How are working students meant to survive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

How many warnings have we got from the international buisness community about the quality of graduates being supplied by ireland. A college educated populace with good grades benifits everybody in the country not just the person getting the degree and so should be supported in such a way as to relieve some pressure from students

my advise to the OP is to listen to more punk music or some other one that celebrates having feck all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    I don't expect anything. Thats why ive been working part/full time from the age of 16. I have a friend who live at home and gets more pocket money than i earn in the same week. he's 22 :rolleyes:

And i certainly do understand that it could be worse. i grew up in South Africa, and ive seen what other people go through, and it makes my life look much better, but i still feel like im paying for a bunch of tossers who tore the country apart.

I dont qualify for any apparently, besides some tax credits, of which i pay very little now that i earn very little anyway. i think it also has to do with the fact that i didnt "grow up" here and carry a South African passport. (im European though)

Ive already tried the loan route. the student bank who I've been banking with for years (I've no bad credit or anything) told me they cant give me one. the manager actually sat me down and apologized profusely for not being able to help. it seems the only way to get a loan these days is to prove you dont need it at all (i need a threshold income, of which no student meets i guess.)

Thats the thing though. College isnt free. i know it doesnt sound like much maybe to you, but €1742 "administration/registration fees" + lecture notes (and you cant survive without them) ++ many other things really starts to add up when you earn €80 per week, of which €50 goes to rent.

male. would if i could though.

im paying €200 a month yea. its a lovely house too, so i did get quite lucky in this respect. some of my friends pay nearly €300 (or another week and a bit wages to me)

Wait a minute!!!
    You said you earn 80 a week and that your wage has been dropped to 8 per hour. That being the case you work 10 hours a week which is basically ONE shift at whatever it is you do. Where's this 6 day a week working and woeful grades that you were on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

Third level education is not a basic human right. Dunno when people suddenly decided that everyone needed a degree.

It's called Academic Inflation.

timt wrote: »
    Art student?

Use your skills and either look of extra design work (ads, graphic design etc)

or

Murals, paintind houses etc

or

Do some paintings and try selling them

Theres a lot to be said for entrapenurship, plus your your own boss

Yeah, right. Who the fcuk is buying art these days? Oh I'm an art student I'll just whip up a little fresco here and make millions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

TL.;DR

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    I havent stated its my right. Im not very good at anything other than physics and computer science. so im doing a Physics degree. god knows there's no work for someone who likes to mess with a PC or 2.

Im actually in 1st year, doing a 4 year course. sorry about the confusion.
    as ive stated before, my own bank doesnt want to give me a loan, and i dont qualify for grants. coincidently, another poster reminded me of the main reason (which i had forgot about), being that my father lives in South Africa and therefore his income cannot be judged properly, (being a paranoid old bag he also would never sign his name on any paper i send him.)
    as i previously noted, i deferred my degree for 2 years and still dont have any money to speak of. also, that was the worst mistake of my educational life. taking a year or 2 out puts you well behind your classmates in terms of understanding stuff. putting it frankly, ive become quite stupid and forgetful of everything i learned previous to this: school science/maths etc. eg: formula gets written up. i vaguely remember seeing it somewhere. the rest of my class: deriving it and tearing it apart into dimensionless quantities already. back to me: what is the formula trying to do??:(:confused:

I'm well aware that a degree isnt my right, but my god im going to try get it. failing that, my children, like me, and my parents before me, will forever be stuck in this uneducated sespool of the lower economic social group. i just refuse to let that happen.

Are you handsome OP? I'm being serious!
    Get yourself a rich girlfriend or at least one who's somewhat financially independent. That way you can eat your meals over at her place and stay over a few nights hence cutting down on electricity bills and boosting your morale by snoozing next to a warm woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

lol not at all
    OP I know exactly where your coming from. College in this country is elitist, if you cant afford it you cant have it. I hope you find a way to work it out and get your qualification. Good luck:)

Get a loan OP.

Xios wrote: »
    OP
    Why are swimming against the current, go on the dole, get back to education allowance and still work part time...

tbh, you're not being smart about any of this. It's like your a kid trying to ram a square into the circle hole.

You have the rest of your life to be a labourer, take advantage of free gov money and think of it as a wage for learning. €190 a week on the dole for being a student full time is worth it, + rent allowance + grant + part time work if you have it.

Xios, is it true that you can be on the "Nat King Cole" and go to college fulltime? When was this the case? It certainly wasn't allowed when I went to college but then again I was living at home.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 200 ✭✭RoisinDove

I have always been so confused and curious about how some students are able to go through college the entire year, heading out drinking every week, going on weekends to madrid and sh*t during the college year and then when the summer comes around somehow they have enough money to go on a J1?? :confused::confused: How the F*CK do they get the money to do all these things? Where the F*CK is the money coming from? They don't work, they spend all their money in the week and then next thing they're announcing that they are going to f*cking Chicago for the summer!
    I finished college last May and had to work from June till November just to pay for a 2 week holiday to Egypt, please please tell me how Barbara down the road was able to afford to go to San Franchigaco Angeles York City for the entire summer then come home for a few weeks and then head of to Australia for a year?? :confused::confused: F*CK ME LIKE! :mad:

Mammy and Daddy. And people like this do often have part time jobs, but pay no rent at home, pay no college fees etc so their entire salary can be saved for travelling and going out. Nice life. :rolleyes:

Xios, is it true that you can be on the "Nat King Cole" and go to college fulltime? When was this the case? It certainly wasn't allowed when I went to college but then again I was living at home.

Wasnt allowed a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

OP I know exactly where your coming from. College in this country is elitist, if you cant afford it you cant have it. I hope you find a way to work it out and get your qualification. Good luck:)
    That's ridiculous. We have effectively free third level education in this country.

Still isn't allowed either. Students can't go on the dole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

RoisinDove wrote: »
    Mammy and Daddy. And people like this do often have part time jobs, but pay no rent at home, pay no college fees etc so their entire salary can be saved for travelling and going out. Nice life. :rolleyes:

jealousy is a b1tch

Still isn't allowed either. Students can't go on the dole.

So is Xios essentially talking nonsense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

Over a year but I'm on under 20k without any of the job perks promised, and the wage is ten grand less than advertised. Nearly got myself a good one there but got shafted because the other guy with less experience and no qualification was already living in the area.

He probably knew someone in the company as well given that he got the job with less experience. The old company I used to work for is actually hiring people on a commission only basis. Scandalous stuff. Wouldnt be cut out for sales myself. Best of luck with things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

bluewolf wrote: »

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/back_to_education/back_to_education_allowance.html

Provided you've been on the dole for 6 months before returning to education, you're entitled to BTEA (back to education allowance).
    New rules that came in this year don't allow you to receive both a Maintenance grant and the BTEA, but i started my course before these new rules. Also, you are allowed to apply for a maintenance grant to cover your registration fees, but nothing else.

I didn't use any loopholes or dodgy tricks, i just did my research and sent in the relevant forms, i also didn't throw hissy fits while talking to civil servants in the welfare office.

So for my entire college course, (during term months) i get 180 euro paid into my bank account every thursday. I'm unsure about the working part time while recieving the BTEA, but i'm sure there are allowances that are available, ie you can only work for X wages a week or something.

bluewolf wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure it's still not allowed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

BTEA is course specific though, so do your research OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

OisinT wrote: »
    Agreed. OP, that's life. If it's worth having, it's probably difficult to get.

It's not "IRELAND/POLITICIANS/DEVELOPERS" - the fact of the matter is that some people have to work their assess off if they want to go to college. Just be thankful that 3rd level education is effectively free here and you're not burdened with $100,000 worth of debt like you would be in the USA.

Grimes wrote: »
    it could be worse,you could have to pay for college.
    That's ridiculous. We have effectively free third level education in this country.

Since when was college free? The registration fee went from a few hundred --> 900 --> 1,500 --> 2,000. More at the likes of NUIG and UCC. At what point do we start saying college is no longer free? 5,000? 10,000? I'll be graduating this year with 18,000 of debt, which I don't mind, but don't tell me it's free! And why compare ourselves to the U.S.? Tis bad when we're saying at least we're not as bad as them!
    ArseBurger wrote: »
    Suck it up. If you think it's bad now, wait until you get a real job.

What does this mean? I can't wait to leave college, I might have a life then! 12/14 hour days 7 days a week...I've plenty of friends who have 'real' jobs and work way less. Thankfully I enjoy it so I don't mind.
    Welcome to life.

Welcome to life. The country is ruined by developers/banks/house buyers etc resulting in unexpected cuts to the min. wage, kind of messing up your degree, but ya know that's life. What can ya do. And we wonder why Brian Cowen is still Taoiseach...oh wait, everything that has happened is just life.
    Hey, thats life. Here's a brick ----> [] Use it to start building a bridge.

We're all in the same boat (well, those of us that work). I put my life on the line everyday for €20 disposable income a week. My bank pays my mortgage and charges me extra because i never have enough in the bank. I haven't been out socialising in 4 months, and i'm dodging the tv licence man. I need new runners but can't afford the €15 to buy the cheapest pair, etc, etc, etc.

But you don't hear me bitching. It's life.

Aren't you fantastic. Here's a ladder, you might get dizzy all the way up on that horse, so you should come down. That fact that this is how you live and all you do is say this is life. It's not normal. Not having €15 to buy runners is called poverty. So if you want to sit quiet and accept that life then do, but don't give out to the OP because he's angry at the way things have worked out.
    Third level education is not a basic human right. Dunno when people suddenly decided that everyone needed a degree. Nothing wrong with doing a trade or doing some other type of work.

If you really want to go to university, you should figure out your budget before you enrol, not in 4th year. If you can't make ends meet, there are plenty of grants and loans available. Universities also allow students to defer their studies for a year, which would be a great time to safe up.

Third level is definitely not a right, I agree. But a fair shot at it should be expected.
    Don't a lot of colleges offer a sort of hardship fund to students who cannot continue their studies due to financial difficulties? Maybe enquire about that, also, you could offer to pay them back when you could. I'd imagine you would have to prove your skintness to them though, which from what you have told us, should be no problem.

Good luck OP.

The hardship funds are ridiculous. I applied one year when I was living off €10/week for food and I received €100 in February. I was grateful for that money but it doesn't do much.
    dave 27 wrote: »
    as much as you probably dont want to hear this..8 euro an hour is still probably one of the highest wages you can get in europe and many other countries etc for a part time job..just wait until you finish college and get a job in the field of work your qualified for, this is good experience for you if anything

This point has no relevance. We are also one of the most expensive countries in Europe.
    I have always been so confused and curious about how some students are able to go through college the entire year, heading out drinking every week, going on weekends to madrid and sh*t during the college year and then when the summer comes around somehow they have enough money to go on a J1?? :confused::confused: How the F*CK do they get the money to do all these things? Where the F*CK is the money coming from? They don't work, they spend all their money in the week and then next thing they're announcing that they are going to f*cking Chicago for the summer!
    I finished college last May and had to work from June till November just to pay for a 2 week holiday to Egypt, please please tell me how Barbara down the road was able to afford to go to San Franchigaco Angeles York City for the entire summer then come home for a few weeks and then head of to Australia for a year?? :confused::confused: F*CK ME LIKE! :mad:

It's a little frustrating to see people jet off on J1s, trips to Thailand, Oz etc as you struggle but why wouldn't they? It's hardly their fault they're more fortunate and if I was in their shoes I would be off to San Franchigaco Angeles York City too. You only live once.
    Get a loan OP.

He's said already that he was refused. Loans aren't easy to come by.

Why are everyone jumping down the OPs throat? Instead of sponging off the State he's decided to work his way through college like loads of people do. Now his wage has been cut and he'll have to drop out and claim part dole to live. He has the right to be angry.
    People saying 'sure that's life' is sad. It's partly why FF & Co are still in Government. Wages cut, hospital beds shut, classrooms overcroweded etc etc all thanks to the recession and FF...but that's life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I worked all through college including weekends and last time I checked, I'm alive.

stovelid wrote: »
    I worked all through college including weekends and last time I checked, I'm alive.

I didn't do a tap and I'm still alive too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

When did 'semester' replace the word 'term' in Ireland :confused: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

kfallon wrote: »
    When did 'semester' replace the word 'term' in Ireland :confused: :rolleyes:

Some universities use semesters rather than terms. An academic year is usually divided into two semesters, or three terms, as such they are difference concepts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Columbia wrote: »
    Wow, I really can't believe the amount of non-advice in this thread, I do hope some of them are borne out of misplaced frustration because they really do reflect very badly on the posters in question. The number of antisocial clowns who go to college and do nothing but cause havoc for four years, and here's a guy doing a good degree and working hard for it, and all he gets is a load of posturing.

OP, find out if your college has a student welfare officer, explain your situation to them (make sure to mention you've had a cut in pay) and they may have access to an assistance fund. Failing that, go seek a student loan - it won't be a huge amount if you've only got one semester left.

All true especially the bold. Though you will come to get used to it on boards.

OP all i can suggest is trying to secure grants and pop down to the Credit Union for some advice on a loan. It wouldn't hurt to talk to a student advice counselor to see what options are available.

schween wrote: »
    Since when was college free? The registration fee went from a few hundred --> 900 --> 1,500 --> 2,000. More at the likes of NUIG and UCC. At what point do we start saying college is no longer free? 5,000? 10,000? I'll be graduating this year with 18,000 of debt, which I don't mind, but don't tell me it's free! And why compare ourselves to the U.S.? Tis bad when we're saying at least we're not as bad as them!

Registration fees =/= tuition. You are still getting top quality education for free, bar a nominal registration fee to cover administration and books etc.

Cry me a river your registration fee is 2,000 quid. You can't afford 5.50 a day?:rolleyes:

prinz wrote: »
    Some universities use semesters rather than terms. An academic year is usually divided into two semesters, or three terms, as such they are difference concepts.
    Terms can be any variable amount of time AFAIK. Semesters are half the academic year and Trimesters are a third of the academic year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 200 ✭✭RoisinDove

jealousy is a b1tch

Well, didn't I say they had a nice life? Must be great having no worries at all other than whether to go to California or Long Island for the J1. What bothers me is when they pull the 'I work so hard so I deserve it' act instead of acknowledging how lucky they are and how generous their parents are.

And third level is NOT free in Ireland! The 'registration fee' is now almost two grand, which as almost as much as English fees. That's 8 grand for a four year course, not counting rent and other living costs if you live away. Sure, it's cheaper than the US but that's a totally different society. Look at education in countries like France and Spain, it's only a few hundred a year, and you get subsidised housing. In Denmark they pay you a salary to study. In comparison, we get quite a raw deal, IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

schween wrote: »
    It's partly why FF & Co are still in Government. Wages cut, hospital beds shut, classrooms overcroweded etc etc all thanks to the recession and FF...but that's life!

There it is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Registration fees =/= tuition. You are still getting top quality education for free, bar a nominal registration fee to cover administration and books etc.

Cry me a river your registration fee is 2,000 quid. You can't afford 5.50 a day?:rolleyes:

some people can't afford 5.50 a day. It depends on their circumstances...back when I was in college 5.50 was a lot of money. My weekly grocery bill was usually 15 euro. my rent was 65 and I was making about 90 a week...that gave me 10 euro a week to spare which would then usually go towards heat or electricity...

That was my first couple of years, after that I started to work more than 3 days a week, also got a loan and things got a bit easier standard of living wise but worse for my grades...

I'd usually work off the fees and some of the rent from summer work and to do that I'd be working non stop..once worked 28 days in a row...