Price of the Pint - What would make you go back to the pub ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

The smoking ban, while we all complained at first, ended up being a great idea. The pubs have now been seperated into 2 parts which you can freely go to and from.

The odd time the owner after locking up would let us smoke but that usually was because it was mainly a handful of us who stayed and were smokers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    But sure every night is cold in Ireland. So who decides when it's a one-off event and when it becomes a regular thing?

If it was regular we would be caught and fined. That is what stops it. Simples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm on about a one off moment in a small rural pub with no "strangers" around on a quiet evening with the outside temp at -6C.
    Wow :eek: you actually think smoking is cool.

1. Re-read my post.

2. Note down the word 'supposedly'?

3. Find a dictionary, look it up.

4. Success! You understand what I was saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

AnneFrank wrote: »
    are you people mad,it wouldnt do any harm,if most people thought it was ok ?what about the people that dont think it's ok ?what about the staff?what about the law ?Just give up it's way better for your health and will save you a small fortune,the moaners are just the people who dont have the willpower to give up

so hows that trip back up to the attic going for you? not too well?

the moaners are just the people who dont have the willpower to give up
    I certainly don't want to give it up. I love smoking. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Elevator wrote: »
    nothing cos I can drink a lot and not be drunk, I would need well over €100 to drink in a pub today, it probably wouldn't stop at a ton!!

so nothing would bring me back to he pub

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

1. Re-read my post.

2. Note down the word 'supposedly'?

3. Find a dictionary, look it up.

4. Success! You understand what I was saying.

How about you look up the word sarcasm. ;)

Your sarcasm's crap mate. Try harder in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

where did i mention pub grub in general was better than restaurant food ?where did i say a higher alcohol cost = a reduction in alcoholim ?
    i think pub grub is ok(toasted sandwiches and soup) but not restaurants
    personally with all the alcoholism in this country i thoughtthe price should be raised
    are you drunk or just a gombeen ?

thats cool, apology accepted
    Get a pair of glasses and re-read the conversation.
    A one off moment for one night = 3/4 hours.

im fine with your once off thing in a pub in a rural area or whatever were everyone agrees. i was talking about you moaning about the lack of atmosphere due to people having to leave the pub every now and again. if there was no smoking ban so you could sit inside with your mates chatting while you smoked those 2-4 hours a night add up very fast for everyone else around you not to mention the people serving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

I certainly don't want to give it up. I love smoking. :D

that explains alot,

PeakOutput wrote: »
    thats cool, apology accepted

im fine with your once off thing in a pub in a rural area or whatever were everyone agrees. i was talking about you moaning about the lack of atmosphere due to people having to leave the pub every now and again. if there was no smoking ban so you could sit inside with your mates chatting while you smoked those 2-4 hours a night add up very fast for everyone else around you not to mention the people serving

you just proved me right !!!Your wording is totally different to mine and you were putting words in my mouth,gombeen

Your sarcasm's crap mate. Try harder in future.

Well it annoyed you didn't it.
    I was therefore successful in my aim. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

You drink 20 pints in one sitting and aren't drunk?

You're either lying or you're not good at maths. ;)

Probably lost the ability to count after the fourth pint

Well it annoyed you didn't it.
    I was therefore successful in my aim. ;)

Ah bless.

You'll have to try a lot harder to annoy me.

Since you're the smoker why the hell would it annoy me if you mistakenly thought I believed smoking was cool?

It just don't make sense.

that explains alot,

Naturally, it explains why I smoke and why I enjoyed that night so much.
    Your powers of observation are astounding. :cool:

Naturally, it explains why I smoke and why I enjoyed that night so much.
    Your powers of observation are astounding. :cool:

Thanks i thought so,but anyone who says" i love to smoke " is a moron,i wonder will you say the same thing on a hospital trolley unable to breath and dying of cancer.That comment shall come back to haunt you Einstein Enjoy :)

Last week during one of those slightly chilly evenings in one of the out of the way pubs near here, the landlord (with the consensus of all there) let anyone smoke inside next to the fireplace. By the end of the evening there was an atmosphere (not smoke related) in the place like a New York speakeasy in the prohibition days, mighty craic was had that night. :D

Is this illegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭Soby

Even 4 yo yos a pint would be a grand

Ah bless.

Since you're the smoker why the hell would it annoy me if you mistakenly thought I believed smoking was cool?

the chaps a pillock Anonoboy,i would imagine a naive 20 year old living with mammy

orourkeda wrote: »
    Is this illegal?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Funny that so many people said €3.50 because that's exactly the price I had in mind when I read the thread title.

More seating is a good idea, but it's not something I ever considered a major problem. One thing they could stop doing is providing seating for either too many or too few people. Loads of pubs seems to provide tables which will fit 2 people, 4 at a stretch, and at the other side of the bar you have huge areas to fit ten or 12 people. If you generally had seating for groups of six - eight people, you'd probably find people a lot more comfortable. Although I think any arrangement which stops people from standing around in other peoples' way would work fine.

Ah bless.

Well you did mention cool'ness, the people I know who smoke do it for pleasure not to be cool, though maybe with the people you hang around with such things as smoking, ones style of dress or speech etc determines your level of cool'ness.
    I'm a bit too old for such trivialities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭Blisterman

There's plenty of pubs in England with Pints at £1.50 or less, and they manage to turn a profit. I know duty and everything is higher in Ireland, but take into account, the cheapest can in a typical off licence in England is about 70p. In Ireland about €1.20 So that's not that much of a difference. About 40c or so.
    Better to have a packed pub at €2 a pint, than an empty one at €5 a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

you just proved me right !!!Your wording is totally different to mine and you were putting words in my mouth,gombeen

so which part did i misunderstand please explain were i misinterpreted you? its not my fault if you cant explain the crazy notions you have going on in your head now is it?

as an aside, i never report people on this site so i dont particularly care but if you keep trying to insult people instead of picking apart their actual posts you are going to get a ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

personally with all the alcoholism in this country i thoughtthe price should be raised along with cigs

I totally disagree with you, I can pop down to my local supermarket and on any given day pick up a bottle of Smirnoff/Absolut vodka for €16 and with mixers the total cost is €20, sit in and drink myself to oblivion whereas if I took that €20 and went to a local bar I'd have maybe 3 drinks.

Raising the price of alcohol will never curb alcoholism, it will only serve to turn people off going to bars and clubs and force people to drink at home and drink excessively more than they normally would.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

AnneFrank banned. Please do not respond to the now banned poster as he cannot answer back.

....snip....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

In some pubs in Cork you can get a pint of beamish for €2.60 before 9 o clock, and this is the norm.

Cider is a couple of Euros dearer, but in the Brog you can get a pint for around €3 in the daytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

TheZohan wrote: »
    Raising the price of alcohol will never curb alcoholism, it will only serve to turn people off going to bars and clubs and force people to drink at home and drink excessively more than they normally would.

Raising the price will only hit the pubs more and get more to flock towards the off-license. I would go to the pub more often around Galway but, like you said, it's cheaper to get stuff from the offy and supermarkets.

Every weekend I treat myself to an 8 pack of Bavaria for €8 since I don't have the dough to go out and get pissed in public. It's great to relax watching a movie or what-not and can make that pack last the 2 nights if I cared to.

Yes.

No sign of a €3000 fine anywhere