Why do we drink? Seriously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

It is fun. It's the easiest way in the world to unwind - or get wound up tighter and start fights.

Seriously though, I've been giving this some thought myself lately and am thinking of hangin' up me boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

to make ourselves feel better. Its the best 'escape' drug i know of!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Because its fun drinking with your mates and its a good stress reliever me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Love the taste, well certain drinks, bitter, especially Fullers London Pride, beautiful :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Intoxication is one of the basic human needs.

It's not on that Maslow's needs pyramid thingy, but it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

Most people I know that do drink on a regular basis, would not feel comfortable at a social gathering without it. Now if you asked them if they were addicted they would say no. And this maybe true, but certainly, at the very least a crutch to lean on.

I used to drink alot in my early 20's and always had a self confidence issue, felt very awkward in social situation and meeting new people. Unless of course I had a few drinks. As I got older and started to drink less my confidence grew considerably. Now I'm not the f@cking fonz or anything, and I realise my increased confidence could be put down to age too, but I really believe it has to do in some part to drink.

Regarding hangovers, german style beer (few, natural ingredients) will go a long way to feeling better the following morning. Budweiser and the like, is the devils p!$$

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭dilapidating

Because when your drinking/getting drunk there is literally nothing else more enjoyable and fun. Its simply great craic. Feeling hungover for a few hours is a small price (vomiting being a very rare occurance) and when the worst of it is over the pleasure of eating a big feed is nearly worth the hangover.

Need to get out more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Benny Lava

It makes the world a more bearable place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭wurzlitzer

We drink to forget that we are nervous
    To be come more relaxed....
    But is when we start forgetting where we live that we should stop :D

Never mind drink

here I go again does anyone know anywhere that opens early for a coffee in Dublin City Centre, fancy a coffee and to read the paper before i catch an early bus to work...

All the drink inxs have messed up my bodyclock:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Its essential to our social lives , great friendships are forged in the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I like the taste of good wine and beer, German especially. I don't drink to get wasted as I don't want the hangover and hate loss of self-control (and I don't think my life is mundane and want to escape) but nothing wrong in enjoying a few. I know when I've had enough.
    Hate being around drunks though, always makes me feel unsafe so I prefer drinking at home with friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭mann

I drink for Ireland :) the rest of the irish drinkin team only train 2 or 3 days a week but I do the full pour 7 days a week...

The way to stop getting a hangover is always be a little drunk... prevention is better than cure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭murrayp4

i start drinking at 6pm(ive started earlier) and finish at 3am. Go to bed, get up at 12pm next day and i am fine-
    eh no...you were still pissed when you woke up....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭ElasticMan

Because everybody does it, so you're afraid to deviate from the norm and be seen as an outsider. If you're young and you don't drink, well then obviously there must be something wrong with you. Either that or you're a dryballs. At least that's the opinion of the majority of our fabulous youth in this country. And if you vomit, have sex with a complete stranger, and wake up in the morning not being able to remember a thing... all the better!! This makes you NORMAL!! Apparently.

You can then go on Facebook, issue a public apology for your behaviour, ask everyone what happened and have a good laugh about it. It's only a bit of craic sure!! Let's face it, if drinking a gallon of petrol, dousing youself in and then lighting yourself on fire was socially acceptable, everyone'd be doing it, and if you didn't.. well then I don't want to know you! Because you're obviously a freak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 449 ✭✭!MAVERICK!

to make ourselves feel better. Its the best 'escape' drug i know of!

I thought alcohol made people that are depressed even more depressed... Is that true? I wouldnt know as I dont drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Horse_box

We drink to have a good time and loosen up after a hard week. Do we over do it? A lot of us do! And that's our problem in this country, we tend to over do it a bit too often

When I was in America I noticed the Irish students were always a little quieter than the yanks when sober. I think in a social surrounding without alcohol, we were a bit inept in some ways. But by god once we the gargle started flowing, we were the life of the party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i drink cause i enjoy the taste of good whiskey n such,

if you drink just to get drunk, your an idiot.

Wasteing your money so ye are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Escapism. Lets face it, the world is pretty ****.
    no man, the world is great.
    Drinking when you´re in a great mood in a nice place with good people is the balls. Furck that "escapism" shi´ite, drinking is great craic whether youre poor as a monkey or rolling in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Drugs make people feel good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

!MAVERICK! wrote: »
    I thought alcohol made people that are depressed even more depressed... Is that true? I wouldnt know as I dont drink

i have heard it is a mood enhancer so if your feeling sad you will feel more sad BUT if your happy it makes you go fuckin mad!

!MAVERICK! wrote: »

Alcohol is a depressant, yes
    FatherLen wrote: »
    i have heard it is a mood enhancer so if your feeling sad you will feel more sad BUT if your happy it makes you go fuckin mad!

As time goes on I become more firmly convinced that anyone who "goes mad" on alcohol does it because they want to, not because the alcohol gave them some kind of personality transplant

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

bluewolf wrote: »
    Alcohol is a depressant, yes

Depressant as in it blocks some of the functions of the central nervous system, that description does not relate to how it makes you feel, depressed or otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

SadieSue wrote: »
    Its an addiction like any other.

Yes, in the wrong hands, with the wrong type of people - some people don't or wouldn't even know their alcoholic's until it's too late. Alcohol is a very dangerous substance when abused.
    So why oh why do we drink!seriously! Ive seen people vomiting on nights out, ending up in hospital, etc. and i bet the next weekend they wil be drinking again!

Traditionally alcohol is a relaxant, it is designed to help you unwind

The most commonly used alcohol is ethanol, C2H5OH, with the ethane backbone. Ethanol has been produced and consumed by humans for millennia, in the form of fermented and distilled alcoholic beverages. It is a clear flammable liquid that boils at 78.4 °C, which is used as an industrial solvent, car fuel, and raw material in the chemical industry. This should make you take note.

Alcohol has made side affects. For example, a natural chemical response of alcohol is to dehydrate us, and yet people drink more the thirstier they feel - this makes it a great tool in terms of business and marketing...the more you drink, the less refreshed you feel

I don't drink, I'd rather not piss money up against the side of a wall or in the toilet. You could say that about food, but alcohol does nothing for me, I don't need it because I've never found I need alcohol for anything that an ice cold Pepsi or some water couldn't do.......prefer to keep my money, spend it on the rip off gigs I want to go to, they might be a rip off but at least I know I'll get entertained - and the money I save by not drinking helps me justify their increase in cost, plus the money I save not drinking at a gig is also a bonus

I also personally think alcohol at night's out, anywhere you go (especially in Dublin) is far too high and it just get's more and more expensive to the point that you're spending a huge deal of your hard earned wages on trying to forget what you're doing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Its a social bonding tool...Except for those who dirnk too much of it then it has the opposite effect!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

The most commonly used alcohol is ethanol, C2H5OH, with the ethane backbone. Ethanol has been produced and consumed by humans for millennia, in the form of fermented and distilled alcoholic beverages. It is a clear flammable liquid that boils at 78.4 °C, which is used as an industrial solvent, car fuel, and raw material in the chemical industry. This should make you take note.

And most people dont know, but water is actually used to flush toilets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Social life seems to be centered purely around the pub, also sexual repression stemming from the days when the Catholic Church had us in their clutches, and us having to be drunk to approach each other in darkened, noisy nightclubs for a grope and a feel.

And also because sometimes with a few mates, it's a bit of a laugh. Just don't drink anything more than 40 pints in one sitting, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I drink to enjoy the drink. I do not enjoy being drunk, though I am quite happy with a good buzz.

To be honest the alcohol content is second to the flavour of the drink which in my case is a good beer and sometimes a good whiskey but usually a good beer. There is a lot of complexity in a good beer, more so than a good wine and it is that which I enjoy.

I never drink with the intention of getting drunk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Saruman wrote: »
    I never drink with the intention of getting drunk.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

People drink to relax because they're to unimaginative to find other ways to relax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

Its because we cant get High in public...

people drink because its the only socially acceptable drug that gets you all fcuked up... and people like to get fcuked up...