Why do so many Irish people wear GAA jerseys in Australia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

aDeener wrote: »
    it's been said on one of the many gaa bashing threads

Oh, for Gods sake.

The jerseys look cheap and nasty, there has never been any appreciation of or interest in good design principles and the added value design can bring to marketing.

The o'neills short-shorts don't help I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Oh, for Gods sake.

The jerseys look cheap and nasty, there has never been any appreciation of or interest in good design principles and the added value design can bring to marketing.

The o'neills short-shorts don't help I suppose.

maybe not threads started off specifically about the gaa, but look at any of the ones regarding irish culture and the amount of sad, bitter comments about the gaa will be fairly evident

What GAA bashing threads? The jerseys are revolting anyway. They should go back to the olders ones with the white collars. Same with rugby jerseys.

It most certainly does.

oh bless you must have impeccably high standards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

I'm from Clare and when I was in Australia I used cross the street whenever I saw a Clare jersey in the distance coming towards me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

it's been said on one of the many gaa bashing threads before that women don't look great in gaa jerseys.

I prefer when they are out of the jersey myself.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Amy33 wrote: »
    I'm from Clare and when I was in Australia I used cross the street whenever I saw a Clare jersey in the distance coming towards me.

I would too. Spooky sh*t, a jersey floating towards you in the distance!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    If you read my posts you'll find I've absolutely nothing against the GAA. In fact I played it all the way through school.

I'm not saying every Irish person that goes there does that. I'm talking about the people who do go there and do that though.

A lot of the people who act like complete idiots abroad aren't the ones who stay there. A lot of them run home to Mammy's cooking and washing machine within the year.

As I've already said, it's not about throwing away your own identity and culture - it's the people who deliberately isolate themselves when they're abroad and make no effort whatsoever to even experience another culture. All these fools want to do is drink all day and show themselves up for what they are - f*cking eejits.

i here what your saying. but you have to understand that immigrants stick together. they occupy a social grouping. for example, how many polish people do you hang around with at home? i'd say if you were working class maybe a few but the higher up the social ladder you go the less you'd probably know. the same principle goes for the irish in australia as far as integration is concerned. alot of australians may not want to integrate with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Its their year or so abroad, let them do with it as they please, even if that mainly involves wearing gaa jerseys and drinking with Irish. How does it affect anyone else? There's a serious begrudgery on boards of people heading off to australia. A lot of people seem to have a chip on their shoulder that they cant go or didnt have the opportunity to go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Irish become more and more stereortypically Irish the further from ireland they get. Fact. And like Guinness, we dont always travel well.

df1985 wrote: »
    Its their year or so abroad, let them do with it as they please, even if that mainly involves wearing gaa jerseys and drinking with Irish. How does it affect anyone else? There's a serious begrudgery on boards of people heading off to australia. A lot of people seem to have a chip on their shoulder that they cant go or didnt have the opportunity to go.

How does it affect anyone else?

Communities get terrorized an vandalized. People are involved in fights. That's how it affects anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,147 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It's not begrudgery from folk who didn't go, if anything it's being annoyed that these people are lucky enough to have the opportunity to go but instead literally piss it away.

I have friends who would give their left one to go but can't because of kids, a mortgage etc and then you have these wasters who do absolutely nothing with their visa except get gee eyed with a load of Irish in an Irish bar for 12 months.

I have zero problem with the Irish who go to Oz to make a career and a living for themselves but I make no apologies for seeing the (stereotypically) GAA jersey brigade as nothing more than trouble making scum who I'll avoid at all cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

There's a serious begrudgery on boards of people heading off to australia. A lot of people seem to have a chip on their shoulder that they cant go or didnt have the opportunity to go.

Doesn't really have anything to do with Australia at all tbh. Could be any country. I don't like people leaving a bad impression of the Irish wherever they go....and like it or not this happens with increasing regularity and the GAA-jersey wearing types are generally to blame. It has nothing to do with begrudgery.

There's a serious begrudgery on boards of people heading off to australia. A lot of people seem to have a chip on their shoulder that they cant go or didnt have the opportunity to go.

A lot of people have been out there and seen it first hand so I don't think they're jealous about 'going away on the big airplane'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭SIMPLYTHE

Australia doesn't have any culture!

SIMPLYTHE wrote: »
    Australia doesn't have any culture!

Strewth mate you can't say that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

The wearing of GAA jerseys in places like Australia is actually a secret underground movement set in place to promote Irish business abroad. Leading Irish companies such as Supermacs, Bush Hotel, Crenagh Concrete (and of course Tracey Concrete) have all benefited enormously from the sight of pasty ginger haired men dressed in their garishly coloured local motley, proudly proclaiming the name of this and that company across the chest.

All in all it's been a great marketing success, in no small part due to the active participation of these ex-pats. In fact, Sports fans as so enthusiastic about this arrangement that rather than seek compensation for effectively converting themselves into walking sandwich boards they instead *pay* for the privilege of doing so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭jimmmy

paky wrote: »
    you have to understand that immigrants stick together. they occupy a social grouping. for example, how many polish people do you hang around with at home?
    . the same principle goes for the irish in australia as far as integration is concerned. alot of australians may not want to integrate with them

Getting drunk 24/7 and puking sick with fellow irish people all dressed in gaa tops ...is not the way to integrate in to the country you are going to.
    I suppose we have a history of not always integrating well / blending in to other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

prinz wrote: »
    Yes, there was a time when flying was a glamourous gentleman's pursuit. Now we let any riff-raff get off the ground.

Thats almost exactly what Neil Prendeville said several years back on his radio show, ironic, considering what eventually happened him..

I dont even own a GAA jersey, honestly id prefer to mingle with the locals...

Xavi6 wrote: »
    It's not begrudgery from folk who didn't go, if anything it's being annoyed that these people are lucky enough to have the opportunity to go but instead literally piss it away.

I have friends who would give their left one to go but can't because of kids, a mortgage etc and then you have these wasters who do absolutely nothing with their visa except get gee eyed with a load of Irish in an Irish bar for 12 months.

I have zero problem with the Irish who go to Oz to make a career and a living for themselves but I make no apologies for seeing the (stereotypically) GAA jersey brigade as nothing more than trouble making scum who I'll avoid at all cost.

its the same old story with alot of irish people. anywhere theres a cause for celebration their out getten pissed, not everyone but alot. take college for instance, the amount of people who get grants and free fees for college and completely throw away the opportunity getten pissed outof their heads is enormous. its a cultural problem we have in ireland and bondi beach shows us how shocking the problem really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Strewth mate you can't say that!

Flamin' galah.

How does it affect anyone else?

Communities get terrorized an vandalized. People are involved in fights. That's how it affects anyone else.

A Gaa jersey doesnt instantly turn someone into a vandal or a lunatic looking for a fight.

Im going travelling in september, into oz for xmas, I wont be living in bondi/coogee, I wont be pissed out of my head every day, but I dont give a crap if others choose to spend their time and money doing it. I agree, its a complete waste of a great opportunity but its their choice.

Only exception is when Kildare are playing.....then ill be one of the jersey wearing "scum" like the rest of them....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭ro_chez

Its MY year or so abroad, i was looking forward to getting away from this depressing cesspit of a country, and enjoy a new way of life but instead I pay best part of 3 grand and fly for 2 days just to end up in a hotter version of Dublin or Cork with taller frickin buildings and cunt5 in GAA jerseys.

ro_chez wrote: »
    Its MY year or so abroad, i was looking forward to getting away from this depressing cesspit of a country, and enjoy a new way of life but instead I pay best part of 3 grand and fly for 2 days just to end up in a hotter version of Dublin or Cork with taller frickin buildings and cunt5 in GAA jerseys.

Yes the WHOLE of Australia is now taken over by gaa jerseys....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

jimmmy wrote: »
    Getting drunk 24/7 and puking sick with fellow irish people all dressed in gaa tops ...is not the way to integrate in to the country you are going to.
    I suppose we have a history of not always integrating well / blending in to other countries.

:confused: Really? Many of these "Australians" would come from Ireland originally. How about the Irish in America, Britain or Canada? Again, pretty much all assimilated into the communities.

We are seeing a bad view here of travelling but I think that goes hand-in-hand with emigration. How many communities would have had their own mafias in earlier decades, the Irish, Italians, Asian etc. One of the things I hear a lot now in USA is how the Mexican mafia and gangs are very predominant in their communities with huge Mexican populations in American jails.

It is a bit embarrassing, but if you look at the whole emigrant picture, a few lads drinking and being loud is a lot better then having violent gangs, drug dealing, bringing Irish girls over for forced prostitution etc., which is far more evident in many other nationalities. So I will chose Irish/British/Australian/American drunks anyday over the other type of foreign communities.

In other words, perspective would be a good thing here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

i here what your saying. but you have to understand that immigrants stick together. they occupy a social grouping. for example, how many polish people do you hang around with at home? i'd say if you were working class maybe a few but the higher up the social ladder you go the less you'd probably know. the same principle goes for the irish in australia as far as integration is concerned. alot of australians may not want to integrate with them

I would have thought the opposite to be honest.

Irish people I know who have gone abroad to work in accounting, IT etc have all worked mostly with locals, whereas lads who go to work on sites end up working with big groups of other Irish.

:confused: Really? Many of these "Australians" would come from Ireland originally. How about the Irish in America, Britain or Canada? Again, pretty much all assimilated into the communities.

We are seeing a bad view here of travelling but I think that goes hand-in-hand with emigration. How many communities would have had their own mafias in earlier decades, the Irish, Italians, Asian etc. One of the things I hear a lot now in USA is how the Mexican mafia and gangs are very predominant in their communities with huge Mexican populations in American jails.

It is a bit embarrassing, but if you look at the whole emigrant picture, a few lads drinking and being loud is a lot better then having violent gangs, drug dealing, bringing Irish girls over for forced prostitution etc., which is far more evident in many other nationalities. So I will chose Irish/British/Australian/American drunks anyday over the other type of foreign communities.

In other words, perspective would be a good thing here.

The Irish mob were quite big in the states. don't know what it's like now though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

We have a history of precisely the opposite.

I don't know enough about the Irish in Australia to add too much to this conversation, but
    a) I'm sure that "getting drunk 24/7 and puking sick" is probably a little bit of an exaggeration. Really, are all Irish in Australia like that? You're being sensationalist I'm sure.
    b) The supposed connection between that behavior and GAA jerseys is ridiculous. Are you claiming that the jerseys are causing the bad behavior or what?

However I do know about the history of the Irish diaspora, enough to know that your claim in bold is entirely false.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

The Irish mob were quite big in the states. don't know what it's like now though

Oh yeah, exactly. I am sure they exist on some level (they became cops! :D) but my point was, compared to earlier generations of Irish or other European communities which moved country, this recent generation may be a bit loutish in some regards, but they are fricking angels compared to other nationalities or compared to earlier Irish generations.

hardCopy wrote: »
    I would have thought the opposite to be honest.

Irish people I know who have gone abroad to work in accounting, IT etc have all worked mostly with locals, whereas lads who go to work on sites end up working with big groups of other Irish.

an irish person in IT is more than likely going to be integrated into auz society rather than an irish person who works lower down the ladder.
    as far as i know most people can avail of the oz visa so all sorts go over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,527 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

ah...........................no