Vote Sack #1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

The-Rigger wrote: »
    low cut v-neck jumper with a shirt buttoned all the way up.
    Is this what the kids are wearing nowadays?

Sure if you're a hipster...

See popular D!ckhead video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Debthree wrote: »
    Points taken but I suppose what I meant is this guy hasn't lived. I don't really care what politicians study at third level (or if they even do third level) provided they build up some real life experience before running for election. It's remarkably arrogant for a student to believe he has what it takes to lead people, when he's barely lived yet...

Nonsense. What you mean he hasn't yet got the cynicism to screw everyone else for his own benefit. We need more young people getting stuck in, not less. At what age has one "lived"? Age is a ridiculous reason to put anyone down tbh. A bit of arrogance and self-belief goes a long way. Martin Luther King Jr. wasn't much older than this guy when he was leading civil disobedience campaigns in the States, at 24 Napoleon was a Brigadier-General.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

prinz wrote: »
    Nonsense. What you mean he hasn't yet got the cynicism to screw everyone else for his own benefit. We need more young people getting stuck in, not less. At what age has one "lived"? Age is a ridiculous reason to put anyone down tbh. A bit of arrogance and self-belief goes a long way. Martin Luther King Jr. wasn't much older than this guy when he was leading civil disobedience campaigns in the States, at 24 Napoleon was a Brigadier-General.

We need young people who aren't completely up their own arses and actually have a set of balls, with realistic and achievable ideas as well. If the chap said that he was; going to set the minimum wage back to pre-budget and restore the cuts in social welfare, while cutting ministerial pensions by half and capping TDs pay with a renegotiation with Shell over Corrib and the interest rate on the IMF loan, then I'd be interested and so would a lot of other people. However, "reinvigorating Dublin" nonsense is what it is, nonsense from a pretentious bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Debthree wrote: »
    Points taken but I suppose what I meant is this guy hasn't lived. I don't really care what politicians study at third level (or if they even do third level) provided they build up some real life experience before running for election. It's remarkably arrogant for a student to believe he has what it takes to lead people, when he's barely lived yet. Regarding Boris Johnson, I believe he had many years' experience as a journalist and then a councillor before being elected.

There's been a fair amount of TDs in the Dail over the years who have been elected as young or younger than Haskins.
    Haskins works for RTE as well as studying in Trinity it seems. I refuse to believe he doesn't have serious connections. Knowing RTE and their nepotism, it's unlikely they hired a then 21 year old and gave him nice job as interviewer on two shows without him having some pull.

Plenty of young people who present stuff for RTE got the job without having a relation in RTE.

El Siglo wrote: »
    We need young people who aren't completely up their own arses and actually have a set of balls, with realistic and achievable ideas as well. If the chap said that he was; going to set the minimum wage back to pre-budget and restore the cuts in social welfare, while cutting ministerial pensions by half and capping TDs pay with a renegotiation with Shell over Corrib and the interest rate on the IMF loan, then I'd be interested and so would a lot of other people.

You do realise that an independent TD can't force anything like that to happen at all? He could raise them in the Dail but the government would decide. Him promising he'd do something like change the minimum wage would be a lie basically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

I think it's obvious from the self serving, smugness on that website that he is a reformed rich crustie. All the bands are horribly ****e bands and his scene kids are as bent as a roundabout. Madness that anyone of them would want to be a politician considering they were all anarchists a few years ago.

shampon wrote: »
    Madness that anyone of them would want to be a politician considering they were all anarchists a few years ago.

They who? Young people? This guy's friends?

Have you any idea what you're talking about? That lad has never been an anarchist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

We need young people who aren't completely up their own arses and actually have a set of balls, with realistic and achievable ideas as well..

He has. Transparency, accountability, political reform etc. All realistic all achievable starting with one person. Be the change etc...
    If the chap said that he was; going to set the minimum wage back to pre-budget and restore the cuts in social welfare, while cutting ministerial pensions by half and capping TDs pay with a renegotiation with Shell over Corrib and the interest rate on the IMF loan, then I'd be interested and so would a lot of other people...

Wtf use would that be from an independent? Are you voting him in as dictator? What you are saying is that he should just jump on bandwagon causes that he hasn't really a hope of implementing for the votes and lols. I have more respect for him for concentrating on what he seems to know best. We already have an army of people running on the platforms you mentioned above.
    However, "reinvigorating Dublin" nonsense is what it is, nonsense from a pretentious bollocks.

However unlike most of the politicians promising x,y and z he seems to have actually some experience in the area of NFP cultural organisations etc.

What I was responding to was in fact a poster not considering the chap on his stated goals but solely because of his age and perceived lack of "life experience". Maybe his ideas are rubbish, maybe they aren't but it shows a distinct lack of cop on to write someone off based on age alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

We need young people who aren't completely up their own arses and actually have a set of balls, with realistic and achievable ideas as well. If the chap said that he would propose and only vote for; going to set the minimum wage back to pre-budget and restore the cuts in social welfare, while cutting ministerial pensions by half and capping TDs pay with a renegotiation with Shell over Corrib and the interest rate on the IMF loan, then I'd be interested and so would a lot of other people. However, "reinvigorating Dublin" nonsense is what it is, nonsense from a pretentious bollocks.

fyp - thats all any politician can promise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

shampon wrote: »
    I think it's obvious from the self serving, smugness on that website that he is a reformed rich crustie. All the bands are horribly ****e bands and his scene kids are as bent as a roundabout. Madness that anyone of them would want to be a politician considering they were all anarchists a few years ago.

Funny you should say that. When I read about him and his DIY, roll-up your sleeves rhetoric, I got the sense that he was an anarchist but didn't realise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

yes he is an anarchist to be honest, he has proclaimed support for the student protests in 1960's which often anarchists reference but its just for the popularity/romaticism Id say. I am slightly peaved that hes being picked off as it comes accross as just because hes young which I realise it isnt, but its easier I guess. I hope he does alright but hes too hip to be cool if your anyway a realist, 16 year olds cant vote or hed reach the quota no bother.

Im not sure as for what connections hes got, but thats what hes good at. Making them, hes a fantastic networker in fairness to the lad. Well from what I hear..

Sounds like he is but I'm just surprised he's gone for this route. He seems like the type who tries to get people to take responsibility yet expects them to give it over to him. Strange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Sure if you're a hipster...

See popular D!ckhead video?

First thing I thought of when I saw his site was that!It could be his election song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

woop wrote: »
    he has proclaimed support for the student protests in 1960's

You sound like his biographer....

If I'm honest; the entire campaign whacks of smugness, from the tedious bio on his campaign website to his wikipedia page (which I understand has been called into question on the grounds of notoriety and neutrality)

The entire campaign is unsettling, his campaign team is comprised - in part - of a journalist from a mainstream Irish newspaper, the ex director of Libertas and a well known economist.

Based on the fact that his political opinions seem vague and populist, it's my opinion that he's effectively a figure head for two members of the mainstream establishment and an ex member of a right wing political party who are engaged in some political experiment - possibly for kicks, who knows? - to see if the Twitter generation will vote somebody in based on social status and a trendy haircut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

He could turn out over 9,000 times worse than Gary Redmond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

lol at the wiki page, under education and children! :p

Sounds like he is but I'm just surprised he's gone for this route. He seems like the type who tries to get people to take responsibility yet expects them to give it over to him. Strange.

I don't understand what you mean by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

a fiver says you'll have thousands of pretentious ****s bleating about how 'awesome' Dylan Haskin is and he get 125 first preference votes.

his groundswell are just liggers and shills who think this political activism is the new hip thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

I wouldn't worry too much about him being 23 - there's a candidate that's 22 in my constuiecny and tbh I'd rather the country being ran by a whole lot of 20-25 year olds that the old reliables who've left the country the in the way it is...

But just by looking at him you cringe... and if he was too get elected all he'd do was work for dublin - what's the odds that he's never been outside south dublin except to go to the city center - he has a whole set of policies in his campagin to "reinvigorating the city" - all he's out for is Dublin and that isn't acceptable for any potential TD.

yes I know you look out for your constituency but he seems completely blind to the other 25 counties in the republic.. he has no plans for anything bar dublin..

in essence he's a 23 year old Healy-Rae except he's out for South Dublin instead of Kerry and instead of being called a gombeen culchie he's going to be looked at as a refreshing burst in Irish politics or something similar..

I haven't a clue what sort of voters live in this lads constituency or what way they vote - but I hope they can see this lad isn't going to help the country in any way at all bar maybe get some roads fixed in Dublin or whatever the equivalent thing is in Dublin - new bus routes?? whatever little jobs that should be addressed at a local level will be brought to Leinster House by this lad...

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I don't understand what you mean by that.

Did you read my post just before that? I'm not going to repeat myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They who? Young people? This guy's friends?

Have you any idea what you're talking about? That lad has never been an anarchist.

Oh he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

smokedeels wrote: »
    Based on the fact that his political opinions seem vague and populist, it's my opinion that he's effectively a figure head for two members of the mainstream establishment and an ex member of a right wing political party who are engaged in some political experiment - possibly for kicks, who knows? - to see if the Twitter generation will vote somebody in based on social status and a trendy haircut.
    Please don't tell me you consider THAT (http://yfrog.com/h7b40alj) trendy :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭obliviousgrudge

Seems he's not the angel he makes himself out to be.

http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/2575/dylanhaskins1.png

Aoifey! wrote: »
    Please don't tell me you consider THAT (http://yfrog.com/h7b40alj) trendy :p

he's probably wearing it in an "ironic" style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

We need young people who aren't completely up their own arses and actually have a set of balls, with realistic and achievable ideas as well. If the chap said that he was; going to set the minimum wage back to pre-budget and restore the cuts in social welfare, while cutting ministerial pensions by half and capping TDs pay with a renegotiation with Shell over Corrib and the interest rate on the IMF loan, then I'd be interested and so would a lot of other people. However, "reinvigorating Dublin" nonsense is what it is, nonsense from a pretentious bollocks.
    he would be lying if he said any of that, he doesnt belong to a political party, he would have very little influence if any at all.

theres alot of cynical responses in this thread, give the guy a chance, he's not nearly as bad as what we have already in this current government.

Also, 'Classic Civilizations' is actually quite a relevant subject to study if you want to help society

Did you read my post just before that? I'm not going to repeat myself.

I've read all your responses. I still don't know what you mean by this:
    He seems like the type who tries to get people to take responsibility yet expects them to give it over to him. Strange.

I'm not jumping down your throat, I'm just wondering what you mean by it.

wild_cat wrote: »
    Oh he was.

Why was he? What did he do that made him an anarchist?

Someone who writes to politicians at 15 to get them to sort out youth facilities in his area does not strike me as an anarchist.

in this thread, give the guy a chance, he's not nearly as bad as what we have already in this current government.

This sort of thing is one of my issues with his campaign, "vote for this lad, because he's not as bad as the current lot", I'd much rather vote for somebody based on their own merits and policies not the failings of others.

This is a minor celebrity looking for a protest vote, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Brenireland

oh for f u c k sake i taught enda was bad,boy was i wrong