Flight stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

A plane will take horrendous punishment before it will break... usually the occupants break first! Though having said that people still are afraid of their sht of turbulence. I can understand why, it's not very pleasant.

they really can take a beating, wasnt there a famous case about 5 years ago, a BA flight off the west cost of africa hit a pocket of "empty air" and dropped 700ft instantly. The plane was ok and made the rest of the flight but there were a number of broken limbs in the cabin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

seipeal1 wrote: »
    Very good answer. I like you. I walked. Started at 20 years old, finished at 22. Questions?
    Yeah, why do you hate flying? It's an irrational fear.

My flight stories are just boring hours flying to and from US for work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

It's not the flying I'm afraid of, it's the crashing and dying bit that freaks me out.

On a flight a few years back and just as we were about to take off and some people were still getting settled into their seats we heard this mad screaming from the back of the plane. A guy with special needs had taken a dislike to the guy in the seat in front of him, grabbed his head and started clawing at his eyes whilst screaming and roaring, frightened the shite out of the entire plane. He had to be pulled off him and taken off the plane.

Had to make an emergency landing in Paris a few years back too, I wasn't too bothered about it all, was only a teenager, but my Mom said "We are going way too fast for how low we are", sure enough we thumped down onto the runway with a good bit of extra force, pilot apologised saying he had misjudged it, ha.

My uncle was on a flight once and the pilot announced the usual entering turbulence put on your seatbelts thing. Before he could finish the sentence they hit a pocket of air and fell FAR!, my uncle said anyone not strapped in hit the roof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Spadina wrote: »

On a flight a few years back and just as we were about to take off and some people were still getting settled into their seats we heard this mad screaming from the back of the plane. A guy with special needs had taken a dislike to the guy in the seat in front of him, grabbed his head and started clawing at his eyes whilst screaming and roaring, frightened the shite out of the entire plane. He had to be pulled off him and taken off the plane.

Had to make an emergency landing in Paris a few years back too, I wasn't too bothered about it all, was only a teenager, but my Mom said "We are going way too fast for how low we are", sure enough we thumped down onto the runway with a good bit of extra force, pilot apologised saying he had misjudged it, ha.

My uncle was on a flight once and the pilot announced the usual entering turbulence put on your seatbelts thing. Before he could finish the sentence they hit a pocket of air and fell 10,000 ft, my uncle said anyone not strapped in hit the roof.

Would have loved to see that ,especially the fellas reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Dan133269

kerryman12 wrote: »
    they really can take a beating, wasnt there a famous case about 5 years ago, a BA flight off the west cost of africa hit a pocket of "empty air" and dropped 700ft instantly. The plane was ok and made the rest of the flight but there were a number of broken limbs in the cabin.

what is a pocket of empty air?
    Spadina wrote: »
    It's not the flying I'm afraid of, it's the crashing and dying bit that freaks me out.

My uncle was on a flight once and the pilot announced the usual entering turbulence put on your seatbelts thing. Before he could finish the sentence they hit a pocket of air and fell 10,000 ft, my uncle said anyone not strapped in hit the roof.

10,000 feet? :cool:

Today on leaving the plane the cabin crew member told us to "enjoy the rest of this miserable day in Brussels." :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

biko wrote: »
    Yeah, why do you hate flying? It's an irrational fear.

That article only applies to Americans, the OP is screwed on the shark front

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

I have never heard of a plane falling 10,000 feet. You're saying the aircraft 'fell' nearly two miles, or a third of its overall altitude? No.

Also I think the 'empty air' being referred to above is descending air.

Also, a fear of heights, snakes and creepy crawlies is totally rational, it's ingrained into our psyche through evolution for our own safety. I think the brain doesn't register flight as being high because you're not connected to the ground. Check this sh!t out though:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzgAm1tyo1g&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Thing about having a scary moment on a flight is if the incident is accompanied with a hysterical scream from some panicky person it makes it all the more scary. I hate that sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

A young woman had to be restraint on an Are Lingus flight from Heathrow to Dublin. She was shouting at the air hostess in a worried manner along the lines of "I hate flying, I hate flying, I'm just warning you, I hate flying"...

Me and this other guy, observing this, turned and said "Jesus Christ, I've been flying for the last 36 hours". I was in the same position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

A young woman had to be restraint on an Are Lingus flight from Heathrow to Dublin. She was shouting at the air hostess in a worried manner along the lines of "I hate flying, I hate flying, I'm just warning you, I hate flying"...

Me and this other guy, observing this, turned and said "Jesus Christ, I've been flying for the last 36 hours". I was in the same position.

Was it a bit like this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Thing about having a scary moment on a flight is if the incident is accompanied with a hysterical scream from some panicky person it makes it all the more scary. I hate that sh!t.

I have to restrain myself from running along the aisle screaming "we're all gonna die!", just to trigger off the ones trembling in their seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

I have a few stories,
    I was in shannon a few years back and we were flying to glasgow on a ryanair flight and the doors were closed by the air hostesses for take off. There was then some loud banging on the back door immiediately afterwards.

The air hostess opened the rear door and a maintenance guy started shouting at her in front of everyone as the plane had not been refeuled :D

He went up and reported her to the captain.

Another one for you
    Only last friday i was getting off a ryanair flight and got out at the front exit. The pilots door was open when i was passing and i had a look in. Im not joking he was sitting there looking through a copy of nuts magazine. He looked about 30 so may have not been the main pilot but i had a picture in my head of him looking through it at 33000 feet as well. I was thinking at least we are in the care of true professionals :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭dx22

We were about to land in Knock airport once, summers days clear blue skies and then there was a really loud bang and the plane completely lit up, plane start to ascent again and the pilot said we were hit by lighting and could not land in knock as the didnt have the right (emergency?) equipment there. Plane had to fly back to dublin. A 3.5 hour bus trip back to knock. I always thought that lighting strikes should not interfere with a flight?? Everyone calm about it tho

Another time landing in knock in a storm in an aer arann prop plane very scary as plane landed sideways on the runway. Captain came on intercom and said sorry for the rough landing and surprisingly admitted it was one of the toughest landings he had ever done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

About seven years ago B737 from Dallas to Cincinatti mid week. Approx 20 passengers on the plane, super fast take off/climb out as plane empty but then bang right into a storm. Horrific turbulence for about 1 hour after take off. No service and cabin crew seated and strapped in the whole time. Eventually climbed into cloudless skies at 40,000 (about 1,000 below max altitude for B 737). First time I was so high in plane. Coming into Cincinatti pilot said it would be bumpy and it was a little bit not bad crossed the runway threshold all fine and just as wheels touched down the plane flipped down on the left hand side and you felt like you were going to tip over then 1-2 seconds later we were level and fine. Scary though.

dx22 wrote: »

Another time landing in knock in a storm in an aer arann prop plane very scary as plane landed sideways on the runway. Captain came on intercom and said sorry for the rough landing and surprisingly admitted it was one of the toughest landings he had ever done

That's a crosswind and is standard crosswind landing (sideways)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Depends on the plane. The 'wing down' method allows you to fly with the nose pointed directly at the runway, 'slipping' into the wind. Both can be done with light aircraft. Haven't a clue what's standard practice with a large one or not though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,198 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Commoner Irish people who go on their holidays to Package holiday hell like to clap when the plane lands.

Fvcking proletariat :rolleyes:

Berty wrote: »
    Commoner Irish people who go on their holidays to Package holiday hell like to clap when the plane lands.

Fvcking proletariat :rolleyes:

THAT has to be the most annoying thing ever ,so bloody retarded.Id say the cabin crew just cringe when it happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

THAT has to be the most annoying thing ever ,so bloody retarded.Id say the cabin crew just cringe when it happens

You know that you've avoided death somewhere en-route when the crew clap after the plane's landed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,198 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Nah the cabin crew probably put out a hat or some sort because they are the same fools who tip the coach driver so might actually try to tip the crew. :rolleyes:

On Flight Stories.

I was flying over India back in 2001 and it was midnight or something(who knows the way the timezones are) and there was a massive thunder and lightning storm over the himalayas(or whatever) and the woman in the middle row of the plane asks me to close the blind. I told her to politely fvck off. How often do you get to fly through a thunder and lightning storm and get to see the mountains light up like that ffs. :eek:

On a flight recently from Dublin to Glasgow the pilot kept reffering to our flight to Edinburgh. One of the air hostess's(people who sell papers) had to go up and tell him. I was getting a little concerned. :D

I was walking across the tarmac in Paris a few weeks back and my boarding pass blew out of my hand and disappeared off in the direction of the runway. It caused annoyance to the crew because I couldnt remember what seat number I was supposed to have. All the people trying to board gave me the universal language of "TUT" :mad:

planes are cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

I had airfighters pull up alongside a flight I had taken from shannon to London but we were never given a explanation for them they stayed by the plane for about 10 minutes and then flew away, scariest moment Ive ever had I thought there must have been a terrorist on board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Hilarious story. Last time i took a flight, i decided to stick myself down as "Dr." instead of "Mr." for the craic. Some lad had a heart attack on the flight and the hostess told me i had to do something. I told her i was a doctor of the arts. I'm actually not a doctor at all.

Your man died. But i painted an amazing picture and sent it to his widow. She hasn't replied.

Ah i guess you had to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Trevor451

I remember when I was younger we were taking off from Dublin to Cyprus and the weather was really bad that day. The captain warned us that there was going to be severe turbulence after we take off :eek: Two passengers on the plane then demanded that they should be let off. They were let off eventually but the plane but it took another 30 mins to push back since they had to find there luggage :rolleyes:

Anyway we were about 1 minute after take off and the plane started to drop suddenly. It felt like it was dropping hundreds of feet each time :eek: I started to cry (I was young at this time :o ) and my dad started to laugh at how everybody else was so scared :p

Also just last year we were flying to Tunisia. We arrived at the gate and we saw the aircraft we were about to fly on pull up to the gate and looked so old. When we eventually sat down in the aircraft I noticed that there was some cracks on the ceiling of the cabin. Thankfully we made safely to our destination :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭awesom_o

The biggest problem I generally have when I fly somewhere is the fact that I can't smoke. Before checking in, I smoke a good bit. Between the time spent waiting in the gate, on the flight itself and getting my bags/leaving the airport, it does be ages until I get one.
    When I was flying to the US, a lady attempted to disable the smoke alarm in the jacks to have a smoke. She was caught by the staff on-board and when the plane landed, the FBI was waiting for. Ha, I would never be *that* desperate.

I was on a flight about 15 years ago and there was a hissing noise coming from the door at the front of the cabin where we were sitting.The flight attendant got a wet towel and put it at the bottom of the door where the hissing was and the noise stopped.I asked a few people about this when I got back and I was told "bollocks ,there's no way that can happen" ,if pressure was escaping the door would have been ripped off".Something was fcuking escaping and she threw a towel to stop it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Here is an old joke.

You know, I was on this plane once, and I’m sittin there, and the captain gets on and does his whole you know “we’ll be cruising at 35,000 feet,” but then he put puts the mic down and forgets to turn it off. And he turns to the co-pilot and he’s like “you know, all I could use right now is a ****in’ blow job and a cup of coffee.” So the stewardess goes ****in’ bombing up from the back of the plane to tell him that his microphone’s still on and this guy in the back of the plane’s like “hey hun, don't forget the coffee”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

I once flew from Dublin to Cork on Aer Arann with about six other people on the flight. All was lovely and quiet (for a small metal tube with two propellors on it) until just after take off. Hadn't even reached the clouds when the 'aul wan of about 80 down the back starts singing and doesn't stop until the plane parks up in Cork. She was fairly well-cut I reckon and ordered a few drinks on the way down to grease up the voicebox. Good singer I must say though! Made the flight memorable anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Pawpad666