The Jesus how crap is Letterkenny Cinema thread

• 23-01-2011 10:47PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭

So looking forward to Black Swan for ages all set to go after work on Friday, grab letterkenny post to check times and no Black Swan. Check website no mention of it. Check coming soon section and no mention of it.

This is happening more and more recently in there. They decide to show some ****e Vince Vaughan movie for 4 months instead of showing actually good movies. I mean how long does crap like the Dilemma or Little Fockers have to be in the cinema? even Harry Potter is still on after all these weeks. Suprised Sex and the City isn't still on tbh.

There was a few other movies recently that i was looking forward to and they either were gone after a week or not there at all. anyone else noticed this?

And their 3d is poo too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

danniemcq wrote: »
    So looking forward to Black Swan for ages all set to go after work on Friday, grab letterkenny post to check times and no Black Swan. Check website no mention of it. Check coming soon section and no mention of it.
    !

me too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭mk2

Cinema?lucky you,you must have won the lotto,how much is it now like 30 or 40 euro a go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

ticket is 8.50 for 3d its 10.50
    Popcorn and a drink is 4.90
    Bag of sweets is 2.50

so if you are treating your better half to a trip you are likely to spend at least 30 quid. so you can either go to the cinema or have a meal in brewery and DVD after for the same price really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭kiddums

Didn't they have the polar express on over xmas? The same one that was out like 5 years ago and is on tv now?

They really do suck with chosing films.
    And if you listen to yer man on the radio every week, he just reads out the description of the movie, he hasn't a clue whats going on.
    But why would he care, people keep showing up by the bus load so I'm sure all he can see is money walking in the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Ninjedi

Crap film selection aside...

How bad is their 3d?! I've seen terrible terrible films in 3d in other cinemas (Beowulf anyone?) and they looked great, the pinnacle of 3d in LK cinema looks like the projectionist has a hangover and can't get the focus right. Nearly everyone I know has been put off 3d because of this.

Best part - they charge you €2+ for 3d glasses that (a) don't work properly (b) are heinously uncomfortable compared to any others I've ever worn and (c) the icing on the cake really, you don't get to keep them OR get your "deposit" back.

After seeing Tron last week and being mightily disappointed (by the effects, the film was actually not bad, certainly better than the reviews) I have now decided that for any big release in 3d I'm going to go to Derry or Belfast or Dublin or somewhere where some of the money you spend goes to making the experience more enjoyable for the viewers.

tl;dr don't see 3d in LK cinema it costs too much and is ALWAYS disappointing

Ninjedi wrote: »
    Crap film selection aside...

How bad is their 3d?! I've seen terrible terrible films in 3d in other cinemas (Beowulf anyone?) and they looked great, the pinnacle of 3d in LK cinema looks like the projectionist has a hangover and can't get the focus right. Nearly everyone I know has been put off 3d because of this.

Best part - they charge you €2+ for 3d glasses that (a) don't work properly (b) are heinously uncomfortable compared to any others I've ever worn and (c) the icing on the cake really, you don't get to keep them OR get your "deposit" back.

After seeing Tron last week and being mightily disappointed (by the effects, the film was actually not bad, certainly better than the reviews) I have now decided that for any big release in 3d I'm going to go to Derry or Belfast or Dublin or somewhere where some of the money you spend goes to making the experience more enjoyable for the viewers.

tl;dr don't see 3d in LK cinema it costs too much and is ALWAYS disappointing
    I haven't seen 3D in LK because of the charge. And because I've seen soooo many out of focus movies there, or poor sound, or with the sound from the other screens coming through, or with crap temperature control, or......I could keep going but I'll stop there as I'm sure you get the point by now.

Derry have fairly comfortable glasses, even over other glasses. But again you don't get to keep them or get your deposit back.

Lifford glasses are good, not great tho. However you can keep them if you want or give them back and get half your deposit back. (That might be worng, but you do get something back).

How much is it in Derry or Lifford?

Looking very much like Belfast for the big releases, feck it it's only an hour and a half up the road and good for a bit of a wander around as well as catching whatever film.

At the same time, terrible you'd have to do that in this day and age just to see a film in the manner it should be shown. Not at all surprising given that it's Ireland, but terrible all the same :mad::(

How much is it in Derry or Lifford?

Looking very much like Belfast for the big releases, feck it it's only an hour and a half up the road and good for a bit of a wander around as well as catching whatever film.

At the same time, terrible you'd have to do that in this day and age just to see a film in the manner it should be shown. Not at all surprising given that it's Ireland, but terrible all the same :mad::(
    Liffords PricesAll Tickets Before 5pm - €5.50 / £4.50
    Adult After 5pm - €7.50 / £6.00
    Child After 5pm - €6.00 / £5.00
    OAP - €5.50 / £4.50

Crazy Tuesdays - €4.00 / £3.30
    Kids Club - €2.50 / £2.00
    Wednesday Over 50's Night - €5.00 / £4.20
    Family Pass - €22.00 / £18.00
    Student - €6.50 / £5.30
    3D Surcharge - €1.50 /£1.30
    Bring Back Your Glasses and Pay Only €1.00 / 80p Extra
    Derrys Prices
    Ok so I can't find the prices online, but thats their site, give them a call and I'm sure they'll help.

It is a disgrace that we have to travel past a local cinema to get a decent quality of service, and what we actually pay for.
    But it is a business in Lettekenny. They don't seem to care about the complaints as long as someone says good things to boost their ego's.
    I've seen managers look at the stuff in suggestion boxes, laugh and bin them.:eek:

Ahh Monday morning, where I'm too slow to realise I can look online myself and check prices! :p

Cheers dude, yeah it's a shame but you get to expect that, why should the quality of service in a cinema be any different from most of the rest of the town? There's nothing actually wrong with the place, it's just the attitude "Ahh sure feck them they've nowhere else to go let's jack up the prices and do it half-assed the eejits will pay for it through the nose anyway".

Pity someone that runs the place wouldn't read this and have a sudden attack of pride in their work or...or...I don't know, personal epiphany leading to giving half a **** about keeping customers happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

danniemcq wrote: »
    So looking forward to Black Swan for ages all set to go after work on Friday,

Watched a little of that on my ipod (dont dare ask how I got it)

Not MY cup of tea .

I can only imagine that they have big bills to pay its quite a large / new enough building. Either that or they are doing enough to be happy with that they are providing.

Ahh Monday morning, where I'm too slow to realise I can look online myself and check prices! :p

Cheers dude, yeah it's a shame but you get to expect that, why should the quality of service in a cinema be any different from most of the rest of the town? There's nothing actually wrong with the place, it's just the attitude "Ahh sure feck them they've nowhere else to go let's jack up the prices and do it half-assed the eejits will pay for it through the nose anyway".

Pity someone that runs the place wouldn't read this and have a sudden attack of pride in their work or...or...I don't know, personal epiphany leading to giving half a **** about keeping customers happy.
    I have days like that too, tho its usually only days that end with a Y.:p

Yea that seems to be the attitude alright. And people keep complaining but do nothing about it. I for one have chosen to complain with my feet, and I'll do anything to avoid going there now.
    I'd travel to cork before going back there. But theres still 1 or 2 busses there every friday at least.
    The place really needs some proper competition in the area.

I don't think that will happen, the staff in there changes quite a bit and they all seem to be students. So I'm guessing overworked, underpaid.

The management are probally thinking customers must be happy because they keep comming back.

Not MY cup of tea .

I can only imagine that they have big bills to pay its quite a large / new enough building. Either that or they are doing enough to be happy with that they are providing.
    But did you watch it as far as that scene?;)

Different strokes for different folks.

Thats why I think people should vote with their feet and wallets and go elsewhere.

Not MY cup of tea .

Yeah I know its not really gonna be everyones cuppa tea but The Dilemma isn't mine, or Morning Glory, Gullivers Travels etc. If they actually had quality movies in there and no Black Swan it wouldn't be so bad.
    And yeah I know that profit is the most important thing in there as in any other business but at on average say €15 a person and the average audience size is 200 people (yes there are more seats than that but just using it as a rough example). That’s nearly 4 grand a screen per showing for new releases. And they show it 3 or 4 times a day and do that for a week and a half before the audience starts falling steeply I think they might be able to stretch to having a decent 3d setup or show a movie that may not be classed as mainstream!
    And back to original rant about Black Swan. All the awards its won, nominated for and all the talk about is bound to bring out the crowds.
    Is it any wonder some people (cough cough) are downloading new releases...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Also they know that people are using the cinema as an alternative to the pub. Its a cheaper night without the hangover and no taxi home.

kiddums wrote: »

HA! :D

HA! :D
    That was just a coincidince, I swear. A good one tho.:D

As danniemcq said, it's one lost of awards and got glowing reviews. I'm not usually interested in films critics like, but I kinda want to see this one too.

Guess I'll have to "shop" around.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Never going to pay for 3D there again thats for sure, first movie I saw was Avatar which to be fair was ok but the novelty of the 3d probably clouded my judgement to an extent.

Every 3D movie I've seen since then has been totally awful, the glasses are uncomfortable, blurry and scratched and the quality of the 3D on the screen is just as bad.

Prices are also ridiculous even for non 3d movies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭iMuse

Can only agree with what everyone else is saying. Its a pity nothing will change because it has the monopoly position in the area. The 3D is rubbish for the extra charge. Its extremely costly when you see parents bringing 3-4 children to a 3D movie all with popcorn, drinks etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭chris_ie

Ha interesting thread :p

One big complaint I have about Letterkenny Cinema is the screen positioning/aspect/focus. After going to see about 10 movies (not in a row :D) I'd say at least 5 of them I had to get up and go out and tell them to fix the screen position/aspect/foucs. Was raging!

One night we went to see Hot Tub Time Machine and we were stuck way on the inside, one of the screens with the aisle down one side only. Myself and my girlfriend were chattin about the positioning because of the last few movies we had seen, sure enough the movie comes on and about a quarter of the screen is missing at the top. I thought someone on the outside near the aisle is bound to go out and say something, I can be fussy at times about movies but this was bad. 15mins later and no one had gone out and the place was full. A scene came on where one of the characters was talking at the top of stairs and you couldnt see his face, just from his mouth down, again no one moved! So, I had to get up, trip past a load of people and go out and tell them to sort it. Came back in and after a few mins it was fixed.

I really cant understand how other people don't notice/care and how the projectionist cant line it up correctly and ensure its in focus to begin with!

(rant over :D)

Oh and another thing, those two screen downstairs, how can they charge full price for that?! Went in once or twice but if we go and see a movie now and find its on in one of those screens we'll get it change for something else or just go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Torrents have ruined the cinema for me:D, haven't been since 2008 when the spoiler of my car was stolen while it was parked out the front.
    Got a voucher for the cinema, but might wait to use it for Battle: Los Angeles.

Senna wrote: »
    Torrents have ruined the cinema for me:D, haven't been since 2008 when the spoiler of my car was stolen while it was parked out the front.

you should have hidden your spoiler :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

We were there one day a week or two ago. There was a group of about 10 of us. The movie, it turned out, didn't start for another hour so I and another friend stayed to buy tickets and the rest went over to the shops. So the two of us remining sat in the little waiting area thing they have. We were talking, naturally enough, when a member of staff came over and gave out and told us to be quiet as there were movies playing :eek:

What, I ask, is the point in that area if speaking at normal level disrupts the movies...

kiddums wrote: »

Thats why I think people should vote with their feet and wallets and go elsewhere.

just watched it and boy am i glad i seen that scene (and one or 2 others :p) in the comfort of my own home :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

Hate that cinema! I lived in dublin for 4 years and found that the prices were the same but

a) bigger screens in dublin, perfect quality
    b) more popcorn for your buck.. they serve stupid sizes consider the amount you pay!

Well i dunno if anyone in letterkenny cinema was reading this but black swan is now going to be shown.

still a **** cinema though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭tatabubbly

Already seen it on download, letterkenny cinema, you just lost yourself €40!!!!

tatabubbly wrote: »
    Already seen it on download, letterkenny cinema, you just lost yourself €40!!!!

and 40 from me too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Shivers1

Why is it always freezing too? & when it rains I can hear it bouncing off the roof - insulation??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Glenman

<SNIP>

Mod edit: You can PM the question to the OP but please dont drag this off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭IsItJustMeOr...

Went to see my first 3D movie in Letterkenny cinema tonight and have to say the quality was pretty good from start to finish.

Only gripes i'd have is that the they decided to put the lights on before the end of the movie... Take it as a gentle nudge to get ready to leave :)
    Wonder how often those 3D glasses are cleaned though?

(TT 3D in this week and went to see it this evening - absolutely fantastic documentary from start to finish! It was great to be able to see it on the big screen).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

The last movie I saw there about a month ago had no sound :rolleyes:

No sound for the advertisements so once the movie started my mate went out to tell them. 5 minutes later they finally added the sound but then another 5 minutes later they started the movie all over again! Wouldn't have minded if they did that right away but to wait so long then force us to sit through the same 10 minutes we'd just seen was very annoying

They also left the lights on for the first 20 minutes, to be fair I never actually copped on until they turned them off them but another amateur error that shouldnt happen