Wikileaks merge (Assange loses extradition appeal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Nodin wrote: »
    'No time for them, their spokespeople or their deeds' seems to cover each and all, as far as I can see. You're of course free to think what you want of who, but claiming no bias is a bit much.

No time for their leaking activities. What else they get up to is a different matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

When did I describe it as a Machivellian scheme? I said people are
    justifiably making that case seeing as there is so much ridiculous
    stuff going on here. Furthermore:
    prinz wrote: »
    Even if they were this would be irrelevant to the case in Sweden.

Is not necessarily true. There is a widespread belief that the US has
    something to do with this. Furthermore the fact that we have incidents
    like Swedish authorities investigating the validity of secret US meetings
    about Assange it further fuels the belief of many people that this is just
    a sham. Notice, amazingly, that this is what I'm arguing about :eek:

Also, I'm not arguing in certainties here, I'm just defending the reasons
    why people were protesting out there & why people have a justifiable
    right to be skeptical abut all this.
    prinz wrote: »
    On what basis other than the actions of Wikileaks? Isn't it sort of dangerous to go down the route of ascribing everything to a witch-hunt? What next.... if he gets a speeding ticket is it a witch-hunt? They are basically attempting to raise him above the law, and I am not happy with that.

:( Wow... This is grand delusion of a kind I've neer seen. A speeding
    ticket? If Assange wasn't releasing the corruption of powerful governments
    all over the world, didn't have claims of secret meetings in the US trying
    to get him, people constantly writing him & his family death threats,
    have public figures calling for his execution etc... et... you might have a
    point but you don't & honestly I think this blithy disregard for reality all
    stems from that hatred you have of them, whether it originates from the
    standard celebrity bias or because they preach openness & transparency
    I can't decipher.

Also, I like the attempt at saving grace ;) If only you hadn't included
    that "spokesperson" in your condemnation you'd have a slightly conceivable
    argument to hide behind :)

Is not necessarily true. There is a widespread belief that the US has something to do with this. Furthermore the fact that we have incidents like Swedish authorities investigating the validity of secret US meetings about Assange it further fuels the belief of many people that this is just a sham. Notice, amazingly, that this is what I'm arguing about :eek:

People can be skeptical all they like. It's when it verges on encouraging Assange to ignore the legal system and due process that it becomes slightly ridiculous. When it comes to people, as a poster on boards did, describing the women who made the accusations as being tied up with the CIA...it starts to border on laughable.
    :( Wow... This is grand delusion of a kind I've neer seen. A speeding
    ticket?

So that would be ok, but a transparent investigation into allegations of crimes of a sexual nature - that must be dodgy? Where do we draw the line if Assange becomes immune from prosecution?
    Also, I like the attempt at saving grace ;) If only you hadn't included
    that "spokesperson" in your condemnation you'd have a slightly conceivable argument to hide behind :)

Why's that? I have never actually seen Assange speak on behalf of wikileaks. I have seen some others appearing on television in the recent weeks.

It's a bit like saying somebody who dislikes the taste of Budweiser is automatically biased against a brewery exec charged with a crime. Nonsense. I also enjoy Polanski's films, does that make me biased for or against him, nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

Yet if the charges were to be fake, you would be giving money to liars who almost destroyed someone's life.

I wouldn't actually give money to the alleged victims; I was using it to make a rhetorical point about how ridiculous it is for people to stump up money for someone who may turn out to be guilty, and to contrast the concern for Assange with the vitriol being directed at his alleged victims.
    Elevator wrote: »
    but you are the only one outside of America who believes he did it!!

cop yourself on!! this is simply new world politics at play and nothing else

I don't believe he's guilty. I believe he's innocent until proven guilty, and there's a heavy burden of proof on the prosecution's part. However, unlike you, I don't think anyone should be above the law. Unlike you, I happen to consider allegations of rape to be serious, and think whoever is accused of such should be investigated. Unlike you, I'm not willing to condemn potential victims of rape as liars and harlots without hearing the facts of the case. Unlike you, I think that the Swedish judicial process, which as far as I know, has never been proved to be particularly corrupt, should be allowed to run its course. Cop yourself on indeed...
    wes wrote: »
    The man is innocent until proven otherwise, and should be treated as such. Thats how the justice system works last I checked.

I agree completely. But equally, indeed to an even greater extent, the alleged victims of the attack should not be labelled as liars and Jezabels before the allegations have been disproved, or at least aired in open court!

He can move to Switzerland or France, they don't seem to have a problem with Roman Polanski. Joking aside, if proven to be guilty then thing clearly change considerably, but as I said earlier until guilt has been proven, he is a innocent man.

Again, I agree. I'm not advocating that he be incarcerated forthwith, but that he face the charges, and respond to queries as you or I would be expected to do. Why should Assange be above such things?

I realise that there's a chance that the charges are politically motivated, but it sends a very dangerous message if they are to be dismissed without proper investigation because of that possibility. Surely that would, in effect, make Assange above the law?
    strobe wrote: »
    Very careful in your use of the qualifier 'allegedly' there, commendable.

Perhaps commendable in light of the abuse and vitriol being heaped on those who have brought the charges against him. I believe him innocent until proven guilty; I also believe that his accusers should be treated with respect until their accusations have been proven baseless. What if the claims of the women are true? Can you imagine the pain and hurt being caused to them, if so, by the claim they are liars and perjurers? By the fact that son many celebrities are lining up to support Assange, even though they have no notion of the details of the charges?
    Then you go on to decry donating money to an alleged rapist, but say you wish you could donate money to the people alleging? You can't have it both ways Einhard.

I explained that above. It was meant in a facetious manner. Although, were Assange to receive hundereds of thousands in monetary support, then I don't think it unreasonable that his alleged victims would receive funds to proceed with the case if necessary. However, the main point I was making was to contrast between the adulation and support of Assange compared to the villification of those who might actually have suffered at his hands.

Either both Assange and his accusers should be denied these donations because.................well you didn't give a valid reason....... because you believe people should be considered guilty until proven innocent I suppose, or they should both be entitled to them.

I don't think anyone should be denied donations. I think it says a lot though when a man accused of rape should be showered with such support to the detriment of his alleged victims.
    Do you really believe you hold no bias on the topic of Wikileaks? You clearly do. The above is just one example of your contradictory approach to the topic but the thread is completely littered with them.

I dislike how Wikileaks goes about its business. I welcome the idea that motivated Assange in establishing Wikileaks, ie the dissemination of information vital tot he public interest, but that is far from what Wikileaks is about. Anyway, whether I disapprove or otherwise of the site or its activities is immaterial to my belief that everyone should have to answer before the law if required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

The Dublin University Pirate Party are mirroring wikileaks: http://wikileaks.pirates.ie/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

@einhard

you don't know how much I can actually relate to this case.

youre right, nobody should be above the law! I totally agree

but when it is clear from the begining there were outside forces steering these allegations then the whole thing is a load of bollix to me

let not you or anyone else underestimate the power and lack of regard towards human rights that the yanks been pushin for a long time now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

Elevator wrote: »
    great news

and a big fcuk you America and all the other fraudulent governments twisted by your shenanigans!!

n sveden. they've apeealed against the bail, n so he must stay inside for 48hrs at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

Einhard wrote: »
    Ah, Michael Moore, the champion of the common man, stumping up bail money for an alleged rapist! Does nobody else see anything wrong with this? What if the charges are proven to be true? What we'll have is a lot of mindless celebrities, and even more mindless keyboard acolytes, having been involved in the further harassment of two already victimised women. Kind of makes me sick the way people who should know better expect Assange to be above the law. As the poster above said, people should seperate Assange from Wikileaks. Give money to the site if you want Moore, not to an alleged rapist.

Is there any fund for the two women who have allegedly been violated in their own homes? I know that's one I'd like to contribute to. But I'm sure the standard bearers of democracy in Anonymous would quickly attack that site too.

I believe the key word is ALLEGED. Innocent until proven guilty is supposedly a virtue of the United States and the rest of the free world.

The irony of talking about people being above the law when those in power use the full extent of their machinations to supress the truth about their actions.

I also applaud the vigour of the ire you direct at Mr. Assange and am not the least bit surprised to find none of it directed at the disgraceful behaviour of the various governments and organisations involved in this fiasco.

But hey, alleged terrorists should get kidnapped and tortured and alleged rapists should get criminalised and denounced while alleged secret agents of alleged governments should always be allowed to allegedly kidnap and torture allegedly innocent people all, allegedly, in the name of democracy, freedom and most of all of course, alleged free speech.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Star Bingo wrote: »
    n sveden. they've apeealed against the bail, n so he must stay inside for 48hrs at least.

Nice one!

Memnoch wrote: »
    I also applaud the vigour of the ire you direct at Mr. Assange and am not the least bit surprised to find none of it directed at the disgraceful behaviour of the various governments and organisations involved in this fiasco.

Examples of this disgraceful behaviour that relates directly to the accusations in Sweden?
    But hey, alleged terrorists should get kidnapped and tortured and alleged rapists should get criminalised and denounced while alleged secret agents of alleged governments should always be allowed to allegedly kidnap and torture allegedly innocent people all, allegedly, in the name of democracy, freedom and most of all of course, alleged free speech.

But hey............. off topic........

I see Pilger and his leftie mates trying to spring him.

That tells me what i need to know.

All we need now is Fisk in the mix:mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Wikileaks' Julian Assange court appeal makes Twitter history
    First time tweeting is allowed in a UK courtroom
    The court appeal of Julian Assange in London has made history today as the first time ever tweeting has been allowed in a UK courtroom.

Usually no phones or recording are allowed in a courtroom but the judge presiding over the Wikileaks' head Julian Assange's court appeal has allowed journalists to use Twitter in court to keep an account of proceedings.

Twitter trial

Times special correspondent Alexi Mostrous asked the judge if tweeting would be okay while the appeal takes place and, according to his Twitter feed, he was allowed. "Judge just gave me explicit permission to tweet proceedings "if it's quiet and doesn't disturb anything," says one of his posts.

This has lead to the Guardian – who got wind that it was allowed to tweet – adding the Twitter posts from Monstrous into its live update of the appeal.

Source: http://www.techradar.com/news/internet/wikileaks-julian-assange-court-appeal-makes-twitter-history-915633#ixzz187K8Qw4T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

I believe the key word is ALLEGED. Innocent until proven guilty is supposedly a virtue of the United States and the rest of the free world.

Er yes, I know that's the key word. The fact that i keep using that word might have indicated that. As I pointed out though, many of Assange's sycophants have no problem disregarding due process and labelling his accusers liars and whores. I fail to see how you can have a problem with my position, namely that the judicial system in a highly respected and liberal EU nation take its course, whilst not expressing similar opposition to the abuse and vitriol hurled against these women.
    The irony of talking about people being above the law when those in power use the full extent of their machinations to supress the truth about their actions.

It's not directed at them because it hasn't arisen. I think that Wikileaks are irresponsible in the way they're going about their business, I dislike the idea that they have appointed themselves the final arbiters of what's in the public interest, and I dislike that so many people are so enraptured by Assange, and so consumed with hatred of the US, that they feel it appropriate to deny two alleged rape victims a chance to have their case heard. I also think however, that Assange has every right to publish what he has obtained. I don't think criminal charges should be brought against him for publishing the cables, especially if they are based on a retrospective interpretation of new laws. I also believe though, that Amazon and Paypal have the right to act in their own interests, and decide themselves how they'll run their businesses. Obviously though, Anonymous et al believe that only people that share their beliefs should have the freedom of expression and action they harp on about so much. Is that not a tad hypocritical? Advocating for such liberties, and then crashing sites when people exercise them in a manner that you disagree with?

Did your head explode after that fit of righteous indignation? Did it swell up at least? Seriously though, you do a mean line in non-sequiturs. I haven't condoned, nor would I condone, any of the above, so I'm not quite sure of its relevence to my posts. It is a nice strawman though. Incidentally, I'd point out again that many of the concerns I raised about the treatment being meted out to the alleged rape victims, were also raised in the Guardian last week. As I noted, considering they're publishing the Wikileaks material, they can't exactly be described as enemies of Assange. It seems though, that they do have a sense of perspective and, unlike many of the people here, don't believe that anyone should be above the law, or anyone vilified for exercising their right in making a criminal complaint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

Why cant I access wikileaks? is anyone else having this problem? have they taken down the site?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Why cant I access wikileaks? is anyone else having this problem? have they taken down the site?

I usually try to link off their facebook profile, they keeping losing a live uninterrupted service so switch it around a fair bit afaik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ciagr297

http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/assange-believes-he-will-be-extradited-to-us-485788.html
    5/12/2010 - 10:55:16
    A friend of Julian Assange has claimed the Wikileaks founder believes he will eventually be sent to America if extradited to Sweden.

Officials in Stockholm successfully appealed after he was given bail by a London court.

He is now being held in jail ahead of another court hearing.

His lawyer Mark Stephens said Mr Assange must be released temporarily for justice to be done.
    no kidding

and i thought this piece of the article was interesting from BBC http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11997137
    Mr Stephens told the BBC on Wednesday that he was in the process of gathering the £200,000 in cash and had received a number of offers of money from members of the general public.
    He said Mr Assange was accused of the lowest category of rape under Swedish law - an offence which authorities there had never previously used as grounds for extradition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Im shocked (but not really) the Butt Licking Australian Government is not doing more for one of its Citizens,there should be a sign at Sydney International Airport saying "Welcome to Little America". the Australian Government wants Assange handed over to the Yanks ASAP, if he goes to Sweden he can say goodbye to the next 30+ years inside an American jail cell

The Aussie wrote: »
    there should be a sign at Sydney International Airport saying "Welcome to Little America".
    to be fair, i reckon this could be put in Irish Airports as well

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,903 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

ciagr297 wrote: »

And he won't get extradited to the US if he stays in the UK?
    I would have thought that extradition from Sweden was less likely.
    and i thought this piece of the article was interesting from BBC http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-11997137

The immediate question is 'So?'. It's legal, and the first time something's ever done, it will always be true that it has never been done before.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Inzilbeth

This article based on yet another leaked cable.. explain more why the Swedes want him extradited...

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/wikileaks/8202745/WikiLeaks-Swedish-government-hid-anti-terror-operations-with-America-from-Parliament.html

tis also interesting that they are stating 'no bail conditions' will be acceptable to them!!

Can't wait till the hearing tomorrow at 11.30.. hope the Times get permission to tweet the proceedings.. they have applied for permission to do so

Iceland may ban MasterCard, Visa over WikiLeaks censorship
    Credit card companies that prevented card-holders from donating money to the secrets outlet WikiLeaks could have their operating licenses taken away in Iceland, according to members of the Icelandic Parliamentary General Committee.

Representatives from Mastercard and Visa were called before the committee Sunday to discuss their refusal to process donations to the website, reports Reykjavik Grapevine.

"People wanted to know on what legal grounds the ban was taken, but no one could answer it," Robert Marshall, the chairman of the committee, said. "They said this decision was taken by foreign sources."

The committee is seeking additional information from the credit card companies for proof that there was legal grounds for blocking the donations.

Marshall said the committee would seriously review the operating licenses of Visa and Mastercard in Iceland.

WikiLeaks' payment processor, the Icelandic company DataCell ehf, said it would take immediate legal action against the companies to make donations possible again.

"DataCell who facilitates those payments towards Wikileaks has decided to take up immediate legal actions to make donations possible again," DataCell CEO Andreas Fink said last week. "We can not believe WikiLeaks would even create scratch at the brand name of Visa."

"It will probably hurt their brand much much more to block payments towards WikiLeaks than to have them occur," Fink added.

After news that the companies had stopped processing donations to the secrets outlet, those participating in an online campaign known as "Operation Payback" temporarily knocked the websites of Visa and Mastercard offline.

"This does clearly create massive financial losses to WikiLeaks which seems to be the only purpose of this suspension," Fink continued. "This is not about the brand of Visa, this is about politics and Visa should not be involved in this."

Neither company has offered a detailed explanation of why they stopped processing payments to WikiLeaks. MasterCard said only that WikiLeaks had acted in an "illegal" manner, in violation of the company's terms.

The companies still process payments to The Guardian and the New York Times, which have published leaked US diplomatic cables released by WikiLeaks.

"I can use Visa and Mastercard to pay for porn and support anti-abortion fanatics, Prop 8 homophobic bigots, and the Ku Klux Klan," Jeff Javis noted at The Huffington Post. "But I can't use them or PayPal to support Wikileaks, transparency, the First Amendment, and true government reform. Just saying."

Last week, the Swiss bank Postfinance closed the account of WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange because he gave "false information regarding his place of residence during the account opening process." Swiss authorities are investigating if the bank violated secrecy rules by publicly announcing that it had closed his account.
    http://anonops.blogspot.com/

ciagr297 wrote: »
    to be fair, i reckon this could be put in Irish Airports as well

Better than 'Welcome to Dublinskigrad'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Inzilbeth

:mad: judge today NOT allowing twitter...because 'it erodes dignity' HUH

Assange has been granted bail.
    Release now due within 30 minutes.

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/173/capturelaz.jpg

Better than 'Welcome to Dublinskigrad'
    at least it would be more obvious who is pushing which buttons:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

He's on BBC Newsnight now.
    It's such an interesting case!

Alessandra wrote: »
    He's on BBC Newsnight now.
    It's such an interesting case!
    He must be holding that cup to stop himself from getting frostbite!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Biggins wrote: »
    He must be holding that cup to stop himself from getting frostbite!

It looked like an empty..

He was dodging questions

Alessandra wrote: »
    It looked like an empty..

He was dodging questions
    Possibly but he wasn't giving anyone to get him, any further material on which they could use against him too?