RTÉ 2 years left, unless finances are sorted out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭JDxtra

drdeadlift wrote: »
    Do you work in rte by any chance?

Just a regular viewer who’s not in the “I god damn hate everything to do with RTE” collective.

I know what the alternate is. It’s called TV3. And I don’t like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

mariaalice wrote: »
    RTE radio is very good there are some great documentaries etc on...as for the TV i like the news and a few other programs .. radio is way unrated i think its a much better medium than than television.

I agree 100% I actually spend more time listening to the radio than watching TV these days, I think RTE Radio and Lyric are excellent.....2fm not so sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

JDxtra wrote: »
    I know what the alternate is. It’s called TV3. And I don’t like it.

But you don't have to pay for it, and I think that is the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

From the article:
    An external financial review of the station's fiscal health was carried out to see if the 2009 pay cuts could be reversed

For me that is the most shocking line in that article.

Anyway.
    It is the national broadcaster apparently but apart from what they are showing, the thing that annoys me most if that they expect people to pay €160 and still have to go through 5 minutes of ads every 15/20 minutes.
    The amount of ads is just as bad as on any commercial channel that doesnt get their share of the tv-license, which for exactly that reason i am refusing to pay.

If it would work like in the UK (no adds at all on the BBC) or like in Holland (only ads between programs, never during on the national broadcasters) i might consider paying that license.

Best thing to collect it is have Sky/UPC and the likes collect it based on subscriptions.
    That way if you use yor tv only for gaming and dvd's you ll not have to worry about the tv-license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

This post right here sums up what's wrong with boards.ie. You want to have a go at RTE and you don't care how you do it. On one hand it's people who only have a job cause of political pull but you also have a problem with someone who started out doing work experience and worked his way to the top.

Moan all you want about massive pay packets but basically you're just jealous because you're not receiving one. And if given the chance to earn one would you say "ah you know, that's too much money lads, especially in this day and age".

I'm not tubridy's biggest fan but I remember when he used to follow pat kenny around handing out free pens to people. He has worked hard and continues to work hard so deserves whatever he gets.

It may be cool to slate RTE but at least they make a lot of homegrown shows. It's criminal that they're under pressure when TV3 otherwise known as lowest common denominator telly continues to thrive with horrendous reality TV and virtually no home grown entertainment. It's horrible candy for the Facebook generation.

No, it's criminal that an organisation that has a guaranteed annual income of €160 off every household in the country and has probably the highest costing advertising slots, AND is the most watched set of channels in the country*, can't keep itself afloat financially, when it is entrusted with the responsibility of being the national broadcaster.

*: This is the case with most Irish homes
    JDXtra wrote:
    However, RTE 1 and 2 are still the most watched channels in my home (>75% of viewing time).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

They should add up the accounts again. They might have made a mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Zeouterlimits

Stopped watching Irish telly (RTE, TV3 or TG4) years ago, so this wouldn't think this would be a big loss to me personally, but huge to my parents.
    They've always just stuck with the 4 channels and it would be a big blow to them to be without at least two of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

What a shower of dickless wonders RTE employ. They could always do something like The Running Man with their stars. It's the only way they could justify making such silly sums. It's the same in so many sectors. Genuine talent doesn't get a chance and it all goes abroad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Shryke wrote: »
    What a shower of dickless wonders RTE employ. They could always do something like The Running Man with their stars. It's the only way they could justify making such silly sums. It's the same in so many sectors. Genuine talent doesn't get a chance and it all goes abroad.

I live to see you eat that contract Tubridy, but I hope you leave enough room for my fist because I'm going to ram it into your stomach and break your god-damn spine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

pat kenny , ryan tubbs, gerry ryan (hes sorted out now) , marian fenuuuuuuuuuuuuwtf, gay byrne for the odd appearence - all need to just be sacked , get rid of the angelus and any of that rte spiritual shíte nobody watches , reformat the late late show and employ somebody young but sound in the head (unlike tubbs) wholl work for less than 120k a year , turn off all the old services like AM or longwave if any of thats still operating , start broadcasting over freesat to make it more appealing to advertisers , get people who know what theyre doing with shows, make it worth paying the licence fee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

RTE in it's current configuration should be allowed to fail. I have a lecturer who mentioned the strong links between fianna fail and rte, he has spoken to some Fianna Fail TDs who fail to understand that RTE not there to be a platform for Fianna Fail, that it is in fact an autonomous organisation. (There was some trouble when RTE showed that painting of Brian Cowen in the nip).
    Hopefully a new political regime will overhaul RTE and turn it into a reputable national broadcaster. I believe having a national broadcaster with the public's interest at heart is a top priority in this day and age for any nation, which is why RTE needs a shake down. I have friends who work there, young people at the bottom of the ladder, I feel sorry for them. But these people might never move up due to the way RTE operates, and these are the people who could be doing big things and bringing the station into the 21st century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well, I thi...........wait, I don't have a TV and don't watch any of the drivel RTÉ has been shovelling out for the past few years.

The only people I'd feel bad for are the ones at the bottom earning a wage and the ones that keep everything flowing and operating for our national "stars".............bunch of fúckwits. There's ones who deserve to be where they are after working their asses off for years while others have just been taking the piss.

Fùck, has anything in this country been properly managed without having been brought to the brink of financial ruins?*

*exaggeration sentence :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

inforfun wrote: »

It is the national broadcaster apparently but apart from what they are showing, the thing that annoys me most if that they expect people to pay €160 and still have to go through 5 minutes of ads every 15/20 minutes.
    The amount of ads is just as bad as on any commercial channel that doesnt get their share of the tv-license, which for exactly that reason i am refusing to pay.

If it would work like in the UK (no adds at all on the BBC) or like in Holland (only ads between programs, never during on the national broadcasters) i might consider paying that license.

To be fair, the licence fee revenue for BBC is massively higher, given the population of the U.K., compared to RTE. Not making excuses but for a country of 4 million people, a good proportion of them too young or too old to pay fees and, if Boards is to be believed (I'm skeptical! :D ), a huge amount of people not paying, there is no way to finance that many bodies without ad revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I never watch RTE now, I used to occasionally watch the weather forecast. But not anymore since I discovered Mr. MT Cranium over in the weather forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Millicent wrote: »
    To be fair, the licence fee revenue for BBC is massively higher, given the population of the U.K., compared to RTE. Not making excuses but for a country of 4 million people, a good proportion of them too young or too old to pay fees and, if Boards is to be believed (I'm skeptical! :D ), a huge amount of people not paying, there is no way to finance that many bodies without ad revenue.

I see your point. Those 2 markets i came up with cant be compared to the Irish one.
    But i can tell you this, in Holland there are not many "tv-stars" paid €600.000 a year.
    One of the highest paid, high profile presenters over there, daily show of about an hour, earned €400.000 in 2008.

Not hard to see what has to happen first in order to make RTE a bit more healthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

to be honest i only ever watch rte for shows like csi, grey's, home & away...etc all foreign

Well if you like the foreign offerings of HBO/SHOWTIME then don't expect to see them on RTE for the next three years.
    Sky have the rights now sown up for all of the following......

Broadwalk Empire
    Treme
    Entourage
    Weeds
    Big Love
    Curb Your Enthusiasm
    Game of Thrones
    In Treatment
    The Borgias
    Mad Men (LoL I'm sure Tubridy will be able to afford SKY though)

So as a drama lover you'll be getting less for your €160 over the next three years.
    Still there's always fair city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

mikom wrote: »
    It would want to be........... Marian finucane €570,000 a year for a 2hr show on Sat/Sun

after very little in depth research i've found that Barrack Obama gets paid roughly €309,536 per annum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

As much as we like to moan about excessive saleries the pay for the "famous names" accounts for few % of the income of RTE. Whats required is a much more substantial re-organisation of RTE.

First - ditch RTE all 'first run' imports from the US. RTE pays top whack to stop TV3 getting them thus skewing the market as TV3 can't subsidise their purchase with licence fee income.

Second - sell off 2FM as a going concern.

Third - do deals with TV3/Setanta for joint purchasing of sports rights.

Forth - No long term contracts for anyone

Fifth - Ditch peripherals like the Concert Orchestra, the the state wants one it can fund it directly, sell rights to sponser it - The "Intel National Orchestra"

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
    RTÉ Concert Orchestra
    RTÉ Philharmonic Choir
    RTÉ Cór na nÓg
    RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet

Sixth - Close down regional studios, one bloke and his handycam working from the kitchen can upload material to Montrose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

mike65 wrote: »
    As much as we like to moan about excessive saleries the pay for the "famous names" accounts for few % of the income of RTE. Whats required is a much more substantial re-organisation of RTE.

First - ditch RTE all 'first run' imports from the US. RTE pays top whack to stop TV3 getting them thus skewing the market as TV3 can't subsidise their purchase with licence fee income.

Second - sell off 2FM as a going concern.

Third - do deals with TV3/Setanta for joint purchasing of sports rights.

Forth - No long term contracts for anyone

Fifth - Ditch peripherals like the Concert Orchestra, the the state wants one it can fund it directly, sell rights to sponser it - The "Intel National Orchestra"

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
    RTÉ Concert Orchestra
    RTÉ Philharmonic Choir
    RTÉ Cór na nÓg
    RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet

Sixth - Close down regional studios, one bloke and his handycam working from the kitchen can upload material to Montrose.

That's the way to ensure quality! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think this is terrible sad news, people seem to be forgetting this is a state broadcaster which means it's the peoples broadcaster and is supposed to be the voice or the debate arena of the Irish people.

A small minority have corrupted one of our institutions and people don't seem to associate it with themselves and are happy to see it fail.

Irish people don't seem to want any responsibility for their country and blame every one else other than themselves for it's demise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

ScumLord wrote: »
    it's the peoples broadcaster and is supposed to be the voice or the debate arena of the Irish people.

Boards.ie works better, and for a whole lot less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭GTE

I would prefer to see RTE get a kick up the ass to cut the wages and produce better programming (for better advertising revenue) instead of having to rely on that dogs dinner that is TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭GTE

mikom wrote: »
    Boards.ie works better, and for a whole lot less.

You are forgetting the people who wouldn't have the access, skill or interest needed to use the forum properly. And I doubt every single person has a bull**** filter good enough to warrant moving all the political debate etc to a forum based website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Celtic Tiger salaries that are still being paid two years into a critically depressed economy, the only outcome possible is failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 smug

Another problem with RTE is that its Unionised to death. Want to hammer in a nail? You have to call the carpenter. Mr Carpenter, can you clean up after yourself please? No sorry, dats not moi job, how dare you ask me to do dat, Oim calling a stroike.

And the waste is criminal. Endless junkets, subsidised canteen, huge holidays, countless pencil pushers doing sfa and clocking out at 3pm. And anyone says boo, and there's an "emoirgincy union meetin" and a threat of a "stroike".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Im not surprised to hear about this crisis. How the fcuk can a little tv/radio station like rte afford to pay someone like marian finucane 570k a year. Pat Kenny, Tubridy what are they on? something like a quarter of a million euro a year? And there are at least 10 other rte top earners on 100k - 200k a year. We're talking about a tv station with a maximum audience of 4 million people in a recession crippled broke ass little country.

Its like a little miniature example of the government & the population. Grossly paid topearners & the rest of the worker bees get paid a fraction to help keep the greedy pigs at the top happy. The worker bees will get the chop to save egos upstairs.

If the top earners actually gave a sh!t about our national tv station they should have no problem taking a hefty pay cut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Im not surprised to hear about this crisis. How the fcuk can a little tv/radio station like rte afford to pay someone like marian finucane 570k a year. Pat Kenny, Tubridy what are they on? something like a quarter of a million euro a year? And there are at least 10 other rte top earners on 100k - 200k a year. We're talking about a tv station with a maximum audience of 4 million people in a recession crippled broke ass little country.

Its like a little miniature example of the government & the population. Grossly paid topearners & the rest of the worker bees get paid a fraction to help keep the greedy pigs at the top happy. The worker bees will get the chop to save egos upstairs.

If the top earners actually gave a sh!t about our national tv station they should have no problem taking a hefty pay cut.

It's the same thing that has us right here where we find ourselves today, greed, greed and more f*cking greed as the man says...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    Even with TV licences and adverts?

They should cut it down to one channel and stop showing sh1t TV.

I've seen this line trotted out so many times, and yet 3 times this past weekend, with 200-odd channels on Sky, there's been nothing worthwhile watching on any of them.

Sh1t TV isn't an issue with just RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭proon4

Poor auld Joe.."The working mans friend from Ballyfermot" Must be sh;;iting himself....
    And his auld buddy Bertie cant do a ting for him...All dat loyalty to FF and nuting dey can do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I've seen this line trotted out so many times, and yet 3 times this past weekend, with 200-odd channels on Sky, there's been nothing worthwhile watching on any of them.

Sh1t TV isn't an issue with just RTE.

Dare i say it i like rte tv. I know that probably sounds very uncool with the angry rte hating brigade. I fcuking hate sky except for the sport. Sky is repeat after repeat after repeat. Great for switching channels every 3 seconds & those who enjoy ads. I like bbc & channel 4 but you don't need sky to get them. Sky is a load of bollox.