Wikileaks merge (Assange loses extradition appeal)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Nodin wrote: »
    One day - and I, indeed the Universe, may not live long enough to see it - you'll make a worthwhile contribution to a thread.

Yeah he does post some sh1t alright.Might explain the redneck sitting on the jacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Someone from /b/ just got arrested...

http://gizmodo.com/5710568/dutch-4chan-teen-arrested-for-wikileaks-revenge-attacks

A 16 year old teen from the Netherlands has been arrested for being a 'Gunner' in the DDoS attacks that targetd Mastercard, Paypal and Visa. The DDoS program created collaberatively by /b/ members is an open-source program called Low Orbit Ion Cannon (LoIC) - essentially what it is is a volunteer botnet: you download the program to your PC and your computer can then receive control commands from a central gunner which picks the time and web location for a directed attack, using thousands of Ion Cannon PCs. The teen launched the attacks in retaliation to those institutions blocking donations to wikileaks. He was reportedly very effective at disrupting them, too.

I find it fascinating that 4Chan users would create such a thing and that enough people would volunteer to use it. Mildly entertaining stuff.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,895 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

It comes under the Freedom of the Press though.

I'm not sure that's not a fairly important distinction, in political if not legal terms.

For example, it has been pointed out that in past cases, the 'leaker' has been prosecuted for basically being someone who had access to files, and giving it to someone who did not, whilst the newspapers, who simply published it, have not been successfully prosecuted. The false logic which is being spread around, however, is that this is proof that the laws can only ever apply to the original leaker, and not anyone who transmits the information afterwards. The counter-point to that is the prosecution of spy rings. Spy 1 obtains the information, gives it to Spy 2, who leaves it under a park bench for Spy 3 to pick up, who takes it to a ship and meets up with Spy 4, who then takes it to Moscow. All four spies could be (and have been in the past) nabbed under the espionage laws even though only the first one broke the 'access authorisation' barrier.

So how to apply this distinction in Wikileaks' case? (Assuming somehow territorial/legal jurisdiction can be applied, itself no easy challenge). One possibility I'm fairly sure that the AG's office is looking at is that a news organisation reports on most any type of subject that crosses its editor's desk, whereas wikileaks is a single-purpose organisation with that single purpose being illegal.

NTM

I'm not sure that's not a fairly important distinction, in political if not legal terms.

For example, it has been pointed out that in past cases, the 'leaker' has been prosecuted for basically being someone who had access to files, and giving it to someone who did not, whilst the newspapers, who simply published it, have not been successfully prosecuted. The false logic which is being spread around, however, is that this is proof that the laws can only ever apply to the original leaker, and not anyone who transmits the information afterwards. The counter-point to that is the prosecution of spy rings. Spy 1 obtains the information, gives it to Spy 2, who leaves it under a park bench for Spy 3 to pick up, who takes it to a ship and meets up with Spy 4, who then takes it to Moscow. All four spies could be (and have been in the past) nabbed under the espionage laws even though only the first one broke the 'access authorisation' barrier.
    I seem to recall watching a film about the Cuban Missile Crisis - seemingly quite factual - but in which journalists knew something was up and were bullied and pleaded with to keep their stories silent for as long as possible. If what they were doing were illegal the Government would have simply censured them under the National Security Act. Those were domestic reporters, Assange and his organization are foreign, and can't really be tried for Treason either as some have suggested.
    So how to apply this distinction in Wikileaks' case? (Assuming somehow territorial/legal jurisdiction can be applied, itself no easy challenge). One possibility I'm fairly sure that the AG's office is looking at is that a news organisation reports on most any type of subject that crosses its editor's desk, whereas wikileaks is a single-purpose organisation with that single purpose being illegal.

NTM
    What illegal purpose is that, exactly?

Overheal wrote: »
    Someone from /b/ just got arrested...

http://gizmodo.com/5710568/dutch-4chan-teen-arrested-for-wikileaks-revenge-attacks

A 16 year old teen from the Netherlands has been arrested for being a 'Gunner' in the DDoS attacks that targetd Mastercard, Paypal and Visa. The DDoS program created collaberatively by /b/ members is an open-source program called Low Orbit Ion Cannon (LoIC) - essentially what it is is a volunteer botnet: you download the program to your PC and your computer can then receive control commands from a central gunner which picks the time and web location for a directed attack, using thousands of Ion Cannon PCs. The teen launched the attacks in retaliation to those institutions blocking donations to wikileaks. He was reportedly very effective at disrupting them, too.

I find it fascinating that 4Chan users would create such a thing and that enough people would volunteer to use it. Mildly entertaining stuff.
    To add to this I just came back from the grocery store. The cashier asked me if I wanted to pay Cash or Credit or Debit. I says "Cash.. why whats wrong?" She goes "Oh well if you paid by card you'd be here a while, all of our pay computers are down and acting really slow".

Paypads which by the way were operated by Visa..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Inzilbeth

Visa was targeted today as well as Paypal but apparently according to some blogs.. Anon went for two different parts of the latter.. so it did not work out as expected.

As for Wikileaks.. looks like some changes are ahead..

http://www.dn.se/nyheter/varlden/a-new-wikileaks-revolts-against-assange-1.1224764

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Just telling the truth, buddy, not your viewpoint I know, but left wing apologists and fellow travellers have to be constantly advised that the world doesn't support itself.

People have to work, take risks, set up businesses and provide employment, develope resources and skills, and market their product.

Sure, in your world we could all sit in flats and depend on the state and go from cradle to grave without ever an innovative thought.

Sure we could demand the ideal scenario is where everyone is equal regardless of effort and ambition and the waster and indolent could sit back and bask in the effort of the industrious.

But that is not the way it works as you know and I know;)

Luckily you'll be in the Gulag and we won't have to listen to you then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I see Julian Assange's alleged accusers names and details have been put online as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭Jonah42

<snip>

omahaid wrote: »
    I see Julian Assange's alleged accusers names and details have been put online as well.

Out of interest, by whom? A common process in most Western countries is that the accused has the right to know his accusor. I think the names were released by Swedish authorities some time ago, finding the associated details can't be that hard in the world of Facebook...

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

With the exception of UN spying and Al-Masri; America actually comes up across quite well in these leaks......no grand conspiracies; its worse for a lot of other states (in particular Iran, Afghanistan, Russia, Italy, Nigeria, Scotland). With America, their motivations and actions comes across pretty much in line with what would be expected given the official policy.

It might be more interesting to hear other states views of America!

On the freedom of speech thing, a comparison is in order. If I posted private correspondence (say instant messaging) between two people on here containing information they considered private they wouldn't be defending my free speech. Many of the people praising Assange are also the ones who talk of an "orwellian future" and would be the the first to complain if Facebook, Google infringe on their privacy if they sold private correspondence. Publishing private correspondence among non consenting parties is actually against free speech, as it infringes on the privacy rights of those who wrote the documents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Inzilbeth wrote: »
    Visa was targeted today as well as Paypal but apparently according to some blogs.. Anon went for two different parts of the latter.. so it did not work out as expected.

As for Wikileaks.. looks like some changes are ahead..

http://www.dn.se/nyheter/varlden/a-new-wikileaks-revolts-against-assange-1.1224764

That's interesting. I remember reading an article in the Examiner a few months back (around the time the afghanistan documents were to be leaked) about assange being a divisive figure within wikileaks itself. Seem like those divisions are coming to a head now.

NTM
    I don't mean to be prudish but I hadn't gotten a response to my previous question on this: that being, what is Wikileak's Single Purpose, and what makes it Illegal? I agree that the site has done some dangerous things but if it was illegal why bring him up on bareback sex charges and not whatever illegal deed he is meant to have carried out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

I agree that the site has done some dangerous things but if it was illegal why bring him up on bareback sex charges and not whatever illegal deed he is meant to have carried out?

yeah stitching someone up with rape is the ultimate in lowballing. but we seem to have a government doing it here, not just some jilted woman.. that the case can even proceed when it's so obviously just sour grapes over something else entirely.. if one didn't realize previously that they have too much influence/control on the world so much so as to dictate actions in other countries under false pretenses and need to be taken down from the maddafackin base, then this case should suffice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

**** off with your Rickrolling. Just. ****. Off.

Oh the ironing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Inzilbeth

Out of interest, by whom? A common process in most Western countries is that the accused has the right to know his accusor. I think the names were released by Swedish authorities some time ago, finding the associated details can't be that hard in the world of Facebook...

NTM

I found them in a blog '.. was easy enough to trace but if I put the link up then I am publishing it as well ;).. and honestly although looking at various articles about the time line of events.. I think it is more a case of two women being upset he was sleeping with them both at the same time.. But I dont agree with their details being released.. especially since the blog had their phone numbers and e-mail details attached.. and the comments being left for them by supporters of Assange were pretty graphic.

The following article from Radsoft however does make you think.. what on earth was the prosecutor thinking off?

http://radsoft.net/news/20101001,01.shtml

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/article-1307137/Supporters-dismissed-rape-accusations-WikiLeaks-founder-Julian-Assange--women-involved-tell-different-story.html

It will be a very interesting 'trial' IF they ever get him to Sweden....and even if they dont.. he still has troubles

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/wikileaks/8195120/WikiLeaks-Julian-Assange-could-face-spying-charges.html

I don't mean to be prudish but I hadn't gotten a response to my previous question on this: that being, what is Wikileak's Single Purpose, and what makes it Illegal?

The single purpose is to facilitate the publication of confidential information. Quite arguably the espionage laws cover the purpose, both for industrial and governmental types.
    I agree that the site has done some dangerous things but if it was illegal why bring him up on bareback sex charges and not whatever illegal deed he is meant to have carried out?

My guess is they're falling short on the jurisdiction requirement, and need to find a way to work it through other nations courts without starting something which would have dangerous precedent. My hypothetical is based on the premise that the organisation or its members can somehow find itself in front of a US judge to begin with. If that can happen, finding a charge which would stick shouldn't be too hard.

NTM

The single purpose is to facilitate the publication of confidential information.
    WikiLeaks is a not-for-profit media organisation. Our goal is to bring important news and information to the public. We provide an innovative, secure and anonymous way for sources to leak information to our journalists (our electronic drop box). One of our most important activities is to publish original source material alongside our news stories so readers and historians alike can see evidence of the truth. We are a young organisation that has grown very quickly, relying on a network of dedicated volunteers around the globe. Since 2007, when the organisation was officially launched, WikiLeaks has worked to report on and publish important information. We also develop and adapt technologies to support these activities.

WikiLeaks has sustained and triumphed against legal and political attacks designed to silence our publishing organisation, our journalists and our anonymous sources. The broader principles on which our work is based are the defence of freedom of speech and media publishing, the improvement of our common historical record and the support of the rights of all people to create new history. We derive these principles from the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. In particular, Article 19 inspires the work of our journalists and other volunteers. It states that everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers. We agree, and we seek to uphold this and the other Articles of the Declaration.

I suppose The Consumerist should be shut down also for obtaining insider information from Starbucks Barristas and Cash4Gold Employees? The latter of which was bound to an NDA if i recall correctly. There was also the case of "Corporate Espionnage" Where a Gawker Journalist, Jason Chen, physically obtained one of the original iPhone 4G prototypes to the tune of a very bizarre and consequential lawsuits that I think didn't end up anywhere. Though there were some pretty forceful seizures of his home computers. A search later deemed illegal because - he was a Journalist, and there are laws to protect Journalism.
    If that can happen, finding a charge which would stick shouldn't be too hard.
    I believe the egg comes before the chicken in that case. How could I be summoned to Traffic Court before I was charged with Speeding? Maybe it's just military-think but I find your insinuation troubling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The single purpose is to facilitate the publication of confidential information. Quite arguably the espionage laws cover the purpose, both for industrial and governmental types.

My guess is they're falling short on the jurisdiction requirement, and need to find a way to work it through other nations courts without starting something which would have dangerous precedent. My hypothetical is based on the premise that the organisation or its members can somehow find itself in front of a US judge to begin with. If that can happen, finding a charge which would stick shouldn't be too hard.

NTM

Thus have earned the ire of Rome, his fate is sealed? Lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭MackDeToaster

Does anyone remember Watergate ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentagon_Papers
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_York_Times_Co._v._United_States

This is what's called shooting the messenger. The US gov failed in it's attempts to shut down the NY Times reporting of the affair, there is legal precedent, plus in this case Assange is neither a US citizen, nor based in the country, nor did he personally steal the documents.

As far as I'm concerned, if a case is laid against Assange in the States, this lays bare the sheer hypocrisy and lies of the US concerning free speech and democracy. They have become what claim to be fighting.

"He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster...when you gaze long into the abyss the abyss also gazes into you." -- Friedrich Nietzsche

"You see these dictators on their pedestals, surrounded by the bayonets of their soldiers and the truncheons of their police. Yet in their hearts there is unspoken – unspeakable! – fear. They are afraid of words and thoughts! Words spoken abroad, thoughts stirring at home, all the more powerful because they are forbidden. These terrify them. A little mouse – a little tiny mouse! – of thought appears in the room, and even the mightiest potentates are thrown into panic." -- Winston Churchill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Except Watergate resulted in the exposure of illegal activities perpetrated by the Nixon administration, what illegal activities were exposed when the diplomatic cables and installation lists were published?

Also the NY Times and indeed Woodward and Bernstein were bound by the journalist code of ethics and standards, something Wikileaks does not subscribe to. They fortunately can't have it both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

gizmo wrote: »
    Except Watergate resulted in the exposure of illegal activities perpetrated by the Nixon administration, what illegal activities were exposed when the diplomatic cables and installation lists were published?

Also the NY Times and indeed Woodward and Bernstein were bound by the journalist code of ethics and standards, something Wikileaks does not subscribe to. They fortunately can't have it both ways.

Wikileaks only releases things that they have discussed with other media outlets including the NY Times. They asked the US Dept of State if there were any titles which they should look for that were particularly dangerous, the Dept did not reply.

I support Wikileaks 100% and will continue to do so as long as they don't put any lives at risk. They are making politicians afraid of the media and people again, eliminating spin and double speak. That can only be a good thing.

bleg wrote: »
    Wikileaks only releases things that they have discussed with other media outlets including the NY Times. They asked the US Dept of State if there were any titles which they should look for that were particularly dangerous, the Dept did not reply.

I support Wikileaks 100% and will continue to do so as long as they don't put any lives at risk. They are making politicians afraid of the media and people again, eliminating spin and double speak. That can only be a good thing.
    You didn't answer my question though, what illegal activities were Wikileaks trying to expose by publishing the diplomatic cables and list of sites the US deemed of high value?

As for the other papers, do you think they would have published those same documents had Wikileaks not done so?

As I've said before, I support the idea of Wikileaks however I cannot support the recent leaks as, like many of those who have left the organisation, I feel it has begun to lose it's way as Assange moves to specifically embarrass the US rather than focusing on more productive tasks.

Really, nothing illegal ? Nothing dodgy like the fact that Shell have infiltrated and corrupted all levels of goverment in Nigeria, or that Pzifer tried to find dirt on Nigerian goverment officials in order to stop a legal case. Nothing important like the kidnapping and torture of an innocent German man http://tinyurl.com/3yvzf9u, nothing important like the murder of innocents and a secret war in Yemen, or the fact that the Afghan government is hopelessy corrupt and that it's basically a failed war ?

As for installations, did terrorists need a list of installations to attack the Twin Towers, or the nightclubs in Indonesia, or the tube in London, the trains in Spain etc etc ? That sort of claim is utterly ridiculous. The US commander in Afghanistan has said that no harm was done, as has the US Defence Dept.

Are you aware that Wikileaks requested that the US help them redact all documents in order to prevent damage, and that the US refused, or that only maybe 1000 documents have been released so far out of the 250,000, and that all of these have been redacted with the aid of major newspapers such as The Guardian, Spiegel and the New York Times ?

And they don't subscribe to principles ? Are you aware that Wikileaks requested that the US help them redact all documents in order to prevent damage, and that the US refused, or that only maybe 1000 documents have been released so far out of the 250,000, and all of these have been redacted with the aid of major newspapers such as The Guardian, Spiegel and the New York Times ?

In case you haven't noticed it's the US that are actually kidnapping, torturing and killing people on a huge scale, name one person that Wikileaks has killed.

And I say this as someone who has been a huge supporter of the US and the principles of free speech and democracy, but things have been looking worse and worse ever since the Iraq war, and now Wikileaks are merely using the US's very own words to expose their corruption and hypocrisy. Once again, why shoot the messenger ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

You didn't answer my question though, what illegal activities were Wikileaks trying to expose by publishing the diplomatic cables and list of sites the US deemed of high value?

I wasn't really trying to answer your question, just giving my overall view in response to your post. I don't think exposing illegal activities is the sole aim. Surely they have planned this for months, I'd say the leaking of the cables is a move to gain a high profile. Even after Collateral Murder most people didn't know about Wikileaks, now my 65 year old parents are asking me about it. The amount of interest this dirt has drummed up is huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

How about spying on United Nations diplomats?
    The leak of the directive is likely to spark questions about the legality of the operation and about whether state department diplomats are expected to spy. The level of technical and personal detail demanded about the UN top team's communication systems could be seen as laying the groundwork for surveillance or hacking operations. It requested "current technical specifications, physical layout and planned upgrades to telecommunications infrastructure and information systems, networks and technologies used by top officials and their support staff", as well as details on private networks used for official communication, "to include upgrades, security measures, passwords, personal encryption keys and virtual private network versions used".

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/nov/28/us-embassy-cables-spying-un

This is what's called shooting the messenger. The US gov failed in it's attempts to shut down the NY Times reporting of the affair, there is legal precedent, plus in this case Assange is neither a US citizen, nor based in the country, nor did he personally steal the documents.

That is exactly the same argument you can make about most of the members of a Russian spy ring, but there is plenty of legal precedent for nabbing all of the people who handled the information, not only the person who stole the documents from the CIA office.

The big question is of jurisdiction, not over whether Wikileaks could be successfully prosecuted should the organisation find itself in a US court.
    How about spying on United Nations diplomats?

Then leak the document about spying on UN diplomats. Not all the documents. Though from the quote just above, the information required doesn't seem to cross into that of espionage.
    In case you haven't noticed it's the US that are actually kidnapping, torturing and killing people on a huge scale, name one person that Wikileaks has killed.

I don't have their names, but according to this interview in the Guardian, Assange is quite happy to take credit for some.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010/aug/01/julian-assange-wikileaks-afghanistan
    The leak exposed massive corruption by Daniel Arap Moi, and the Kenyan people sat up and took notice. In the ensuing elections, in which corruption became a major issue, violence swept the country. "1,300 people were eventually killed, and 350,000 were displaced. That was a result of our leak," says Assange

Now, that said, the elections were controversial enough without the documents having been leaked, and it's quite likely there would have been violence anyway, so insofar as that goes, then, no, I can't point definitevely to anyone and say they have been harmed by Wikileaks. Whether or not anyone has been killed as a result of the Afghan leaks, nobody can definitively state, and either way, there is no way of knowing ahead of time what the opposition might or might not take advantage of. Either way, Assange seems to have no problem with people being killed as long as it's for reasons he approves of, which is surprisingly similar to the governments he's working against.

NTM

The big question is of jurisdiction, not over whether Wikileaks could be successfully prosecuted should the organisation find itself in a US court.
    NTM

Very true, and that's what's worrying about the entire thing - that a non-citizen ,who has only acted as a conduit for information and who has not been charged under any American law, has found himself under such attack, up to and including calls by leading politicians for his murder, and the obviously heavy leaning on companies such as Mastercard, Visa, Paypal, etc not to deal with him. What ever happened to due process and the rule of law ? Not even the Soviet Union or China has had to arrogance to lay claim that their laws are applicable worldwide, why should the US be held different ? Their very actions so far are proving that they are just a mirror and that it's all a sham.
    I don't have their names, but according to this interview in the Guardian, Assange is quite happy to take credit for some.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2010/aug/01/julian-assange-wikileaks-afghanistan

Now, that said, the elections were controversial enough without the documents having been leaked, and it's quite likely there would have been violence anyway, so insofar as that goes, then, no, I can't point definitevely to anyone and say they have been harmed by Wikileaks. Whether or not anyone has been killed as a result of the Afghan leaks, nobody can definitively state, and either way, there is no way of knowing ahead of time what the opposition might or might not take advantage of. Either way, Assange seems to have no problem with people being killed as long as it's for reasons he approves of, which is surprisingly similar to the governments he's working against.
    NTM

Wikileaks doesn't have an army, navy or an air-force. Assange can make all the claims he wants but as you say, correlation does not equal to causation. I don't know the man and neither do I care about what he's like as a person nor his motives, what I do care about is what the reaction is telling me about supposed freedoms and the like.

The US has supposedly stood for free speech and internet freedoms - they have attacked Iran about Twitter, China for it's great firewall and censoring of Google.

Read this speech from Hilary Clinton and see the sheer hypocrisy... http://www.foreignpolicy.com/articles/2010/01/21/internet_freedom?page=full
    There's going to be a need for new superlatives because the existing ones are inadequate.

How about Barack Obama.. http://tinyurl.com/yfubkdz
    "Now, I should tell you, I should be honest, as President of the United States, there are times where I wish information didn't flow so freely because then I wouldn't have to listen to people criticizing me all the time. I think people naturally are -- when they're in positions of power sometimes thinks, oh, how could that person say that about me, or that's irresponsible, or -- but the truth is that because in the United States information is free, and I have a lot of critics in the United States who can say all kinds of things about me, I actually think that that makes our democracy stronger and it makes me a better leader because it forces me to hear opinions that I don't want to hear. It forces me to examine what I'm doing on a day-to-day basis to see, am I really doing the very best that I could be doing for the people of the United States. "

"Now, as I said before, there's always a downside to technology. It also means that terrorists are able to organize on the Internet in ways that they might not have been able to do before. Extremists can mobilize. And so there's some price that you pay for openness, there's no denying that. But I think that the good outweighs the bad so much that it's better to maintain that openness."

Here's another few good ones.. http://tinyurl.com/35fvvsq

How about the US government warning employees not to look at Wikileaks, even though 3 million have access to the full set of cables just as part of their job? Or what do you think about students and potential employees being told not to mention Wikileaks on Facebook or any other social networking sites because it could impact future employment and they could be seen as security risks - just where is the freedom of thought and speech there, I don't see how anyone could justify this sort of frankly Orwellian and Kafaesque behaviour.

The hypocrisy, lies and propoganda disgust and repulse me beyond words, and I feel sick that, while i had begun to suspect as much anyway in the wake of Guantanamo, extraordinary rendition (kidnapping), the Patriot Act and the like, Wikileaks has now laid bare the mealy-mouthed lies of politicans and that there now is no beacon of freedom in the Western world. For that Wikileaks can only be applauded.

Really, nothing illegal ? Nothing dodgy like the fact that Shell have infiltrated and corrupted all levels of goverment in Nigeria, or that Pzifer tried to find dirt on Nigerian goverment officials in order to stop a legal case. Nothing important like the kidnapping and torture of an innocent German man http://tinyurl.com/3yvzf9u, nothing important like the murder of innocents and a secret war in Yemen, or the fact that the Afghan government is hopelessy corrupt and that it's basically a failed war ?
    Illegal in the context of the US as a nation. I'm aware the leaks contained information on third parties but that could have been passed onto the relevant news organisations and run separately without needing to publish the entire trove of cables, many of which, as I pointed out before, should not be in the public domain which is my problem with the issue. For a better solution to the problem check out Openleaks.
    As for installations, did terrorists need a list of installations to attack the Twin Towers, or the nightclubs in Indonesia, or the tube in London, the trains in Spain etc etc ? That sort of claim is utterly ridiculous. The US commander in Afghanistan has said that no harm was done, as has the US Defence Dept.
    The Twin Towers is a pretty high profile target as it is, the nightclubs would have just been a high-density area to attack civilians and the tube in London would have been a combination of both factors. All of these are quite different to publishing the locations of installations which the US deem of high strategic importance themselves, especially the lesser known targets such as those in Ireland for instance.
    Are you aware that Wikileaks requested that the US help them redact all documents in order to prevent damage, and that the US refused, or that only maybe 1000 documents have been released so far out of the 250,000, and that all of these have been redacted with the aid of major newspapers such as The Guardian, Spiegel and the New York Times ?
    I don't see how that makes much of a difference, the cables should not have been leaked in the manner in which they were, full stop. The redaction of certain names by more responsible publications is nice to see however it doesn't stop doing the damage that the Chinese/North Korean cables (for instance) would have done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Our investigation/questions offended the Vatican!
    Disclosures by Wikileaks of diplomatic cables have shed new light on the tensions between the Government and the Vatican during the Murphy investigation into clerical child abuse in the Dublin Archdiocese.

A leaked cable from the US Embassy to the Holy See suggests that many in the Vatican were offended by requests for information from the Murphy Commission, which they saw as an affront to Vatican sovereignty.

The publication of the Murphy report in November 2009 caused much controversy, not least because it revealed that the Vatican had failed to reply to a request from the Murphy Commission for information relating to reports of clerical child abuse in the Dublin Archdiocese.

The cable, published by the Guardian newspaper today, claims that Vatican officials were angry that the Irish Government didn't step in to direct the Murphy Commission to follow standard procedures in its communications with the Holy See.

In the end, the Vatican Secretary of State, Cardinal Bertone, wrote to the Irish Embassy requesting that proper diplomatic channels be followed.

According to the leaked diplomatic cable, the Government decided not to press the Vatican on the issue.

Maeve Lewis, Executive Director of One in Four said she thought it was laughable that the Vatican would have been offended by the request for information from the Murphy Commission.

She said this supports the view that the Catholic Church has continuously failed to accept institutional responsibility for sexual crimes against children

She said it was very regrettable that the Vatican had not co-operated with the inquiry at the time.

She said there had been a number of abuse survivors in touch with One in Four since news broke about the leaked cables on the Wikileaks website.

Other leaked cables reveal the extent to which the Vatican attempts to exert its influence on the world stage, lobbying to keep Turkey out of the European Union, and arguing for a ban on human cloning.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/1211/abuse.html