Is there much nepotism in Ireland?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 200 ✭✭RoisinDove

L31mr0d wrote: »
    definitely. The job i'm in atm, i'm in because I knew someone here. Everyone in my job either is family of someone else, family of the boss or a close friend of the boss.

Does nepotism exist in Ireland, yes. Am I glad, yes, because all the text and qualifications in the world on your CV can't replace someone being able to vouch for your character. You have to interact with people in any job, and the one thing an interview won't tell you is what they are like socially. So having someone who can vouch for how easy you are to work with and how hard you work is a good thing imo. But then I would say that, its how I got my job :D

But it's really unfair to people who don't have connections to rich/powerful people. I mean, if you're from a tiny village somewhere and you move to Dublin to get a job in broadcasting, who's going to get the job? Culchie or Saoirse from Donnybrook whose dad knows someone in RTE? Assuming both are equally talented and capable, it's always going to be Saoirse isn't it? I'm sure we've all met people who are rubbish at their jobs and only got them because of connections. That's not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Zombie much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 450 ✭✭fred252

recently started working for a semi state (contracting). two fellows who i work with (permanent staff) openly told me over lunch that they got in there 'cause their old lad worked there. i was surprised with how normal they thought it was. it started me thinking how many people in here have family already in the door.

i think its scandalous. the hr dept here clearly have no scruples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Yes, it exists in a hell of a lot of workplaces. I've never been in a job where there wasn't nepotism of one form or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

Nepotism is rife in the country. I have witnessed cousins, brothers, sister, friends, friend of friends .... being hired in every job I have worked in.

I am actually right in the middle of some class A1 nepotism at the moment in my current job. We advertised an intern position before xmas and I was included as an interviewer as the employee will be working with me. The window for applications closed before xmas and I have interviewed some candidates, one of whom was an outstanding young lady from inner city Dublin. She was really enthusiastic about the job and I had little doubt that she would be a success and that I would work very well with her.

Last week, a lady in the office commented that her son would be interested, nothing more than interested, in the position. The young lady came in for her 2nd interview, blew the 2 managers away with her technical knowledge, not that they would be anywhere near her level anyway. I urged the head of the department to hire this girl but I was told that "She wouldnt fit in with the tone of the office". On Tuesday, the head of the department informed me that the son of my co-worker will be filling the position. He didnt even sit an interview. The amazing thing is that the co-worker and the head of the department are 2 active members of Labour who constantly mouth off about how FF cronyism ruined the country.

I feel desperately sorry for the young lady. I myself had a tough time starting off when I worked in a well known bank. At that time I was living in a council estate and regularly had comments relating to same passed at departmental outings. The fact that I was CoI was a major issue for another manager, for some reason. After I left the bank, I made a vow to myself to award roles based upon merit but I feel very bad after this latest incident. I am actively looking for a new job, as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Yes, big time. We're one of the most corrupt countries in the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

It's not nepotism, it's cronyism, and this country is rotten to the core with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Nepotism in Ireland? Does a bear sh1t in the woods?

Same comment as June 2007.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bill2673

Sanjuro wrote: »
    It's not nepotism, it's cronyism, and this country is rotten to the core with it.

An important distinction.

In my experience (in the private sector), having connections can be useful. But for most serious jobs, say a management position in a large IT company, where skills and experienced.....its a bit far fetched to suggest people can bring their brother in to fill the role. I don;t think that happens much at all.

As for Nepotism......I believe it is rife in a certain body that is involved in managing aspects of healthcare in this country. I have a good friend who works there, and she says it wrecks her head completely. And that a big part of it relates to contracting, the this body decides it needs something done out of the blue and then hey presto a brother is called up to do the job.

And of course, politics. brian cowen. daddy was a td. brian lenihan. daddy was a td. (and brother is a td. and auntie is a td). barry andrews. chris andrews. simon coveney. etc etc. elections are a fairly transparent process though. I can't speak for party nomindations.

Yes, big time. We're one of the most corrupt countries in the EU.

I don't think this is true, there was an international study done a few months back, i think its done annually, and we are better than the average in the EU (is less corruption than average). Remember we are up against the likes of Italy, Portugal, Greece, countries with big black economies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Compared too other countrys its not bad so yeah half and half.

In politics in many places such as the UK or the US you need to know certain people or go to certain schools where here its much more open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Nepotism and Ireland go hand in hand. It is rife here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Bill2673 wrote: »
    I don't think this is true, there was an international study done a few months back, i think its done annually, and we are better than the average in the EU (is less corruption than average). Remember we are up against the likes of Italy, Portugal, Greece, countries with big black economies.
    I remember a study a few years back and we were number 2 behind Italy. I know first hand just how corrupt this country is because I've benefited from it on a number of occasions.

Anyone watch that show about Brendan Bracken, @Churchills Irishman'. Was very interesting what he did....

He was basically from a pauper family, his mother sent him to a cousin in Australia when he was 15....he worked and saved up cash to come back to Britain, where he enrolled himself at a really posh gramar school for one term...and this is the key point, so that he would then be an 'old boy' and could wear the school tie. it was a nod to the cronyism in the UK at the time, and it worked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

rte are such a shower of inbred nepotists
    Why did you bring a thread back from 2007 for this comment?
    Don't answer that, zombie lock.