Favorite holiday places/experiences in the world.

Ive done a lot of usual holiday things. Nice hotels restaurants etc.

But the most laid back slowed down time I ever had was hanging with a Rastafarian family in ST Lucia. Ive been there loads of things and know some of the locals really well. One day a good friend took us into the countryside where his aunt and uncle had built their own house.

The house was made from Earth. They built it themselves. Hard compacted earth.
    There were no doors and windows per se, just stragically placed openings for breeze flow. This family lived totally off the grid. No running indoor water, they had a spring instead, no electricity, they bartered for candle wax, they also bartered fish and Lobster for any cash they might ever need, but they told me they didnt need cash, as Jah provided everything. The had pinnaples mango fig trees coconut trees, they grew their own herbs, vegetables, grew their own weed, their own tobacco.They had their own oil from the palms, they even made their own soap.
    They relied on 'De Man' for nothing. Their life was so peaceful and beautiful. They lived this beautiful sustainable lifestyle on less than an acre of land. But a more bountiful place, I have never come across. It was like going back in time. They were so friendly and sharing with us, giving us large amounts of fruit and veg and herbs to take away. Just beautiful peaceful people. Ill never forget them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

New York was one of my favourite city holidays. I've been to other parts of the US and Spain. Paris is nice but wouldn't think its a family holiday more a romantic place to go. New York is great for the sight seeing and shopping. Loads to do there. I'm not one for adventure holidays. Either it be sight seeing or sun holidays I be more into. I like a relaxing and joyful one places I've never seen before or only just heard of or seen in photos or on TV its nice to see the place for real with your own eyes...its like wow!:cool: I'd love to go to Australia sometime though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭scoll

Skiing in Switzerland. Having the snow taller than you. The view of the alps. It's breathtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

i havent been to many being only 19, but Berlin was it for me so far. the people, the buildings and the history. as a ww2 lover i couldnt get enough of Berlin, i remember the first time i woke past an old building and saw what i thought was a weird design, but what actually turned out to be hundreds of bullet holes from ww2, amazing.
    my trip to the ardennes will probably top that though i feel:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Can't decide between wandering around Rome in sheer amazement or hurtling down a mountain on a pair of skis north of Milan.

Skiing I think, incredible buzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭MsDarcy

La Mole , a tiny little village in the south of France
    Koh Phi Phi/ Koh tao Thailand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

New York is my favorite ,I never get bored with that city.It also feels very safe so long as you don't go past the halfway point in central park or so I was told by a cop over there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Jake1 wrote: »
    Ive done a lot of usual holiday things. Nice hotels restaurants etc.

But the most laid back slowed down time I ever had was hanging with a Rastafarian family in ST Lucia. Ive been there loads of things and know some of the locals really well. One day a good friend took us into the countryside where his aunt and uncle had built their own house.

The house was made from Earth. They built it themselves. Hard compacted earth.
    There were no doors and windows per se, just stragically placed openings for breeze flow. This family lived totally off the grid. No running indoor water, they had a spring instead, no electricity, they bartered for candle wax, they also bartered fish and Lobster for any cash they might ever need, but they told me they didnt need cash, as Jah provided everything. The had pinnaples mango fig trees coconut trees, they grew their own herbs, vegetables, grew their own weed, their own tobacco.They had their own oil from the palms, they even made their own soap.
    They relied on 'De Man' for nothing. Their life was so peaceful and beautiful. They lived this beautiful sustainable lifestyle on less than an acre of land. But a more bountiful place, I have never come across. It was like going back in time. They were so friendly and sharing with us, giving us large amounts of fruit and veg and herbs to take away. Just beautiful peaceful people. Ill never forget them.
    I know a couple of families like this. It sounds great, and it is for a short while.
    But what if, like you, one of their kids decides he wants to visit another country? What money has he got? What if he decides he wants to go on holidays and see the world? etc. Basically they live happily but what life opportunities or options do their kids have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 acfan

West Glacier, Montana! Fantastic scenery and THE nicest people I have ever met :-) Fantastic place! Would walk back if I could!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Monument Valley.

Slept out under the stars, guided tour with Native Americans and up at 5am for the most spectacular sunrise ever. The grand Canyon paled in comparison.

Also got to go to the road when Forrest Gump stopped running near monument valley:D
    http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ5aUehwcQ6uAVuK3XhHHjh8JvJAGOllAw2hqiEUp77yDhm1eKNFQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭AntiMatter

One of the most amazing things I've seen were the Ellora Caves in India, which had Buddhist, Hindu and Jainist temples all carved out of the side of a mountain, 30 odd temples or so.

The largest took something like 30 generations, just tapping away with their hammers and chisels, to make the stone-cut temples.

In this video, imagine that this was solid rock, and they chipped from the top of the mountain down to create it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Rome, fantastic history.

Berlin, great buzz and history and cheap compared to other European Capitals.

But the top destination for a return to is New Zealand. I'm planning a return trip for at least three months of tramping! Hopefully in the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

MsDarcy wrote: »
    La Mole , a tiny little village in the south of France
    Koh Phi Phi/ Koh tao Thailand

Ye Phi Phi is nice, but I preferred the West side of Koh Pha-Ngan. The south is all tacky for the full moon party, but i stayed in these huts called "Cookies Bungalows". No TVs or anything, just pure chilled out relaxing music. Bliss! And you're a matter of feet away from the beach.

I also loved the Whitsundays/Airlie Beach. Been there twice and its by far my favourite place in Oz, if only for the craic you can have in the hostels, although mainly for Whitehaven Beach and the general area with all the islands, clear water, dolphins and other marine life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭Simon Adebisi

Yosemite Vally, California, standing under El Capitan looking up and feeling damn insignificant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Such a big world - so many amazing places.

If I'd say one thing to any young person, especially in the current economic climate, it would be go and see it while you can, while oil still exists and cheap air travel is affordable for the masses.

Get off the beaten track where you can. The best experiences are those that are unscripted, spur-of-the-moment, not listed in any guidebook. Meet the locals, try to speak a few words of their language and hang out with them. Enjoy the many wonderful differences of culture that exists on this planet.

For me, among many highlights have been seeing the Northern Lights in Iceland, getting hammered on a skyscraper rooftop with Cuban emigres in San Francisco, visiting a queen in her palace in India, staying overnight with tribespeople in the northern Thai hills, and walking with lions in Zimbabwe.

But I've had just as much fun closer to home too - drinking whiskey in Scotland, having a coffee by Notre Dame in Paris, clambering over the Giant's Causeway in a rainstorm.

Almost everywhere I've been becomes a new favourite, and it becomes harder and harder to find the time and money to return to places I've loved because new places beckon.

I wouldn't have it any other way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Barcelona- It's always sunny and the prostitutes are so pretty!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

skiing in Chamonix mont blanc, you would not need to ski here it is so beautiful with so much more to do than skiing.

Vegas. I just had the most fun, I pretty much just laughed all week, never went to bed before dawn, won loadsa money playing blackjack and craps. One of the best weeks of my life tbh.

Paris will always be my favourite city in the world though. *sigh* it's just so pretty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Madrid. I love that place. I lived there for a while and, hopefully, will go back when I finish college. Best place I've ever been.

Toronto is really cool too, a distant second though.

Vegas. I just had the most fun, I pretty much just laughed all week, never went to bed before dawn, won loadsa money playing blackjack and craps. One of the best weeks of my life tbh.

Paris will always be my favourite city in the world though. *sigh* it's just so pretty.

Paris is pretty but the french are horrible to deal with ,so bloody awkward.That's why I haven't gone back

I find them the complete opposite, I love the french, never met a french person I didn't like!

Now the Belgians, they're a whole 'nother story, would never set foot back it Brussels!

I find them the complete opposite, I love the french, never met a french person I didn't like!

Now the Belgians, they're a whole 'nother story, would never set foot back it Brussels!

Ahh now don't get me started on the Belgians ,they just hate everyone from every country:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,210 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

5000 feet above sea level in the South California mountains around Lake Arrowhead such a nice place

Ahh now don't get me started on the Belgians ,they just hate everyone from every country:pac:

Even their own :rolleyes: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

bitez in turkey,

nice quiet area with fantastic views, sailing around the greek islands and the turkish coast was amazing.

scuba diving was fantastic too!

relaxing, fun, and fantastic locals, it was my favorite holiday so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Coral Bay in Western Australia is amazing and snorkelling with Whale Sharks is pretty cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭awesom_o

Boston in the US.
    Ok, yes, its a generic.. but with an Irish accent, you become a local celebrity. Oh and hearing yanks speaking cupla focal is always an experience too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Lived and worked in Belgium for 2 years. Really nice people expect the dirty Moroccans hanging around at night in Brussels. Fantastic beer too!

Lived and worked in Germany for a year back in the 90's - really enjoyed that.

While working in central Europe I travelled all over the place to include France, Spain, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Czech Republic. Some of the cities I visited were Paris, Barcelona, Budapest, Warsaw, Krakow, Bucharest, Brasov, Prague, and all over Belgium & Germany

Best holiday I had was NYC in 2000 - really love the states!

Getting married later this year and itinerary as follows:

2 nights in NYC
    6 nights in Vegas (getting married there)
    Hire Dodge Challenger and drive I-40 / Route 66 to Santa Monica
    2 nights in LA
    Then drive PCH to San Fran and fly home from there - can't wait!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Lived and worked in Belgium for 2 years. Really nice people expect the dirty Moroccans hanging around at night in Brussels. Fantastic beer too!

Lived and worked in Germany for a year back in the 90's - really enjoyed that.

While working in central Europe I travelled all over the place to include France, Spain, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Czech Republic. Some of the cities I visited were Paris, Barcelona, Budapest, Warsaw, Krakow, Bucharest, Brasov, Prague, and all over Belgium & Germany

Best holiday I had was NYC in 2000 - really love the states!

Getting married later this year and itinerary as follows:

2 nights in NYC
    6 nights in Vegas (getting married there)
    Hire Dodge Challenger and drive I-40 / Route 66 to Santa Monica
    2 nights in LA
    Then drive PCH to San Fran and fly home from there - can't wait!

Given your honeymoon plans, I hope 'dirty Mexicans' are more your cup o' tea:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Boston.
    I love it there, everyone is so laid back and the accents are just class. Plus everyone seemed to love us just for being Irish, which I found strange considering the amount of Irish people that live there, tbh.

New York is pretty cool too, though Times Square, Broadway all that jazz was good enough. But I preffered the 'rougher' parts of it, it was soo different to Times Square it was kinda surreal.