So who are you currently banking with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 lightpipe

I was with the halifax while they were here, very pleased with them. changed to the ennis rd AIB in limerick when halifax left, absolutely diabolical ! I transferred over 60K to them & for 6 days they couldn't tell me my account balance or allow me to make any transactions. They had between 40 & 60K for 6 months, paid me zero interest then had the neck to charge me bank charges after assuring me they wouldn't. Accounts now closed & with permanent tsb, so far so good ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    Where's the "I don't bank" option?

I will choose other. Don't have any bank accounts anymore. It is wonderful.

So how do you get paid for the News of the World column?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

So how do you get paid for the News of the World column?

Coke and hookers is the new currency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭Soby

I Dont Know What A Tracker Mortgage Is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

AIB atm. Changing probably to ulster. Should have long ago but today was the proverbial straw etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Bank of Ireland and postfinance.
    At least my swiss money is safe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I work for An Post and get paid via PostPay. I can call into any post office with my work card, they swipe it and hand over me monies.

That's handy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Been with Permanent TSB since I was about 11. Never had as much as a minute's problem with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭darsar

I'm with BOI and would be long gone only for the fact(s)

I owe them a fortune and it's too much hassle changing direct debits

I get paid 2 days before alot of my collegues because my employers are BOI

It's very handy in my too most local branches to get parking.

BUT

I opened up a PTSB two months ago for the visa debit card so I will be changing everything to PTSB when I motivate myself.

Last month just gone, my employers were two days late with wages. I missed my personal loan repayment. I went to the bank and lodged it the day I got paid(two days late). Next day I got a letter in post saying I missed payment etc . Got the same letter two days later and them got a phone call the same day saying I hadn't paid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Sparkyd2002

permanenttsb - never any issues.Although i was impressed recently when i was able to open a deposit account online in 3 clicks. Then unimpressed when 1 week later got a letter to my home address from them, (using an address they obviously had as i was an existing customer.You have to be to open the new account online) looking for id and proof of address signed by guard or solicitor etc. or call to the branch to get the docs stamped ) I laughed out loud that they sent a letter to my address which they obviously had on their system asking for proof of address, as for the id thing, Id taken out a mortgage with them 4 years previously so i was damn sure they had all that. That said that was the only issue/silly buggers moment ive had with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭COYW

SV wrote: »
    Ulster and they're brutal.

I bank with them and you have to be very careful. I rarely go into a branch but when I do they always mess up my request. Last time, I was served by a man in his early 30s. I was getting a draft for €900 and whilst filling it out, he wouldnt stop trying to offer me different financial services (savings accounts etc). On handing me the final draft I double checked it, as I always do, only to notice that he had the amount in writing in as 9 euro only and 900 as the amount in digits.

The female cashier felt the need to wink at me the time before as I said goodbye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

PTSB since my first job years ago,no hassle with them,online/phone banking is perfect too,only minor criticism is that they closed down my local branch in Clondalkin Village and moved down to the Liffey Valley Centre which is a bit of a pain in the hole when you want to lodge a cheque etc.

Looking forward to getting my new Visa debit card soon aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Could the OP please change the word "banking" in the title to "gambling"? Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Asphyxia

I set up a student account with BOI when they visited in secondary school but about 2/3 years ago I set up an account with AIB and it's doing me grand it's handy to pay the bills and getting paid into, to be honest I keep most of my money/savings in the credit union.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

bonerm wrote: »
    Could the OP please change the word "banking" in the title to "gambling"? Thanks.

eh no

ulster, i think they are great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Am i the only one who actually still likes their bank?:confused:Ive been with Bank of Ireland since i was 17. I find Banking 365 really good and anytime i have to ring them with a query theyve been sound and sorted it asap. Anytime ive applied for a top up loan theyve given it to me and they were one of only 3 banks who would give me a mortgage on my wage in '07. Lost my laser card a few weeks ago and had a new one 2 days later (granted they charged me but it still). No complaints with their service in 14 years for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭some_dose

I'm with Permanent TSB and I think they are excellent.

Got my ATM card skimmed a few years ago and 800 quid taken from my account. I got a call from them saying what happened. So I went in and the bank manager himself sat me down and went through what I had to do (go to the guards). After the cow of a bean garda in the station wouldn't help me, I went back to the bank. The bank manager got on the phone immediately and sorted it all out for me and even gave me an overdraft facility while they tried to retrieve the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,488 ✭✭✭manafana

PTSB, offered me interest on current a/c, was able setup savings account online then with decent interest rate, online banking works well, their people on phone tend be very helpful and polite. I dont have substantial savings, but for my age id be one of better savers, and i feel bit more rewarded than i ever did with aib or boi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I've been with BOI for 11 years. Have had two loans. Both of which I made my payments with no problem and actually paid off before the end of the terms. For 7 of my years I had a small overdraft. I only went into it once and was out of it within a few days.

I them applied for an extension on my overdraft and was turned down with no explanation. To this day I have no reason why. I would have thought my credit couldn't be better but apparently not.

I have contemplated going to PTSB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Bank of Ireland for my current account. Credit Union for my savings and loan. Haven't had any problems with Bank of Ireland personally, but then again all I use it for is my wages. Permanent TSB definately seems to be the popular bank here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,220 ✭✭✭maximoose

PTSB. No problems whatsoever. The very few times I've have a problem its been sorted out quickly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I have bank accounts in several banks due to inheriting money which was left in trust for me by my dead Grandfather when he died 6 years before I was even born!! I got access to it when I turned 18 and it was the best birthday present ever!!

I do my day to day banking with BOI and have a current account and savings account with them.

I have two savings account one in AIB and another in Permanent TSB. I also had money with Anglo but closed that before Nationalisation.

My bank ratings.

BOI, great bank, know the staff and good to deal with, however when I went RTW this year they screwed me over by cutting off access to my account, having other banks and taking cash saved my bacon!

AIB, better exchange rates than BOI for foreign ex etc. overall worse imo.

PTSB, good interest rates, good to deal with from a business perspective, only bank not in NAMA right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Been with AIB since I was about 15 but gonna move to PTSB soon enough.
    main reason I've stuck with them so long is my credit card and the fact I was on a student account till I was 21 and a graduate account since then.
    I left college after 1 year & I've never graduated and I havnt received any notification of a change.All my statements still say graduate :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

BOI since I was 16 or so.

Their online banking has never wowed me but tbh I can't think of anything which I would like or need which they're lacking. I don't go into any branches very often. They hold onto my money and I've never had any difficulty accessing it when I need it. I've never once paid a penny in bank charges.

I've also had no difficulty getting credit from them.

So I see no need to switch tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

AIB, since the age of 15. Only moved because First Active (account opened when I was 2 I think) got taken over by Bank of Scotland and stopped being er a bank. I loved First Active!! They gave me 500 free shares at the age of 10 for being such a loyal customer- used to get dividends of £20 every few months. When BOS took them over the shares were paid out in full- £3k! And I was 12, brilliant. Had to pay Capital Gains Tax on it of a few hundred but still :D AIB are nice to me, no problems. I don't have any loans or overdrafts I suppose. No sign of any free shares though, not that they're worth anything these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭who what when

Gonna go against the grain a bit here but im with PTSB and dont find them great at all. Keep doing sh1tty little things that i continuously ask them not to. Have to say though i do like my visa debit card!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

BOI since I was a teenager, wouldnt be arsed changing like others mentioned (theres a term for this in economics, cant remember what it is-but its why banks try to entice students with free things/goodie bags etc-they know they have you for life as you're not arsed changing)

Irish Nationwide for bonds which ill be moving when they mature.I dont trust the government guarantee no matter how many people say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

UlsterBank for my main chunk of day to day/online shopping. BoI for wages to be deposited into, and Credit Union for savings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

df1985 wrote: »
    BOI since I was a teenager, wouldnt be arsed changing like others mentioned (theres a term for this in economics, cant remember what it is-but its why banks try to entice students with free things/goodie bags etc-they know they have you for life as you're not arsed changing)

Irish Nationwide for bonds which ill be moving when they mature.I dont trust the government guarantee no matter how many people say it.

Bone-idle laziness, I think is the term you refer to.