Homeless people with phones and ipods?

• 22-01-2011 01:24AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭

Something funny happened tonight :D I was with my girlfriend and we were in the blanchardstown shopping centre. There is this old woman who sits outside sometimes asking for spare change (always carries a dog) ... its funny when we first passed her she was on a mobile phone chatting away lol ... next time we passed her "spare change please" :pac:

or the best one i've ever seen. Went into Spar in westmoreland street a year ago. 2am one thursday night. Outside was this guy in a sleeping bag. Cold as fu*k that night! he asks me for a smoke. Said sorry dont have any. I stand outside as I am sending a text when i start feeling bad for him ... so I say "its bleeding freezing mate" - he looks at me, takes out his ipod earphones, pauses it and says "yeah i know" :pac::pac::pac:

care to share any funny stories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

robbed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

whatsamsn wrote: »
    Something funny happened tonight :D I was with my girlfriend ?

Ooh look at me, I've got a girlfriend and a place to live. Woopty do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

squod wrote: »
    Ooh look at me, I've got a girlfriend and a place to live. Woopty do

Dont worry. You'll get a girlfriend one day too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

Pedestrian bridge by the College of Commerce in Cork. Rushing into town one evening, girl (~20) begging on the bridge. 30 minutes later when I'm going home, she's talking on her mobile, hangs up, puts on her ipod headphones and walks off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

or the best one i've ever seen. Went into Spar in westmoreland street a year ago. 2am one thursday night. Outside was this guy in a sleeping bag. Cold as fu*k that night! he asks me for a smoke. Said sorry dont have any. I stand outside as I am sending a text when i start feeling bad for him ... so I say "its bleeding freezing mate" - he looks at me, takes out his ipod earphones, pauses it and says "yeah i know" :pac::pac::pac:

Why is that funny?

Is the joke that he had to spend the night out in the cold? Or that he dared to have some headphones with him as he sat out on the street?

I definitely need this one explained to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

As it happens, my tank of supercilious stories about the homeless on bitterly cold nights is a bit low at the minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

sorry I missed the rule where homeless people werent alowed phones or music

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

The iPod is a tad suspicious though to be fair - where would he charge the thing?

Wish I could splash out on one...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Dont worry. You'll get a girlfriend one day too.
    Was going to say but maybe Squod is gay, but then I saw the location :pac::pac::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Maybe it pre-dated their homelessness.

Imagine - they may even still have a 3g. Can you imagine the shame.

orourkeda wrote: »
    robbed

+

Because the people in question arent homeless.
    Once knew of a guy who would go into city centre and beg for money. He wasnt homeless. Would get a mcdonalds cup (etc) and sit down looking for "spare change"

Seen guys who have full time employment / house etc go into a soup kitchen and get a free breakfast.

If they can afford phones and iPods they can afford to ...oh sh1t, no, I see your point.

I wonder what a homeless person would listen to.
    Rap I imagine about making a sh1t load of money and getting fooked (every meaning) probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭scheister

i see where the op is coming from about the guy being homeless but still having an ipod. It looks a bit off all right. Maybe the idea is that its the last bit of his old life that he has left and he did does not sell it has he wants to keep that memory of what he used to have.

scheister wrote: »
    i see where the op is coming from about the guy being homeless but still having an ipod. It looks a bit off all right. Maybe the idea is that its the last bit of his old life that he has left and he did does not sell it has he wants to keep that memory of what he used to have.

I know what you're saying. But how can it still have power?
    I mean the guy in question was well prepped with a sleeping bag, woolie hat, thick clothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

I'm homeless at the moment.

It's a freezing cold night, don't know where I'll sleep. I'm starvin'!

But can can you give me money 'cos my Green Party version of broadband is about to go if I don't pay for i

Because the people in question arent homeless..

So he has a home to go to but sits out on the street at 2am begging?

Surely he could make enough from begging during the day to satisfy him and he could go back to his house and not have to sit out in the cold at night when there are less people around and his takings would be severely down?

No?

Perhaps maybe you've been a bit presumptuous and the guy is actually homeless and just has a music device for one reason or another.

Are homeless people not allowed to have any possessions? If you don't have a home you immediately have to throw away anything you might possibly have that is worth anything at all otherwise you'll turn into a 'funny' story on boards.ie? Is that it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

personally I have a rule regarding begging - I refuse to chuck my hard earned at beggars who have a better phone than I have and tend to wonder are they those serial beggars that the folk on AH post about?

I mean the guy in question was well prepped with a sleeping bag, woolie hat, thick clothing.
    Well the homeless junkies sleep in €1 a night hostels. They make a fortune off kids in town are who are afraid to say no when they ask for a few coins.
    They'd have a fair few quid alright, gear aint cheap.

There are cafes that people can go to during the day. Cafes that help people who are out on the streets.

Some people on here seriously have a very simplistic and uneducated view of homelessness.

Why do you think he's sitting out on the street at 2 in the morning if he has a house that he could at home sleeping in? Answer me that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Carroller

Iv seen this person before... I also think its a woman who wheels around a pram and like a cat cage near the blue etrance?? and a dog or two... Shes always asking for twenty cents.

Rumour has it she has a home and a fair bit of money too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

+
    Because the people in question arent homeless.
    Once knew of a guy who would go into city centre and beg for money. He wasnt homeless. Would get a mcdonalds cup (etc) and sit down looking for "spare change"

Seen guys who have full time employment / house etc go into a soup kitchen and get a free breakfast.

I'd say now the guy trying to sleep in his sleeping bag was most likely genuinely homeless.....either that or he's really going method acting into his image.

I can beat all these stories. Was queing at an atm one Friday night say around midnight. Bloke sitting begging at the machine.....except not the usual begger look about him. He's wearing a nice going out shirt. Anyhow he's asking for money from all the people in the queue. Some are giving him cash. Anyhow next thing when it s abit quieter quick as a flash he pulls out a FULL bottle of vodka from underneath him, necks 100mls or so of it then staches it back underneath himself completely out of sight!!!!:eek::eek::eek::eek:

Guy was clearly just on a heavy night out and had blown all his cash.....on vodka no doubt ...... was raising funds for the rest of his night!!!:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

Maybe you have an idea in your head that homeless people should be in tattered clothes, fingerless gloves and warts on their face from watching too many films. Of course a homeless person can have a mobile or an mp3, they are dirt cheap. And they could charge them in many places, a hostel, a friends house wherever Nobody sits on a ****ing frezzing cold street unless they have to. Grow up OP that is not a funny story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

Maybe they're headphones from euro2 or a pound shop, I've seen white ones that look like the ipod ones being sold there at one point. Could be using one of those fairly cheap mp3 players that take two AA batteries. Possibly given to him with some music on it.

Just speculating on what it could have been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭susita06

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Why do you think he's sitting out on the street at 2 in the morning if he has a house that he could at home sleeping in? Answer me that.

well drunk people are easier to get money off of!

Having a phone and/or an ipod does not mean youn can't be homeless but there are a few professional beggers that take the piss.

There is one old man in Limerick, usually sits on O' Connell street. He travels down form Dublin during the week to beg. He has an apartment in town and begs most night and absolutely cleans up. He comes in to where I work when he finishs up and counts the money while having tea - often has over a hundred from a few hours . I asked him why and he said that why would he get a job when he could claim his dole and earn money by begging!

Kind of smart if you ask me :rolleyes:

susita06 wrote: »
    There is one old man in Limerick, usually sits on O' Connell street. He travels down form Dublin during the week to beg. He has an apartment in town and begs most night and absolutely cleans up. He comes in to where I work when he finishs up and counts the money while having tea - often has over a hundred from a few hours . I asked him why and he said that why would he get a job when he could claim his dole and earn money by begging!

Does he sit on the street at 2 in the morning when it's freezing cold out? No I doubt it.

I notice you deleted your post pretty pronto there whatsamsn when you realised that there's a lot more that "always one" telling you why you could be wrong.

I'm perfectly willing to accept that the guy might not be genuine but I'm having a hard time wondering why someone who has a home to go to would be sitting out in the freezing cold at 2am if he had a home to go to. Now despite most people being drunk at that time of the morning there's a hell of a lot more people on the street during the day so I'd be willing to go out on a limb and say it's far more profitable for someone to be begging during the day than at night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 141 ✭✭en.r4cart

God bless they have a home not ipod!

jackie1974 wrote: »
    Maybe you have an idea in your head that homeless people should be in tattered clothes, fingerless gloves and warts on their face from watching too many films. Of course a homeless person can have a mobile or an mp3, they are dirt cheap. And they could charge them in many places, a hostel, a friends house wherever Nobody sits on a ****ing frezzing cold street unless they have to. Grow up OP that is not a funny story.

And you need to wake up.
    No one is saying "oh half of the homeless people arent homeless" god no. Only an pig ignorant person would. But theres some chances out there. Yes, minority, but thats what i am talking about.

So yes, lets say you become homeless tomorrow. im sure you'll be buying credit to ring people :rolleyes:
    Im sure your "ipod" and its power supply will be more important than other things :rolleyes:

So whats your answer to what i posted earlier about the people I KNOW? who 1, regularly goes to soup kitchens (dinner houses) and gets a free meal while he has a full time job ... and has his own house!!!!

and 2nd, the guy who begs in town when he is not in a situation to do so? (aka not homeless ... not hard up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

There are some "beggars" with new brand name runners, brand name tracksuits, perfect make up (on the women) and sovereign rings and the like.

I would always be willing to get food and soup for a genuine homeless person, But I wouldn't give anyone money. Especially ones that seem to be better off than me and yes they have the iphone. I have a second hand that is 4 years old and is barely working!

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Does he sit on the street at 2 in the morning when it's freezing cold out? No I doubt it.

I notice you deleted your post pretty pronto there whatsamsn
    when you realised that there's a lot more that "always one" telling you why you could be wrong.

I'm perfectly willing to accept that the guy might not be genuine but I'm having a hard time wondering why someone who has a home to go to would be sitting out in the freezing cold at 2am if he had a home to go to. Now despite most people being drunk at that time of the morning there's a hell of a lot more people on the street during the day so I'd be willing to go out on a limb and say it's far more profitable for someone to be begging during the day than at night.

I was actually re-typing my post. thanks for being pouncy understanding :D

thats what I am talking about ... the minority... the neck of some people.
    Oh and for the record this guy didnt have an irish accent. In fact, after talking to him sounded like a college student. Wasnt a skanger, did sound like times were hard etc.

And you need to wake up.
    No one is saying "oh half of the homeless people arent homeless" god no. Only an pig ignorant person would. But theres some chances out there. Yes, minority, but thats what i am talking about.

So yes, lets say you become homeless tomorrow. im sure you'll be buying credit to ring people :rolleyes:
    Im sure your "ipod" and its power supply will be more important than other things :rolleyes:

So whats your answer to what i posted earlier about the people I KNOW? who 1, regularly goes to soup kitchens (dinner houses) and gets a free meal while he has a full time job ... and has his own house!!!!

and 2nd, the guy who begs in town when he is not in a situation to do so? (aka not homeless ... not hard up)

So explain why this guy was sitting out in the cold at 2am in the freezing cold if he has a home to go to?

Explain how the b*stard dared to be listening to some music from a music player that he could have charged in a shelter or coffee shop during the day.

I'm only interested in hearing you explain about this one guy that you found so hilarious. This one hilarious story that prompted you to start this hilarious thread about funny stories. I'm still waiting to have it explained to me what's so funny about this one guy's story.

Not anyone else. I don't care about anyone else. I want to see you explain what's so funny about this one guy.