Names of anglo bondholders revealed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'm more interested to hear who is in "The Golden Circle".

FF are not telling and FG amazingly :rolleyes: are not pushing the issue either.
    There is names within it that they don't possibly want the public to know, are part possibly of their party and/or involved somehow.
    Some connections has been shown already by the few names that have slipped out.

Then there is the "Drumcondra Mafia" that basically own FF thanks via to Bertie and his connections.
    ...a power base largely separate to Fianna Fail: 'the Drumcondra Mafia', a largely unknown, fiercely loyal, close-knit group of friends. When Ahern was Taoiseach the centre of power was arguably as much in St Luke's, the legendary constituency office bought by the Drumcondra Mafia, as in Government Buildings...

...they not only established the most efficient electoral machine in the country but put 'their man' in the most senior political office in the state.

http://www.whsmith.co.uk/CatalogAndSearch/ProductDetails.aspx?ProductID=9780340919040

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I probably deserve a slap for asking this but here goes:

Apart from a possible deception (even fraud) why are these companies\individuals names such a closely guarded (including the golden circle)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I have no idea why that list is not all over every newspaper.

Acc Constantin Gurdiyev we are heading for this :

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_2TONRBOd21o/TPwIJAeXzuI/AAAAAAAADcM/CZ07expu3J4/s1600/Screen%2Bshot%2B2010-12-05%2Bat%2B21.45.41.png

http://trueeconomics.blogspot.com/

So you would think this list of names is kind of relevant to Irish taxpayers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

orourkeda wrote: »
    I probably deserve a slap for asking this but here goes:

Apart from a possible deception (even fraud) why are these companies\individuals names such a closely guarded (including the golden circle)

...Because a number of those possible names alone, might be contributors to the party organisations or possibly members themselves?

It wouldn't surprise me in the least. FF and FG are (and still) known for courting big businesses in wining and dining, besides free trips to golf courses to smooze them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Call me old-fashioned, but the word that springs to mind is "Cunts".

That's all I have to say really.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

well if we the taxpayer are giving our money to this shower of c'unts i think the least we deserve if to know who they are. madness, the lot of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

Biggins wrote: »
    FF are not telling and FG amazingly :rolleyes: are not pushing the issue either.
    There is names within it that they don't possibly want the public to know, are part possibly of their party and/or involved somehow.
    Some connections has been shown already by the few names that have slipped out.

Then there is the "Drumcondra Mafia" that basically own FF thanks via to Bertie and his connections.

The politician's job is a job of huge responsibility, and a tough job to boot. Unfortunately, the politicians in our government did not exhibit any kind of responsibility during the boom, and they still continue to shirk their responsibility by covering for their rich friends.

Bertie Ahern is an unwavering symbol of the economic mess this country is in.

EDIT: And on a side note (rant), Bertie Ahern has a job with the News of the World. I wonder does he use the ministerial car he was provided with as part of his payoff when he left the government to get to work. But as Ivan Yates would say on Newstalk 'We're entitled to our pensions, they were the terms at the time'. Never mind that these pensions are now crippling the taxpayer in a time of unprecedented cutbacks.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Should be named tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Feeona wrote: »
    The politician's job is a job of huge responsibility, and a tough job to boot...

With that said, I don't think we've ever had a true selfless politician since the foundation of this state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭Feeona

With that said, I don't think we've ever had a true selfless politician since the foundation of this state.

I think anyone outside of Jesus would find it difficult to show that kind of selflessness :pac:. Otherwise you end up being a martyr! I think some members of our government took their basic 'right to greed' to it's extreme though. A democratically elected government which turned itself into a private fortress, leaving it's voters to fend for themselves outside.

'We are all equal, but some are more equal than others' is that famous quote from Animal Farm, a book which discusses the mechanics of Communism. I really have to laugh at capitalist multi-nationals/governments talking about communsim as if it were a form of Satanism. Communism and Capitalism aren't so different after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭Setun

Biggins wrote: »
    ...Because a number of those possible names alone, might be contributors to the party organisations or possibly members themselves?

It wouldn't surprise me in the least. FF and FG are (and still) known for courting big businesses in wining and dining, besides free trips to golf courses to smooze them!
    Exactly: a surprising amount of deals between politicians and the businessmen were made on golf course during the boom years. What happens on the 1st tee stays on the 1st tee ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

mick collins.

ok ok, you might say he was more a military man but he was a politician nonetheless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

mick collins.

ok ok, you might say he was more a military man but he was a politician nonetheless

Beat me to it, was about to name the man myself!

Im sure those leaders from that era are looking down thinking ‘jesus lads why didn’t we just go the pub instead’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,380 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Apologies for such a simple question, but what would be the consequences of politely telling the bondholders to f** off?

It seems everyone outside the government is using this line, but i'm curious to know the repercussions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Apologies for such a simple question, but what would be the consequences of politely telling the bondholders to f** off?

It seems everyone outside the government is using this line, but i'm curious to know the repercussions.

Well I think it's too late to do it now but I think the reason is the markets (invisible hand and all) might react badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

fontanalis wrote: »
    Well I think it's too late to do it now but I think the reason is the markets (invisible hand and all) might react badly.

They have already reacted badly, nothing to lose now by telling them that ‘we the irish people will not be paying your losses for gambles you made in our economy’. If they had hugely profited from these gambles would they share with us? Doubt it

It is not too late to default. This is where the smart money (pardon the pun) says we are inevitably heading anyway as the debts and interest are simply too great for the number of taxpayers in our economy to bear. There is also the moral question of why should innocent taxpayers be gouged to the bone in order to spare private investors any pain - they chose to invest in a high risk and corrupt private bank. Had their investments paid off they would not be funnelling their profits to us so why should we bail them out of their losses due to absolutely no fault of our own. It's completely immoral for the eu/bondholders to expect us to carry this.

They have already reacted badly, nothing to lose now by telling them that ‘we the irish people will not be paying your losses for gambles you made in our economy’. If they had hugely profited from these gambles would they share with us? Doubt it

Exactly, I think the whole "ah sure everythign's grand" didn't help either.
    Of course the fact that the Atlas' that are bond holders should know the risk of getting into dodgy situations and have experienced bubbles before but then when things turn out to be crap the market then reacts badly is a bit bewildering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,765 ✭✭✭flutered

well if we the taxpayer are giving our money to this shower of c'unts i think the least we deserve if to know who they are. madness, the lot of it.

if you guys look up a blog called guideo foulks, it has all the names that you need, im sorry but i am not much good at finding them things, i had it but mistakenly deleated it.

flutered wrote: »
    if you guys look up a blog called guideo foulks, it has all the names that you need, im sorry but i am not much good at finding them things, i had it but mistakenly deleated it.

They are named in the link at the top of this thread.

The question is why are they not named in the mainstream media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭dagdha

Maybe I'm missing something really big here but as an above poster said why don't we just tell them to F*ck off. I mean they invested money into the banks, so it was pretty much a win win situation for them. If that was the case everybody would be an investor but of course the lay person would have to deal with risks.

What if I invested money in buying a ticket for the lotto and I did'nt win the jackpot, does this mean I can go back into the shop and ask for my money back because I did'nt win. It seems like the same idea with these mysterious investors.

As I said maybe I'm missing something really big here.

dagdha wrote: »
    Maybe I'm missing something really big here but as an above poster said why don't we just tell them to F*ck off. I mean they invested money into the banks, so it was pretty much a win win situation for them. If that was the case everybody would be an investor but of course the lay person would have to deal with risks.

What if I invested money in buying a ticket for the lotto and I did'nt win the jackpot, does this mean I can go back into the shop and ask for my money back because I did'nt win. It seems like the same idea with these mysterious investors.

You got everything. Lenihan and Cowen didn't.

dagdha wrote: »

I think the answer is that investors and other banks across europe would be out of pocket. So the eu is loaning us money at 5.8% for Irish taxpayers to borrow in order to repay to their french and german investors and banks. Also the eu had a policy of 'no bank gets left behind' after lehmans fell the policy was that across the eu no country should allow a bank to fail. This lumbered us with anglo to begin with. Well that and FF being lapdogs/poodles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭AntiMatter

The Cathaoirleach refused to allow it on the grounds that it wasn't of national importance.

It's not in the national interest for the public to know for which investors the pension fund is being raped. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Morlar wrote: »
    I think the answer is that investors and other banks across europe would be out of pocket. So the eu is loaning us money at 5.8% for Irish taxpayers to borrow in order to repay to their french and german investors and banks. Also the eu had a policy of 'no bank gets left behind' after lehmans fell the policy was that across the eu no country should allow a bank to fail. This lumbered us with anglo to begin with. Well that and FF being lapdogs/poodles.

God, is there any way we can tell them to fcuk off with their failing banks and to stop dumping depts upon us.