Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Fat Gypsy Wedding

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

coylemj wrote: »
    Did you notice how many of the men have their faces blurred when they show the people at the churches?
    Doesn't mean that they have any criminal background. Probably just don't want their face on tv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭gerarda

Utter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭smilerxxx

I did notice that ya, and it was mostly the men. Dodge central..
    I still reckon the dressmaker is swindling them BIG TIME..

I watched it with my Dad last week, he actually nearly choked laughing when the girl said " I want a man that doesn't BATE YOU"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

My other half is a dress maker and said the material and sawarski crystals on the one last week prob cost about 3-5 grand! Also the rest of the wedding party get the full treatment as well - Some idea of prices here.... http://tackyweddings.com/2008/10/

Bet the tax man is taking a good look at Nico's dressmakers books lol...If I was making that cash, I wouldnt mind the danger money for turning up on the day with fire extinguishers.:)

What I mean is she may very well be inflating her prices big time, knowing one girl wants to "pay more" than the last.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭smares

The dress maker never has a bad word to say about the travellers or disagrees with anything they say or want or believe in,but then again why would she, she must be racking it in.

I couldn't even imagine what she's making. I wonder do we have an irish equivelant or do they travel over to her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

Theres a guy in Cork that used to do it, prob still does. I have to convince herself to get down to the nearest halting site and pass her business card around.... she's not that keen though for now.....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 304 ✭✭smares

smilerxxx wrote: »
    I couldn't even imagine what she's making. I wonder do we have an irish equivelant or do they travel over to her?

hmmm if only i could make tacky dresses:rolleyes:

I'm handy with a glue gun!! We could set up a line:P:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Superwhy

What's shocking about it. They built there illegally. If they didn't want the stuff knocked down they should get proper planning permission.

They usually can't get proper planning permission because the council won't give it to them. As someone said here " I wouldn't want them living next to me..." And thats exactly why they can't get proper planning permission. And as for them buying a house, a lot of people wouldn't sell their house to a Traveller again because people don't want to live next door to them.

You should watch Meadowlands Traveller eviction on Youtube - its shocking! They owned the land but the council rezoned it a greenbelt area and evicted them all. The way they treated the Travellers when evicting them was disgusting.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Superwhy wrote: »
    They usually can't get proper planning permission because the council won't give it to them. As someone said here " I wouldn't want them living next to me..." And thats exactly why they can't get proper planning permission.

I have no doubt that this happens at times but the solution isn't to just build the houses anyways. If you build a property illegally regardless of the reasons why, what do you expect to happen.
    And as for them buying a house, a lot of people wouldn't sell their house to a Traveller again because people don't want to live next door to them.

If you're selling the house then you wouldn't be living beside them in most cases so I can't see why that would stop them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Superwhy

If you're selling the house then you wouldn't be living beside them in most cases so I can't see why that would stop them.[/QUOTE]

Because people protest it and get petitions to stop it.

I'm fairly sure that isn't possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,126 ✭✭✭✭calex71

smares wrote: »
    hmmm if only i could make tacky dresses:rolleyes:

/buys shares in duracel :D

did you see how many AA's went into that lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭wayfarers

Am surprised with how contradictory the travelling community is, on the one hand they go on about preserving their traveller traditions etc but then you see scenes of the girls shaking their booty r'n'b styleee like they're auditioning for a role in a Shaft flick. Also they're using all the old street slang used by black youths. Might be time for them to turn off the 42" plasma telly, it seems MTV Base is having a bad effect on the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

wayfarers wrote: »
    Am surprised with how contradictory the travelling community is, on the one hand they go on about preserving their traveller traditions etc but then you see scenes of the girls shaking their booty r'n'b styleee like they're auditioning for a role in a Shaft flick. Also they're using all the old street slang used by black youths. Might be time for them to turn off the 42" plasma telly, it seems MTV Base is having a bad effect on the kids.

Don't you know it is an age-old traveller tradition to arrive at ones wedding in a monster truck? Racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 758 ✭✭✭bubbaloo

Where were all the men when they were being evicted? It was (by the looks of it) left to all of the women to defend the site.
    To be fair to the guys who were buldozing the site, they are probably only doing their job under instruction from the council or the "powers that be".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Spray tanning young girls and all make up etc, its sick to be doing that to a 6 year old kid or any kid at all for that matter! They have lost any respect from me I had with them which was very little to begin with anyway:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Yeah but she was funny when she was saying 'I think 6 is old enough...I'm 6...2 or 1 is too small.':D

I don't understand when they're banging on about traveller traditions when the screen is showing them dancing/dressing like..eh sluts. How is that a traveller tradition? Also yes the high emphasis on morality while wearing those clothes..is so weird. I feel sorry for traveller women, they seem to have no choice at all in anythign except the size of their dress. I really want to know how much those dresses cost! That pink one that lit up and weighed about 20 stone...that had to have cost about £10k. The demolition of the sites is awful, really they need to strike a balance where the sites are legally built and not near enough to eh non-traveller housing that massive amounts of complaints are going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Your looking at around €20000+ ballpark figure for some of them dresses. I love the way they can do it and they just pave driveways:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

What's shocking about it. They built there illegally. If they didn't want the stuff knocked down they should get proper planning permission.

The programme did state that planning permission was applied for on different sites with the majority of them being turned down - probably due to the fact that the surrounding communities had their own prejudices without knowing the group involved. This group appeared to have fitted in well into the community over the 6/7 years they had been living there...with members of the community coming out to try and stop the demolition of the site.

I think if travellers are prepared to buy their own site and properties and keep these in the immaculate condition they appeared, this should be actively encouraged instead of knocked. It is time that they were allowed to take responsibility for themselves and this would encourage them to take care of themselves and the environment around them. In Ireland, the opposite is encouraged. Facilities such as pre-schools etc are usually built on the halting sites themselves which does not encourage the children to integrate into the communities. If travellers choose to live in family groupings that should be fine so long as local authorities can accommodate this or encourage them to create their own environment (i.e. buy land/planning permission) etc. However, other areas such as education and social should not be provided separate from the general population. Programmes put in place by well meaning groups only tend to segregate the travellers further within their communities creating an "us" versus "them" society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭KeanSeenan

bmarley wrote: »
    Programmes put in place by well meaning groups only tend to segregate the travellers further within their communities creating an "us" versus "them" society.

I don't think the seperation is entirely down to that though, the travelling society, as far as I saw from the show, is quite insular. They look down on people not from their society(it's common in all societies, but it seems to be more of a natural incilnation with them), they are quite secretive about customs(found it hilarious that the dress maker made this point by saying 'They have their own language!') and some don't want their 'race' diluted by people outside of it. Perhaps some of these opinions have come about through decades of attrition between 'them' and 'us', But I think that integration is down to them just as much as it is down to us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bmarley

KeanSeenan wrote: »
    I don't think the seperation is entirely down to that though, the travelling society, as far as I saw from the show, is quite insular. They look down on people not from their society(it's common in all societies, but it seems to be more of a natural incilnation with them), they are quite secretive about customs(found it hilarious that the dress maker made this point by saying 'They have their own language!') and some don't want their 'race' diluted by people outside of it. Perhaps some of these opinions have come about through decades of attrition between 'them' and 'us', But I think that integration is down to them just as much as it is down to us.

Yes, totally agree with you there - it works both ways. But the well meaning government partnership initiatives think they do well by keeping traveller's education and socialisation within their own boundaries, therefore creating walls. This does not work. With finances being so tight for all sectors of society in these times, we cannot continue to pay for individualised programmes for travellers in the areas of childcare, healthcare, community development workers and tutors for youth who decide to leave school early so that they can get entitlements that other sectors of our society would not be entitled to. Allow them to be independent if that is what they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I haven't been watching this, so can someone tell me is it irish or english gypsys/travellers on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,077 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

http://uk.tv.yahoo.com/news-extra/article/109547/big-fat-gypsy-ratings-smashbut-critics-up-in-arms.html
    Channel 4’s fly-on-the-wall documentary series ‘Big Fat Gypsy Weddings’ was a ratings smash for the channel last night, with 7 million tuning in.

Early overnight ratings said the controversial show drew 6million viewers in the vital 9pm timeslot – with a whopping 1million tuning in an hour later on Channel 4+1.

However, many critics and viewers felt that the show had some inappropriate scenes, particularly involving children getting ready for their first communion.

The views of Shelagh Fogarty, BBC presenter on the Nicky Campbell Radio Five show, were typical:

“I was astonished to see six-year-old girls in boob tubes, miniskirts, high heels and more make-up than you could shake a stick at, receiving communion for the first time in their lives. It seemed so bizarre.”

Siobhan Freegard, of parenting website Netmums said: “In this case it is not about making the children sexy.

“They are just dressed up like dolls. But the outcome in some cases can be sexualisation.”

Rachel Varley, writing in Metro, said: “This week, we had little girls with the carefully honed hip movements of thirty-year-old prostitutes.”

The debate continues as to whether the series is a point-and-giggle exploitation, or a revealing, sympathetic look at a fascinating subculture.

Either way, people are watching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

fryup wrote: »
    I haven't been watching this, so can someone tell me is it irish or english gypsys/travellers on this?

I believe they are a mix of both English and Irish travelers.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/celebs/news/2011/01/25/shayne-ward-my-big-fat-gypsy-weddings-115875-22873841/

X Factor champ Shayne Ward was born to Irish traveller parents and says the matrimonial extravaganzas are just like on the fab C4 show.
    “I’ve been to loads over the years and they are all insane,” says Shayne, 26. “They’re really good fun but crazy!”

Funny though, the courtship thing apparently given on the news papers and by the young girl Cheyenne is contradicting what any of the girls i know from Traveler families says happens.:confused:
    So is that more a tribal family thing and each changes with each family?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭patmac

bubbaloo wrote: »
    Where were all the men when they were being evicted? It was (by the looks of it) left to all of the women to defend the site.

I'd say it was more to do with not being shown on TV, there was a few pixilated faces at the wedding, either that or it was the side effects of inbreeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

why the **** are travelers so tacky ? there mad bastards all the same they all look fecking greek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭barnaclebill

ricero wrote: »
    why the **** are travelers so tacky ? there mad bastards all the same they all look fecking greek

Hey I'm half Greek and I don't look like a traveller! Keep your race comparisons to yourself!