Fianna Fáil Leadership Challenge Underway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

jmayo wrote: »
    Touché.
    Well spotted there.
    Do you know what prize you have won ?
    A days golfing with biffo and friends courtesy of the taxpayers.

BTW have you ever tried to quote Fitzerb's posts, if you have then you will know what I was talking about.

ah fitzerb and his anti-quote software installations, the fiend.......he's out to get you dude.

Don't play golf, which I suppose automatically rules me out of the biffo clique and most other cliques in ireland for that matter.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

goat2 wrote: »
    he is a foolish man to stay in this job, if i were part of his family i would have spent the last few months begging him to step down, on a human level this must be having an auful effect on his health, that kind of pressure is a killer, it is hard to keep up the front that all is ok, there must be times he is hurt by comments, i do really feel sorry for the man

You're kindness and compassion is admirable. I don't think he feels the same way about your plight as a worker and a taxpayer though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Bill2673 wrote: »
    ah fitzerb and his anti-quote software installations, the fiend.......he's out to get you dude.

Don't play golf, which I suppose automatically rules me out of the biffo clique and most other cliques in ireland for that matter.

Well there is always horse racing and the accompanying tents ;)
    Failing that one can find biffo and such people at Croke Park for inter county games, particularly near final time.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

jmayo wrote: »

Anglo was in so deep a few billion would never have fixed it.
    I remember hearing someone talk on radio about their loan book back in 2007 and that day I knew the bank was fecked.
    They reckoned the bank had over 50 to 60 billion in property related loans and anyone with half a brain knew we were in a property bubble so it was abvious what was going to happen.
    Of course I was labelled a cycnical paranoid eejit with talk like that. :rolleyes:

yeah. wil be intersting to see the details in years to come.
    what i'm saying is that if Quinn's craziness could have been stopped by a few billion, it may have helped stabilise the situation until a and b below were achieved.

for me, the govt's biggest mistake was not coming clean in 2007. they hoped the prob would disappear, really is as simple as that.

no way Bertie was going to admit policies were resulting in anglo meltdown, burton etc would have savaged him.

but cowen could have and should have

a/ called an election soon as he became FF leader

b/ nationalised Anglo, the world and his wife in financial circles apparently knew it was heading towards meltdown, including BOI and AIB. by nationalising it, with declaration / intention to re-privatise it in ten years, it would have caused less of a drag on the other banks. (IMHO)

the NAMA solution really had to wait for Anglo to enter meltdown all by it's self, a meltdown which shook the other banks and ultimately Irish bonds.

yes, we'd still be left with a 43 billion debt, but that's a better outcome than the current IMF/EU one.

and yes, 10 years is a headache, but we have that now anyway - and a lot more.

and no, this isn't hindsight as such. it's a critique. cowen was afraid to call an election. afraid to admit to the probs in Anglo. and now his career is over and his political legacy is a disaster.

ETA: it all boiled down to philosophy - the word 'nationalise' is utterly abhorrent to FF thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

It diverts attention from himself and the bankruptcy proceedings occuring against him? Would be nice to have another scapegoat especially from the political class.

Just a theory, not saying I agree.
    Diverting media attention isn't going to do anything about his legal situation though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

Bill2673 wrote: »
    yeah Fitzerb....and get a spell check installed while your at it....

Wow. I am so hurt. Is that your best shot............. I reckon so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,678 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

More revelations expected in tomorrow's Daily Mail newspaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

Source?

Byron85 wrote: »
    Source?

TV3 News and I think it was mentioned on other current affairs programmes today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

TV3 News and I think it was mentioned on other current affairs programmes today.

Cheers for that! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

As I said this morning at 9.45am - post 284:
    Biggins wrote: »
    A Mr Maloney (writer for the Mail) on LMFM radio during an interview (9.45am) stated that tomorrow (Sat') in the Irish Mail, there will be some independent confirmation from a person also at the Drumm meeting as to what Drumm has been stating.
    I guess we will have to wait and see. The media is really smelling Cowans blood now, as they did with Bertie and Haughty.
    Its only a matter of time now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Conor "Kebab" Lenihan is on Six One next. I wonder will he retract what he said earlier or has Mammy O'Rourke instructed him to keep twisting the knife?

LOL Conor Lenihan "I personally have not formed a view" what kind of squirming is this? He obviously doesn't think that Cowen is a viable leader he just doesn't have the backbone to say that!

gandalf wrote: »
    LOL Conor Lenihan "I personally have not formed a view" what kind of squirming is this? He obviously doesn't think that Cowen is a viable leader he just doesn't have the backbone to say that!
    Of course he has a view (opinion). Everyone does. As you say, he just either don't have the backbone to say what it is or he's playing games and/or afraid to say where he stands till he sees that he might not be alone in that position/opinion.

Short version: he's covering his ass!

Conor could lose his seat in Tallaght.

He is the most senior FF TD to basically say, Cowen please resign.

Conor could lose his seat in Tallaght.

He is the most senior FF TD to basically say, Cowen please resign.

I know he is one of my local TD's and while I didn't register my vote in time to vote against him last time I have ensured it is ready to help with his ousting this time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,610 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

something in Drumm's language that rings true.

i suppose at the end of the day, FF being so close to the mega rich business world it was natural for Cowen to side with their concerns, genuinely believing it was for the good of the country perhaps, but certainly good for business and therefore proving FF policies were working.

i think it reflects the philosophy prevalent at the time, in essence McCreevy's neo-classical approach to economics which requires having significant fate in the amoral purity of the mkt, but also unavoidably includes a trust in the business elite - after all that's what 'light-touch regulation' firmly rests upon. And therefore Cowen and FF deserve all the abuse they get, not matter how 'honest'.

of course Enron etc were seen as unique - not typical.

and they call communists economically naive.

LOL it gets better Eamon O'Cuiv has said he wants to lead FF.

http://www.thejournal.ie/eamon-o-cuiv-admits-fianna-fail-leadership-ambitions-2011-01/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

http://www.thejournal.ie/eamon-o-cuiv-admits-fianna-fail-leadership-ambitions-2011-01/

This is getting so ridiculous it is like an episode of Father Ted. Who is going to be next? Martin Mansergh? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Oh No! O Cuiv is actually liked in the west unfortunately. If this happens theres no getting rid of the maFFia ever. All of FF have to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

ilovesleep wrote: »
    Oh No! O Cuiv is actually liked in the west unfortunately. If this happens theres no getting rid of the maFFia ever. All of FF have to go.

liked in the west, please dont paint the whole of the west so badly, maybe he is liked for fixing potholes in his own area, but i dont know anyone who likes the cute smug w****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 greendog34

ok isn't anyone thinking here, the facts are that Fianna Fáil are going to do ok in the next general election, with our without brian cowen, the have very strong grass roots and a loyal older generation that always vote for the local fianna fail person, i predict that Fine Gael , and labour wont be able to form the next government, i also thing sinn fein will do quiet well and will form a next government with fianna fail, Irish politics never throws up any surprises its quiet predicable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

greendog34 wrote: »
    ok isn't anyone thinking here, the facts are that Fianna Fáil are going to do ok in the next general election, with our without brian cowen, the have very strong grass roots and a loyal older generation that always vote for the local fianna fail person, i predict that Fine Gael , and labour wont be able to form the next government, i also thing sinn fein will do quiet well and will form a next government with fianna fail, Irish politics never throws up any surprises its quiet predicable

nice joke, you expect me to believe your not winding people up

Its so scary. All of FF have too much invested interests in themselves to care about us in this country. If O'Cuiv takes over they could do good. Jesus pray for us!

ilovesleep wrote: »
    If O'Cuiv takes over they could do good. Jesus pray for us!

You are kidding me right. If O'Cuiv takes over, then the party that started with a Dev will end with one as well.

Im not joking. He would be very popular with the older generation. Go over to galway city forum here on boards and have a read.

we need a war to remove FF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I'm from Galway, Connemara to be more accurate, and I can't stand young (this is the space where I leave out all the things I'd like to call him) Dev. So don't tar us all with the same brush, thanks :)

Just something that other might have missed, regardless who is head of FF pre-election, it looks like now they have another reason to hold out until March 25th at the earliest.

Children’s referendum on election day a step closer
    The long-awaited referendum, first mooted by Bertie Ahern when he was Taoiseach, moved a step closer after Mr Andrews’ department finalised the wording and issued it to children’s rights groups and opposition spokespersons yesterday.

However, the minister said it could only take place on the same day of a general election if the election was held on March 25 or later.

He said while the Government has given him permission to start work on a referendum bill, the need to establish a referendum commission — and the high number of bills which need to move through the Oireachtas — meant holding it before March 25 "would be very tight".

Continues: http://www.irishexaminer.ie/ireland/childrens-referendum-on-election-day-a-step-closer-142237.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Fitzerb

greendog34 wrote: »

I think FG and Lab will form the next Government. FF will do better than current polls predict ( A range of +8-+12% better) but it will be depend on the last 10 days to the election. SF unfortunately will gather a lot of young vote which is sad as the murdering bast*** deserve nothing from the people of this state. Ind will do very well with the Joe Higgins gang pulling a few seats if they contest them. FG have to keep Enda off the TV and Happy Gilmore has to decide that he has policies. Should be fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭jpfahy

Biggins wrote: »
    Just something that other might have missed, regardless who is head of FF pre-election, it looks like now they have another reason to hold out until March 25th at the earliest.

Children’s referendum on election day a step closer

Continues: http://www.irishexaminer.ie/ireland/childrens-referendum-on-election-day-a-step-closer-142237.html

A desperate attempt by Andrews to improve his image and save his seat