 years time ?

Lets roll the clock back a bit.

When was Gerry elected Joint Vice President of SF ?

1978 <

Is it time for change ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭stone roses

so many people fear sinn fein because they know they are coming of age!! f.f came from the civil war and i.r.a so dont forget that

the state is the enemy!! we speak of terror the i.r.a commited and sinnfein?? well i dont support killing or terror but what about the terror ff have commited, imf, ecb, 450.000 on the dole, 50.000 leaving every year and yes they have killed people buy force of no hope!!!!

10 people a week killing them selfs because they have no future thanks to the lads in the dail, wake up you wasters!!

make no mistake f.f and tere masterplan of disception has failed the people of ireland will have tere say!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Actually, no. I think that Sinn fein don't understand economics, but all other things being equal, I would have been prepared to vote for them in the hope they would make junior coalition partner status.
    You said junior coalition partner. I have to remind you of the PD's and their promise of "high standards in high places" , split away after a failure to reform FF

What of their legacy ??

I think they were right in the past ( ie late 60's & early 70's) when they fought against apartheid in the North, but they have failed to adjust.
    here's a cheap shot but can't resist :p
    but wasn't that when Gerry came on board :pac:

so many people fear sinn fein because they know they are coming of age!! f.f came from the civil war and i.r.a so dont forget that
    In case you hadn't noticed none of the civil war politicians are alive now. Most of them died before you were born.
    the state is the enemy!!
    have you been to Somalia lately ?

we speak of terror the i.r.a commited and sinnfein?? well i dont support killing or terror but what about the terror ff have commited, imf, ecb, 450.000 on the dole, 50.000 leaving every year and yes they have killed people buy force of no hope!!!!
    I'd be interested in seeing a link that shows that 50,000 Irish nationals are leaving every year excluding the economic migrants. Then again apart from the flash in the pan boom I was used to 30,00 leaving a year.
    10 people a week killing them selfs because they have no future thanks to the lads in the dail, wake up you wasters!!

make no mistake f.f and tere masterplan of disception has failed the people of ireland will have tere say!!
    fight the powa , up the ra :rolleyes:

but during economic downturns people make bad decisions, look at the North of England during Maggies time, it's a permanent solution to a temporary problem.

We are all agreed that many of the muppets in the Dáil , bankers ,developers and regulators have through incompetence or selfishness / personal gain have created a mess that will take a generation to sort out. But SF won't be able to influence anything because none of the major parties will form a collation with them.

What can they actually do apart from stall for time during debates in the Dail ??

You said junior coalition partner. I have to remind you of the PD's and their promise of "high standards in high places" , split away after a failure to reform FF

What of their legacy ??

The PDs forced FF to lower taxes - and it made a critical difference to the economy. Then of course, they lost the plot - BUT!! Still was far, far better than a FF-only govt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭KELTICKNIGHTT

people will vote sf and alliance and the likes too shake up the main partys too let them ,but no one expect sf to help thsi country,just look at there so called policys,only make things worse,like a boy in big mans shoes when you look at sf

The PDs forced FF to lower taxes - and it made a critical difference to the economy. Then of course, they lost the plot - BUT!! Still was far, far better than a FF-only govt!

straw poll... How many SF seats in general election. I've said 14