Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Irish people use Plastic basins in Sinks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Most houses have a dishwasher now so it's not really needed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Peeling spuds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Plus a dishwasher can be cheaper to run and cleaner than manually washing. I remember seeing a program where they demonstrated that the water you use to manually wash up costs more than the water and energy required to run a good eco diswasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

jester77 wrote: »
    Plus a dishwasher can be cheaper to run and cleaner than manually washing. I remember seeing a program where they demonstrated that the water you use to manually wash up costs more than the water and energy required to run a good eco diswasher.

this is the truth. but with the invention of the dishwasher came the unbearable chore if emptying it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

It's something I never did, yet I knew somebody in the UK who not only used one but threw it out and changed it once a month! I'm imagining a landfill site somewhere near her full of perfectly good basins.

Nutcase!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

That's not stupid pal, leave the 'piss collar ' off for a few days and see the residue of dried in piss on the floor.

Gross :eek:

Check it out.

having the carpet there doesnt make the piss go away. It just means its festering there in a carpet. Just aim properly and clean your goddamned floors

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

newmember? wrote: »
    It's like you've got two sinks! - one inside the other and if you need to use the real one you can just lift out the basin of water. Handy if you've only got one sink when you're doing the washing-up, etc for emptying cups down the drain, etc.

Obligatory "Yo dawg, we put a sink in your sink so you can wash up while you wash up."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

Larianne wrote: »

newmember? wrote: »
    I'm .a little pissed off. I gave the explanation/reason in the 5th post and people are still sh*teing on without even giving me thanks.

F*ck yis all.

No-one thanks new members ffs.

FecK that, I'm changing my name to 'ol_bastard'. I'm only here for the thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

what I dont get is why people put a stopper in the sink or use a basin, you're washing in dirty water, let the tap run ffs and you wont be washing in filth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

This is probably the most legitimate question I ever seen asked on these here forums :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

what I dont get is why people put a stopper in the sink or use a basin, you're washing in dirty water, let the tap run ffs and you wont be washing in filth
    its people like you that are killing all the polar bears!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

I dont use them... My mother used to but when she got a new kitchen about 10years ago she stopped. They seem unhygenic to me, same reasons, stains, grease and grime build up, yuk.

I also hate those dish stack racks that people use, feckin everywhere I see them they are full of dirt. I just stack dishes on the draining board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TaraFoxglove

Come to think of it this is even stupider than putting those U shaped carpet things around the jacks
    FatherLen wrote: »
    i fuckin hate those things!!!!

Me too, another thing my mother insists on. They're gross.

Words fail me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Fuking hate the basin in the sink. I moved into a shared house and there's a basin in the sink. I dont know why. We have a dishwasher. Nothing ever gets washed in it. You cant even wash a saucepan as there's no space in the basin. Every time i use the sink. I have to take it out. Add when im too lazy to take it out, i still have to take it out to empty the water down the sink. Just leave the feking thing out. It makes life a bit easier.

I think its just people who enjoys making other people's lives miserable. No other reason for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Common people have to have a plastic bowl in the sink, because it would be unhygienic to do the washing up in a sink that someone has just had a piss in.

Billy Connolly once said that boys knew when they had reached manhood, because they could piss in the sink without having to stand on a chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

having the carpet there doesnt make the piss go away. It just means its festering there in a carpet. Just aim properly and clean your goddamned floors

Steady up there man, it's not a matter of aim.

The drops come from the residue as the flow weakens and shaking the bell-end can distribute them.Also there can be minor discharge before the cock is 'fully established' on the approach to the pot.
    You can also get twin stream syndrome after a bout of heavy petting.

All you do is toss the piss-collar into the washing machine and she's sorted.

No getting down on your knees every day and scraping dried in piss other detritus from the base of your pot.

People are in a hurry these days man.

C'mon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

The drops come from the residue as the flow weakens and shaking the bell-end can distribute them.Also there can be minor discharge before the cock is 'fully established' on the approach to the pot.

No getting down on your knees every day and scraping dried in piss other detritus from the base of your pot.

C'mon.

Youre doing it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

C'mon.

Thats sick! Them U shaped things should be banned. As for the basin in the sink, I agree its for emptying cups and glasses that have been missed before the sink has been filled. I dont think they are unhygienic as long as the are wiped after use. Handy for hand washing clothes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

i really dont know. I never use a basin. Dirt,crap and grease looks horrible on a plastic basin! Plus its damn awkard in a sink! I use the stopper all the time. A basin takes up space too and u cant fit all the delf in at once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

The basin thing is a bogger thing. No civilised person would make washing dishes an even more painful and frustrating task in order to save a couple of mils of water.

In fact this should be in the stingy person thread.

enda1 wrote: »
    The basin thing is a bogger thing. No civilised person would make washing dishes an even more painful and frustrating task in order to save a couple of mils of water.

In fact this should be in the stingy person thread.

It not about saving water, I don't think, not for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

It's one of those things I've never even considered. This thread has been a real eye-opener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

AH = OCD. I like that.

For the Full Irish basin-in-the-sink effect, it is essential to pile the dishes as high as possible in your one and only basin-sink combo. The "water" should be cold, and should contain as much of the sewage from previous "washes" as the Laws of Physics permit. Cold water is necessary because this ensures that the required quantities of grease adhere to everything.

By everything I also mean the cleaning materials themselves, such as the festering banjaxed washing-up brush with the flattened bristles, the blackened pot-scrubber that had already lost all its abrasive qualities when Labour was last in government, and the multi-purpose "dishcloth" that also serves as a major breeding ground for hideous microbes that even the HSE would refuse to infect their patients with.

Having "washed" the dishes in this putrid effluent, it is essential to pile them up on the crud-encrusted dish-rack buried under a mound of toxic suds rather than rinse them in fresh running water. This step is not difficult to complete as one of the main functions of the basin in the sink is to leave little or no room for using the tap, which in the average Irish house is the only source of fresh potable water.

If desired, you can "dry" the dishes by wiping off the suds with a "tea towel", which is typically a well-worn piece of fabric also handy for other applications such mopping up spills, swatting flies and beating the dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Hmmmm sounds good but... what about those of us who dont drink cups of tea when doing the washing up? :confused:

Yer mam always got up from the dinner table to start doing the dishes while everyone else was still drinking their after dinner cuppa. She's be able to pour the leftover tea and all the tea leaves down the sink and flush out the teapot without fcuking up the water in the basin.

Also when you're taking a dish, cup, plate whatever out of the suddsy water you can rinse with cool water from the tap (if you have a moveable single faucet) or you can pour water from a milk bottle or jug over the soapy plate and the excess water won't spill into the basin making it all cold and useless and poxy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭carfiosaoorl

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    AH = OCD. I like that.

For the Full Irish basin-in-the-sink effect, it is essential to pile the dishes as high as possible in your one and only basin-sink combo. The "water" should be cold, and should contain as much of the sewage from previous "washes" as the Laws of Physics permit. Cold water is necessary because this ensures that the required quantities of grease adhere to everything.

By everything I also mean the cleaning materials themselves, such as the festering banjaxed washing-up brush with the flattened bristles, the blackened pot-scrubber that had already lost all its abrasive qualities when Labour was last in government, and the multi-purpose "dishcloth" that also serves as a major breeding ground for hideous microbes that even the HSE would refuse to infect their patients with.

Having "washed" the dishes in this putrid effluent, it is essential to pile them up on the crud-encrusted dish-rack buried under a mound of toxic suds rather than rinse them in fresh running water. This step is not difficult to complete as one of the main functions of the basin in the sink is to leave little or no room for using the tap, which in the average Irish house is the only source of fresh potable water.

If desired, you can "dry" the dishes by wiping off the suds with a "tea towel", which is typically a well-worn piece of fabric also handy for other applications such mopping up spills, swatting flies and beating the dog.

So are you saying Irish people are dirty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Really? I'd like to see that idea tested.

Some Yank was on the radio last year talking about this (Derek Mooneys show I think), she seemed genuinely purplexed. Her small brain couldn't process the concept of "a sink within a sink" and how handy this is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭Blisterman

New question.
    What's the point of dishwashers? It's as much work bending down, putting it into the dishwasher, then bending down and taking it out when its done, as giving it a quick wipe with a sponge and a rinse.

Plus dishwashers scratch all your glasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

mike65 wrote: »
    Really? I'd like to see that idea tested.

Some Yank was on the radio last year talking about this (Derek Mooneys show I think), she seemed genuinely purplexed. Her small brain couldn't process the concept of "a sink within a sink" and how handy this is.

Maybe her brain is a normal size and she's used to this kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Iwannahurl I'd like to see you try to pick that sink unit up and use it while mopping up a spill in another room! :p