Bikers and Angels to block Westboro Baptists picket on childs funeral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Probably just validate their righteous martyr complexes, TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Pete M.

It'd make a far better video for the internets though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Dudess wrote: »
    They picket high-profile funerals as a way of saying "God wouldn't have allowed this to happen if America didn't tolerate homosexuality".
    Saw the Louis Theroux documentary (excellent btw - seen others on same and they didn't come close; the way Theroux conducted himself was especially effective. He stayed so calm and actually listened, unlike Keith Allen who also did a documentary on this church and made a show of himself by being really confrontational) - was expecting a bunch of crazy hillbillies... instead, really pleasant, polite, civilised, intelligent people - apart from Fred, on whom I'd put money as being gay himself. I've read a good bit about the family history: according to his estranged son, he was a viciously abusive - physically and psychologically - monster. Some of the memoirs would leave you reeling. Frightening stuff. Weirdly, he's not on the far right when it comes to everything. He practised as a lawyer and fought for civil rights during the 1960s.
    I find it hard to fully blame those children of his who are spreading his word - they have been absolutely twisted by him. And I find it REALLY hard to blame his grandchildren - it's all they've ever known. But then again, some of his children did break away...
    It's a ****ing tragedy though - a family ruined by that hateful bastard, let alone all the damage they've done to others...
    You should watch Fall From Grace too. I found it to be nearly up there with Theroux's docu, the thing it was missing of course was Louis himself. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Just read up on them crazy mofo's there and that Phelps guy must have similar brain washing tactics to Hitler.

Considering the high rates of voilent crime in the states, I'm surprised they have been so far unscathed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

And why exactly are these freakshows picketing a little girls funeral?

Lemme guess, her uncles wifes sisters grandfathers niece once played tennis with someone who might have been gay. Something along those lines, thats how they operate.

Fred Phelps, to use his own words, is going straight and irreversibly to hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Stheno wrote: »
    Agreed Violence only begets violence.

The child however deserves a respectful and peaceful funeral without people needing to make a point.

Any protest which helps that is welcome in my opinion.

Laws are currently being drafted to reduce the Westboro Baptists ability to protest as they do.
    Oh no I agree. My post was in relation to the idea that we needed to kill anybody or cut off their oxygen supply to honor this girl, whether it be the killer that we give the death penalty to, or these baptists for being completely severed from reality. We need to do the opposite.

The Legislation to increase the distance from which people could picket Funerals reached Unanimous Approval by the AZ Legislature and was taken into effect Immediately at the time of signature by the Governor, expected soon.

http://www.examiner.com/political-buzz-in-national/arizona-legislature-passes-law-keeping-westboro-church-from-protesting-funeral

Ironically enough the ultimate aim of the bill is both to give respect to the family's privacy (imo) but more importantly to protect the Westboro Baptists from being caught in a violent outlash from mourners, as emotions run very high about the issue. The Church already has gone to the Supreme Court over a similar Ohio Law a few months ago, the Court is expected to reach a conclusion in Spring. Here was the audio from the Supereme Court Hearing on the case, where the Baptists protested at a Gay Serviceman's Funeral (Audio, 1 hour) They seem to be basing their case on the expectation of privacy in a public place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Is it just me or does Phelps-Roper sound like a sex act?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

And why exactly are these freakshows picketing a little girls funeral?

Lemme guess, her uncles wifes sisters grandfathers niece once played tennis with someone who might have been gay. Something along those lines, thats how they operate.
    I don't think she needs to have had any connection to a gay person whatsoever, their reasoning is: her death is an act of god in revenge for America tolerating homosexuality. :-/

stovelid wrote: »

A particularly awesome one, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

A gay sex act :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

That's a good idea. Perhaps Dan Savage could be convinced to run a similar campaign that he did for Rick Santorum. :)

Can definitely imagine somebody explaining their donut cushion with the words "Phelps Roper" and a cheeky wink alright, yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Dudess wrote: »
    I don't think she needs to have had any connection to a gay person whatsoever, their reasoning is: her death is an act of god in revenge for America tolerating homosexuality. :-/

And with that kind of reasoning its a wonder Phelps hasn't been dragged away kicking and screaming to a lunatic asylum.

The same kind of reasoning that threatened to picket Heath Ledgers funeral because he was in Brokeback Mountain :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Hmm lets see.....

"Dude, that girl i met last night gave me a Phelps-Roper down an alley but now my arse has rope burn"

Ya that could work.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I dont get how people at these funerals dont just go over and kick mountains of ****e out of them, police there or not. Their blood must be boiling!

df1985 wrote: »
    I dont get how people at these funerals dont just go over and kick mountains of ****e out of them, police there or not. Their blood must be boiling!
    Thats precisely why they're passing the law to distance the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

df1985 wrote: »

Oh I'm sure they're sorely tempted to violence against Fred Phelps and his cronies but they wouldn't do that at the funeral, out of respect for the dead child.

I hear all sorts of nonsense about religious groups in America. The actions of the Arizona government and the people attending the funeral restores my faith in Americans.

To be fair to Americans, as far as I understand it, the Westboro Baptist Church consists almost entirely of the extended Phelps family, and there have been numerous counterprotests organised to obscure them from the view of mourners before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Why not hold the funeral somewhere private? then, this being the US, surely its ok to shoot trespassers?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I watched the Louis Theroux documentry on the WBC there. You can't help but feel sorry for the kids. Everything they say is programmed into them, no original thought, yet at the same time they seem so normal. You can see the struggling to deal with some of his questions and just revert to saying this is what God wants.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

If you rummage through youtube, (just looked but can't find the particular clip of this), but it's basically a guy doing a documentary on the WBC and low and behold, Mrs. Phelps herself was a single mom when she gave birth to her eldest son who is also in the WBC, which is obviously no crime at all, but these guys conveniently decide not to apply their rediculous moral code themselves while trying to impose it on others, absolute hypocrites on top of everything else that they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭DesQ2

That family never bitch about incest I wonder why?

I seen a doc on them once man they're messed up and the younger girls in the family see no point in relationships with men (prob outside their dear olde grandpa) I also notice there was no mention of their father, prob because there pa is their grandpa.

Why not hold the funeral somewhere private? then, this being the US, surely its ok to shoot trespassers?
    Where do you plan to bury the child after the service though? Thats also not to say that most Funeral Homes sit on a 300 yard radius compound of private land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

As for these hells angels picketing the funeral.....don't forget that this is the biker gang that you have to rape a woman to get into

where the hell did you hear such nonsense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I'd love for a member of their organisation to die (die, not get murdered) and for loads upon loads of people to picket at the persons funeral.

"Westboro Baptists Church is Wrong".

Really get in their faces.

Just to give you an idea of these folks, the Indo had a marvellous piece on them before, when they decided that God hates Ireland.

dancingontheflag-1.jpg

http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/god-hates-ireland-1085852.html
    Ireland is the newest target of the WBC's internet assault and at the end of July they set up godhatesireland.com. The site has as its mascot a cartoon redhead boy being buggered by a surly-looking leprechaun. Somewhat incongruously, the cartoon character has a smile on his face and, in a play on the commercial catchphrase for the popular Lucky Charms cereal, he utters the lines: "They're always after me little Catholic lads, they're tragically pernicious." There's a photo of a girl, Shirley's niece, dancing an Irish jig on the Irish flag. I ask Shirley if her niece took any Irish dancing lessons in preparation for this piece of al fresco theatre, or if there was any music playing, and she told me: "No, she didn't take lessons. She's just talented. And there was definitely no music playing. You're killing me here."

So why does God hate Ireland? Because, according to Shirley, it's "the pink isle of the sodomite damned" and home to "*** Irish senator David Norris and dyke-enabler Mary Robinson". Among other wild claims about 90 per cent of Irish priests being homosexuals. Shirley added that she heard we had lovely landscape here and, if we weren't all perverts, she'd like to think she might have paid a visit some day.

The spur to set up the site is believed to be an invitation from UCD's Literary and Historical Society to what they called the WBC's "esteemed" leader and founder, Fred Phelps, to speak at a debate on gay adoption.

Phelps feared that if he came and did his usual shtick he would be arrested under the Prohibition of Incitement to Hatred Act (which is "a draconian, antichristic (sic) cup of Satan's slimy vomit, straight from the maw of hell") and that he was thus being set up by the UCD society. Shirley Phelps-Roper said Fred would come to Ireland only if pigs fly. "And," she added, "I mean really fly, not in a retouched photograph, or shot out of a catapult".
    Their hateful rhetoric has its "respectable" echoes in laws across much of America and Europe where gay people are in many instances still not allowed to marry or adopt children and can be dismissed from their jobs simply for living their lives openly. And is the God Hates Fags slogan all that different from the Catholic Church's "hate the sin, not the sinner?"

Like the established religions it claims to hate, the WBC is not for turning on the gay issue. Shirley tells me she is "sorry I was raised for the devil" and adds that she has a message for the people of Ireland.

"Your nation is doomed. But each of you has a never-dying soul. If you care about where you are going to spend eternity -- for ever, with no time off for good behaviour and no change except your increased capacity to withstand pain and with that capacity comes more pain -- then you will repent.

"Otherwise, the worms will eat out of you and the smoke of your torment will ascend upward for ever and ever and you'll have flames coming out of your eyes."

I tell her that we are working on the flying pig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

^^
    "dyke-enabler Mary Robinson":D

Mná na hEireann..I have procured ye bitches! Now make woven portraits of me and place them in the windows of carpet shops on Dame Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Chorcai

GR88 wrote: »
    I remember Sean Moncrieff ripping into Phelps daughter a few years ago, Was a pretty entertaining interview.

Yea that was quite good, he was really calm through the whole thing, but his final question I think was How can you have so much hate? plus asking her did she every have a gay experience -priceless

I was looking around there but cant find a recording of the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Jake1 wrote: »
    Good news story. The Westboro bapstist, had planned to picket the funeral of the 9 yr old child shot in Arizona a few days ago. For what reason, I have no idea.
    Today I read how the community are raising funs to make and supplie 8-10 ft angel wings, so they can form a cordon around the mourners from the bapstists.
    Businesse's are donating, and groups are getting together to make the large angel wings.

I think its brilliant the way this community plan to stop those hateful b******'s picketing a childs funeral.
    Looks like they wont get free speech this time, they will be drowned out. Also, a group of bikers are to help with blocking the picket.

Reading this cheered me up no end, like good winning over evil for a change.

http://edition.cnn.com/2011/US/01/11/arizona.funeral.westboro/index.html?hpt=T1

They're picketing because she was Catholic i think.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,989 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Chorcai wrote: »
    Yea that was quite good, he was really calm through the whole thing, but his final question I think was How can you have so much hate? plus asking her did she every have a gay experience -priceless

I was looking around there but cant find a recording of the interview.

I remember him saying ''You're like a bunch of homosexuals''
    her response was ''Oh Please'' and he responded ''Even that sounded gay''