Boy Racers dress code and lack of brains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

A MICRA!!- The worst insult I've had on here.It's a mitsubishi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

zerks wrote: »
    A MICRA!!- The worst insult I've had on here.It's a mitsubishi.

If it's an Evo I'm going to piss myself with laughter, please tell me it isn't...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

If it's an Evo I'm going to piss myself with laughter, please tell me it isn't...?

I'd suspect a colt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    I'd suspect a colt?

im thinking burgundy coloured 1.3 lancer with a beige interior, sporting stylish 14 inch hubcaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

Said burgundy Lancer has every body modification known to man to make it look like an Evo, probably has an invoice in the glovebox that reads " Evo VII badge (x1) : €19.99" :P

Sorry guy's - would never stoop so low as to drive a 'pretend' car,no fake badges etc. for me. Just a bog standard lancer.(not beige)
    Maybe I should sell it and buy a 99 punto or saxo and stick a stupid twin exhaust on it too keep ye happy.
    At least I know that the posters here ain't boy racers-ye can type,plus if you were a boy racer you'd be off in a car park somewhere freezing ye're nuts off.:D:D
    If ye knew anything about cars-1.3 lancers are no longer made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Sorry guy's - would never stoop so low as to drive a 'pretend' car,no fake badges etc. for me. Just a bog standard lancer.(not beige)
    Maybe I should sell it and buy a 99 punto or saxo and stick a stupid twin exhaust on it too keep ye happy.
    At least I know that the posters here ain't boy racers-ye can type,plus if you were a boy racer you'd be off in a car park somewhere freezing ye're nuts off.:D:D
    If ye knew anything about cars-1.3 lancers are no longer made.

Ah i was close, i was thinking of the 95-00 generation.

you mean no harm OP :)

I forgot that car enthusiasts frown upon people buying new cars.It must be some sort of unwritten rule that us ordinary road users are unaware of.:)

Seriously though-the morons in powerful mercs etc. who believe they own the road are just as bad as a clown in a ball of sh1te when it comes to driving.Maybe it's a Wexford thing but we seem to have an above average number of boy racers in absolute death traps of cars plus a lot of laughable examples aswell.Saw one recently with a "no smoke no poke" sticker on his 1.4 diesel cordoba.LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭seriouslysweet

Commenting on thick people and preceeding to say, 'I seen.' Wonderful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

-9 here last night as well and the roads covered in ice ,yet as I was on my way back from dunnes at about 5pm ,diving at 10mph (the roads started to get bad then)Some lunatic went whizzing by at about 50mph in a kitted out punto ,I thought he was going to slide across the road and hit me and you could see the car trying to stay gripped to the road ,people like that deserve a kick in the bollocks.
    What braindead f**khead would kit out a Punto? Reminds me of the Inbetweeners...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

thread is futile. lack of brains for all to see but fulfill your obligation?

pics or gtfo, sonic vroom boy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

What defines a boy racer though?
    I mean I hate the the lads in hoodies driving their mams micra and ridiculous speed too.

BUT....

I love cars. I am a huge motorsport fan and race cars myself (not on the roads).
    To me some of the WRX style cars are just beautiful. They are cars built as they are meant to be build, beautifully tuned cars, handling superb, etc, not dumbed down versions meant for mass consumption. I think they are beautiful.

I don't particularly like these small cars with big exhausts, diffusers and bodykits scrapping the ground.

I'd love to own a Subaru WRX, An Evo, anything like that, as close as possible to a WRC or similar style. I owe a Civic myself. I never race it on the road, it doesn't have any bodykits or exhausts but I love it as it is a beautifully built car. If I could afford something closer to the racing version I sure as hell would buy it. But does that make me a wanna-be boy racer?

I dunno, there are beautiful cars out there and to me there is nothing nicer as long as they are used on the road safely and if driven at any speed it's at a track day or something similar.

Is there something wrong with that?

Sorry if that is wrong but this is beautiful:
    http://fancytuning.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/mugen-honda-civic-type-r-hatchback-1024x631.jpg

And this just isn't
    http://www.cars-directory.net/pics/nissan/micra/1995/nissan_micra_2051894_2_orig.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

Agricola wrote: »
    I wonder how idiotic you have to be to get a kick out of driving round in circles in a town centre for a couple of hours, revving an engine and generally making a nuisance of yourself.

The conciseness of this post made me laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

Do boy racers remove the heaters and aircon from their cars to improve performance? In the summer I saw one eejit driving with the door open as he had no aircon and his windows wouldn't open,I knew that becuse he was roaring at his friends while doing more laps of the town than a taxi.Now we have cold weather they seem oblidged by some bizzare dress code to constantly have a baseball cap and hoody with the hood up on at the same time while driving.Even last night it was -9c here and they were still tearing around while most sensible people stayed off the roads. "I am invincible in my Saxo as I wear a cap and hoody combo-much better protection when I crash":confused:
    stop complaining! Im sick of whingers! They're 'boy' racers! They'll grow out of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭garv123

i dont think its fair either to class people who drive cheap cars as all been "boy racers" either. just because you cant afford a decent car doesnt make you a boy racer. its how they act in the car that gives them the name boy racer. as people said driving around towns in circles looking to attention revving the car and spinning wheels. i think these people you can define as a boy racer.

if you're driving a evo, merc, bmw, corolla, fiesta, micra or passat around like this then i think you're a boy racer.
    if a different person bought the same car and drove around not taking the pis$ on the roads then i wouldnt call them a boy racer.

its not the car or the person inside it, its how the person inside the car is driving it

oh and op i dont know anyone who ever took the ac out of the car. most of the cars are older that young people drive that dont have ac. and heaters? how do they stop the windows fogging up? i dont think thats true either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I think a lot of the moter heads are being slightly hyper sensitive here....

they all know they dont drive like tw@s but still start trying to argue the point oh well im not one and dont tar us with the same brush as Steffo Heffo Reffo And choco. (watch out bullets comin round the corner in his micra mannnnnnnnn animal....

The fact of the matter is theres a lot of feckin ejits on the roads. and a lot of them ejits have ****ty modified cars whil yes other may spend a small fortune on maintiang theirs and while the latter spend a small fortune on halford stick on bits.

your gonna be classed the same as the sh!tter drivers why because people are dumb and dont know any better. Its always the ejit who has nothing to loose who'le drive like a Tw@ when youve spend 8 k on m int civic type R your a little more cautous ...

its fruitless trying to a proove the point, that Your not a "boy racer" why becaiuse they as in poster on this thread know, no better...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Lurching wrote: »
    Still beats staying home getting wasted or out knocking the sh1t out of someone.

Because that's your only other option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Its fairly easy to tell the difference between some chavtastic boy racer and a proper enthusiast.

A boy racer is an attention seeking twat who will make as much noise and disruption in a public place like towns over an elongated period of time whereas an enthusiast wont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

why are 'boyracers' considered to be scumbags? My brother drives a red glanza, spends thousands of the thing, he goes on cruises - not sure what they are - think its showing off their cars or something. My brother is not a scumbag at all. Some people on here need to stop generalizing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    why are 'boyracers' considered to be scumbags? My brother drives a red glanza, spends thousands of the thing, he goes on cruises - not sure what they are - think its showing off their cars or something. My brother is not a scumbag at all. Some people on here need to stop generalizing.

Car enthusiast - Someone who drives a modified car etc , drives carefully and knows the limits of their car, might drive at high speed but always in a careful manner and mostly on motorways..probably drives on a track as well

Boyracer- Low IQ scumbag blaring Tupac from his stereo while filling his car with petrol, doing wheelspins taking off, handbrakes on public roads, extremely dangerous overtaking and has no clue really about how his car handles in dangerous situations...

so which one's your brother?

hes a car enthusiast i guess. He's never crashed his car - whereas I have lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    Car enthusiast - Someone who drives a modified car etc , drives carefully and knows the limits of their car, might drive at high speed but always in a careful manner and mostly on motorways..probably drives on a track as well

Boyracer- Low IQ scumbag blaring Tupac from his stereo while filling his car with petrol, doing wheelspins taking off, handbrakes on public roads, extremely dangerous overtaking and has no clue really about how his car handles in dangerous situations...

so which one's your brother?

What a stupid post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

scarymoon1 wrote: »

For the first time in my life I came to that conculsion 2 weeks ago while having my NCT done.

I was in the peek-a-boo room watching my car go through and I heard this horrible roar of a 1.6l engine giving it everything it had through a garbage bin exhaust pipe and thought "ugh, gonna have to share this room with some retard knackers now".

But to my surprise it was a bunch of four ~20 - 22 year olds who spoke normally (well one guy put a bit of a fake twang on, but that can be forgiven).

Now, the car was a stereotypical junker white civic with stickers blocking half the windscreen with that road-scraping exhaust (that for some reason boy racers can't distinguish the noise it makes of having a hole in your exhaust from a naturally powerful engine), but they had genuine interest in the motors going passed. And the owner had put quite a bit of money into new suspension arms etc for his junker.

So in a lot of cases I think it's just lads without the cash to buy something newer, who love modifying their motors purely for their own enjoyment (the fact that they've rubbish taste is subjective!) rather than other people's attention. No different to geeks who have modified PCs who feel the need to list their specs in their Sig on forums!

Well, at least the Dublin lads, dunno bout those country bumpkins :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I'd be far more wary of those crazy country folk that belt down a back road doing 70 - 80 mph in a Toyota Corolla because 'they know it like the back of their hand'

Generalisation IMO, had a Skoda Octavia myself over here in Holland, was never stopped once. Borrowed a mates Toyota MR2 and was stopped twice in one day :D

Drive a Volvo estate now, I could probably be doing lines of coke off my knees while driving with no hands and eating a Whopper meal with a dead hooker in the boot and nobody would be the wiser.

Theres far more nutters driving everyday cars like lunatics, some people love their cars and modify them, spend thousands on them and usually dont drink at all.

Although there are quite a few that cover their car in glue and drive through halford at high speed !

Wouldnt fancy driving that MR2 to work, the sports exhaust would make you go deaf, I usually stick the cruise control to 180 or if i'm running a bit late push it upto 220 km/h (Autobahn)

The most important features for me is comfy seats, and aux in for my ipod and a cup holder :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

I'm still amazed as to how these cars and the noise pollution they create are still legal in Ireland.

They clearly have no regard for other residents in towns when they go reving their stupid little Starlets at 3 in the morning.

It's time the Gardai banned them from the road.

I heard last week that the "Safety Cameras" have saved 22 lives already which is pure nonsense I must say.

In my opinion if these boy racer cars were made illegal you'd save a lot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Modified car enthusiast = boy racer = scumbag
    That's what 90 of the population think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

6 pages in and no mention of having a horse outside. I'm impressed. :D

As with everything there is a time and a place..

There's no need whatsoever for someone to modify an exhaust for example to make it louder, just so they can drive to work/the shops etc and back. Stupidity and ignorance. Thanks lads but no amount of noise is going to make me admire your car more, no matter how much you rev it up. Plus it's no excuse to say 'you have petrol/diesel in your blood'. My neighbours where I grew up were motorsport and car mad, and we never had an issue with noise, or acting the bollix, ever. This family were building and modifying cars for Mondello, all are involved in it; mechanics, drivers etc. They also have some cop on and respect for the people living around them.

On the other hand there is a significant number of little bastards racing around the town lately, often 3 or 4 cars together, overtaking, driving two abreast on the roads, handbrake turns etc. and causing a ridiculous amount of noise issues. A couple of young lads have been killed around our area too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

cronin_j wrote: »
    Hmm.. I would be what you call a "Boyracer" only because your misinformed but that has been done to death already..

- Im a co-founder of one of Irelands largest modified car forum
    - I drive a White Japanese imported Integra Type R.
    - The Aircon is removed (I dont need it and it saves weight)
    - Yes i do trackdays
    - I have an Honours Degree.
    - Ive been driving 8 years without a crash.
    - I have no Penalty Points.
    - I wear hoodies because they are comfortable.
    - I wear a suit to work.

Do you care to put away the big brush of tar yet?
    Hell no :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

I'm 19 and own a 98 Civic EK4, my insurance is 2 grand and that's fully comp. You shouldn't believe all of the things you hear on a forum about high-insurance etc.

You think that a good price for insurance? :eek:

ok bottom line is you cant say ALL car enthusiasts or boy racers are scumbags - thats not right. There is good and bad in everyone - and anyone on here thats says all of them are scumbags are just idiots with small minds.