Student lies his way into Harvard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Gucky wrote: »
    Define smart?

The top brass in Harvard dish out degrees, based on your achievements.
    This kid conned them, he beat the system they developed to ensure only the best got through.

All I'm trying to say is, if the guys who 'say' your smart, got caught with the pants down, if this kid outsmarted them, who actually is the smarter person?

Well he outsmarted the admin department and he was ultimately caught so not really sure where you're going with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

i feel sorry for some of the boards members on here who must never get a winks sleep at night, what with all their worrying and empathy for students who don't get into certain universities in the states......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

It'd be really interesting if there was a way to find out how many people conned the system in such a way. I reckon it's far higher than we imagine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭Bus77II

Whenever I hear stories like this I think of this guy. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferdinand_Waldo_Demara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Well he outsmarted the admin department and he was ultimately caught so not really sure where you're going with that.

He was caught on a non admin related issue though. Besides, admin really should not have been so careless. He conned some of the top Universities in the world through deception.
    This guy will be asset to some fraud investigation company some day I am sure. Provided he redirects his energy in a positive manner. Most people would not have the balls. Funny story.

eZe^ wrote: »
    It'd be really interesting if there was a way to find out how many people conned the system in such a way. I reckon it's far higher than we imagine!

Somehow I think the number of people scamming social welfare is far higher than we would like to believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

its simple where I'm going with it.
    He got into Harvard when he had no right to be there.
    He got past admin, I'm sure he'd have to been interviewed by the professors etc, he conned them. He outsmarted them. Fair enough, he got caught eventually but that doesn't change the fact he outsmarted them in the first place.
    He had a dam good run at it imo.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

why do nobs on ah bitch about grammar

there is a forum for engrish thatta way >>>>
    He's been here a lot longer than you X :pac::pac:

He got past admin, I'm sure he'd have to been interviewed by the professors etc, he conned them. He outsmarted them. Fair enough, he got caught eventually but that doesn't change the fact he outsmarted them in the first place.

Lets not forget he managed to convince them to give him $50,000 in prize money:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Anybody who is daft enough to think "fair play to this lad", deserve to be on the receiving end of his deceit.

The rest of us, who realise that anybody can fool anybody else temporarily, and also realise the destruction irresponsible actions like this can cause, deserve to have properly trained pilots, doctors, engineers etc.

I said it before in this thread - You wouldn't think w@nkers like him are so great if they were attempting to carry out a life saving operation on your child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Sure wasn't Bertie at the same carry-on?

newmug wrote: »
    I said it before in this thread - You wouldn't think w@nkers like him are so great if they were attempting to carry out a life saving operation on your child

If anyone were carrying out a life-saving operation on my child, I'd be impressed.

Anybody who is daft enough to think "fair play to this lad", deserve to be on the receiving end of his deceit.

The rest of us, who realise that anybody can fool anybody else temporarily, and also realise the destruction irresponsible actions like this can cause, deserve to have properly trained pilots, doctors, engineers etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

I don't know why you're giving the rolling eyes smilie. The other poster made a point that cute hoorism is all well and good until the cute hoor is asked to fly a plane, or make sure a school is safe or operate on someone. I know they're extreme examples but they're relevant.

This idea of saying fair play to people for lying and cheating and getting away with it is so widespread in Ireland it's sickening. Doing things by merit is almost laughed at.

I disapprove of the whole dishonesty thing, of course, but some people seem to be under the impression that it makes some actual difference whether the person has this original degree or not. I'd imagine the genuine student of Armenian studies is just as much as spoofer as this lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

He tricked his way into the college.

He didn't trick his way through fúcking heart surgery and become a surgeon did he?

DOC09UNAM wrote: »

He didn't trick his way through fúcking heart surgery and become a surgeon did he?

This post speaks so much sense, it's not funny. I am sure that even if he did get a medical degree through deception, he would not have actually operated on anyone. It's up to the professional bodies to ensure the candidate is fit for performing surgery. You know, having a med degree does not automatically qualify you for heart surgery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭SamHarris

Tens of thousands of people all over the world worked incredibly hard to get a place he conned his way into. Not cool.

On the other hand he has balls. I like balls.

My point exactly.

SamHarris wrote: »
    Tens of thousands of people all over the world worked incredibly hard to get a place he conned his way into. Not cool.

They should have worked harder.

My point exactly.:rolleyes:

Aaaaahhhhhhhhhh right! Now I see what you mean. He must have conned his way into the "How to be a bin-man" course in Harvard.

Cop yourself on would ya.

Aaaaahhhhhhhhhh right! Now I see what you mean. He must have conned his way into the "How to be a bin-man" course in Harvard.

Cop yourself on would ya.
    Are you an idiot?

He may have conned himself into the class, but he is not going to get the degree for just being in the class, he would obviously have to work and show he knows his shít.

Are you an idiot?

He may have conned himself into the class, but he is not going to get the degree for just being in the class, he would obviously have to work and show he knows his shít.

No need for insults.

Do you not think that if he managed to cheat his way IN to the college, that he wouldnt try to cheat his way THROUGH college? Of course he would! And he could cheat his way right to the end.

No need for insults.

Do you not think that if he managed to cheat his way IN to the college, that he wouldnt try to cheat his way THROUGH college? Of course he would! And he could cheat his way right to the end.
    There was no insult, I simply asked, are you an idiot?

I didn't say you were, I asked were you.

If it was that easy to cheat your way through Harvard, I'm sure everyone would be doing it :rolleyes:

It's not like you can cheat your way through a surgery, or any other practical exam for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Shure, we all have to lie at least once or twice to get anywhere in this world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,125 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

No need for insults.

I think if you have a degree from Havard or any of the top 10, it doesn't matter if you have a pass, 2.2, 2.1 or a first, you're still gonna be on the top of an applications list for a job. It's different for us mere mortals of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Yurt

What an absolute legend!

Any charges brought against him?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

There was no insult, I simply asked, are you an idiot?

I didn't say you were, I asked were you.

Yeah it's not the same but it's close. By asking you're implying in a roundabout way that they are. Do it again, and I'll ban you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Ficheall wrote: »
    They should have worked harder.

Nah, they should have PRETENDED they worked harder