Drugs in Prison

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

JJayoo wrote: »
    There should also be regular dog searches on the buses between dublin and the other major cities
    While nice idea, in practicable terms, not very applicable.
    Those moving the items would just use alternative modes of transport and besides, searching buses alone would be like trying to search a haystack - or thousands of them, alone.

Instead of trying to check the many long routes in, better to check at near or at their final destinations.
    A lot less work, a lot less revenue involved to begin with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

DERICKOO wrote: »
    when we have people that we look up to for guidance in the media, it begs to wonder where there will be be a profound disreguard by our law inforcement officers to uphold the law both in and out of prison. :mad:

Wtf is that supposed to mean??
    JJayoo wrote: »
    There should also be regular dog searches on the buses between dublin and the other major cities

The courts would be blocked up for months dealing with all the students getting caught with a bit of hash on the bus home for the week end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Fcuk them out in Chain Gangs and get them out clearing paths and roads. Especially around vulnerable sites like elderly residential care units ect. They owe a debt to society, so let them pay it. You broke the law now take your punishment, you don't deserve privileges. Prison should provide a disincentive against the return to crime, instead it's like a holiday for some of them. Some of the 'screws are as bad, that guy who was caught is just the tip of the iceberg. They need a total overhaul of the system from the top down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Fingal county council had no money to clean the beaches this year. Or at least they cut back drastically.

If I were a prisoner I'd prefer to be out on the beach keeping active at 7am on a summers morning then locked in a cell

Win win

I don't want to see council staff lose their jobs but if the council cannot provide a service then here is an alternative

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Just to mention the original post..that prison officer was carrying cocaine,heroin,half a kilo of hash and over 350 D10 tablets..that little lot would've been worth a fcuckin fortune in prison...God knows how much he was getting paid.

I wouldnt want to be in his shoes now,the complete moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Degsy wrote: »
    Just to mention the original post..that prison officer was carrying cocaine,heroin,half a kilo of hash and over 350 D10 tablets..that little lot would've been worth a fcuckin fortune in prison...God knows how much he was getting paid.

I wouldnt want to be in his shoes now,the complete moron.
    It's not the easiest or most pleasant of jobs, but prison officers are very well paid. With a certain overtime racket they operate, they can easily clear 100k per annum for a job you can do straight out of school, plus early retirement and a final salary pension.

I'm not saying they don't deserve it, just pointing out how greedy this particular criminal guard was.

It's not the easiest or most pleasant of jobs, but prison officers are very well paid. With a certain overtime racket they operate, they can easily clear 100k per annum for a job you can do straight out of school, plus early retirement and a final salary pension.

I'm not saying they don't deserve it, just pointing out how greedy this particular criminal guard was.

Overtime racket? Do elaborate please id love to know how i can easily clear 100k a year what have i being doing wrong. Im sure the new recruits on family income supplement will be very interested to. This is in no way a defence of what that pri%k did but you are so far off the mark its not even funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

Extra year or 6 months if found with a mobile phone. Rather than blocking, the cops should be looking at enabling recording of all calls made from within the prison.
    An independent service should be checking to make sure that ONLY calls made from inside the prisons walls are recorded and listened to.
    This could provide excellent intel, and would also help convict the people of having a cellphone and legally increase their sentences.
    I´m sure a big defence is that the phone is not theirs and that some other guy just secretly stashed it in his cell.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...Rather than blocking, the cops should be looking at enabling recording of all calls made from within the prison.
    An independent service should be checking to make sure that ONLY calls made from inside the prisons walls are recorded and listened to.
    This could provide excellent intel, and would also help convict the people of having a cellphone and legally increase their sentences...
    I'm quite sure at times they are doing just that.
    Listening in getting intel.
    In fact I would hazard a guess that they sometimes allow calls to go unhindered for such gathering reasons - but thats only a suspicion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭chicken fingers

The thing is, the Irish gardai really are not that "up" on this sort of technology.
    They might cultivate this image of a modern, well equipped police force, but in reality they are oldschool with old-school methods.

All the good tip offs seem to come from abroad.
    "BTW heres a list of guys who used their credit cards to buy CP on this website we busted"
    "BTW heres the details of a muslim terorist cel from a sting website we were operating"
    "BTW heres details of drugs coming into the country from comms we were intercepting pls bust it"

thanks FBI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭rex-x

Anyone actually been to the joy? I have as a visitor and glad I was tbh its a terrible place with over crowded cells with 4 or 5 in a tiny cave basically, most of it is hollowed out rock and not exactly clean :o I see little in the ay of rehabilitation simply due to the amount of people in it
    People apparently tie notes and other stuff to fruit and lob then into the yard for the prisoners to get which is one source of contraband
    Meetings and visitings do take place behind glass and well behaved get allowed out to help with cleaning chores etc.
    all prisoners earn a wage as such in prison, like the dole they can buy things with it, nike runners being popular

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Maldjd23

rex-x wrote: »
    Anyone actually been to the joy? I have as a visitor and glad I was tbh its a terrible place with over crowded cells with 4 or 5 in a tiny cave basically, most of it is hollowed out rock and not exactly clean :o I see little in the ay of rehabilitation simply due to the amount of people in it
    People apparently tie notes and other stuff to fruit and lob then into the yard for the prisoners to get which is one source of contraband
    Meetings and visitings do take place behind glass and well behaved get allowed out to help with cleaning chores etc.
    all prisoners earn a wage as such in prison, like the dole they can buy things with it, nike runners being popular

I remember watching a doco about prisons in Brazil..Ya think Mountjoy is overcrowded? In this prison each cell(made for 6 prisoners) had over 80!!..I kid you not...I actually felt uncomfortable just watching..The officers had to keep gangs apart hence the crazy overcrowding of certain cells..The way i see it is, jail should be hell, prisoners should dread the prospect of going back...24 hours a day in a small cell..No contact with anybody...If they want to "riot " on their own in a cell so be it...Prison should be hell and it bugs me that we have all the dogooders claiming prisoner rights..If ya can't do the time...................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Fingal county council had no money to clean the beaches this year. Or at least they cut back drastically.

If I were a prisoner I'd prefer to be out on the beach keeping active at 7am on a summers morning then locked in a cell

Win win

I don't want to see council staff lose their jobs but if the council cannot provide a service then here is an alternative

Good idea but It wouldn't work here. Prisoner cuts hand on discarded glass. Sues government and wins. Scheme scrapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

I remember i was watching one of those American prison shows, the guards were searching the rooms of the prisoners and they came upon some contraband , they said this was serious and the prisoners would probably be going to solitary confinement. I was expecting heroin or something but it turned out to be a bag of tobacco :confused:

Pretty different to here aye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

100k?!?!?!?

What are you basing that on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

An overtime racket THEY operate? 100K? Ah yeah.....you're definitely in the know. :rolleyes:

What a ridiculous post. I'd like to see what would happen without theis ocertime "racket". The prisons would be mostly unmanned because they are so short staffed.

poolboy wrote: »
    Overtime racket? Do elaborate please id love to know how i can easily clear 100k a year what have i being doing wrong. Im sure the new recruits on family income supplement will be very interested to. This is in no way a defence of what that pri%k did but you are so far off the mark its not even funny
    What you do is you organise with a colleague so that he calls in sick on the days that you are supposed to be on leave. You have to come in to replace him and get paid overtime for the whole day. You do the same for him in return. If you look at the number of sick days taken by prison officers, you get an idea of how widespread it is.

By the way, I'm not saying that guards start on 100k.

What you do is you organise with a colleague so that he calls in sick on the days that you are supposed to be on leave. You have to come in to replace him and get paid overtime for the whole day. You do the same for him in return. If you look at the number of sick days taken by prison officers, you get an idea of how widespread it is.

Now, they start on about a quarter of that.

Please give details of the incrimentel increases that get up to 100k.

Now, they start on about a quarter of that.

Please give details of the incrimentel increases that get up to 100k.
    So they used to start on more, you are saying?

Let me ask you this: what can a prison guard earn after 20 years, including overtime?

So they used to start on more, you are saying?

Let me ask you this: what can a prison guard earn after 20 years, including overtime?

Sorry, that should have said 'no', not 'now'.

I don't know what a prison guard can earn after 20 years.

poolboy does that? The bastard! Obviously the sick days are nothing to do with constant assaults, threats and high levels of stress in the job.

k_mac wrote: »
    poolboy does that? The bastard! Obviously the sick days are nothing to do with constant assaults, threats and high levels of stress in the job.
    Doubtless some of it is. Let's not get overly defensive here. I was told about this racket by a friend whose brother is a prison guard - I don't see why he would make it up.

Incidentally I've found an official document where it states that prison guards can earn 77k per year, but I'm not sure whether or not that includes overtime, or only some overtime, or no overtime.

Doubtless some of it is. Let's not get overly defensive here. I was told about this racket by a friend whose brother is a prison guard - I don't see why he would make it up.

Incidentally I've found an official document where it states that prison guards can earn 77k per year, but I'm not sure whether or not that includes overtime, or only some overtime, or no overtime.

My sisters boyfriends friends uncle told me that prison guards rent out spare cells to tourists and thats the reason for overcrowding. He's never lied to me before.

The difference between my anecdote and yours was that mine actually happened. No comment on the revelation that prison guards can earn at least €77,000 per annum? Not exactly the poverty line, is it?

How about another document I found from 2006 that shows prison guards earning more on average than Gardaí, primary teachers, secondary teachers, administrative civil servants or the defence force personnel?

I'm trying to point out that prison guards are quite well paid. Exactly what point are you trying to make?

I was wondering who might have better information on what prison officers earn, and I found an interesting post about another guard caught smuggling in Ireland in 2009 on a prison officer forum.

http://www.prisonofficer.org/hall-shame/6879-prison-officer-arrested-ireland.html

To quote a comment from an Irish prison officer posting on the thread:
    He would have been on about 85 grand a year so he wasn't an the breadline by any means . Greed is one of the seven deadly sins though. SO IS PUTTING YOUR COLLEAGUES LIVES IN DANGER..... .in my opinion it is anyway.
    SCUMBAG
    So we've raised the bar to €85,000. Unless this guy was the best paid prison officer in the country, we might get to the magical €100k fiigure yet.

The difference between my anecdote and yours was that mine actually happened. No comment on the revelation that prison guards can earn at least €77,000 per annum? Not exactly the poverty line, is it?

How about another document I found from 2006 that shows prison guards earning more on average than Gardaí, primary teachers, secondary teachers, administrative civil servants or the defence force personnel?

I'm trying to point out that prison guards are quite well paid. Exactly what point are you trying to make?

Where are these documents? My point is that your points are not backed up by any kind of proof. i don't doubt that a prison guard can earn 77k if they are willing to give up weekends, nights, public holidays and their spare time to work.

I was wondering who might have better information on what prison officers earn, and I found an interesting post about another guard caught smuggling in Ireland in 2009 on a prison officer forum.

http://www.prisonofficer.org/hall-shame/6879-prison-officer-arrested-ireland.html

To quote a comment from an Irish prison officer posting on the thread: So we've raised the bar to €85,000. Unless this guy was the best paid prison officer in the country, we might get to the magical €100k fiigure yet.

A thirty second search on publicjobs.ie gave me this info

Approximate Total Earnings for Recruit Prison Officer Grade @ 01/9/2008 (PPC)

Point on Scale Basic Operational Allowance Rent Allowance Total
    1 €25,876 €2,070 €4,451 €32,397

2 €26,947 €2,155 €4,451 €33,553

3 €28,021 €2,241 €4,451 €34,713

In addition other allowances may be payable for attendance on Saturday, Sunday and unsocial hours etc. Also the allocation of up to 360 additional hours per annum will attract further payments. Allowances and payments are not guaranteed and are dependent on working arrangements and opportunities pertaining in each institution.

Where are these documents? My point is that your points are not backed up by any kind of proof. i don't doubt that a prison guard can earn 77k if they are willing to give up weekends, nights, public holidays and their spare time to work.
    Fair enough, by Boards standards that is a gracious concession. The documents can be Googled for, same as I did. Of course the best solution would be for an insider to come along and tell us that guards start on a basic of €25k rising to €45 if you do the usual overtime, and it can rise to X.

As I said, I'm not saying they don't deserve the money, I'm just pointing out that they are not so poorly paid that they have to resort to crime.

A thirty second search on publicjobs.ie gave me this info

Approximate Total Earnings for Recruit Prison Officer Grade @ 01/9/2008 (PPC)

Point on Scale Basic Operational Allowance Rent Allowance Total
    1 €25,876 €2,070 €4,451 €32,397

2 €26,947 €2,155 €4,451 €33,553

3 €28,021 €2,241 €4,451 €34,713

In addition other allowances may be payable for attendance on Saturday, Sunday and unsocial hours etc. Also the allocation of up to 360 additional hours per annum will attract further payments. Allowances and payments are not guaranteed and are dependent on working arrangements and opportunities pertaining in each institution.
    We'll you've found the absolute minimum that a new recruit can earn. All we need now is good information on what the maximum an experienced guard can get.