Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mary Robinson tells it like it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

This is not self-indulgent but wrong.

There's a lot more wrong than just the banks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

So, you're saying that if we had just told the politicians to do a better job, then none of this would have happened?

No, but it contributed to it. Do you not think you have a duty to tell politicians what you want them to do?

Lumen wrote: »
    OK. An analogy...
    I'm sitting in a pub, nursing my Guinness whilst a bloke at the bar shoves 18 pints of wifebeater down his neck with money he stole from some old woman down the road. He then goes outside, starts a fight then burns down the pub..

Your analogy might work if there was you, and a hundred others nursing Guinness, and his pints of wifebeater were at knock down prices because the bar was so full of you and your pals and you knew it.

In other words it doesn't work at all, because it has no reflection on what actually happened. He didn't steal money from some old woman down the road, he got a cut of what you were paying for Guinness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

OK. An analogy...

I'm sitting in a pub, nursing my Guinness whilst a bloke at the bar shoves 18 pints of wifebeater down his neck with money he stole from some old woman down the road. He then goes outside, starts a fight then burns down the pub.

By your reasoning my presence in the bar is enough to make me partly responsible for all this crap. We were spending the same money on the same sort of stuff, and my support of the facilities which we shared and he abused makes me somehow complicit. I saw what he was doing, didn't ask where he got the money, and didn't make any attempt to stop him, on the basis that it wasn't any of my business, and I am neither the publican, the gardai, or his mother.

I'm a fan of Stella myself actually.

That is not an analogy of what I posted.

You did not understand what I said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

prinz wrote: »
    Yes because instead of saving etc, you put the money back into the economy that was built on an unsustainable boom across all sectors. Throwing fuel on the fire. Spending the money you DO have is great as long as you keep having the same amount of money if you want to enjoy the same lifestyle.
    And maybe people who spent money they had, also saved?
    Pace2008 wrote: »
    I've spent the last 5 years of gainful employment living in a self-built house of wattle and daub, leading an entirely self-sufficient, ascetic life in isolation from humanity, all the while squirreling my money away in a hole I dug in the ground with a log shaped a bit like a spade.

Am I absolved from blame?
    In fairness, you are - but only you mind you! However, if you enjoyed the odd cookie from M&S, or bought the odd CD... hang your head in shame, economy wrecker! :mad:
    drkpower wrote: »
    I disagree; every one of us who spent too much on a house, or too much on anything for that matter, or demanded too much in wages or social welfare, helped to inflate a rapidly inflating market.
    That deserves a portion of the blame.
    Well at least you're moving away from the "We are ALL to blame" bollocks and being a bit more specific.
    For those of you who think, 'its nothing to do with me; i bought my €7 pints, and my holidays, and my shoes, out of my money that i earned'; consider that it was that attitude which got us politicians that ran the country as they did; we should have been telling them to stop; we didnt. This is all going to happen again unless those of you who cant see that simple fact open your eyes.
    How exactly could we have told politicians to stop, other than not voting for them in the election and voicing our objections which wouldn't have worked anyway?
    If you were greedy with the fees you charged, don't blame others. That seems to be what this laughable charade is about tbh... That or that very Irish phenomenon of self flagellation, as pointed out by Lumen and Cavehill Red.

And really, I can't see how a person who is in full-time employment (and no job has EVER been guaranteed) and took out a mortgage for a modest house (even if highly priced - all properties were, relatively speaking) was being greedy. Taking a risk maybe, but not necessarily greedy.

Dudess wrote: »
    Well at least you're moving away from the "We are ALL to blame" bollocks and being a bit more specific..
    Im not actually:D.
    How exactly could we have told politicians to stop, other than not voting for them in the election? .

By telling them to their faces.
    By protesting against excessive expenditure, benchmarking, SW rises, tax decreases, SSIAs and all of the other things they did. Did you do any of that?
    If you were greedy with the fees you charged, don't blame others.
    FFS, dont you see the point? We were ALL 'greedy with the fees we charged'.... you were too, even if you didnt have the ability as i did to set your own fees, you did have the opportunity to negotiate your own salary which is precisely the same thing. It feeds the same monster. You were and are being paid too much. Face it.

And maybe people who spent money they had, also saved?

Not my experience tbh. Discussing it with friends recently and I was the only one with any sort of significant savings put by.
    Well at least you're moving away from the "We are ALL to blame" bollocks and being a bit more specific..

Basically we all spent too much on stuff, because it was all completely over-valued. Instead of calling a halt, people called for more, more more. More government spending, more out of town centre shopping arcades, built by developers btw, but don't let that stop the weekend trips to Dundrum etc.
    The rapid rise in the standard of living was completely unsustainable... the standard and the cost raced and chased each other ever upward on an almost daily basis.

Self-flaggelation, yeah of course that's it. It's not at all because I had some cop on and can face up to it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

irishcentral.com is literally the worst website ever.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

OisinT wrote: »
    irishcentral.com is literally the worst website ever.

Ya mean it beats this one? ;)

http://www.angelfire.com/super/badwebs/
    (Turn your speakers on!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,476 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Biggins wrote: »
    Ya mean it beats this one? ;)

http://www.angelfire.com/super/badwebs/
    (Turn your speakers on!)

There are quite a few challengers.

"I HAVE LARD IN MY ANUS"...In the Languages of the World

By telling them to their faces.
    By protesting against excessive expenditure, benchmarking, SW rises, tax decreases, SSIAs and all of the other things they did. Did you do any of that?
    So what if I didn't? Would it have made a difference? Of course it wouldn't, as you well know. So now you're resorting to blaming people who weren't flash idiots with money for not seeing into the future.
    FFS, dont you see the point? We were ALL 'greedy with the fees we charged'.... you were too, even if you didnt have the ability as i did to set your own fees, you did have the opportunity to negotiate your own salary which is precisely the same thing. It feeds the same monster. You were and are being paid too much. Face it.
    Um... "Face" what? You... have access to my payslips? I'm on a crap wage. Oh but it's higher than a crap wage in Spain so I'm contributing to the greed, or something. What you're effectively saying is that I, because of living here, have a role to play. That's utter sh1t, and you know it. If a person is getting well paid, is it greedy of them to not say to their employer "Boss, give me a pay-cut"? And I never negotiated my salary, so your point being?
    You can blame plenty of ordinary Irish people for this mess, plenty of them. Blaming every Irish person though is pretty abhorrent.
    Not my experience tbh. Discussing it with friends recently and I was the only one with any sort of significant savings put by.
    So what if it's not your experience? People did save.
    Basically we all spent too much on stuff, because it was all completely over-valued.
    So we just stop buying essentials because it's over-priced? This sh1t is gold.
    Instead of calling a halt, people called for more, more more.
    Yes, some people did. Not me.
    More government spending, more out of town centre shopping arcades, built by developers btw, but don't let that stop the weekend trips to Dundrum etc.
    Eh... yeah. For some people. You're still with the using specific stuff that only applies to certain people... to blame everyone.
    Self-flaggelation, yeah of course that's it. It's not at all because I had some cop on and can face up to it all.
    Earlier on, you said you were also to blame, despite living a frugal lifestyle - that's what I meant by self-flagellation.
    I am fully faced up to it, I'm just not going to unfairly point the finger at people who aren't in any way responsible - or take it up the arse and accept blame myself, when I didn't live beyond my means, and didn't live greedily even within my means.

So what if I didn't? Would it have made a difference? Of course it wouldn't, as you well know. So now you're resorting to blaming people who weren't flash idiots with money for not seeing into the future..
    Unfortunately this is the short-sightedness that will see us in this place again sometime soon; this was history repeating itself, you know?! Governments have doled out give away budgets before, promised people everything, spent way too much. They were rewarded the last time; and noone told them to stop.

So, yes, we should be telling our politicians this; it is yours and my duty. And until we realise that, we are forever going to be screwed.
    Um... "Face" what? You... have access to my payslips? I'm on a crap wage. Oh but it's higher than a crap wage in Spain so I'm contributing to the greed, or something. What you're effectively saying is that I, because of living here, have a role to play. That's utter sh1t, and you know it. If a person is getting well paid, is it greedy of them to not say to their employer "Boss, give me a pay-cut"? And I never negotiated my salary, so your point being?..

Of course you negotiated your salary; when you took your job!!! A 'crap wage' is relative; you are paid too much - there is no reason why you should be paid significantly higher than someone who does your job in Spain. The reason you are is because we all took pay increases, which led to increases in the cost of the economy, which led to further pay rises, which partly caused inflation of house rpices, which was all caused by cheap credit. And no-one yelled stop. Until you realise that you, yes you, and me, and all of us, have a duty to yell stop the next time this happens (like no doubt our German friends would), we are destined to repeat our failures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

You were and are being paid too much. Face it.

I am earning more than in the boom! How do you like them apples?

Although I would admit I am not in Ireland. In any case what people earn is something between themselves and their employer. It was not the cause of the bubble, although increasing real living standards did contribute to the nice and real boom we had during the 90's.

Enough of the hair shirt bollocks, it is economically illiterate. Paying for food, and drink, and cars did not cause the bubble to crash. What caused the crash was the failure of the developers. I already posted that. Anglo's collapse was the fulcrum, and Anglo is not a retail bank.

The rest of the "we as a society" malarky is about feeling morally superior to the largest amount of people possible, if you blame the actual culprits then you would only feel smug about a few thousand developers, realtors , regulators and politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

Sorry Mary,
    I'm 20 and wasn't in a position to feck the country up. Excuse me for not quite wanting to accept the blame for the current crisis that has left me with feck all options other than to emigrate when I get my degree, if I can afford to finish college that is.
    Sincerely
    I-Shot-Jr

Until you realise that you, yes you, and me, and all of us, have a duty to yell stop the next time this happens (like no doubt our German friends would), we are destined to repeat our failures.

The failures will be different next time. It is always such.

I am earning more than in the boom! How do you like them apples?.
    Me too.... high 5?:rolleyes:
    IWhat caused the crash was the failure of the developers. .
    The developers did not buy the developments they developed. There was another party fuelling those purchases. That was everyone (encouraged by the banks).
    The rest of the "we as a society" malarky is about feeling morally superior to the largest amount of people possible, if you blame the actual culprits then you would only feel smug about a few thousand developers, realtors , regulators and politicians.
    If I feel I am one of the people wo screwed up, why would I feel morally superior to them?

But dont get me wrong, there are different levels of culpability and most of us arent even on the same pitch as the real culprits; but we are not blameless. We need to learn the lessons of our own behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

Of course you negotiated your salary; when you took your job!!! A 'crap wage' is relative; you are paid too much - there is no reason why you should be paid significantly higher than someone who does your job in Spain. The reason you are is because we all took pay increases, which led to increases in the cost of the economy, which led to further pay rises, which partly caused inflation of house rpices, which was all caused by cheap credit. And no-one yelled stop. Until you realise that you, yes you, and me, and all of us, have a duty to yell stop the next time this happens (like no doubt our German friends would), we are destined to repeat our failures.

lol. Um, no. Firstly there are differences across the world in wages. If Ireland is paid more than Spain it could be that Ireland is more productive than Spain. Germany is also paid more than Spain. Looking at the Irish private sector it is in fact, very productive, per capita. The wages of people in that sector are none of your business and didnt cause the crash.

Secondly the main factor influencing house prices was cheap credit, not wage increases. House price increases are not - it pains me to point out this obvious fact - in the interest of first time buyers. As we can now quite clearly see. Nor, to state another obvious fact, are rent increases useful to renters.

You are blaming the victims here. The people getting ripped off, by house prices, food prices, bad regulation are being blamed for this, for not travelling 100 miles a week to shop ( or something).

The real transfer of money in the bubble was from FTBs to the generation which managed to sell with their mortgage paid off after 20-30 years. It was one of the greatest intergenerational tranfers of wealth in history.

The failures will be different next time. It is always such.

I notice you didn't respond to this

Unfortunately this is the short-sightedness that will see us in this place again sometime soon; this was history repeating itself, you know?!
    Nah, people being flash fuk-wits with money will land us in this place again sometime soon, you know?! Plenty of people voiced their objections, they fell on deaf ears. Plenty of people weren't stupid with money (like me) yet we're being punished now - and worse still, blamed.
    Your back-up to apportion some of the blame to me is becomingly increasingly abstract - and to the point of "If you bought a carton of milk here, you contributed". It's utterly ludicrous and bizarre. Maybe just try to blame people who were actually irresponsible with money? I'm paid not much more than minimum wage btw. Again, you are saying that because I lived and worked and spent here and nothing more, I have a part to play. So wages were high across the board during the boom - as was the cost of living. And are you saying people should have said "Oh no, that's too much pay, I want a pay-cut"? You're taking being human out of this entirely.

Oh btw, is my 93-year-old grandmother to blame, seeing as "everyone" was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭sonic85

"we" me hole. is it the royal we i wonder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

And now she's coming back here to run her climate change organisation.......ffs, that's all we need is another green telling us what to do and taxing us for the pleasure, she can fcuk off and stick her green ideals where the sun doesn't shine!

Ali Babba wrote: »
    And now she's coming back here to run her climate change organisation.......ffs, that's all we need is another green telling us what to do and taxing us for the pleasure, she can fcuk off and stick her green ideals where the sun doesn't shine!

In between Nick's hairy chops.:mad:

We need to learn the lessons of our own behaviour.
    What behaviour? Living and working here and yes, socialising and spending but doing absolutely nothing flash is the only behaviour I'm guilty of... :confused: Is maybe living like an Albanian peasant farmer who can see into the future what I should have been doing?
    You are blaming the victims here. The people getting ripped off, by house prices, food prices, bad regulation are being blamed for this, for not travelling 100 miles a week to shop ( or something).
    Spot-on.

I notice you didn't respond to this

You rejected my analogy. You're dead to me now.

I could agree with you if that was an analogy.

Snap! dead cold buddy. sayonara:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 imwatchingyou

Fine let's stick our heads in the sand snow and deny nobody benefitted whatsoever besides the bankers and the politicians.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

LordSutch wrote: »
    Two 4X4s in the dirveway + a BMW saloon for getting to the beauty salon, (all on credit), the House/Mansion is/was worth €One Million (obviously with a 100% mortgage), two/three annual holidays to the Bahamas or some such place + a trip at Christmas to Lapland for the kids to see Santa! (Maybe a quick New York shopping trip too)! A helicopter trip or stretch Limo for the kids first communion, Harvey Nicks on a Saturday to buy some nice expensive designer clothes, M&S food shopping for the week, 50" Top end Plazma TV, obviously with top satellite package from Sky + top end surround sound system (all on plastic) - nothing above is actually paid for.

A hell of a lot of irish people have been leading the life of Riley over recent years, maybe that's what our Ex President is refering to?

who had that? no one in my neck of the woods thats for sure :rolleyes:

ahh mary robinson, one of ireland's greatest people.....

Two 4X4s in the dirveway + a BMW saloon for getting to the beauty salon, (all on credit), the House/Mansion is/was worth €One Million (obviously with a 100% mortgage), two/three annual holidays to the Bahamas or some such place + a trip at Christmas to Lapland for the kids to see Santa! (Maybe a quick New York shopping trip too)! A helicopter trip or stretch Limo for the kids first communion, Harvey Nicks on a Saturday to buy some nice expensive designer clothes, M&S food shopping for the week, 50" Top end Plazma TV, obviously with top satellite package from Sky + top end surround sound system (all on plastic) - nothing above is actually paid for.

A hell of a lot of irish people have been leading the life of Riley over recent years, maybe that's what our Ex President is refering to?
    Nope, she's saying ALL the Irish people had a role to play, which is really quite a cuntish sentiment to hold, especially by someone enjoying a very opulent lifestyle indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

To varying levels, most people are somewhat resonsible for this mess. Government mainly, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,396 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

What about the people who live that type of lifestyle but are debt free?