Calling all book readers - cheaper E-Book Kindle on sale soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭silvine

Glad it worked out for you. The singles format sound interesting. It might kick off a renewed interest in short stories.

Kindle users which is more relaxing: reading a book or using a Kindle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭thefishone

silvine wrote: »

Never thought I would be saying this,but my kindle is more relaxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,618 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Definitely the Kindle for me too... This all sounds not very important but it makes a big difference:

No more big book that I have to hold and also the page turns with the flick of a finger and I only need to hold it in one hand. or you can place it on a table and read it no problem whilst eating lunch or whatever. With a paperback at least, you had to try and eat with one hand and hold the book and turn the page with another hand or some how balance the book on a table with the salt to stop the page turning.

Also, reading a newspaper is much more enjoyable on a Kindle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Packet

I prefer reading on my Kindle too. I bought a print copy of The Moral Landscape by Sam Harris recently because the ebook isn't available in Europe :mad:. I subconsciously went to adjust the font size until I remembered it wasn't on my Kindle. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭oisin

Got my Kindle on Friday, went for the 3G version. Ordered at 9pm on Wednesday night arrived from their Nevada facility at 9am Friday by UPS.

They have a pretty good tracking system, you can see exactly where it is at any time, I suppose it's because of the internal RFID tag it can be scanned arriving and leaving each location. Pretty good service. Oh and the Kindle isn't bad either.

I was a bit worried about the size of the screen but it's no different to a real book, very easy to read. Very happy with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...Kindle users which is more relaxing: reading a book or using a Kindle?
    Honestly? Kindle.

Lighter no matter what the size of an actual (paper type) book.
    Easier to read/flick through the pages by moving a finger with tip of a side click, etc.
    Loads of reasons to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Nirnias

Im looking to get myself an EReader but i need to be able to put my own stuff on it as i want to use it for college also so i can revise notes and study. So if i have documents that are in .xdox or .doc or PDF format on my PC or laptop i need to be able to just put them on the EReader and for it to instantly recognize it and allow me to read the document.

Iv heard that the kindle only allows you to read stuff that you bought from their store or something and that if you want to read other stuff you need to pay something to unlock it or get it converted.

Anyone know of an E Reader that just allows you to read any document you put onto it via USB or any other method?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭morgana

You can put your own books on the kindle, provided there is no copy protection and compatible format, it will read it. PDF can be read natively, Word, as far as I know, needs conversion to Kindle format, you can send it to your Kindle email address and it will be sent to the Kindle or your to your PC in the converted format.
    Calibre is highly recommended to use as a (free) companion program with the KIndle, as it will convert for instance PDF to MOBI which allows to make best use of ebook reader convenience such as changing font size etc.

I have an absolute boat load of notes(all in WORD and PDF format) and stuff that i would be putting on. Its not efficient having to email hundreds of pages of notes and then get them mailed back to myself, especially since i get new notes on a daily basis!

That's why i am looking for an E Reader that will suit me from the get go and not something i have to constantly play around with and convert files, if i need to do that with a Kindle, definitely not going for that one! Think i also have some books in Word format and PDF format that i would like to put on!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,873 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

In case anyone is on the lookout for a cheap K3 case, Deal Extreme are now selling them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭positron

Thinking of getting a Kindle in Amazon.com delivered to an address in Boston (and someone will bring it over for me). I have trawled thru various threads here and I am slightly lost. I think it's established that the US version is now the international version, so there's no difference to the US version and UK version other than the power plug / adaptor (not an issue really). And I think it's also clear than you can change the country information in the linked account and buy books from .uk or .com accounts. So far everything supports getting the Kindle delivered to Boston.

Remaining question however is about warranty. If I were to get a kindle like above, in case of any faults, would Amazon replace the Kindle to my address here in Ireland?

* I am not considering 3G as I am not planning to browse with Kindle - and I read Kindle's browsing capabilities are fairly basic anyway? Or should I reconsider this?

positron wrote: »
    Remaining question however is about warranty. If I were to get a kindle like above, in case of any faults, would Amazon replace the Kindle to my address here in Ireland?

* I am not considering 3G as I am not planning to browse with Kindle - and I read Kindle's browsing capabilities are fairly basic anyway? Or should I reconsider this?

Yeah as far as I know they will replace the Kindle to your address in Ireland. Just say you moved from Boston. I guess they might charge you extra shipping but I doubt it.

I would get the 3G version. It is not just for browsing the internet but you need it to browse the amazon store if you are not at a wifi hotspot. So if you are travelling, it will be a godsend. The browser isn't great but it will probably get better and it is still ok for checking the odd email or web page.

It can depend really.. My experiance from buying my laptop in America was that my warrenty resided within the US only and they would only ship to a US address for the replacement parts i needed. The same laptop is sold here in the EU but appearently has a different motherboard in it and model number so cant be used.

Sony refused to send the parts anywhere but the US even when i offered to pay for the extra postage charges! Then again Kindle might be different. Your best bet is to email Kindles support address and ask them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

juke wrote: »
    This is my new most favourite item - so I was more than a bit gutted when I noticed the screen was cracked and it wouldn't work last Monday night. I hadn't used it since Friday and can't say how it got damaged. It's in a Kindle case, was on the locker by my bed. Hand on heart, though, I can't discount the possibility of knocking it on the floor/stepping on it - but I don't think so.

My OH, seeing how upset I was, immediately offered to buy me a new one (nothing to do with the peace and quiet he's enjoyed since I got it, I'm sure :P) but I decided to make contact with Amazon and see what repairs would cost.

Anyway, I phoned Amazon on Tuesday lunch and was told, without any quibble, that it was covered by warranty and a new Kindle arrived at my door by 9 on Thursday!

Provided I return the original, there's no charge and they'll even refund my shipping costs.

I did some googleing but didn't come across any recent reports of screen problems, so I don't think there's a reported design flaw.

I'm considering myself very fortunate indeed. :D

That's good to hear! I just noticed today my screen was cracked, had it in the same bag as a laptop and nothing exceptional happened it. Was pretty gutted to say the least.

Hope I get the same result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

That's good to hear! I just noticed today my screen was cracked, had it in the same bag as a laptop and nothing exceptional happened it. Was pretty gutted to say the least.

Hope I get the same result.

:(, Rotten! Hope you have no problems. How long have you got it? And was it from .com or .co.uk?
    .com still has post Christmas shortage, so you could be looking at 4-5 weeks for delivery, I think.

By way of update, I bought my dad one for Christmas from .co.uk and his screen has part frozen (an inch of text from a previous page wont change) and he's just ordered a replacement - no quibble at all. Again he has to return the old one within 30 days. The only difference is that he doesn't have to pay for the replacement and then get a refund - that seems to only apply to the .com site, for customs reasons.

Good luck:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Thanks!

I got it about 3months ago I think, from the amazon.co.uk site. Just on the phone to them now.

edit: actually it was the .com.

morgana wrote: »
    You can put your own books on the kindle, provided there is no copy protection and compatible format, it will read it. PDF can be read natively, Word, as far as I know, needs conversion to Kindle format, you can send it to your Kindle email address and it will be sent to the Kindle or your to your PC in the converted format.
    Calibre is highly recommended to use as a (free) companion program with the KIndle, as it will convert for instance PDF to MOBI which allows to make best use of ebook reader convenience such as changing font size etc.
    Word docs saved in RTF (Rich text format) or as plain txt (text) files, can be read on the Kindle too no problem whatsoever.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,707 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

The only thing that bugs me about Calibre is the frequency with which yer man updates it. Great for updates and improvements if they apply...he obviously wants to make his gear reliable and works hard at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Tranquilitysea

JohnK - your saga was edge of the seat stuff and waiting for your next post
    to up-date us was like turnung the page of a thriller/tragic/comedy !

Glad you got sorted at last ( hopefully ) and that the wait was worth
    it. You are a patient hombre and deserve full satisfaction from your
    Kindle.

Thanks also to all the Subscribers to this thread whose knowledge
    and experience have been a great help in assisting me in making
    up my mind to order a Kindle. Really the contributions have all been
    brilliant and if one needs help or explanations all you guys have been
    super. And the prompt assists are much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

Queries answered by this thread. Thanks.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,707 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I'm thinking of taking mine on holidays in the summer (2 weeks) as I think it would be handy on long haul flights and during all the hanging around at airports, etc. I'm not sure a full charge will last that long, it might do if I leave the wireless/3G off. I wouldn't be able to charge it during week 1 as I'll be out in the sticks/camping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭morgana

Depending on how long you use it per day and provided you turn wireless/3g off it will last 2 weeks without any problems.
    I usually get about 3weeks + out of one charge and I use it roughly about 2 to 3 hours/day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

I've had a look at the amazon site and also in PC world - the shop only has black ones and online although they show a white you are redirected to the black one once they see the Irish address.

anyone know where can get one in white?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

If i buy a kindle , can i stick all my books in pdf files from my pc to it ? What is the display of the pdf files like? Does it just display the pdf file text like the books you buy from the kindle store? If you are reading in bed , would you need a light on?
    Sorry for dragging up old thread.

If i buy a kindle , can i stick all my books in pdf files from my pc to it ? What is the display of the pdf files like? Does it just display the pdf file text like the books you buy from the kindle store? If you are reading in bed , would you need a light on?
    Sorry for dragging up old thread.
    You would need a light on no matter what you are reading. PDFs display OK but everything is a bit small in the normal view. This is rectified if you change to "landscape" but the drawbacks are you have to turn the Kindle on it's side and can't see the bottom of the page unless you forward the page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭elchanco

I’ve spent the last few days trying to decide between the kindle 3 & the Sony ereader. I’m more inclined to buy the kindle at the moment but I have a few questions for ye kindle experts.

1. Im going to the uk next week, its cheaper to buy in PC world than ordering on the U.S amazon site. Any problems buying it in the uk?

2. I read a lot of newspapers & would be interested in subscribing to The Irish Times via amazon. How is the kindle for reading newspapers? I believe there’s no pictures! Can you download digital copies to the kindle i.e the Irish examiner? How is this done?

3. Buying from the amazon.com website, any problems. I believe we in Ireland cannot buy .co.uk ebooks?

4. ebooks from easons/waterstones, can you download to kindle?

I’m looking forward to ordering a kindle but want to clarify these questions first.

Any help much appreciated.

Owner of Amazon Kindle and Sony eReader here.

1. I would suggest you stay with the Amazon route. Its more direct (possibly slightly cheaper and a LOT faster in a lot of cases). IF there is a problem (VERY rare) you are dealing directly with the people that are selling it to you. If you buy it and (if there is a problem) bring it back to the third party sellers, they have too in return, have to get onto Amazon and send it to them. In all honestly your just delaying the 'return' process more so (via a third party) and complicating any issues by eventually just going on also, second-hand info from a third party that might or might not take their time in getting back to you anyway themselves...

Always best to deal direct always if you can help it. Its better in the long run, for speed and accuracy alone.

I've never heard of anyone having problems with buying the British Kindles. They are equally good, fast and workable.

2. The reason there is few pictures is a double matter. Pictures take up storage space, also the papers sometimes have to pay further for additional rights to publish them in electronic form. So with all such electronic forms of publishing, you will find there is sometimes very few pictures in the case of newspapers. Book/novel pictures are oft times included as they come under the one publishing rights connected with the purchase of the book itself.

In the case of the Kindle for example (best one of the two for getting stuff regular/daily), getting your daily paper is not a problem. As soon as you turn it on and the wireless function is on anyway (or you turn it on), the Kindle automatically syncs itself with Amazon and updates itself. This applies to daily papers/magazines/books that have to be delivered to you. Should this fail (not yet happened to me yet), there is a "sync" function ability available anyway on the Kindle that you can use to right away update it (by downloading) and get your stuff that is usually waiting for you, to turn your Kindle on.
    (To make clear: When you turn it on, the Kindle right away (wireless function on) connects back to Amazon to see if there is anything you have purchased/got free in the meanwhile since last use, and if so, transfers your new items right away then to your Kindle)

An example of Irish newspapers you can subscribe to (one off/daily/weekly/monthly) is here: http://lnw.me/zFkUgC
    Or here: http://tinyurl.com/4tqgn6k

3. No problems whatsoever buying from Amazon.com
    There is issues in some cases buying from Amazon.co.uk
    This is because of digital rights issues with the original publishing house/writer.
    You usually find the same book still on sale with Amazon.com anyway in most cases.

4. No. Waterstones ONLY publish their books in 'ePub' format
    Waterstones do NOT produce their books in the 'Mobi' format - which is a right pain and stupid. They are losing a fortune!
    They restrict their books to ePub format due to wishing you to stick with their Sony Reader device, whom they have partnered up with.

On the rare occasion you CAN convert ePub books to Mobi format using this free 'Calibre' tool: http://calibre-ebook.com/

Between the two devices, honestly I would recommend the Kindle - Short version: cheaper, lighter, more functions, ability to update itself much better, many hundreds of thousand times more books available in Mobi format than ePub, etc...
    I know of a number of good discussion dedicated Kindle forums that are also useful in use of the kindle and there is also good legal sites around that will give you hundreds of thousands of free books as well.

If you do eventually buy a Kindle, PM me and I will pass along further info. ;)

Hi Biggins, I glad you responded to my query. Your input in this thread has been very useful and much appreciated.

The ePub format was causing me some confusion. I’ve read on other sites that this was a negative to customers buying a kindle. I disagree.

I’m more confident in investing in the kindle now after reading your thread.
    I use the word “invest” because I see my kindle as a long term way of reading my books. I was a very sceptic about eBooks but the more I research, the more I want one…..NOW.

Last question… 3G or just wireless..

elchanco wrote: »

Last question… 3G or just wireless..

I'd go for 3G personally... it is not that much more expensive and it basically means that you have free 3g browsing on your Kindle for as long as you have it. At the moment the browser is experimental but it is mostly grand and the 3g was a lifeline for me when I was away before Christmas and I wass checking the status of flights because of snow.

Plus you are not always at a Wifi hotspot so 3g can be used to download books or magazines and newspapers from Amazon.

I was thinking that if i need to download a book/newspaper i could use my home wireless connection but the ability to browse the web "on the go" is usefull....

Ive never put so much research into buying a device:rolleyes:... the cost of the kindle is not the issue. Its the commitment to amazon is the main issue.