Most Pathetic Thing You've Seen?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Kerikosan

Most pathetic I've ever seen is a Drunk guy who looks like Santa in cork :D

oh and like 8 knackers hoping onto one young guy passing and acting "tough" like they just downed a ****ing Warrior or sum thing.. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I was in Lima a few years ago and when I got off the bus in an area outside the city centre there was a tramp passed out on the footpath. The thing that made it really pathetic though was that he was wearing a pair of grey tracksuit pants and he had shat himself to such an extent that you could see the brown colour leaching through the fabric. People were walking on the road so as to not have to be go within 5 feet of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

I was told NO plenty of times when I was a kid....didn't realise how pathetic I was until now...thanks OP....grow the **** up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I was once at the river giving the swans some bread and lettuce when I saw a girl aged about nineteen shouting at them and trying to grab them by their necks. She asked me for bread and I said no. A couple of minutes later she started kicking cans at the swans. I told her to leave them alone to be f*cked. A couple of weeks later I saw her in town and she started singing "hey you leave those swans alone" to the tune of Another Brick In The Wall. Apparently I'm to be made fun of because I like feeding swans but it's perfectly normal to kick cans at them.

Another time I saw a teenager spitting into the river and shouting "f*ck you water".

Teenagers here seem to like nothing more than destroying nature or hurting animals. I think it's pathethic that they find it entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Iguana Bob

ct89 wrote: »
    Have you ever seen anything on your travels that has made you sad, properly upset?Especially in urban enviroments? For example once seen a little kid in a shop looking away at an elmo book wanting the mother to buy it, but she caused an awful fuss : "Im not spending £3 on a book!" at the top of her voice and stormed off. Things like that
    one of the worst things i ever saw was some scumbag dublin mother walking down jervis st. she had a little blond girl with her, was around 4 years old. the ma was walking fairly fast and the kid couldnt keep up, she was about 20 metres behind her running to keep up. the woman was walking towards my self and my friend she looked back at the kid and screamed at her " hurry up you fat cnut". if ever there was someone that deserved to be shot in the face it that bitch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

The most pathetic thing I've ever seen are orange marches. I mean for the love of God, would they not just give it up!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

Another time I saw a teenager spitting into the river and shouting "f*ck you water".

F*cking no good water :mad:
    I wiz on it... doesnt make a difference. psssh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I just thought of something else I saw which was pretty pathetic.

I once saw a drunk man passed out in a car park. I was concerned he was going to get run over and was thinking about tapping him on the shoulder but was afraid he would hit me. While I was standing there wondering what to do someone drove past and saw me looking at the ground. A girl in the passenger seat took out her mobile phone and took a picture of the drunk man.

I think it's sad that someones immediate reaction to a man lying passed out is to laugh and take a photo of him rather than wondering if they should help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

I used to work in a toyshop, and it was frequently soul destroying. I sympathise with the OP. Used to have a lot of customers dragging the kids into the shop in the morning, and leaving them there for the day while they go off and entertain themselves.

One thing that left an impression on me was when some woman was in the shop with a broken toy. It wasn't covered under warranty, so I couldn't replace it for her. On hearing this, without hesitating for a second, she thumped her little girl twice between the shoulder blades - her fault for dropping it. Not hard; nothing I could really report, like.

But the spite of it, and that she didn't even pause, really bothered me. Grown woman hears an answer she doesn't like, and she immediately takes it out on her twelve year old for accidentally dropping it. Hateful c**t of a woman.

Could hardly call the guards and say "Hey, I saw some woman thump her little girl in a way that suggests to me that she probably hits the kid a lot harder in private, no idea what her name is, yeah she's long gone", and if I said anything then, it'd probably make it even worse for that kid later on, when I'm not there.

Still bothers me a lot, that I couldn't or didn't do anything, because by Christ that woman deserved a trip to hospital.

I used to work in a toyshop, and it was frequently soul destroying. I sympathise with the OP. Used to have a lot of customers dragging the kids into the shop in the morning, and leaving them there for the day while they go off and entertain themselves.

Are you serious? :eek:
    Thats horribile.
    I mean theres fecking creches like. These people too stingy to pay for a creche or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Once I was in a Chinese sweatshop and saw a load of young kids being treated badly while making Elmo books. :(

whatsamsn wrote: »
    Are you serious? :eek:
    Thats horribile.
    I mean theres fecking creches like. These people too stingy to pay for a creche or something?

I can't tell if you're being sarcastic, but believe me, these kids were not old enough to be abandoned to their own devices in a large, busy city centre shop from 9am to 9pm for any reason.

In some cases, their parents didn't want the hassle of having to tow them around while they did their shopping - in others, I got the distinct impression that they'd rather not have a very young child at their side while they were trying to get served.

We needed the guards a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Every drunken thing iv done would dominate every top5 (regret, na not really)

I can't tell if you're being sarcastic, but believe me, these kids were not old enough to be abandoned to their own devices in a large, busy city centre shop from 9am to 9pm for any reason.

In some cases, their parents didn't want the hassle of having to tow them around while they did their shopping - in others, I got the distinct impression that they'd rather not have a very young child at their side while they were trying to get served.

We needed the guards a lot.

Oh sorry :(
    I wasnt being sarcastic. Sorry if I came off as that way.
    I was just shocked at their behavior. Like first off its terrible to leave a child when you want to just go off and shop. Its not like when a person has a job and in a situation to leave a child in a creche. But thats the thing you would think they would leave a child in a creche still. ...

thats just fu*king shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Chronic alcoholics dragging their kids around pubs all day. Selfish mother****ers.

Roma beggers. Its 2011, the gig is up. Either blend in with the rest of society or just leave.

whatsamsn wrote: »
    Oh sorry :(
    I wasnt being sarcastic. Sorry if I came off as that way.
    I was just shocked at their behavior. Like first off its terrible to leave a child when you want to just go off and shop. Its not like when a person has a job and in a situation to leave a child in a creche. But thats the thing you would think they would leave a child in a creche still. ...

thats just fu*king shocking.

Sorry, my bad, After Hours brings out the horrible cynic in me. :)

Dont say sorry :)
    To quote what a person said the other day about After Hours - "its one big piss taking forum" :P

Ps,
    Nice username.... hmmm jill valentine.... lol. Yes I have no life :(
    lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Dan133269

OP good to see someone using pathetic in the true sense, not sure if I've ever heard it outside school. :)

Most pathetic thing I've seen was maybe a homeless man in Strasbourg who lived under a bridge. Like a canal bridge. He had a table and chairs, all of his stuff laid out, can't remember if he had a bed. We were on a boat that does a tour of the city and the river was busy enough but he seemed quite content just going about his business in his little area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I was on a train in Con Colbert station in Limerick, about to leave for Thurles when a lower class family beside me started fighting. The father threw his 3 L bottle of Devils Bit cider at his wife and then punched his son. They were made leave the train by some Gardai. I was just left there thinking it was pathetic, all that cider just spilled on the floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Most pathetic thing i've ever seen is kids arguing on boards about an island that doesn't 'belong' to any of them:rolleyes:

Hy Breasil?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

most patheric thing ive ever seen was I was on pills once and went for a piss. my willy had shrunk so much i almost cried.