Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derren Brown's Enigma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

You're not serious, right? How exactly is he a conman? He doesn't claim to have any powers, he doesn't claim to have any abilities. If anything, he's spent a vast amount of time disproving conmen.

God, I genuinely want to know how the spirit booth is done. That was spectacular.

As Derren would put it himself
    and almost every psychologist in the world

it's just fear, He (Richard Dower) doesn't know how it's done, therefore he's scared of it, and tells people he's scared of it by giving out about it.
    in this case calling Derren a CONMAN as if it's a bad thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,693 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Hmmm.. all this acclaim after that shocking "Hero At 30,000 Feet" muck?

Will give this a watch as I always preferred his live shows to that other tosh.

basquille wrote: »
    Hmmm.. all this acclaim after that shocking "Hero At 30,000 Feet" muck?

Will give this a watch as I always preferred his live shows to that other tosh.

I didn't watch that one, but he's back to his usual form with this, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

By the way, there is an interview of sorts this evening with Derron Brown being interviewed and having his personal life investigated by David Walliams.

I didn't watch that one, but he's back to his usual form with this, I believe.

Dont watch it for your own sake :D

it sounds good on paper but it really didnt work well on TV
    it's the only Derren show i didn't really like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

derren brown is the man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I Think you're right username123 the wicker basket does look like it could be easily tampered with, and it looked like it could have been the girl in black who brought the basket on to the stage, good catch there :D

It was more obvious to me when I saw it Live, and the comparisons I did with a friend who saw it the following night.

I have no clue how he did most of it though!!

But you might find this interesting:
    he makes quite a deal out of the random nature of choosing audience members by using the frisbees - but if you watch carefully you will see some of the stunts were done with people he chose himself - the vinegar trick for instance - but great use of misdirection with the frisbees!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

OisinT wrote: »
    By the way, there is an interview of sorts this evening with Derron Brown being interviewed and having his personal life investigated by David Walliams.

Darn. I was intending to watch this ... But Walliams? I suppose I'll soldier through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

I saw this last year and loved it. It's not as good on tv as his other live show was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,562 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

Ugh. Walliams? I'll just have to mute when he's on. It will be a pretty one sided interview then :P

ziedth wrote: »
    I didn't watch it yet but did he do the "child memory" trick? When he writes it on the A1 cardboard?

When he was in Dublin last year I was the one called up on stage for that :) had my head wrecked with how he did it.

I can't actually remember seeing that on the show. I might have just forgotten it though :P

Were you at his show in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Was at the show in Dublin last year and was more impressed with it live than on TV.

At the live show he did a thing where somebody from the audience went up & thought of a childhood memory with a sibling and had to think of it. He then described the memory and wrote the name of the sibling on a card (Not showing it to the audience). The name he got on the card was a very very strange spelling as he showed the audience. Then he asked the girl what the name of her sibling was, She replied "John". It looked like the trick hadnt worked. But then he showed her the card and asked tif the word meant anything to her. It was her sisters name, the spelling was a bit weird cos her sisters name was an Irish name.

I dont think they they showed that part on TV??? Or maybe I missed it cos I didnt see the start properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

But you might find this interesting:
    he makes quite a deal out of the random nature of choosing audience members by using the frisbees - but if you watch carefully you will see some of the stunts were done with people he chose himself - the vinegar trick for instance - but great use of misdirection with the frisbees!!
    He does make a big deal out of the "no actors/no stooges" thing though. If that's not true, it'd be pretty ****
    Something else I noticed & don't get are parts of the trance section. Like why won't it work on people at home? Does the special tone sound different live? Also, at one stage he says "Everyone in a trance now wake up" but the people on stage stay under.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,886 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Please don't read this if you don't want to know how a long piece of the show is done!

Major
    If anyone wants to know how the entire "spirits reveal yourselves" set piece was done with the curtains, just search on YouTube for "Derren Brown Seance" and he explains how the whole thing is done from start to finish.

I don't know why he included it in this show if he previously explained it in so much depth in a special from 6 years ago. Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

I saw this show live when he was in Dublin, and it was absolutely fantastic. Really looking forward to watching this televised version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,562 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    He does make a big deal out of the "no actors/no stooges" thing though. If that's not true, it'd be pretty ****
    Something else I noticed & don't get are parts of the trance section. Like why won't it work on people at home? Does the special tone sound different live? Also, at one stage he says "Everyone in a trance now wake up" but the people on stage stay under.

I think with the
    2 people on stage, he just gave them the suggestion to go 'deeper down, relax, etc' and then probably said something along the lines of 'I'll just talk to the others for a minute, you just focus on your relaxation.' I think even the tone of his voice was a hint to them that he wasn't addressing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I agree.
    I suppose Im being cynical but vinegar girl definitely looks like the same person in the show I saw and the show on 4oD
    Not sure how the trance thing works, in the show I was at a person right behind me went into a trance and he went and woke him and didnt select him for stage, I was near the guy as we were leaving and his friends were slagging him about going into a trance - but who knows, they could all have been acting, or the trance guy could have been acting and they didnt know it!! But from my viewpoint it was completely believabe that he did go into one.

I was very impressed with the engraving trick - how was that done!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Am I the only person who doesn't want to know how he does his stuff? I saw the enigma show in the grand canal theatre, amazing stuff
    I also thoroughly enjoyed it. He's a good showman and I love all the Victorian bits. Once there really are no "stooges or actors" I'm happy! Next time he plays Dublin I'm going - try and catch him out :D

Same here, I don't care how it's done as long as it's not audience plants and actors.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Am I the only person who doesn't want to know how he does his stuff? I saw the enigma show in the grand canal theatre, amazing stuff

Same here, I don't care how it's done as long as it's not audience plants and actors.

I genuinely don't think the audience are plants or actors, that's why he uses the frisbee and it doesn't look like he watches where he throws them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

psni wrote: »
    Please don't read this if you don't want to know how a long piece of the show is done!

Major
    If anyone wants to know how the entire "spirits reveal yourselves" set piece was done with the curtains, just search on YouTube for "Derren Brown Seance" and he explains how the whole thing is done from start to finish.

I watched it and it didn't show how it was done.
    They did show that one woman threw out a tamberine herself even though she denied it. That doesn't explain why she did it and how it was done once a person was tied up.

It won't work on the people at home because he blatantly tells us it won't. That's pretty much it! His book is pretty explanatory of a lot of the stuff he does. Hypnosis and putting people into a trance are basically all down to how a person reacts and how suggestible they are. By telling us at the start it won't work, we pretty much don't expect to react and don't. Being in the audience kind of gives that 'mob mentality' thing where a person feels it's alright to do something. And they don't wake up purely because they know he's not talking to them and that it's not an appropriate reaction.
    Oh, and I knew the vinegar girl used in one of the Dublin shows and I'm fairly sure she wasn't a stooge! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Carl Sagan wrote: »
    I can't actually remember seeing that on the show. I might have just forgotten it though :P

Were you at his show in Dublin?

Ya Dublin. I have it taped must give it a look. It tWas funny cause walking out at least 5 people asked me seperately was I a stooge.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,886 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Coin Trick Semi
    It's exactly the same trick as the box dangling over the crowd in the "Evening of Wonders" special. At the end he removed a rolled-up piece of paper revealing everything that happened in the show. If you can piece together how he did that, you'll be able to twig how the coin trick is done. You definitely can't see how it's done from the camera angles used on the TV edit of the show, and I'd say that's by design too. Notice how he got the name of the deceased relative first, babbled for a while, THEN called the lady down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Darn. I was intending to watch this ... But Walliams? I suppose I'll soldier through.
    I was wrong... it was some friend of his from school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

OisinT wrote: »
    I was wrong... it was some friend of his from school.

Twas billed as Walliams in the newspaper guide also.

Think I'll watch The Messiah one on 4 OD later. Looks great.