Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mary Robinson tells it like it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Lumen wrote: »
    I have paid my taxes, met all my private financial obligations, brought money into the state and employed a number of people. I am surely not alone in meeting these perfectly ordinary responsibilities. I also advised any friends who would listen not to speculate on the property market..

So did I, paid all my taxes, owe nothing, put money aside to make a nice little nest egg now, what's your point? It's called a generalisation for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It wasn't a generalisation, it was "We are ALL to blame" and you seemed to be agreeing, even willing to take some of the blame yourself.
    sipstrassi wrote: »
    If you have never bought something you wanted but didn't need then you haven't bought in. But if you have then yes, you did buy in.
    And those of us with credit cards, mortgages and car loans - we are indeed very bold!
    My eyeball. I bought a book a few months back in Waterstones for €8 that I haven't gotten round to reading yet, so I bought into the Celtic Tiger? People have always bought things they don't need - people bought records in the 80s when Ireland was on its knees economically, they didn't need music...
    If you were stupid with your money, don't blame it on people who weren't.

And car loans, mortgages and credit cards are not necessarily excessive - people could afford them, many still can. A car loan for a BMW, an exorbitant mortgage, several credit cards... yes, these are excessive. These don't apply to everyone who availed of such services though.
    prinz wrote: »
    It's nothing to do with being meek. The problem is those "flash people" you talk about are shoulder to shoulder with the rest laying 100% of the blame on the banker et al. Of course the "flash person" mentality was partially to blame, and if we ignore it, we will repeat it.
    It's not mutually exclusive who to blame for the mess. It's not about a deference to authority or any of that shíte. It's about having the cop on to know that the country went a bit mad. It doesn't take anything away from the bastardos who were supposed to be regulating and prudent. Nothing whatsoever.
    I'm referring to this rubbish of "Even those of us who simply lived here are to blame because we benefitted", I didn't contradict anything else you've written in that post. And it's not doomed to happen again because of e.g. me, seeing as it didn't happen because of me in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,163 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Mary R can shove her generalisations up her arse.
    Well, I didn't binge either, and bought no property, but I simply read her remarks as not applying to me. Politicians speak in generalisations - that's what they do, the level on which they operate, so there's no point taking personal offence at anything a politician says. :rolleyes:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,476 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

So did I, what's your point? It's called a generalisation for a reason.

The point is that there are people who are responsible for this mess, and those people are not me or you. Hold them to account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

seamus wrote: »
    Which was caused by the above factors, which were all in turn a direct result of greedy fiscal policies fueling greedy investments.

At the core of this entire problem is that people wanted to get rich quickly and nobody did anything to stop it. In fact the state did everything to encourage it. That's greed.

And before the "weh, weh, I didn't buy property, I buried all my money under a tree" brigade come along, yes I know some people didn't experience the boom, and didn't try to profit from it but the rest of the country did. You're just stuck with it.

Well, it's blatantly obvious that greed was a large contributing fact to the recession in Ireland.

No-one is disputing that.

However, to say, as Mary Robinson has said, that the Irish people as a whole are "collective responsible" for this, is incorrect, untrue & quite frankly, unfair.

Yes, greed caused this & yes, we are all stuck with it. That is a fact, but it is far from the point.

Dudess wrote: »
    I'm referring to this rubbish of "Even those of us who simply lived here are to blame because we benefitted", I didn't contradict anything else you've written in that post. And it's not doomed to happen again because of e.g. me, seeing as it didn't happen because of me in the first place.

Yes, once again we're back to the "well I didn't" line. Somebody fecking did.

Never said they didn't? Just that I'm not taking part of the blame - it's really quite straightforward.
    bnt wrote: »
    Well, I didn't binge either, and bought no property, but I simply read her remarks as not applying to me. Politicians speak in generalisations - that's what they do, the level on which they operate, so there's no point taking personal offence at anything a politician says. :rolleyes:
    Well that's fair enough, earlier on this thread though there were people falling over themselves to say "Yes ma'am, I didn't do anything greedy but I, as an Irish person, am to blame".
    I don't think anyone's saying many ordinary Irish people didn't have a significant role to play.

The point is that there are people who are responsible for this mess, and those people are not me or you. Hold them to account.

I do. I also hold to account friends of mine who laughed at me because I pointedly refused to go to certain pubs and clubs, got called a scab because I refused to pay over €10 for a cinema ticket etc. Plenty of ordinary Joe's bought into, literally, the bubble, not only of property prices, but of the cost of living for lifestyle expenditure. These are the people who turn around now and say the Govt is to blame, and the banks are to blame, because they can't afford to keep up the living they had become accustomed to. They are also to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

It's nothing to do with being meek. The problem is those "flash people" you talk about are shoulder to shoulder with the rest laying 100% of the blame on the banker et al. Of course the "flash person" mentality was partially to blame, and if we ignore it, we will repeat it.

It's not mutually exclusive who to blame for the mess. It's not about a deference to authority or any of that shíte. It's about having the cop on to know that the country went a bit mad. It doesn't take anything away from the bastardos who were supposed to be regulating and prudent. Nothing whatsoever.

True enough. You can blame bankers all you like, but there is a relationship between the person who gives the loan and the person that accepts it. A 1:1 relationship. Sh*te financial regulation/government decisions caused a huge amount of the mess, but there was huge greed, too.

Get on the property ladder, get a new this year's reg car...I mean, for f*ck sake. The most stupid thing you can do if you are an average earner is to buy a brand spanking new car...it loses a chunk of value the moment you drive it out the dealers. Bought on credit, that chunk of credit is gone down the swanny immediately. But no...need to have this year's reg...this year's hot holiday destinations...it's all about image.

Ever see the size of the property supplements in the Sindo during the bubble? Now, it's about 2-4 pages but in the Bubble, it was meaty. Somebody was buying property in the Balkans, Bulgaria and Turkey...whether they were actually planning to live there themselves full time is the litmus test.

I don't think anyone's saying many ordinary Irish people didn't have a significant role to play.

There seems to be plenty of people saying that, rejecting the generalisation as the words of a "dumb bitch" is doing exactly that. What I see is the vast majority of posters denying they, or anyone they know, had any sort of part to play. Obviously this cannot be true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Biggins wrote: »
    ...But hey, lets take the easy route and blame everyone! Yea, that will wash!

...thats actually the hard route actually. The easy route is to blame only those who made the obvious mistakes (FF/bankers/regulaters etc...), and to absolve the rest of us of blame. And then, the next time when the country's fortune improves again and the Gov starts with give-away budgets, dont expect Joe Punter to open his mouth about wasted expenditure, or about an overinflated economy where proces are higher than almost anywhere else in Europe, or about bloated wages in the public and private sector, or about spending too much on social welfare, or health or anything else.

Listen, aside from making a fairly big error of buying a house in 2006 (:eek:) when I got married and wanted to raise a family, I am a pretty frugal person. Other than that i have never had any debt in my life and pay my CC on time. I havent worked in the public sector since 2001. I never voted for FF :D. I told my politicians that spending was excessive, that tax decreases were excessive. Even with a ginormous mortgage bill, im paying my debts and earn enough that if i default, it probably means that the country is rightly fcuked.....;):D

So, do I deserve any blame? I could say no, fcuk you, im paying my way...etc etc ....blah blah. But I know that I partly rode the tiger; i charged significant fees when i was self-employed, i benifitted from serious over-ther-top corporate entertainment when i moved to being an employee; i never yelled stop.

So, yes, I was partly to blame; we all were. If we pretend that FF, and a handful of bankers were the sole source of our problems, we learn nothing. That doesnt mean FF and certain bankers should not be in the dock, but it does mean that we all need to look at our own behaviour and attitudes over the past decade and remember not to make the same mistakes again.

Wo... wo... backtracking central here. Nobody said the only ones to blame are the banks, politicians, elites and not a significant number of ordinary Irish people whom the elites required to prop them up, just not with the "You walked into a shopping centre, you played a part" horse-sh1t, k?

I do. I also hold to account friends of mine who laughed at me because I pointedly refused to go to certain pubs and clubs, got called a scab because I refused to pay over €10 for a cinema ticket etc. Plenty of ordinary Joe's bought into, literally, the bubble, not only of property prices, but of the cost of living for lifestyle expenditure. These are the people who turn around now and say the Govt is to blame, and the banks are to blame, because they can't afford to keep up the living they had become accustomed to. They are also to blame.

No. I can pay €1000 for a cinema ticket if I want to, if I'm paying with money that I've earned. That in no way makes me responsible for the structural budget defecit or the banking liabilities.

Correlation != causation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Yes, once again we're back to the "well I didn't" line. Somebody fecking did.

Plenty of people did, plenty didn't.

What sticks in my craw is some person like Robinson telling me what I did or didn't do.

In my opinion it was people of her coterie, well connected, well sinecured, who drove this economy into the ditch,aided and abetted by the gimps, the wide boys, the chancers who come from all stratae of society.

Robinson used her connections to advance her career,the Irish Presidency being just a stepping stone, and to a sincere and forthright person like myself, came across as being genuine as a Seiko watch bought in a market in Bangkok.

I don't begrudge her her success, but don't focking come on years later and try to tell me what I did wrong, given where you are coming from.

As a previous poster said... Go fock right off Missus, you have a neck thick enough no polo-neck could straddle.:mad:

drkpower wrote: »
    I was partly to blame; we all were..
    Nope, we ALL weren't. And by saying that, I am still not saying it was ONLY down to politicians, bankers etc.

Listen, aside from making a fairly big error of buying a house in 2006 (:eek:) when I got married and wanted to raise a family, I am a pretty frugal person. Other than that i have never had any debt in my life and pay my CC on time. I havent worked in the public sector since 2001. I never voted for FF :D. I told my politicians that spending was excessive, that tax decreases were excessive. Even with a ginormous mortgage bill, im paying my debts and earn enough that if i default, it probably means that the country is rightly fcuked.....;):D

So, do I deserve any blame?

NO!

Or at least not yet. If you default on your mortgage you will be made to suffer for a long time. Unlike those actually responsible for the current problems.

No. I can pay €1000 for a cinema ticket if I want to, if I'm paying with money that I've earned. That in no way makes me responsible for the structural budget defecit or the banking liabilities.

Correlation != causation.
    Good point. I wouldn't be a fan of excessive flashness in general, but living beyond your means, i.e. spending money you don't have is obviously not the same as spending money you DO have... yet they're being put in the same category by many folks now... :confused:

No. I can pay €1000 for a cinema ticket if I want to, if I'm paying with money that I've earned. That in no way makes me responsible for the structural budget defecit or the banking liabilities..

Yes you can if you want. However when taxes go up, jobs grow scarce and the country is in a rut perhaps with hindsight you should acknowledge that you would have been better off saving that €1000 instead.

Good point. I wouldn't be a fan of excessive flashness in general, but living beyond your means, i.e. spending money you don't have is obviously not the same as spending money you DO have... yet they're being put in the same category by many folks now... :confused:

Yes because instead of saving etc, you put the money back into the economy that was built on an unsustainable boom across all sectors. Throwing fuel on the fire. Spending the money you DO have is great as long as you keep having the same amount of money if you want to enjoy the same lifestyle.

Yes you can if you want. However when taxes go up, jobs grow scarce and the country is in a rut perhaps with hindsight you should acknowledge that you would have been better off saving that €1000 instead.

In that case I'll just leave.

The point is that it's none of anyone else's business what I do with my money. The current problems are caused by what a minority of people did with other people's money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Yes because instead of saving etc, you put the money back into the economy that was built on an unsustainable boom across all sectors. Throwing fuel on the fire.
    I've spent the last 5 years of gainful employment living in a self-built house of wattle and daub, leading an entirely self-sufficient, ascetic life in isolation from humanity, all the while squirreling my money away in a hole I dug in the ground with a log shaped a bit like a spade.

Am I absolved from blame?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Pace2008 wrote: »
    I've spent the last 5 years of gainful employment living in a self-built house of wattle and daub, leading an entirely self-sufficient, ascetic life in isolation from humanity, all the while squirelling my money a way in a hole I dug in the ground with a log shaped a bit like a spade.

Am I absolved from blame?

No, pension hoover Robinson believes that you acted in a selfish manner and were greedy utilising the resources of this nation to your selfish ends.
    It was you, crazy mud hut-dwelling hermit, who caused all this, not the bankers, the politicians or those like her who pocketed millions while lecturing the poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

NO!

Or at least not yet. If you default on your mortgage you will be made to suffer for a long time. Unlike those actually responsible for the current problems.

I disagree; every one of us who spent too much on a house, or too much on anything for that matter, or demanded too much in wages or social welfare, helped to inflate a rapidly inflating market.

That deserves a portion of the blame.

How come the German populus managed to elect politicians who followed policies that reigned in spending, that encouraged saving and disincentivised excessive consumer spending? How come we did the polar opposite?

For those of you who think, 'its nothing to do with me; i bought my €7 pints, and my holidays, and my shoes, out of my money that i earned'; consider that it was that attitude which got us politicians that ran the country as they did; we should have been telling them to stop; we didnt. This is all going to happen again unless those of you who cant see that simple fact open your eyes.

Yes because instead of saving etc, you put the money back into the economy that was built on an unsustainable boom across all sectors. Throwing fuel on the fire. Spending the money you DO have is great as long as you keep having the same amount of money if you want to enjoy the same lifestyle.

You've crossed the line between reasonable prudence and self-flagellation.

No-one cares whether you did or didn't go to the cinema a couple of years ago. Our economy is broken because of this sort of crap, x1000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

we should have been telling them to stop; we didnt. This is all going to happen again unless those of you who cant see that simple fact open your eyes.

So, you're saying that if we had just told the politicians to do a better job, then none of this would have happened?

I think you need to open your own eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

In that case I'll just leave.

The point is that it's none of anyone else's business what I do with my money. The current problems are caused by what a minority of people did with other people's money.

Unfortunately is is somebodies else's business.

By spending unwisely you influence the economy which leads to a situation where prices are distorted relating to value.

You fuel an expectation that a service or product is value for money.

The national economy is an intermeshed and complex process which reacts to market forces, so don't for a minute think how you spend your money doesn't matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

It's not only about who took out loans. You hit the nail on the head directly, people paid cash from savings and wages. Spend, spend, spend.
    How many were saving that cash? When you were spending that cash, ever think about the rainy day? What were you spending on - a lifestyle that possible could not be kept up if your wages stopped perhaps? The spending and the cost of living was going up and up, and it could never be sustained. Especially because of the crap standards of products and services in return. There should have been nationwide revolt a long time ago.

Um, right. If people are investing in property as investors they can be blamed with "greed", perhaps, although regulators are to blame there too. Spending stuff is just spending stuff. Speaking as someone who has saved during the boom, didnt buy a house, and whose rent is about a days pay ( so clearly i am slumming it) I dont think that the economy crashed because " people spent money".

Robinson is typical of the vastly over-paid Irish bureaucracy which is not just greedier than average ( Robinson's life is about carerrism - she would have ben crucified for leaving her job as Ireland's president were she from some other party) , but are part of the class mainly responsible for controlling the situation.

I dont know if it were posted here but the chief financial regulator during the boom also blamed "we as a society" a few days ago.

Buying a house in the boom was stupid, I read enough of Kelly and McWilliams to know that, but it wasnt necessarily greedy. People are not qualified economists, and the media was not doing it's job informing poeople about the dangers, the certain dangers, of the Irish property bubble. Instead it was property porn, including in the staid pages of the Irish Times, or the SBP which Kelly and McWilliams occasional prophetic warnings were matched by ten times as much pages of property porn.

All that normal people at the bottom of the ladder wanted to do was buy a house. Stupid, wrong, economically a bad decision, but not greedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

This is not self-indulgent but wrong. Ireland is in trouble because of the failure of the banks caused by the major players - developers - going out of business. The retail sector is where the vast majority of performing loans exist, and people continue to pay back their over-priced loans ( whilst simultaneously keeping their creditors alive with tax euro). Credit card debt is not causing Ireland's problems either.

( Were this a debate about the US, the matter would be different)

Unfortunately is is somebodies else's business.

By spending unwisely you influence the economy which leads to a situation where prices are distorted relating to value.

You fuel an expectation that a service or product is value for money.

The national economy is an intermeshed and complex process which reacts to market forces, so don't for a minute think how you spend your money doesn't matter.

OK. An analogy...

I'm sitting in a pub, nursing my Guinness whilst a bloke at the bar shoves 18 pints of wifebeater down his neck with money he stole from some old woman down the road. He then goes outside, starts a fight then burns down the pub.

By your reasoning my presence in the bar is enough to make me partly responsible for all this crap. We were spending the same money on the same sort of stuff, and my support of the facilities which we shared and he abused makes me somehow complicit. I saw what he was doing, didn't ask where he got the money, and didn't make any attempt to stop him, on the basis that it wasn't any of my business, and I am neither the publican, the gardai, or his mother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Japer

I will NOT be lectured to about greed from a grasping bitch who has hoovered up millions in pensions from this country after quitting as President in order to take up a higher paying job with the UN.

+1. The audacity of those with their snouts in the public sector pay + pension trough - like Mary Robinson- in blaming others for the crisis knows no bounds.