Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Derren Brown's Enigma

• 06-01-2011 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭

Channel 4

Anyone watching this?

I find it infuriating. I want to know how it's done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,371 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

I'm going to wait till tomorrow. Mainly because I haven't the energy, and know I wouldn't be able to concentrate. :o

*blows a kiss to the 4od homepage*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I'm going to wait till tomorrow. Mainly because I haven't the energy, and know I wouldn't be able to concentrate. :o

Well, do come back and share your thoughts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭reverenddave

AAwWW Crap i forgot this was on tonight :(

i missed the first half

OH wait it's on saturday again

PHEW :D

AAwWW Crap i forgot this was on tonight :(

i missed the first half

OH wait it's on saturday again

PHEW :D

It gets better as it goes on. But no spoilers here!

you've gotta give Kudos to Channel 4 for 4oD being available in ireland

especially as i dont even own a TV anymore :D

i'm lucky enough to borrow a ****ty little 14'portable one

it even has a VCR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

* inb4 all the harrumph harrumph it was useless!*

Really enjoyed that, thought it had ended a bit weak but was pleasantly surprised, shouldn't have doubted the man. (don't want to say anymore for fear of spoiling it for the 4od'ers)

At the end of the day, no matter what you believe it's entertainment...and I for one was entertained

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

the man is a pure genius, really enjoyed that,
    gjhgjhgjgjh
    and
    ljggjhgjjh
    . etc etc

great show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭BigBrownBear

Amazing show alright. A tiny amount was predictable (vinegar;)) but mostly mind blowing, especially the finale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

That was one of the best shows he has done. . .

i just watched it on 4oD i didnt realise it was available immediately so YAY!!!

i do know how one of the tricks was done though
    the very first one / or the last one whichever way you look at it
    when he asked the audience to write down three things on a bit of paper and put it in the basket
    he said ''write down three favorite things, perhaps a favorite food, person or destination you'd most like McFly to''
    after a few minutes of calling the guy a pervert :D he said he fúcked up the very first trick
    and the guy in the front row then said McFly was written on the paper

and at the very end McFly played the egg neeedle ice-cream goose moose apple juice song :D
    so derren '''told''' the audience what to write :D

i hope that made sense ?¿?¿?¿?¿:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭irishejit

yeah it does make sense
    in one of his previous stage shows he played back what he'd said during the night and it was peppered with what he wanted to plant into the audiences mind. good spot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I refuse to watch this CONMAN!

I also thoroughly enjoyed it. He's a good showman and I love all the Victorian bits. Once there really are no "stooges or actors" I'm happy! Next time he plays Dublin I'm going - try and catch him out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

I started out loving Derren Brown. Read his book. Was fascinated by his early stuff. Back when he was what he was. An illusionist. A trickster.
    Then, for some unkown reason (presumably money and fame) he went all showman..... these big event like illusions that are just stupid in the end.

I mean the lotto prediction :eek: Come on, one of the worst "illusions" I have ever seen, yet it caused a big foray. My god, it's depressing.

Now it's gotten to the stage where I think I actually hate the guy. I cant stand the sound of his voice. I walk out of a room if he's on the TV.

So, no, I probably wont be watching this :p

irishejit wrote: »
    yeah it does make sense
    in one of his previous stage shows he played back what he'd said during the night and it was peppered with what he wanted to plant into the audiences mind. good spot

that's right i think it was ''something wicked this way comes''

it was something to do with the Daily Mail newspaper and ''influential''
    or something like that

i'll have to watch it again

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

One of the things I love most about watching his shows - when he is giving you a solution , you can bet the farm that it isnt the solution he used.

1 (very) small clue - who counted up the votes ??? who watched them count the votes.....

horgan_p wrote: »

1 (very) small clue - who counted up the votes ??? who watched them count the votes.....

do you mean the pictures at the interval ????

A guy in the front row counted them

Just watched it there. Fecking amazing :eek:

Loved his humour aswell.
    I was waiting for something to happen with McFly at the end

Also, was I the only one who got a little teary at the
    Grandfather coin
    ? :o

Seriously though, in my opinion, this makes up for Airplane! 2010.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

the very first one / or the last one whichever way you look at it
    when he asked the audience to write down three things on a bit of paper and put it in the basket
    he said ''write down three favorite things, perhaps a favorite food, person or destination you'd most like McFly to''
    after a few minutes of calling the guy a pervert :D he said he fúcked up the very first trick
    and the guy in the front row then said McFly was written on the paper

and at the very end McFly played the egg neeedle ice-cream goose moose apple juice song :D
    so derren '''told''' the audience what to write :D

i hope that made sense ?¿?¿?¿?¿:confused:

How that was done was:
    he didnt use a bit of paper from the audience at all, he palmed his own bit of paper

I saw the show live last year, and a friend went the following night, we compared notes and figured out quite a bit of how things were done - disappointing really when you see how easy it is to see through when 2 people compare shows!!

How that was done was:
    he didnt use a bit of paper from the audience at all, he palmed his own bit of paper

but i taught the guy in the front row picked one out from the basket ?????

or did i miss something ?????

but i taught the guy in the front row picked one out from the basket ?????

or did i miss something ?????

ok - I watched it again there - had forgotten exactly how it was done when I saw it live, I wasnt close enough to see the guy actually choose the piece himself - so what I think he did was this:
    he replaced the 60 pieces of paper in the basket with 60 of his own that all had the same 3 choices on them - notice the inside of the wicker hamper was cloth - easy to arrange a 'false' bottom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

He should bring back that Darren Brown investigates shows of people who make amazing claims like the blind claim of helping blind people get their eye sight back or the psychic medium who was caught out.

That is the best iv seen of him on TV.

ok - I watched it again there - had forgotten exactly how it was done when I saw it live, I wasnt close enough to see the guy actually choose the piece himself - so what I think he did was this:
    he replaced the 60 pieces of paper in the basket with 60 of his own that all had the same 3 choices on them - notice the inside of the wicker hamper was cloth - easy to arrange a 'false' bottom

i'm watching it again now it might be more visible now that it's pointed out :D

watching with the Subtitles now and he does indeed say McFly
    the subtitles even spell it out :D

EDIT
    I Think you're right username123 the wicker basket does look like it could be easily tampered with, and it looked like it could have been the girl in black who brought the basket on to the stage, good catch there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

is this available for viewing on a stream or somewhere...??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

4od.

is this available for viewing on a stream or somewhere...??
    http://www.channel4.com/programmes/derren-brown-the-specials/4od#3150004

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I really enjoyed it tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

ta

I refuse to watch this CONMAN!

You're not serious, right? How exactly is he a conman? He doesn't claim to have any powers, he doesn't claim to have any abilities. If anything, he's spent a vast amount of time disproving conmen.

God, I genuinely want to know how the spirit booth is done. That was spectacular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I didn't watch it yet but did he do the "child memory" trick? When he writes it on the A1 cardboard?

When he was in Dublin last year I was the one called up on stage for that :) had my head wrecked with how he did it.

You're not serious, right? How exactly is he a conman? He doesn't claim to have any powers, he doesn't claim to have any abilities. If anything, he's spent a vast amount of time disproving conmen.

God, I genuinely want to know how the spirit booth is done. That was spectacular.

As Derren would put it himself
    and almost every psychologist in the world

it's just fear, He (Richard Dower) doesn't know how it's done, therefore he's scared of it, and tells people he's scared of it by giving out about it.
    in this case calling Derren a CONMAN as if it's a bad thing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Hmmm.. all this acclaim after that shocking "Hero At 30,000 Feet" muck?

Will give this a watch as I always preferred his live shows to that other tosh.

basquille wrote: »
    Hmmm.. all this acclaim after that shocking "Hero At 30,000 Feet" muck?

Will give this a watch as I always preferred his live shows to that other tosh.

I didn't watch that one, but he's back to his usual form with this, I believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

By the way, there is an interview of sorts this evening with Derron Brown being interviewed and having his personal life investigated by David Walliams.

I didn't watch that one, but he's back to his usual form with this, I believe.

Dont watch it for your own sake :D

it sounds good on paper but it really didnt work well on TV
    it's the only Derren show i didn't really like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

derren brown is the man

I Think you're right username123 the wicker basket does look like it could be easily tampered with, and it looked like it could have been the girl in black who brought the basket on to the stage, good catch there :D

It was more obvious to me when I saw it Live, and the comparisons I did with a friend who saw it the following night.

I have no clue how he did most of it though!!

But you might find this interesting:
    he makes quite a deal out of the random nature of choosing audience members by using the frisbees - but if you watch carefully you will see some of the stunts were done with people he chose himself - the vinegar trick for instance - but great use of misdirection with the frisbees!!

OisinT wrote: »
    By the way, there is an interview of sorts this evening with Derron Brown being interviewed and having his personal life investigated by David Walliams.

Darn. I was intending to watch this ... But Walliams? I suppose I'll soldier through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

I saw this last year and loved it. It's not as good on tv as his other live show was.

Ugh. Walliams? I'll just have to mute when he's on. It will be a pretty one sided interview then :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

ziedth wrote: »
    I didn't watch it yet but did he do the "child memory" trick? When he writes it on the A1 cardboard?

When he was in Dublin last year I was the one called up on stage for that :) had my head wrecked with how he did it.

I can't actually remember seeing that on the show. I might have just forgotten it though :P

Were you at his show in Dublin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Was at the show in Dublin last year and was more impressed with it live than on TV.

At the live show he did a thing where somebody from the audience went up & thought of a childhood memory with a sibling and had to think of it. He then described the memory and wrote the name of the sibling on a card (Not showing it to the audience). The name he got on the card was a very very strange spelling as he showed the audience. Then he asked the girl what the name of her sibling was, She replied "John". It looked like the trick hadnt worked. But then he showed her the card and asked tif the word meant anything to her. It was her sisters name, the spelling was a bit weird cos her sisters name was an Irish name.

I dont think they they showed that part on TV??? Or maybe I missed it cos I didnt see the start properly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

But you might find this interesting:
    he makes quite a deal out of the random nature of choosing audience members by using the frisbees - but if you watch carefully you will see some of the stunts were done with people he chose himself - the vinegar trick for instance - but great use of misdirection with the frisbees!!
    He does make a big deal out of the "no actors/no stooges" thing though. If that's not true, it'd be pretty ****
    Something else I noticed & don't get are parts of the trance section. Like why won't it work on people at home? Does the special tone sound different live? Also, at one stage he says "Everyone in a trance now wake up" but the people on stage stay under.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,809 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Please don't read this if you don't want to know how a long piece of the show is done!

Major
    If anyone wants to know how the entire "spirits reveal yourselves" set piece was done with the curtains, just search on YouTube for "Derren Brown Seance" and he explains how the whole thing is done from start to finish.

I don't know why he included it in this show if he previously explained it in so much depth in a special from 6 years ago. Anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

I saw this show live when he was in Dublin, and it was absolutely fantastic. Really looking forward to watching this televised version.

H8GHOTI wrote: »
    He does make a big deal out of the "no actors/no stooges" thing though. If that's not true, it'd be pretty ****
    Something else I noticed & don't get are parts of the trance section. Like why won't it work on people at home? Does the special tone sound different live? Also, at one stage he says "Everyone in a trance now wake up" but the people on stage stay under.

I think with the
    2 people on stage, he just gave them the suggestion to go 'deeper down, relax, etc' and then probably said something along the lines of 'I'll just talk to the others for a minute, you just focus on your relaxation.' I think even the tone of his voice was a hint to them that he wasn't addressing them

I agree.
    I suppose Im being cynical but vinegar girl definitely looks like the same person in the show I saw and the show on 4oD
    Not sure how the trance thing works, in the show I was at a person right behind me went into a trance and he went and woke him and didnt select him for stage, I was near the guy as we were leaving and his friends were slagging him about going into a trance - but who knows, they could all have been acting, or the trance guy could have been acting and they didnt know it!! But from my viewpoint it was completely believabe that he did go into one.

I was very impressed with the engraving trick - how was that done!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Am I the only person who doesn't want to know how he does his stuff? I saw the enigma show in the grand canal theatre, amazing stuff
    I also thoroughly enjoyed it. He's a good showman and I love all the Victorian bits. Once there really are no "stooges or actors" I'm happy! Next time he plays Dublin I'm going - try and catch him out :D

Same here, I don't care how it's done as long as it's not audience plants and actors.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Am I the only person who doesn't want to know how he does his stuff? I saw the enigma show in the grand canal theatre, amazing stuff

Same here, I don't care how it's done as long as it's not audience plants and actors.

I genuinely don't think the audience are plants or actors, that's why he uses the frisbee and it doesn't look like he watches where he throws them.