One of my housemates is an APPALLING human being - What do I Do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Either call a shelter or do right by the dog and look after it; by doing nothing you're prolonging this animal's misery just as much as the owner. It's not good enough to divorce yourself from responsibility. Sorry if that sounds harsh but that's the reality of the situation.
    If you choose to befriend the dog and look after it you might find yourself in a better 'bargaining' position with the owner. If you can point out that you do 'a' 'b' and 'c' for the dog, it will become impossible for him not to at the very least do the same. Best of luck with it - I hope it works out for the poor little mutt.

This doesn't work. I know from experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Kerikosan

I feel so sorry for that dog :(

And I ****ing hate your room mate :mad:

Stick the 2 months and then save the dog form this torment, i.e rob him and give him to a good home. I couldnt leave that dog behind me when ur man is being neglectful to it.

oh and before you leave (once you have your deposit) **** on his pillow and throw loads of open cans of baked beans in his room and write all over the walls how much of a complete twat he is. and furthermore **** on his toothbrush :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

NoDice wrote: »
    I actually feel so sorry for you OP. You and doggy. Maybe you should fix the broken grill with the knobbish-housemates face? I really hope things start working out for you dude and your can start enjoying your new home.

I seriously think you should consider calling a shelter, as many other posters here have suggested. Shelters are used to this kind of thing, unfortunately, and should help in this situation as best they can.
    With the actual housemate, there isn't much you can do if he isn't willing to talk to you properly about the situation.

If I was in your postion, I'd take him down off his high horse.. With a rusty grappling hook.

All you can do is keep trying to talk to him. Not just you but the rest of the house too if they all share your hatred for him. Nothing more you CAN do unless you're willing to empty your bowels on him.

Best of luck OP

I am probably best off not talking to him again (I knew that tonight but couldnt help opening my big fat mouth as he was being so inconsiderate). If I anger him you never know what might happen, he could get violent. Australian people are aggressive by nature and this guy seems to be particularly aggressive. His threats have actually scared me a little into biting my tongue from now on. I got the impression tonight that if I spoke in a slightly higher tone he may have hit me.

Its funny also that he said that he pays the most rent and that he is paying for the back garden. I'm pretty sure the back garden is a 7 way split between all housemates and the only thing he can claim as his own is his room. :rolleyes: What a muppet,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Chefs are pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Get all the housemates to approach the landlord togethor and let him know it's the guys with the dog or the rest of ye. the landlord doesn't care as long as he gets his money, threaten him with the majority walking out the door and he'll sort the d!ckhead out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

You should ring a shelter now and get the dog taken away, full stop. You and the other 3/4(?) housemates just stand up to the douch and tell him it ran away as he wasnt looking after it and tough tits! But at least the dog will have a better life! and thats the main thing at the end of the day!

If the op's housemate is a complete dcikshead/**** stain, he will get another puppy to piss people off.

But by then of this horrible small chapter in your life, you will have only 2 or even 1 month left in the house and when its time to move out ask the other housemates you get on with to look for another place with you and move in together as you get along and will have a few friends which is good!

You never know you might get a better place between 3 or 4 of you's!

Also €700 a month! Jaysus why are people moving to Oz! (lol)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭DMG_49

gazzer wrote: »
    Awwww. That dog is gorgeous. If I lived in Melbourne and anywhere near your house I would bring the poor thing for a walk. He looks so sad. OP is there any chance that you can start taking the dog for a little walk every day? Just even a few minutes each day? I know you might feel that you are doing your p*ick of a housemate a favour but its not the poor dogs fault.

x2

At least your helping the dog:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Get one of your mates to bring it to the pound and say he found it. Someone the chef doesn't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 celts

Should get your friends and have a vote whether he keeps it or not.Just say to the landlord nobody wants it if you's win since it's destroying everything and isn't trained .You've got to be cruel to be kind .Tell him it's got to go .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Listen to Leon; different situation but still sound advice:

Disclaimer: In no way am i seriously suggesting you follow this advice.

Edit: Just realised Leon is kinda like After Hours, in advice giving mode, personified :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

deisedevil wrote: »
    This doesn't work. I know from experience.

That's a shame but each situation is unique. It might work for the OP. If it doesn't he can always use the first option mentioned afterwards. But I know where you're coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Hopefully your housemate doesn't have a boards account and doesn't spot this thread :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the flamin mongrel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Free Sammy! Free the Melbourne One!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

04072511 wrote: »
    It is a dump, and I'm paying one months rent as deposit (695 dollars a month).

$695:eek: for that kip!!

you'd be better off staying at a youth hostel/backpackers, thats what i did when i was in OZ back in the 90s, had a whale of a time met up with loads of sexy girls had lots of sex....ahem:o sorry getting carried away there

but seriously about the dog, you should take it upon leaving the house and bring it to the next town you're travelling to and hand it in to the local dog pound to be adopted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bobbytables

That is lovely dog and it definitely doesn't deserve such conditions, nor do you. This situation isn't going to be resolved without compromise.

What must be said though is the difference between you and the dog is that you have a pretty good chance of survival while maintaining your own choice over where you live. The dog's best chances are subject to it being cared for by "an owner", which in this case is unfortunately an idiot. I sympathize with you OP, but considering you have an aversion to dog hair, surely moving in to a house that already hosted a dog would have been an expected negative.

I love dogs, I always had a dog growing up and believe that all dogs deserve a chance and should be treated with respect. This is not happening here, and I appreciate it's not your fault. However if I was looking for a place to stay, and a particular place had a dog staying there, I would expect nothing less than regular interactions with the dog, which in turn requires me to be the type of person that likes dogs. I know it's owned by someone else, but I think it's unreasonable to assume that you will be able to live in a house with a dog without it imposing on you. The dog doesn't understand shared accommodation, and that it shouldn't impose upon certain people in the house that it lives in. Furthermore it's just a pup, so right now it probably hasn't a clue what's going on and craves attention.

As for the dog owner, he's an idiot and that's neglect. From all I've read so far I just think he's made a big mistake introducing a dog to a shared house full of strangers and expecting it to work. I think his anger stems from the fact that he realizes this already, but is not willing to admit it to those who are rubbing it in his face.

You are going to have to do something to relieve the tension in the house if you want to stay there. Try and make peace with your man. Accept that the dog is there to stay and it will have an impact on you & the other tenants. I know you haven't suggested it, but ganging up on this guy and essentially muscling him and his dog out of the house isn't right either. I believe from what I've read that this guy, his dog and others sharing the house could work if everyone was on board & had realistic expectations and an ability to compromise.

I've lived in probably 10 different rented properties over the years, some for many years at a time. The first few were shared and sometimes with strangers. Shared accommodation is cheaper because you have to make sacrifices while living there, which will very much depend on the sort of people you live with and the conditions you live in which are 2 distinct variables.

Considering the guy was in the house first with his dog, it gave everyone else the opportunity to consider and accept what sacrifices they would need to make in order to happily live there. I know if I lived with a dog, I would play with it, feed it and bring it for a walk if the owner didn't mind. I wouldn't think of it as doing the owner a favor. I would enjoy it, because I love dogs and would probably end up getting attached to it. Dealing that however, would be on my head.

Long story short: Mistakes have been made on both sides. Your ticket to resolution is based on compromise and adjusting your expectations. Otherwise move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,437 ✭✭✭cml387

..also from previous nightmare housemates threads...

Take a shower every 3 hours for up to an hour at a time.This will drive him (and maybe the dog) bonkers.

It might help if you're ugly and Polish though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Get a cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭amacca

cml387 wrote: »
    ..also from previous nightmare housemates threads...

Take a shower every 3 hours for up to an hour at a time.This will drive him (and maybe the dog) bonkers.

It might help if you're ugly and Polish though.

I remember that one!

Did it turn out she was a hooker in the end?

or just a personal hygiene freak?

search function too much effort......

nice dog btw

chef is a giant arsehole for having it if he cant take care of it properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Ouchette

This situation isn't going to be resolved without compromise....Your ticket to resolution is based on compromise and adjusting your expectations.

You think the right thing to do is to compromise on the welfare of a puppy? :eek: :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

What on earth do I do?

Keep your lease, keep the dog. Feed the owner to the pigs.
    wrote:
    You're always gonna have problems lifting a body in one piece. Apparently the best thing to do is cut up a corpse into six pieces and pile it all together. And when you got your six pieces, you gotta get rid of them, because it's no good leaving it in the deep freeze for your mum to discover, now is it? Then I hear the best thing to do is feed them to pigs.

You got to starve the pigs for a few days, then the sight of a chopped-up body will look like curry to a pisshead. You gotta shave the heads of your victims, and pull the teeth out for the sake of the piggies' digestion. You could do this afterwards, of course, but you don't want to go sievin' through pig ****, now do you? They will go through bone like butter. You need at least sixteen pigs to finish the job in one sitting, so be wary of any man who keeps a pig farm. They will go through a body that weighs 200 pounds in about eight minutes. That means that a single pig can consume two pounds of uncooked flesh every minute. Hence the expression, "as greedy as a pig".

Like so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

PM your address and il ring the shelters.

The dog doesnt deserve that treatment, fuckin dickhead of an owner.

Have a pair of balls and stand up to the cunt with the rest of the housemates.

He is treating you the same way as the dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

1. and he went mad at me for not trying to stop HIS dog escape. Told him the thing is not my responsibility!

2. He is the worst dog owner ever. That dog is miserable. It is the sadest, most depressed dog I have ever seen. It spends most of its time crying. He usually brings the dog into his room at night but he actually left the dog outside all night last night, outside our bedroom windows. Incredibly rude. The thing cried with misery, then roared with anger, knocked over the bins completely getting agitated. The thing doesnt get much exercise, he never takes it for walks really. The dog was left outside for 23 hours in total.

3. In addtion to this the dog (who is still a puppy, and not trained at all) has destroyed peoples clothes hanging to dry on the clothes line, chewed up one of the girls computer mouse, jumped in through the open window and knocked all the rubbish bins over. I cant blame the dog, its not his fault of course.
    1,you are being a bit inconsideriate to, you obviously dont like dogs and havnt tried to interact with it but,
    you seen it trying to escape and did nothing?
    id be pissed off to

2. technically dogs cant cry, it may have welped, its a pup.
    dogs live outside, its called nature, once it gets feed and has a place to run around and some shelter

3. one point for you the dog is untrained, might be able to use that to your advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

that poor dog.

OP, get some compassion and look after him! All he wants is some affection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Are you a female?
    Do you have a boyfriend?

If so, go the "brute force and ignorance" route.

Have your boyfriend round up a bit of muscle from the pub and go down to the house and threaten the bastard. If he doesn't sort his dog out, give it up to the ASPCA or move the fück out then smash all his fingers and teeth and his feet with a lump hammer.
    Then when he's recovered, do it again. Beat the bollix out of him with plastic hoses filled with sand, ram his head into the cooker repeatedly while the flame is on and put him right back into hospital for a while.
    When he eventually gets out of hospital and is wheeled to the house to pick up his stuff tie his hands behind his back so he can't grip the wheels of the wheelchair and then send him gunning down the hill into oncoming traffic.

The End.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Are you a female?
    Do you have a boyfriend?

If so, go the "brute force and ignorance" route.

Have your boyfriend round up a bit of muscle from the pub and go down to the house and threaten the bastard. If he doesn't sort his dog out, give it up to the ASPCA or move the fück out then smash all his fingers and teeth and his feet with a lump hammer.
    Then when he's recovered, do it again. Beat the bollix out of him with plastic hoses filled with sand, ram his head into the cooker repeatedly while the flame is on and put him right back into hospital for a while.
    When he eventually gets out of hospital and is wheeled to the house to pick up his stuff tie his hands behind his back so he can't grip the wheels of the wheelchair and then send him gunning down the hill into oncoming traffic.

The End.

bit of an overreaction!?!?
    the wonders of the internet, some people agree or disagree, but theres always one who takes sh*t to far.

Mousey- wrote: »
    bit of an overreaction!?!?
    the wonders of the internet, some people agree or disagree, but theres always one who takes sh*t to far.

Ah for Christ's sake, Mousey, I wasn't being serious.

But I'd certainly support him getting a few digs in the head if he's being such a tyrant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

Im going to be the odd one out here and say the dog looks healthy and well looked after to me. Plenty of people keep their dogs outdoors they are animals they dont need to be inside the house as long as he has shelter outside he is fine.
    To be honest it sounds to me like yourself and your housemates just dont want the dog around. You say that you dont want it in the house because you are allergic etc.... but you dont want him outside either because he barks. So you want the guy to get rid of him or keep him in his room.
    Im guessing that the arguments over the dog are after getting the guys back up.
    Since your landlord has said that the dog stays I would suggest buying earplugs.

Op I agree with these guys. So what if it helps out your housemate, if you walk the dog, socialise it a bit and do some basic training, itl make your life easier, the dogs life easier, your other housemates lives easier and in the future if the dogs owner gets sick of him, he'l be easier to rehome.

I know its hard not to, but try not to let your pride get in the way of helping the little puppy.

And i concur, that man must be an awful person to leave his dog alone in the conditions.

Also, taking a good-looking dog like this fine hound for a walk is a great way to meet members of the opposite sex. When you get a lemon...make lemonade!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Looks like a lovely dog. Think its a beagle, but I see hes also throwing his cigarette butts on the ground. Dirty Habit!

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/99505/143967.JPG